Event Reports

Meeting of the African Expert Study Group on International Criminal Justice

Organized by the KAS Rule of Law Program for Sub Saharan Africa, the Expert Group meets yearly to elaborate, reflect and evaluate the developments of International Criminal Justice from an African perspective. At this year's meeting in Kigali, Rwanda the group focused on issues such as impunity, immunity of heads of states as well as the strengths and weaknesses of the International Criminal Court.

The Workshop also served as an opportunity for the participants to exchange ideas and perspectives, in order to optimize their contributions for a collection of articles, which will be published with the help of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation at the end of this year. As this publication is a continuous project, the participants reviewed various abstracts for the next publication in 2016 and discussed the group's general way forward. Touching on issues such as transitional justice, poaching as an international crime and Africa's responsibility in the refugee crisis, next year's publication promises to be equally insightful and relevant as the upcoming one.

The participants also had the unique opportunity to get in dialogue with two external guests - Hon. Justice Sylvie Kayitesi, Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights and Deputy Chief Justice of the Republic of Rwanda and Ms Madeleine Nirere, Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission of Rwanda. A chilling but educational visit to the Genocide Memorial in Kigali marked the end of a very successful meeting of the African Expert Study Group on International Criminal Justice. Those in attendance included Prof. Gerhard Kemp of Stellenbosch University Dr. Beitel van der Merwe of the University of the Western Cape among others.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Treffen der afrikanischen Expertengruppe zur Internationalen Strafgerichtsbarkeit

Unter der Leitung des Rechtsstaatsprogramms für Subsahara-Afrika trifft sich die Expertengruppe jährlich , um aus afrikanischer Perspektive die aktuellen Entwicklungen bezüglich Internationaler Gerichtsbarkeit zu diskutieren und zu bewerten. Im Mittelpunkt des diesjährigen Treffens standen unter anderem die Themen Straffreiheit, Immunität von Staatsoberhäuptern und die Arbeit des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs.

Der Workshop diente zudem zum Ideenaustausch und zur Besprechung der Beiträge der Teilnehmer, welche sie zu einer Publikation beisteuern, die mit Hilfe der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Ende des Jahres erscheinen wird. Da es sich bei dieser Publikation um ein kontinuierliches Projekt handelt, diskutierte die Gruppe bereits in diesem Jahr Ideen für die Publikation im kommenden Jahr und besprach die allgemeine Langzeitplanung. Themen wie transitional justice, Wilderei als transnationales Verbrechen und Afrikas Verantwortung in der Flüchtlings- und Migrationsthematik werden dafür sorgen, dass die für 2016 geplante Veröffentlichung genau so aufschlussreich und relevant sein wird wie die kommende.

Die Teilnehmer hatten außerdem das Vergnügen, mit zwei externen Gästen in den Dialog zu treten - Hon. Justice Sylvie Kayitesi, Vorsitzende der African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights und stellvertretende Präsidentin des obersten Gerichts der Republik Ruanda und Ms. Madeleine Nirere, Vorsitzende der National Human Rights Commission Ruandas. Ein nachdenklich stimmender und lehrreicher Besuch des Genoziddenkmals in Kigali markierte das Ende des dies jährigen Treffen der Expertengruppe. Teilnehmer waren unter anderen Prof. Gerhard Kemp, Stellenbosch University und Dr. Beitel van der Merwe, University of the Western Cape.