jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Also available in Deutsch

Expert workshop on the progress and remaining challenges in the field of EU migration policies

For at least a decade, the issue of migration and mobility has been a focus for the different forms of cooperation, dialogue and partnership between the European Union and the countries of the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean. The growing numbers of persons globally on the move and in need of protection, in particularly refugees in the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean region, pose new challenges both for countries of transit and destination. A key step in dealing with the multitude of challenges was taken through the Valletta EU Migration Summit in November 2015 and the new Migration Partnership Framework in June 2016. In order to review these existing instruments of EU migration policies and the developments since the Valletta summit, the KAS Regional Program South Mediterranean invited experts from the MENA region, Europe as well as other relevant African countries, such as Ethiopia and Niger, to participate in an expert workshop from 27-28 March in Malta.

During the workshop, the participants discussed current EU policies as well as developments in EU migration policies since Valletta, identifying the most important new initiatives. The workshop thus provided a platform to assess the success but also shortcomings of existing dialogue formats, on the regional, bilateral and intraregional level, and to provide recommendations for necessary adjustments and potential improvements based on this evaluation.

About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Editor
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Auch verfügbar in English

Expertenworkshop zum Fortschritt und aktuellen Herausforderungen für EU Migrationspolitik

Migration und Mobilität sind seit geraumer Zeit ein Schwerpunkt zahlreicher Dialog- und Kooperationsformate zwischen der Europäischen Union und Ländern des südlichen und östlichen Mittelmeers. Die zunehmenden Migrationsbewegungen weltweit und die damit erhöhten Zahlen Schutzbedürftiger Personen stellen sowohl Durchreise- als auch Zielländer hierbei vor neue Herausforderungen. Ein wichtiger Schritt zur Reaktion auf diese Herausforderungen wurde im Valletta EU Migrationsgipfel im November 2015 und mit dem im Juni 2016 folgenden EU Migration Partnership Framework getan. Um diese bestehenden Instrumente und ihren Erfolg und bestehende Hindernisse zu diskutieren, und die aktuellen Entwicklungen in EU Migrationspolitik näher zu beleuchten, lud das KAS Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer von 27.-28. März Experten aus Ländern des südlichen und östlichen Mittelmeers, europäischen und afrikanischen Ländern zu einem Expertenworkshop nach Malta ein.

Im Rahmen des Workshops identifizierten die Experten bisherige Erfolge der bestehenden Instrumente und Initiativen, legten das Augenmerk jedoch auch auf Schwachpunkte und problematische Entwicklungen. Dialogformate auf regionaler, bilateraler und intra-regionaler Ebene wurden diskutiert und darauf basierend Vorschläge für eine effektivere Gestaltung dieser Formate entwickelt.

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.

Herausgeber
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


zum Anfang springen