Event Reports

Practical Wisdom, Social Partnership & Cooperative Governance

Publication

The chair “Pope Benedict XVI” of the Faculty of Humanities of the Notre Dame University-Louaize and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation organized a one-day seminar entitled: “Practical wisdom, social partnership and cooperative governance: What Lebanon and the Middle East can learn from the success of social market economy”. Several academics, businesspeople, students and representatives of civil society participated in the seminar and celebrated the results with a publication.

What can Lebanon and the Middle East learn from the success of social market economy? This question was approached in two aspects: firstly, Dr. André Habisch from the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Dr. Eugene Sensenig, Professor from the Notre-Dame University Louaize and Mr. Peter Rimmele, Director of the Lebanon Office of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation (KAS), provided an overview of theoretical and philosophical fundamentals. These lectures supplemented by a panel discussion with the contributions of researchers and businesspeople from Denmark (Dr. Martin Beck), Nigeria (Mr. Habib Jaafar) and Lebanon (Dr. Hasan Youness). Hereby the structure of origin of the social market economic model in Germany and Europe, as well as the applicability and comparability in regard to Lebanese and regional context was discussed.

During the second part of the seminar, participants were introduced to the practical aspect of the topic. Therefore different case studies were presented: the Lebanon Mountain Trail Association by Dr. Mira Thoumy and Mr. Omar Sakr, the NGO Arcenciel by Ms. Miguele Issa, as well as the Forum of Muslim and Christian Businesspeople (MA’AM) by Joe Hatem. Last but not least, two academic lectures tackling the private sector and corporate social responsibility by Dr. Dima Jamali, as well as the public sector and the Lebanese economic system by Dr. Salim Chahine (both from the American University of Beirut, AUB) were given.

Dr. Edward Alam (Norte-Dame University Louaize) and Mr. Peter Rimmele (KAS) emphasized the importance of this initiative and the necessity of cooperation among all participants to create an economy, which serves mankind, especially amidst the challenges that Lebanon is currently facing.

For more information please download the publication.

Practical Wisdom, Social Partnership and Cooperative Governance v_2

Veranstaltungsberichte

Praktische Weisheit, Sozialpartnerschaft und Kooperatives Regieren

Publikation

Der Lehrstuhl "Papst Benedikt XVI." fϋr religiöse, kulturelle und philosophische Studien an der geisteswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Notre Dame University-Louaize und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung haben zusammen ein eintägiges Seminar mit dem Titel: „Praktisches Weisheit, Sozialpartnerschaft und Kooperatives Regieren: Was der Libanon und der Nahe Osten vom Erfolg der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft lernen kann“ organisiert.

Das Seminar, an dem viele Akademiker, Geschäftsleute, Studenten und Vertreter des öffentlichen Lebens teilgenommen haben, fand am 13.10.2016 im Konferenzsaal des Golden Tulip, Hotel de Ville in Beirut statt.

Was können der Libanon und der Nahe Osten vom Erfolg der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft lernen? Dieser Frage näherte sich das Seminar auf zweifache Weise an: zunächst wurden die theoretischen und philosophischen Grundlagen mit Beiträgen von André Habisch, Professor an der kath. Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Eugene Sensenig, Professor an der Notre-Dame Universität Louaize und Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Libanon der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gelegt; ergänzt durch eine Paneldiskussion mit Beiträgen von Forschern und Geschäftsleuten aus Dänemark (Dr. Martin Beck), Nigeria (Mr. Habib Jaafar) und dem Libanon (Dr. Hasan Youness). Die Strukturen der Entstehung des Modells der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft in Deutschland und Europa sowie deren Anwendbarkeit und Vergleichbarkeit in Bezug auf den Libanon und die Region wurden dabei diskutiert.

Im zweiten Teil wurde den Teilnehmern der praktische Aspekt des Themas näher gebracht. Mehrere Fallstudien wurden dabei vorgestellt: die Lebanon Mountain Trail Association von Dr. Mira Thoumy und von Omar Sakr, die NGO Arcenciel von Miguele Issa sowie das Forum muslimischer und christlicher Geschäftsleute (MA’AM) von Joe Hatem. Abgerundet wurde dieser Teil von zwei akademischen Beiträgen ϋber den privaten Sektor und die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung von Unternehmen von Dr. Dima Jamali und ϋber den öffentlichen Sektor und das libanesische Wirtschaftssystem von Dr. Salim Chahine (beide American University Beirut, AUB).

Dr. Edward Alam (Notre-Dame-Université Louaize) und Peter Rimmele (KAS), betonten die Bedeutung dieser Initiative und die Notwendigkeit einer Kooperation zwischen allen anwesenden Akteuren, um eine Wirtschaft zu schaffen, die zuerst dem Menschen dient, besonders, da sich der Libanon gerade in einer schwierigen Situation befindet.

Practical Wisdom, Social Partnership and Cooperative Governance v_2