Event Reports

Autumn Academy on Sustainability and Resource Security in the EU and MENA region

by Franziska Fabritius

October 19 to 29, 2018 at the European Academy Otzenhausen (EAO), Germany

Selected young professionals from the MENA region met in Germany to learn about sustainable strategies in the fields of energy, water, mobility, waste management and urban development.

After a successful kick-off event at the end of 2017 (Winter Academy on Renewable Energies and Energy Security), the Regional Program Energy Security and Climate Change Middle East and North Africa of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V. (KAS - REMENA) invited together with the European Academy Otzenhausen (EAO) for an autumn academy on sustainability and resource security in the EU and the MENA region.


24 young professionals from Algeria, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, the Palestinian Territories, Tunisia and Turkey took part in the ten-day workshop program in Germany.


The autumn academy focused on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). In this context, the participants dealt with tomorrow's energy mix, water safety and wastewater management issues, and the Water Energy Food Nexus. They also discussed concepts for sustainable urban development and future mobility.


In addition to interactive lecture sessions at the EAO (Saarland), presented and conducted by renowned experts from Germany (Prof. Dr. Antje Bruns from the University of Trier), Europe (Matthew Wittenstein from the International Energy Agency in Paris and Lionel Heiwy, self-employed urban planner from Strasbourg) and the MENA region (Dr. Jauad El Kharraz from MEDRC Water Research in Oman and Mounir Kabbara from SEE Nexus in Dubai), the participants had the opportunity to take a look at already successfully established projects on sustainability and resource security during excursions in the region. Among other things, the young professionals visited the energy landscape in Morbach (Rhineland-Palatinate), were able to inform themselves about sustainable urban development during tours of the cities of Freiburg and Saarbrücken, and experienced during a visit to the pump storage station in Vianden (Luxembourg) how sustainable energy supply can function successfully across national borders.


The participants were particularly interested in finding out and sounding out how already established projects could be successfully implemented in their home regions. In particular, they identified potential for their countries in the planting of trees, waste disposal and the expansion of local public transport, particularly with regard to electric drive technologies.


In impressive presentations at the end of the workshop, the young professionals from the MENA region explained their own proposals for sustainable strategies in the areas of energy, water, mobility, waste management and urban development.


Learn more about these ideas and solutions in video interviews with five participants of the autumn academy from Algeria, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman and Tunisia.

Contact Person

Franziska Fabritius

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

franziska.fabritius@kas.de +212 5 37 67 04 13/14 +212 5 37 67 04 15

Veranstaltungsberichte

Herbstakademie zu Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcensicherheit in der EU und der MENA-Region

von Franziska Fabritius

19. bis 29. Oktober 2018 in der Europäischen Akademie Otzenhausen (EAO), Deutschland

Ausgewählte Nachwuchskräfte aus der MENA-Region trafen sich in Deutschland und informierten sich über nachhaltige Strategien in den Bereichen Energie, Wasser, Mobilität, Abfallmanagement und Stadtentwicklung.

Nach einer erfolgreichen Auftaktveranstaltung Ende 2017 (Winterakademie zu Erneuerbaren Energien und Energiesicherheit) lud das Regionalprogramm Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V. (KAS - REMENA) in diesem Jahr gemeinsam mit der Europäischen Akademie Otzenhausen (EAO) für eine Herbstakademie zu Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcensicherheit in der EU und der MENA-Region ein.

24 junge Nachwuchskräfte aus Algerien, Jordanien, Libanon, Marokko, Oman, den Palästinensischen Gebieten, Tunesien und der Türkei nahmen an dem zehntägigen Workshop-Programm in Deutschland teil.

Im Mittelpunkt der Herbstakademie standen die Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Die Teilnehmer beschäftigten sich in diesem Zusammenhang mit dem Energiemix von morgen, Fragen zu Wassersicherheit und dem Management von Abwasser sowie dem Water-Energy-Food Nexus. Außerdem diskutierten sie Konzepte zu nachhaltiger Stadtentwicklung und zukünftiger Mobilität.

Neben interaktiven Vortragssessions in der EAO (Saarland), präsentiert und durchgeführt von renommierten Experten aus Deutschland (Prof. Dr. Antje Bruns von der Universität Trier), Europa (Matthew Wittenstein von der International Energy Agency in Paris und Lionel Heiwy, selbständiger Stadtplaner aus Straßburg) und der MENA-Region (Dr. Jauad El Kharraz von MEDRC Water Research in Oman und Mounir Kabbara vom SEE Nexus in Dubai) hatten die Teilnehmer Gelegenheit, bei Ausflügen in der Region bereits erfolgreich etablierte Projekte zu Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcensicherheit in Augenschein zu nehmen. Unter anderem besichtigten die Nachwuchskräfte die Energielandschaft in Morbach (Rheinland-Pfalz), konnten sich bei Rundgängen durch die Städte Freiburg und Saarbrücken über nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung informieren und erlebten bei einem Besuch des Pumpspeicherkraftwerks in Vianden (Luxemburg), wie nachhaltige Energieversorgung über Ländergrenzen hinweg erfolgreich funktionieren kann.

Die Teilnehmer waren besonders interessiert zu erfahren und auszuloten, wie sich bereits etablierte Projekte auch in ihren Heimatregionen erfolgreich umsetzen lassen könnten. Insbesondere erkannten sie Potenziale für ihre Länder bei der Anpflanzung von Bäumen, der Müllentsorgung sowie beim Ausbau des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs, vor allem im Hinblick auf elektrische Antriebstechniken.

In eindrucksvollen Präsentationen erläuterten die Nachwuchskräfte aus der MENA-Region zum Abschluss des Workshops eigene Vorschläge zu nachhaltigen Strategien in den Bereichen Energie, Wasser, Mobilität, Abfallmanagement und Stadtentwicklung.

Erfahren Sie mehr über diese Ideen und Lösungsansätze in Videointerviews mit fünf Teilnehmern der Herbstakademie aus Algerien, Jordanien, Libanon, Oman und Tunesien.

Ansprechpartner

Franziska Fabritius

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

franziska.fabritius@kas.de +212 5 37 67 04 13/14 +212 5 37 67 04 15