Asset Publisher

Event Reports

Workshop: “Girls and Young Women Empowerment in the MENA Region" - phase 1

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Rule of Law Programme Middle East and North Africa (MENA) and Plan International Jordan partnered up to train 20 girls, young women, as well as youth/young women-led organizations on International Human Rights standards and principles.

In this first phase of the project, the workshop aimed at transferring knowledge and at training 20 young women from youth-led organizations from Lebanon, Egypt, Tunisia and Jordan on fundamental international human rights principles. A second phase of the project will be held in September 2022 in Beirut, Lebanon, focusing on advocacy and lobbying skills. The target group was chosen from various MENA countries in order to equip them with the tools to advocate for their rights in their communities across the region.

Asset Publisher

 

The training was held in Amman, Jordan, from July 18 to July 20, 2022.

The training extended over three consecutive days and covered a range of topics related to the rights of girls and women. subject-matters that were addressed in the training included concepts and terminology of human rights; basic rights; principles and standards of human rights; generations of human rights; international bodies implementing human rights.

After opening remarks held by Mona Abbas, Country Director; Mr. Philipp Bremer, Director of the KAS Rule of Law Programme MENA and Ms. Maha Qashou, Country Director of (She Leads) Program, the workshop program on the first day included group discussions concerning the concepts of human rights, what they represent, and their historical roots. Rounding up the training, a documentary film was shown about the development of human rights and the formation of civil society.

On the second day, there were working groups on the Convention on the Rights of the Child, the Convention against Torture, CEDAW, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) as well as group exchange about the human rights monitoring mechanisms within the United Nations system, i.e. the treaty-based bodiesand the charter-based bodies.

On the third day, the topics covered mechanisms that are aimed at protecting human rights defenders: the Declaration on human rights defenders, the UN Special Rapporteur mandated with the implementation of the declaration, the protection of women human rights defenders specifically. Another session was held covering relevant national laws and regulations, national institutions established under the Paris Principles as well as human rights institutions.

 

 

 

 

Asset Publisher

Contact

Salam Al-Zahran

Salam Al-Zahran

Project Manager

Salam.Alzahran@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

comment-portlet

Asset Publisher

Media library

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani on Data Protection in Latin America
We speak with Eduardo Magrani about the General Data Protection Regulation and its influence in Brazilian and Latin American legal framework.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu on the GDPR's influence in South East Europe
Ioana Stupariu works with tech and healthcare start-ups and companies across Central and Eastern Europe. And she researches on Data protection & Privacy.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter on the the EU’s GDPR and data protection worldwide
We look at the EU’s GDPR: How is data protection handled in other parts of the world? How can we establish international standards? And what will happen next?
read now

Asset Publisher

Asset Publisher

Veranstaltungsberichte

Workshop: Stärkung der Rechte junger Frauen in der MENA Region im Lichte internationaler Menschenrechte - phase 1

Das Rechtsstaatsprogramm der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) für den Nahen Osten und Nordafrika (MENA) und Plan International Jordanien haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um 20 Mädchen und junge Frauen sowie von Jugendlichen und jungen Frauen geleitete Organisationen in internationalen Menschenrechtsstandards und -prinzipien zu schulen.

In dieser ersten Projektphase zielte der Workshop auf die Vermittlung von Wissen und die Schulung von 20 jungen Frauen aus Jugendorganisationen aus dem Libanon, Ägypten, Tunesien und Jordanien zu grundlegenden internationalen Menschenrechtsprinzipien ab. Eine zweite Phase des Projekts wird im September 2022 in Beirut, Libanon, stattfinden und sich auf die Vermittlung von Fähigkeiten zur Interessenvertretung und Lobbyarbeit konzentrieren. Die Zielgruppe wurde aus verschiedenen MENA-Ländern ausgewählt, um sie mit den Instrumenten auszustatten, die sie benötigen, um sich in ihren Gemeinden in der Region für ihre Rechte einzusetzen.

Die Schulung fand vom 18. bis 20. Juli 2022 in Amman, Jordanien, statt.

Die Schulung erstreckte sich über drei aufeinanderfolgende Tage und behandelte eine Reihe von Themen im Zusammenhang mit den Rechten von Mädchen und Frauen. Zu den Themen, die in der Schulung behandelt wurden, gehörten Konzepte und Terminologie der Menschenrechte, Grundrechte, Prinzipien und Standards der Menschenrechte, Generationen von Menschenrechten und internationale Gremien, die Menschenrechte umsetzen.

Nach einleitenden Worten von Mona Abbas, Landesdirektorin, Philipp Bremer, Direktor des KAS-Rechtsstaatsprogramms MENA, und Maha Qashou, Landesdirektorin des (She Leads)-Programms, standen am ersten Tag Gruppendiskussionen über die Konzepte der Menschenrechte, ihre Bedeutung und ihre historischen Wurzeln auf dem Workshop-Programm. Zum Abschluss der Schulung wurde ein Dokumentarfilm über die Entwicklung der Menschenrechte und die Entstehung der Zivilgesellschaft gezeigt.

Am zweiten Tag gab es Arbeitsgruppen zum Übereinkommen über die Rechte des Kindes, zum Übereinkommen gegen Folter, zum CEDAW, zum Internationalen Pakt über bürgerliche und politische Rechte (ICCPR) sowie einen Gruppenaustausch über die Menschenrechtsüberwachungsmechanismen innerhalb des Systems der Vereinten Nationen, d.h. die vertragsbasierten Organe und die Charta-basierten Organe.

Am dritten Tag ging es um Mechanismen zum Schutz von Menschenrechtsverteidigern: die Erklärung über Menschenrechtsverteidiger, den UN-Sonderberichterstatter, der mit der Umsetzung der Erklärung beauftragt ist, und den Schutz von Menschenrechtsverteidigerinnen im Besonderen. Eine weitere Sitzung befasste sich mit den einschlägigen nationalen Gesetzen und Vorschriften, den im Rahmen der Pariser Grundsätze eingerichteten nationalen Institutionen sowie den Menschenrechtsinstitutionen.

Kontakt

Salam Al-Zahran

Salam Al-Zahran

Projektkoordinatorin

Salam.Alzahran@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

Mediathek

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani über Datenschutz in Lateinamerika
Mit Eduardo Magrani sprechen wir über die DSGVO und ihren Einfluss auf die lateinamerikanische und vor allen die brasilianische Gesetzgebung.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu über den Einfluss der DSGVO in Südosteuropa
Ioana Stupariu berät kleine und mittelständische Start-ups in Südosteuropa bei der Implementierung von Datenschutzrichtlinien. Und sie forscht zu Datenschutz & Privacy.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter über die weltweite Wirkung der Datenschutzgrundverordnung der EU
Mit Frederick Richter sprechen wir über die Stiftung Datenschutz, die Rolle des Datenschutzes in Deutschland und über die DSGVO und ihre Ausstrahlungswirkung in die Welt.
Jetzt lesen