Forum

THE MEKONG FORUM 2

ASEAN Centrality in addressing the challenges in the Mekong sub-region

The Mekong issue plays an imperative role not only for the sub-regional countries through which the river flows but also for the whole Southeast Asian region. The ASEAN – Mekong Basin Development Cooperation (AMBDC) was established as early as 1996 to enhance eco-nomic integration among member countries. However, the AMBDC has made no significant progress compared to other dynamic mechanisms in the sub-region. The reason and ra-tionale behind the vital need for ASEAN to put the Mekong sub-region on the agenda has been discussed by prominent scholars in and outside the region. In particular, ASEAN and ASEAN-led mechanisms can create strategic space for member countries to cooperate on is-sues related to the Mekong sub-region. As the ASEAN chair for 2020, Vietnam has put the sub-regional cooperation issues on the agenda of the Association.

Details

E-Banner Mekong Forum 2
E-Banner Mekong Forum 2

Regarding regional integration, the common concern of cooperation mechanisms in the sub-region as well as in ASEAN is to find solutions to narrow the development gap between mainland Southeast Asia and maritime Southeast Asia. The critical question is how sub-regional cooperation contributes to the building of ASEAN Community.

Regarding regional security, the Mekong River Basin is currently facing various non-traditional security issues such as water security, environmental pollution, transnational crime, etc., which would be further aggravated in the future if appropriate measures are not taken. Since non-traditional security issues are borderless, other non-basin ASEAN countries may suffer unintended adverse outcomes. Therefore, a region-wide approach is required for a comprehensive solution.

For ASEAN, raising the Mekong issue on the agenda is conducive to maintaining its centrality as the center of regional architecture, helping to keep the region's cohesiveness despite conflicts and tensions. Current Mekong governance mechanisms are not multilateral but monopolistic institutional arrangements. This will, in the long run, threaten the strategic autonomy of small and medium-sized countries in the sub-region.

In addition, solving the Mekong issue as a common concern of ASEAN is closely related to building a stronger ASEAN community. The goal of "ASEAN - One Vision, One Identity, One Community" cannot be realized if the issues of the mainland ASEAN countries are excluded from the concerns of the whole bloc.

Topic for The Second Mekong Forum will be: “ASEAN Centrality in addressing the challenges in the Mekong sub-region” 

The follow – on discussion then will also focus on:

  • Assessing the key challenges that the Mekong subregion is facing that matter to ASEAN
  • Discussing the rationale and capacity of ASEAN in playing a central role in facilitating a solution for the Mekong sub-region’s challenges.  
  • Discussing the practical policy steps that ASEAN must take to promote a stronger ASEAN concensus on the Association’s indispensible role in the Mekong sub-region.

Program

14.00 - 14.15 Opening Session

DAV Vice President

Representative from German Embassy in Vietnam

14.15 - 15.20 Presentation Session

Moderator:

Ambassador Pham Quang Vinh,

Former Deputy Minister of Foreign affairs of Viet Nam

Keynote speaker:

Ambassador Bilahari Kausikan

Chairman, Middle East Institute, National University of Singapore; Former Ambassador-at-Large and Policy Advisor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore

15.20 - 15.30 Break

15.30 - 16.45 Discussion Session

Moderator:

Ambassador Pham Quang Vinh,

Former Deputy Minister of Foreign affairs of Viet Nam

Commentators:

Dr Le Thu Huong

Principal Policy Fellow

Perth USAsia Centre

 

Dr. Nguyen Hung Son

Vice President

Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam

 

Q & A

16.45 - 17.00 Closing Session

Add to the calendar

Venue

Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam
69 Chua Lang street,
Hanoi
Vietnam
Zur Webseite

Speakers

  • Ambassador Bilahari Kausikan
    • Chairman
    • Middle East Institute
    • National University of Singapore
  • Former Ambassador-at-Large and Policy Advisor
    • Ministry of Foreign Affairs
    • Singapore (Keynote Speaker)
  • Ambassador Pham Quang Vinh
    • Former Deputy Minister of Foreign affairs of Viet Nam (Moderator)
  • Dr Le Thu Huong
    • Principal Policy Fellow
    • Perth USAsia Centre (Commentator) Dr. Nguyen Hung Son
    • Vice President
    • Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam (Commentator)
Contact

Vu Thi Thu Phuong

Vu Phuong

Project Manager

Phuong.Vu@kas.de +84 24 3 7186194 /17 +84 24 37186197

Forum

MEKONG FORUM 2

ASEAN Zentralität bei der Bewältigung von Herausforderungen in der Mekong-Subregion

Die Mekong-Frage ist nicht nur für die Länder der Subregion, durch die der Fluss fließt, sondern für die gesamte südostasiatische Region von großer Bedeutung. Die ASEAN Mekong-Becken Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (AMBDC) wurde bereits 1996 gegründet, um die ökologische Integration zwischen den Mitgliedsländern zu fördern. Im Vergleich zu anderen dynamischen Mechanismen in der Subregion hat die AMBDC jedoch keine nennenswerten Fortschritte gemacht. Der Grund dafür, dass ASEAN die Subregion Mekong unbedingt auf die Tagesordnung setzen muss, wurde von namhaften Wissenschaftlern innerhalb und außerhalb der Region diskutiert. Insbesondere können ASEAN und ASEAN-geführte Mechanismen einen strategischen Raum für die Zusammenarbeit der Mitgliedsländer in Fragen der Mekong-Subregion schaffen. Als ASEAN-Vorsitz für das Jahr 2020 hat Vietnam die Fragen der subregionalen Zusammenarbeit auf die Tagesordnung der Vereinigung gesetzt.

Details

Was die regionale Integration betrifft, so besteht das gemeinsame Anliegen der Kooperationsmechanismen in der Subregion wie auch in der ASEAN darin, Lösungen zu finden, um das Entwicklungsgefälle zwischen dem südostasiatischen Festland und dem maritimen Südostasien zu verringern. Die entscheidende Frage ist, wie die subregionale Zusammenarbeit zum Aufbau der ASEAN-Gemeinschaft beiträgt.

Was die regionale Sicherheit anbelangt, so ist das Mekong-Flussgebiet derzeit mit verschiedenen nicht-traditionellen Sicherheitsproblemen konfrontiert, wie z.B. Wassersicherheit, Umweltverschmutzung, grenzüberschreitende Kriminalität usw., die sich in Zukunft weiter verschärfen werden, wenn keine geeigneten Maßnahmen ergriffen werden. Da nicht-traditionelle Sicherheitsprobleme keine Grenzen kennen, können auch andere ASEAN-Länder, die nicht dem Becken angehören, unter unbeabsichtigten nachteiligen Folgen leiden. Daher ist für eine umfassende Lösung ein regionsweiter Ansatz erforderlich.

Für die ASEAN ist es förderlich, die Mekong-Frage auf die Tagesordnung zu setzen, um ihre zentrale Stellung als Mittelpunkt der regionalen Architektur zu erhalten und so den Zusammenhalt der Region trotz Konflikten und Spannungen zu bewahren. Die derzeitigen Mekong-Governance-Mechanismen sind keine multilateralen, sondern monopolistische institutionelle Arrangements. Dies bedroht auf lange Sicht die strategische Autonomie der kleinen und mittleren Länder in der Subregion.

Darüber hinaus ist die Lösung der Mekong-Frage als gemeinsames Anliegen der ASEAN eng mit dem Aufbau einer stärkeren ASEAN-Gemeinschaft verbunden. Das Ziel "ASEAN - eine Vision, eine Identität, eine Gemeinschaft" kann nicht verwirklicht werden, wenn die Belange der ASEAN-Staaten auf dem Festland von den Anliegen des gesamten Blocks ausgeschlossen werden.

 

Das Thema des zweiten Mekong-Forums wird sein: "ASEAN Zentralität bei der Bewältigung von Herausforderungen in der Mekong-Subregion"

Die anschließende Diskussion wird sich ebenfalls auf folgende Themen konzentrieren:

  • Bewertung der wichtigsten Herausforderungen, mit denen die Mekong-Subregion konfrontiert ist und die für die ASEAN von Bedeutung sind
  • Erörterung der Gründe und der Fähigkeit der ASEAN, eine zentrale Rolle bei der Lösungsfindung für die Herausforderungen der Mekong-Subregion zu spielen
  • Erörterung der praktischen politischen Schritte, die ASEAN unternehmen muss, um einen stärkeren ASEAN-Konsens über die unverzichtbare Rolle der Vereinigung in der Mekong-Subregion zu fördern.

Programm

14.00 - 14.15 Eröffnungssitzung

DAV Vizepräsident

Vertreter der deutschen Botschaft in Vietnam

14.15 - 15.20 Präsentation

Moderator:

Botschafter Pham Quang Vinh,

Ehemaliger stellvertretender Außenminister Vietnams

Hauptredner:

Botschafter Bilahari Kausikan, Vorsitzender des Nahost-Instituts, Nationale Universität Singapur, Ehemaliger Sonderbotschafter und politischer Berater, Außenministerium, Singapur

15.20 - 15.30 Pause

15.30 - 16.45 Diskussion

Moderator:

Botschafter Pham Quang Vinh

ehemaliger stellvertretender Außenminister Vietnams

 

Kommentatoren:

Dr Le Thu Huong

Direktor der Politikabteilung, Perth USAsia Centre

 

Dr. Nguyen Hung Son

Vizepräsident, Diplomatische Akademie von Vietnam

 

Q & A

16.45 - 17.00 Abschlusssitzung

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Veranstaltungsort

Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam
69 Chua Lang street,
Hanoi
Vietnam
Zur Webseite

Referenten

  • Botschafter Bilahari Kausikan
    • Vorsitzender des Nahost-Instituts
    • Nationale Universität Singapur
    • Ehemaliger Sonderbotschafter und politischer Berater
    • Außenministerium
    • Singapur (Hauptredner)
  • Botschafter Pham Quang Vinh
    • ehemaliger stellvertretender Außenminister Vietnams (Moderator)
  • Dr. Le Thu Huong
    • Direktor der Politikabteilung
    • Perth USAsia Centre (Kommentator) Dr. Nguyen Hung Son
    • Vizepräsident
    • Diplomatische Akademie von Vietnam (Kommentator)
Kontakt

Vu Thi Thu Phuong

Phuong

Projektmanagerin

Phuong.Vu@kas.de +84 24 3 7186194 /17 +84 24 37186197