Single title

Three Adenauer alumni awarded

by Laura Marsch
We congratulate our Adenauer alumni Luis Liwanag, Chiara Zambrano and Che de los Reyes on the receiving of various awards. International juries found their video features on political and societal conflicts in the Philippines to be the best in their field.

The prize winners in detail:

Luis Liwanag and his production team have been awarded with the World Press Photo Digital-Storytelling Award for their short documentary „Duterte’s Hell“. The journalists reported about Duterte’s fight against drugs and its impact on the victims’ families. The outstanding video feature gives the audience a very close view on the scenery allowing them to experience pure emotions without any filters.

Follow this link to watch the documentary.

Che de los Reyes has been honourably mentioned at the first ASEANale for her documentary "Who's Behind the Trumps Effigy at the ASEAN Summit in Manila?”. In the fifteen minute feature de los Reyes portrays the artists of the sculptures used during the demonstrations and gets a closer look at their motivations. The journalist produced the video story during her Master study at the Ateneo de Manila University and the Adenauer fellowship programme.

Follow this link for the documentary or this link for the article.

Chiara Zambrano and her production team from ABS-CBN received the Golden Medal at the „New York Festival – World’s Best TV & Film“ for their documentary on the Marawi siege. Their film „Di Ka Pasisiil (Never Shall Be Conquered)” won in the category “Coverage of Continuing News Story”. The one hour feature reports on the impact of the Marawi conflict on society and the entire region.

Follow this link to watch the documentary.