Event Reports

The Truth Hunt: A dangerous investigation in the Balkans

by Johannes Wolf

For the first time, the KAS Media Programme has published a comic book about journalists in South East Europe.

On 31 March, the Media Programme South East Europe of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung presented its first comic book. The comic book tells the story of the young journalist Delyana - somewhere in South East Europe, who stumbles upon a hot topic and struggles with many different problems during her investigations. In the follow-up discussion, the reality of investigative journalists' experiences and the role of investigative journalism in Bulgaria were discussed by five well-known journalists from Bulgaria.

Following the welcome by the evening's moderator, Kristina Baxanova, Editor-in-Chief of "International News" at the private television station bTV, Hendrik Sittig, Head of the Media Programme South East Europe, commented on the decision to publish a comic book: "Through this special way, this innovative way of a comic book, we want to draw attention to the numerous problems of journalists in South East Europe in addition to our traditional events and publications and thereby reach an even broader audience."

The two authors Alexia Petrova (journalist) and Ralitsa Tschobanova (illustrator) from Sofia introduced the main characters and the plot of the comic to the audience in a short version: Delyana, a young journalist, discovers the corrupt practices of a health company during an internship at a leading daily newspaper. With the help of her older colleague Simeon, she begins an investigation and has to deal with more and more obstacles. Through it all, she doesn't give up. "Corruption is a big problem," Alexia Petrova told us. "I wanted to demonstrate how corruption works and where corruption exists and that we should not be afraid to fight it."

In the following discussion, Genka Shikerova (Radio Free Europe/TV1), Velislava Popova (news portal dnevnik.bg), Dimitar Ganev (freelance investigative journalist) and Nikolay Staykov (Anti-Corruption Fond) spoke about different aspects of investigative journalism. The focus was on the quality and relevance of investigative research, audience receptivity to complicated and long investigative stories, funding, political pressure, and regional and supra-regional cooperation between journalists and media.

Kristina Baxanova opened the debate by raising the question of the role of journalists in Bulgarian society. Dimitar Ganev said: "As journalists, we should not expect to be welcomed. This means that if we are ever welcomed with a red carpet somewhere, a red light should turn on for us." The four panellists agreed that this basic sceptical attitude towards journalists resulted in problems: Authorities and companies were reluctant to answer questions, reluctant to comply with their duty to provide information. It is often difficult to obtain information that should be available to the public.

The topic of corruption was, to be sure, not left out of the discussion. Nikolay Staykov commented on the difficulties of media financing in Bulgaria and explained why the complicated financial situation of Bulgarian media is also a breeding ground for corruption: "There was research on whose money finances which media. It turned out that a large number of media outlets belong to only a few large entrepreneurs. This is of course difficult for journalists working in this tangle of ties." This unfavourable situation of the media also contributed to the establishment of the Anti-Corruption Fond, which conducts independent journalistic research, Staykov said. "We asked ourselves the question: How can independent journalism be financed?".

Another difficulty was that many investigative journalists were concentrated in the capital. Velislava Popova: "Our investigations mostly take place in Sofia. And there is actually no investigative journalism in regional and local media. But especially outside Sofia, there are a lot of corruption cases that need to be investigated." The Bulgarian media landscape also faces the challenge of creating binding journalistic standards, Popova said. Although "dnevnik.bg" and the weekly newspaper "Kapital", which are both published by the same publishing house, have drawn up an in-house code of ethics, there is a need to catch up nationwide. Despite the difficulties and hostility that journalists face time and again, she is confident about the future: "The most important thing is not to give up." Genka Shikerova agreed, adding that critical coverage, in particular, is indispensable for democracies. "If there is no strong investigative journalism, it weakens civil society. Studies have shown that then, for example, voter turnout drops."

Afterward many of the approximately fifty guests took the opportunity to contribute to the lively discussion with questions.

 

The comic book is available as a free e-book here.

Veranstaltungsberichte

The Truth Hunt: A dangerous investigation in the Balkans

von Johannes Wolf

Erstmals hat das KAS-Medienprogramm ein Comic-Buch über Journalisten in Südosteuropa herausgebracht.

Am 31. März stellte das Medienprogramm Südosteuropa der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung sein erstes Comicbuch vor. In diesem wird die Geschichte der jungen Journalistin Delyana – irgendwo in Südosteuropa – erzählt. Sie stößt durch Zufall auf ein heißes Thema und muss bei ihrer Recherche mit vielen unterschiedlichen Problemen kämpfen. Welche realen Erfahrungen investigative Journalisten machen und welche Rolle der investigative Journalismus speziell in Bulgarien spielt, darüber diskutierten anschließend fünf bekannte Journalistinnen und Journalisten aus Bulgarien.

Nach der Begrüßung durch die Moderatorin des Abends, Kristina Baxanova (Chefredakteurin „International News“ beim privaten Fernsehsender bTV), erklärte Hendrik Sittig (Leiter des Medienprogrammes Südosteuropa), die Entscheidung für die Herausgabe eines Comic: „Über diesen besonderen Weg, diesen innovativen Weg eines Comic-Buchs wollen wir zusätzlich zu unseren traditionellen Veranstaltungen und Publikationen auf die zahlreichen Probleme von Journalisten in Südosteuropa aufmerksam machen und dabei ein noch breiteres Publikum finden.“

Die beiden Autorinnen Alexia Petrova (Journalistin) und Ralitsa Tschobanova (Zeichnerin) aus Sofia stellten dem Publikum in einer Kurzfassung die Hauptfiguren und die Handlung des Comics vor: Die junge Journalistin Delyana kommt während eines Praktikums bei einer größeren Zeitung den korrupten Machenschaften eines Gesundheitsunternehmens auf die Spur. Mithilfe ihres älteren Kollegen Simeon beginnt sie eine Recherche und hat mit immer neuen Hindernissen zu kämpfen. Bei all dem gibt sie nicht auf. „Korruption ist ein großes Problem“, erzählte Alexia Petrova. „Ich wollte zeigen, an welchen Stellen Korruption herrscht und dass wir keine Angst haben sollten, sie zu bekämpfen.“

In der nachfolgenden Diskussionsrunde sprachen Genka Shikerova (Radio Free Europe/TV1), Velislava Popova (Nachrichtenportal dnevnik.bg), Dimitar Ganev (freier Investigativ-Journalist) und Nikolay Staykov (Anti-Korruptions-Fonds) über verschiedene Aspekte des investigativen Journalismus. Der Fokus lag dabei auf Qualität und Relevanz von investigativen Recherchen, Empfänglichkeit des Publikums für komplizierte und lange investigative Geschichten, Finanzierung, politischer Druck sowie regionale und überregionale Zusammenarbeit von Journalisten und Medien.

Kristina Baxanova eröffnete die Runde mit der Frage, welche Rolle Journalistinnen und Journalisten in der bulgarischen Gesellschaft spielten. Dazu Dimitar Ganev: „Als Journalisten dürfen wir nicht erwarten, dass wir gern gesehen werden. Sollten wir also mal irgendwo mit einem roten Teppich empfangen werden, sollte bei uns ein rotes Licht angehen.“ Die vier Panelisten waren sich einig, dass diese skeptische Grundhaltung gegenüber Journalisten Probleme zur Folge hat: Behörden und Unternehmen beantworteten ungern Fragen, kämen ihrer Auskunftspflicht nur widerwillig nach. Es sei oft auch schwierig, an Informationen zu gelangen, die eigentlich öffentlich zugänglich sein müssten.

Natürlich wurde auch das Thema Korruption nicht ausgeklammert. Nikolay Staykov kommentierte die Schwierigkeiten der Medienfinanzierung in Bulgarien und erklärte, weshalb die komplizierte finanzielle Lage bulgarischer Medien auch ein Nährboden für Korruption sei: „Es gab Recherchen darüber, wessen Geld welche Medien finanziert. Herauskam, dass die Vielzahl der Medien nur wenigen großen Unternehmern gehört. Das ist natürlich schwierig für die Journalisten, die in diesem Beziehungsgeflecht arbeiten.“ Diese ungünstige Lage der Medien habe auch zur Gründung des Anti-Korruptions-Fonds, der eigenständige journalistische Recherchen durchführt, beigetragen, so Staykov. „Wir haben uns die Frage gestellt: Wie kann man unabhängigen Journalismus finanzieren?“

Als Schwierigkeit wurde auch empfunden, dass viele investigative Journalistinnen und Journalisten auf die Hauptstadt konzentriert seien. Velislava Popova: „Unsere Recherchen finden meist in Sofia statt. Und in regionalen und lokalen Medien gibt es eigentlich keinen investigativen Journalismus. Aber gerade außerhalb Sofias passieren sehr viele Korruptionsfälle, bei denen man nachhaken müsste.“ Auch stehe die bulgarische Medienlandschaft vor der Herausforderung, verbindliche journalistische Standards zu schaffen, so Popova. Zwar habe „dnevnik.bg“ und auch die Wochenzeitung „Kapital“, die beide im selben Verlag erscheinen, einen hausinternen Ethikkodex erstellt, aber hier gebe es landesweit Nachholbedarf. Trotz der Schwierigkeiten und Anfeindungen, denen sich Journalisten immer wieder ausgesetzt sehen, blickt sie zuversichtlich in die Zukunft: „Das wichtigste ist, dass man nicht aufgibt.“ Dem stimmte auch Genka Shikerova zu und fügte an, dass gerade kritische Berichterstattung für Demokratien unverzichtbar sei. „Wenn es keinen starken investigativen Journalismus gibt, schwächt das die Zivilgesellschaft. Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass dann zum Beispiel die Wahlbeteiligung sinkt.“

Anschließend nutzten viele der rund fünfzig Gäste die Gelegenheit, sich mit Fragen in die lebhafte Diskussion einzubringen.

 

Das Comic-Buch ist als kostenfreies E-Book hier verfügbar.