Asset Publisher

Event Reports

Judges in Training: Workshop

by Salam Al-Zahran

On the topics of Domestic Violence and Juvenile Protection Law and the mechanisms of determining the exchange rate of Lebanese pound under exceptional circumstances

On the 24th and 26th of March 2022, the Rule of Law Programme Middle East & North Africa, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), in partnership with the Judicial Studies Institute at the Ministry of Justice in Lebanon, organized a workshop on the domestic violence and juvenile protection Laws and the mechanism for determining the exchange rate of Lebanese pound under exceptional circumstances –problems and solutions adopted in Lebanese and foreign courts. 33 judges in training attended the two-day workshop at the Smallville Hotel in Beirut, Lebanon.

Asset Publisher

Judge Nada Dakroub, President of the Judicial Studies Institute, and Mr. Philipp Bremer, Director of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Rule of Law Programme Middle East & North Africa, opened the workshop by emphasizing the importance of the collaborative effort and the continuation of this workshop for the second year, which aims to broaden the judges’ legal knowledge on major and recent topics.

The General Director of the Ministry of Justice, Judge Mohammad El Masri, delivered the closing remarks on behalf of H.E. Minister of Justice Judge Henry Khoury, highlighting the significance of persistence in these challenging circumstances for the judicial system and the country.

The opening remarks were proceeded by an introductory discussion session with Judge Souheil Abboud, President of the Supreme Judicial Council, and the Judges in Training.

The sessions on the two days were as follows:

Judge Hala Naja conducted the first training session, which focused on the domestic violence and the protection of juveniles in the expedited judiciary; including the role of the expedited judiciary in the protection of public freedoms and fundamental rights, the expedited judge's competence to protect the family under the Domestic Violence Act No. 293/2014 amended under Act No. 204/2021, and the competence of the expedited judge to protect the family under his general jurisdiction.

Judge Fatima Maged led the second training session of the first day, in which she discussed the definition of the juvenile and the general principles to be followed in order to provide him/her with the ultimate protection/international conventions and charters/Act No. 422/2002, furthermore, the protection of juvenile offenders and the protection of juvenile at risk.

The second day also encountered two sessions. The first one, presented by Judge Youssef El Hakim, dealt with the mechanism for determining the exchange rate of Lebanese pound under exceptional circumstances-problems and solutions adopted in Lebanese and foreign courts (court of first instance); provisional seizure (Art. 866 Code of Civil Procedure) and executive seizure.

The second session was led by Judge Elias Richa, who discussed the topic from the executive chamber's perspective, addressing the issue of account currency and billing currency, as well as the exchange rate to be adopted by doctrine and jurisprudence.

At the end of the workshop, both the expert judges and the judges in training, received certificates from the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Rule of Law Programme Middle East & North Africa and the Judicial Studies Institute at the Ministry of Justice in Lebanon.

Asset Publisher

Contact

Salam Al-Zahran

Salam Al-Zahran

Project Manager

Salam.Alzahran@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

comment-portlet

Asset Publisher

Media library

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani on Data Protection in Latin America
We speak with Eduardo Magrani about the General Data Protection Regulation and its influence in Brazilian and Latin American legal framework.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu on the GDPR's influence in South East Europe
Ioana Stupariu works with tech and healthcare start-ups and companies across Central and Eastern Europe. And she researches on Data protection & Privacy.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter on the the EU’s GDPR and data protection worldwide
We look at the EU’s GDPR: How is data protection handled in other parts of the world? How can we establish international standards? And what will happen next?
read now

Asset Publisher

Asset Publisher

Veranstaltungsberichte

Richterinnen und Richter in Ausbildung: Workshop

von Salam Al-Zahran

Zum Thema häusliche Gewalt und Jugendschutzgesetz sowie die Mechanismen zur Bestimmung des Wechselkurses des Libanesischen Pfunds unter außergewöhnlichen Umständen

Am 24. und 26. März 2022 organisierte das Rechtsstaatsprogramm Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Judicial Studies Institute des libanesischen Justizministeriums einen Workshop zu den Gesetzen über häusliche Gewalt und Jugendschutz und dem Mechanismus zur Bestimmung des Wechselkurses des libanesischen Pfunds unter außergewöhnlichen Umständen - Probleme und Lösungen von libanesischen und ausländischen Gerichten. 33 der sich in der Ausbildung befindlichen Richter und Richterinnen nahmen an dem zweitägigen Workshop im Smallville Hotel in Beirut, Libanon, teil.

Richterin Nada Dakroub, Präsidentin des Judicial Studies Institute, und Philipp Bremer, Direktor des Rechtsstaatsprogramms der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Naher Osten und Nordafrika, eröffneten den Workshop, indem sie die Bedeutung ihrer Zusammenarbeit und Fortsetzung des Workshops im zweiten Jahr betonten. Im Zentrum steht unverändert der Ausbau des rechtlichen Wissens der angehenden Richterinnen und Richter zu wichtigen und aktuellen Fragestellungen.

Der Generaldirektor des Justizministeriums, Richter Mohammad El Masri, richtete im Namen des Justizministers, Richter Henry Khoury, die abschließenden Worte an die Teilnehmer/innen und betonte, wie wichtig es für das Justizsystem und das Land sei, unter diesen schwierigen Umständen durchzuhalten.

 

Auf die Eröffnungsrede folgte eine einleitende Diskussionsrunde mit Richter Souheil Abboud, Präsident des Obersten Justizrates, und den angehenden Richter und Richterinnen.

 

Die zweitägige Schulung verlief wie folgt:

Richterin Hala Naja leitete die erste Fortbildungseinheit, mit dem Fokus auf dem Thema häusliche Gewalt und den Schutz von Jugendlichen in einstweiligen Verfahren. Dabei wurde ebenfalls auf die Bedeutung der Eilgerichtsbarkeit beim Schutz der allgemeinen Freiheits- und Grundrechte sowie die Zuständigkeit der Richter/innen in beschleunigten Verfahren bezüglich des Schutzes von Familien gemäß Gesetz Nr. 293/2014 über häusliche Gewalt (geändert durch Gesetz Nr. 204/2021) und für den Schutz der Familie im Rahmen der allgemeinen richterlichen Zuständigkeit eingegangen.

Richterin Fatima Maged leitete die zweite Fortbildungseinheit des ersten Tages, in der sie die Definition des Begriffs "Jugendlicher" und die allgemeinen Grundsätze erörterte, die befolgt werden müssen, um dem Jugendlichen den größtmöglichen Schutz von internationalen Übereinkommen und des Gesetzes Nr. 422/2002 zu gewähren, sowie um jugendliche Straftäter/innen und gefährdete Jugendliche zu schützen.

 

Am zweiten Tag fanden ebenfalls zwei Einheiten statt. Die erste Einheit, die von Richter Youssef El Hakim geleitet wurde, befasste sich mit dem Mechanismus zur Bestimmung des Wechselkurses des libanesischen Pfunds unter außergewöhnlichen Umständen - Probleme und Lösungen von libanesischen und ausländischen Gerichten; vorläufige Pfändung (Art. 866 Zivilprozessordnung) und Zwangsvollstreckung.

Die zweite Sitzung wurde von Richter Elias Richa geleitet, der das Thema aus der Sicht der Exekutive erörterte und dabei auf die Problematik der Kontowährung und der Abrechnungswährung sowie auf den Wechselkurs einging, der von der Praxis und der Rechtsprechung angewandt werden sollte.

 

Zum Ende der Schulung erhielten sowohl die fachkundigen also auch die angehenden Richterinnen und Richter  ein Zertifikat des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) sowie des Judicial Studies Institute des Justizministeriums Libanons.

Kontakt

Salam Al-Zahran

Salam Al-Zahran

Projektkoordinatorin

Salam.Alzahran@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

Mediathek

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani über Datenschutz in Lateinamerika
Mit Eduardo Magrani sprechen wir über die DSGVO und ihren Einfluss auf die lateinamerikanische und vor allen die brasilianische Gesetzgebung.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu über den Einfluss der DSGVO in Südosteuropa
Ioana Stupariu berät kleine und mittelständische Start-ups in Südosteuropa bei der Implementierung von Datenschutzrichtlinien. Und sie forscht zu Datenschutz & Privacy.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter über die weltweite Wirkung der Datenschutzgrundverordnung der EU
Mit Frederick Richter sprechen wir über die Stiftung Datenschutz, die Rolle des Datenschutzes in Deutschland und über die DSGVO und ihre Ausstrahlungswirkung in die Welt.
Jetzt lesen