Asset Publisher

Event Reports

Towards a national legal framework for political parties in Lebanon, the gate for an efficient democracy

Round tables and debate sessions in collaboration with the International Center for Human Sciences (CISH) - UNESCO, Byblos, Lebanon

On the occasion of the International Day of Democracy, from September 15th to 18th 2021, the Rule of Law Programme Middle East & North Africa of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), in cooperation with the International Center for Human Sciences (CISH) - UNESCO, Byblos, organized a series of round tables and debate sessions entitled “Towards a National Legal framework for political parties in Lebanon: The gate for an efficient democracy”. The four days' workshop took place at the CISH premises in Byblos and in person, where legal practitioners and political party representatives joined the debate.

Asset Publisher

The four days' workshop consisted of two phases:

- Phase one: “Two-days round table and debate with 100 participants”,

- Phase two: “Two-days 20 representative – Focus Group”.

 

The first phase focused on sharing the needed knowledge and awareness, while comparing with previous experiences in other countries. While the second phase will be focused on the debate and the recommendation draft for a common legal law.

In the opening session, following the Lebanese national anthem, Dr. Darina Saliba Abi Chedid, Director of the International Center for Human Sciences (CISH), welcomed all the guests and attendees, then, pointed out the importance of having a new political parties’ legislation, shedding light on the necessity of having a 'meritocracy' culture instead of the current widespread clientelism.

In the following opening speech, the head of the Rule of Law Progamme Middle east and North Africa at the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Mr. Philipp Bremer introduced the attendees to the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its programs in Lebanon and in the region. He highlighted the importance of the workshop topic by stating: "that at the core of every democracy are different opinions, that meet, that are discussed and that in compromise must find a solution for the better of everyone. And in every democracy these opinions are organized in political parties". He added that "No democracy can properly work without political parties because they are integral to the free democratic basic order". On the other hand, Mr. Bremer encouraged youth to get involved in the Lebanese political life, stating: "with and through parties we can strengthen democratic values".

 

Afterwards, the sessions of the first two days, on the 15th and 16th of September, were as following:

The first session: the problematics of the current law regulating the Lebanese Associations and parties, and its repercussions on the political life.

Lawyer Michel Klimos alongside the former member of the parliament Me Ghassan Moukhaiber presented a legal analysis of the law in place and its defects. To note that, the current law organizing political parties and the one regulating the non-governmental organizations is the same. In force since 1909, it’s an Ottoman law, that does not guarantee democracy, neither transparency. Furthermore, the current law does not guarantee any control over the budgets and sources of incomes of political parties in Lebanon.

As for the former minister Ziad Baroud, he explained the prominent need for change in this matter, thus he pointed several suggested amendments. At the same time, the former minister urged for a ‘posteriori control’ and not a ‘priori control’ over the establishment of any political parties in order to avoid any kind of oppression by the State.

 

The second session: Democracy within political parties.

The international expert, Dr. Jean-Michel Berlemont, a law professor at the Science Po University Nancy in France, tackled the subject of the “organization of political parties in France”. It was a great opportunity for the audience to have an insight on the political parties’ legal framework in France especially, that Lebanon was a French protectorate, and that quiet few of the Lebanese legislative texts were influenced by French ones.

Dr. Marlene Sawaya, a professor at the Lebanese University, addressed the role of the 17th of October revolution that took place, in making change towards the political sphere, especially what is called in Lebanon the ‘civil society’. She added that, regardless of the fact that the civil society boomed since the revolution, what is more important to know is: the civil society positioning in the impasse of reform and the challenges of democracy.

At the end of the second session, a dialogue and interventions by parties’ representatives took place.

 

The third session: The financing resources of Lebanese Parties and the impact on elections and democracy.

The professor of Law at the Lebanese University, Dr. Rajaa El Sherif spoke from a legal aspect about the transparency in the financial resources of Lebanese political parties. She noted that a big difference exists between the legal texts in place and their implementation, which unfortunately, turns a possible reality into a myth.

Besides, the Judge Issam Sleiman, former head of constitutional council, pointed out the fundamental principles of democracy, one of them is the concept of ‘election’. Then, based on his previous experience he shed light on the topic of electoral appeals, that falls under the constitutional council’s jurisdiction. Judge Issam ended his speech by telling the audience about a controversial electoral appeal in which a known religious figure was the subject to a bribe.

 

The fourth session: Party and electoral media: Professionalism, misinformation and journalist safety.

This session started with a life experience of a photographer and a journalist: the first one was injured in a media coverage where he lost permanently sight in one eye; the second lost his job in a media institution because he refused to abide to their political affiliation.

Ms. Elsy Moufarrej, talked about the responsibility of media institutions, about the freedom of speech and journalists’ safety while pointing out her colleagues’ experiences. Ms. Moufarrej is journalist and a reporter, also a coordinator of the alternative syndicate of the press.

Another media expert, Dr. Mirna Abou Zeid, professor in journalism at the Lebanese University, tackled the subject entitled: “The Lebanese media and elections: the missing democracy and the ambiguity between information and publicity”. Dr. Mirna mentioned that media has a great importance especially of its ability to shape the public opinion, thus, a certain level of ethics should exist.

At the end of the fourth session, a dialogue and interventions by parties’ representatives took place.

 

The third day on the 17th of September was reserved for a dialogue session with political parties’ youth representatives to suggest recommendations, also the fourth day on the 18th of September was reserved to law syndicates, jurists and legal experts to suggest recommendations.

 

A paper draft wrapping up all the representations alongside recommendations will be written, translated, edited, issued and disseminated in both Arabic and English languages.

Asset Publisher

Contact

Paul Saadeh

Paul Saadeh

Project Manager

paul.saadeh@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

comment-portlet

Asset Publisher

Media library

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution

On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.

read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast

#3: Eduardo Magrani on Data Protection in Latin America

We speak with Eduardo Magrani about the General Data Protection Regulation and its influence in Brazilian and Latin American legal framework.

read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast

#2: Ioana Stupariu on the GDPR's influence in South East Europe

Ioana Stupariu works with tech and healthcare start-ups and companies across Central and Eastern Europe. And she researches on Data protection & Privacy.

read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast

#1: Frederick Richter on the the EU’s GDPR and data protection worldwide

We look at the EU’s GDPR: How is data protection handled in other parts of the world? How can we establish international standards? And what will happen next?

read now

Asset Publisher

Asset Publisher

Asset-Herausgeber

Veranstaltungsberichte

Auf dem Weg zu einem nationalen Rechtsrahmen für politische Parteien im Libanon, dem Tor zu einer effizienten Demokratie

Eine viertägige Konferenz mit unserem Kooperationspartner, dem Internationalen Zentrum für Humanwissenschaften (CISH) - UNESCO in Byblos, Libanon

Vom 15. bis 18. September, anlässlich des Internationalen Tages der Demokratie, organisierte das Rechtsstaatsprogramm Naher Osten & Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem International Center for Human Sciences (CISH) - UNESCO, Byblos, eine Reihe von runden Tischen und Diskussionsrunden mit dem Titel "Towards a National Legal Framework for Political Parties in Lebanon: The gate for an efficient democracy". Der viertägige Workshop fand in den Räumlichkeiten des CISH in Byblos statt und wurde von Jurist/inn/en und Vertretern/innen politischer Parteien persönlich besucht.

Asset-Herausgeber

Der viertägige Workshop gliederte sich in zwei Phasen:

- Phase eins: "Zweitägiger Runder Tisch und Debatte mit 100 Teilnehmern/innen",

- Phase zwei: "Zweitägige Fokusgruppe mit 20 Vertretern/innen".

 

In der ersten Phase lag der Schwerpunkt auf der Vermittlung des erforderlichen Wissens und Bewusstseins und dem Vergleich mit früheren Erfahrungen in anderen Ländern. Die zweite Phase wird sich auf die Debatte und den Entwurf einer gemeinsamen Gesetzesempfehlung konzentrieren.

 

In der Eröffnungssitzung begrüßte Dr. Darina Saliba Abi Chedid, Direktorin des Internationalen Zentrums für Humanwissenschaften (CISH), nach der libanesischen Nationalhymne alle Gäste und Teilnehmer\innen und wies dann auf die Bedeutung eines neuen Parteiengesetzes hin, wobei sie die Notwendigkeit einer Kultur der "Leistungsgesellschaft" anstelle des derzeit weit verbreiteten Klientelismus hervorhob.

 

In der anschließenden Eröffnungsrede stellte der Leiter des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Herr Philipp Bremer, den Teilnehmern\innen die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und ihre Programme im Libanon und in der Region vor. Er hob die Bedeutung des Workshop-Themas hervor, indem er feststellte: "Der Kern jeder Demokratie sind unterschiedliche Meinungen, die aufeinandertreffen, die diskutiert werden und die im Kompromiss eine Lösung zum Wohle aller finden muss. Wobei in jeder Demokratie diese Meinungen in politischen Parteien organisiert sind". Er fügte hinzu: "Keine Demokratie kann ohne politische Parteien richtig funktionieren, weil diese integraler Bestandteil der freiheitlich-demokratischen Grundordnung sind". Andererseits ermutigte Herr Bremer die Jugend, sich am politischen Leben im Libanon zu beteiligen: "Mit und durch Parteien können wir die demokratischen Werte stärken".

 

Die Sitzungen der ersten beiden Tage, die am 15. und 16. September stattfanden, waren wie folgt:

Die erste Sitzung: die Problematik des derzeitigen Gesetzes zur Regelung der libanesischen Vereinigungen und Parteien und seine Auswirkungen auf das politische Leben.

 

Der Rechtsanwalt Michel Klimos und der ehemalige Parlamentsabgeordnete Me Ghassan Moukhaiber präsentierten eine rechtliche Analyse des geltenden Gesetzes und seine Mängel. Es ist festzustellen, dass das derzeitige Gesetz zur Organisation politischer Parteien und die Verordnung zur Regelung der Nichtregierungsorganisationen dieselben sind. Es ist seit 1909 in Kraft und ein osmanisches Gesetz, in welchem weder Demokratie noch Transparenz garantiert werden. Ebenso wenig wird eine Kontrollmöglichkeit über die Budgets und Einkommensquellen der politischen Parteien im Libanon geregelt.

 

Der frühere Minister Ziad Baroud erläuterte, dass in dieser Angelegenheit dringend Änderungen erforderlich seien, und machte mehrere Änderungsvorschläge. Gleichzeitig drängte der ehemalige Minister auf eine "nachträgliche Kontrolle" politischer Parteien im Gegensatz zu einer Kontrolle vor der Gründung, um so jeder Art von Unterdrückung durch den Staat entgegenzuwirken.

 

Die zweite Sitzung: Demokratie in den politischen Parteien.

 

Der internationale Experte Dr. Jean-Michel Berlemont, Juraprofessor an der Science-Po-Universität Nancy in Frankreich, befasste sich mit dem Thema "Organisation der politischen Parteien in Frankreich"; eine gute Gelegenheit für die Zuhörer/innen, einen Einblick in den rechtlichen Rahmen der politischen Parteien in Frankreich zu erhalten, insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund, dass das libanesische Recht aus Zeiten des französischen Prorektorats noch französische Einflüsse aufweist.

 

Dr. Marlene Sawaya, Professorin an der libanesischen Universität, sprach über die Rolle der Revolution vom 17. Oktober, die Veränderungen der politischen Sphären, insbesondere dessen, was im Libanon "Zivilgesellschaft" genannt wird. Sie fügte hinzu, dass obwohl die Zivilgesellschaft seit der Revolution einen Aufschwung erlebt hat, nicht ungeachtet bleiben darf, dass sich diese in einer Sackgasse der Reformen befindet und die Demokratie weiterhin vielen Herausforderungen gegenübersteht.

 

Am Ende der zweiten Sitzung fanden ein Dialog und Wortmeldungen von Vertretern\innen der Parteien statt.

 

Die dritte Sitzung: Die finanziellen Ressourcen der libanesischen Parteien und die Auswirkungen auf Wahlen und Demokratie.

 

Die Juraprofessorin an der libanesischen Universität, Dr. Rajaa El Sherif, sprach aus juristischer Sicht über die Transparenz der Finanzmittel der libanesischen politischen Parteien. Sie stellte fest, dass eine große Lücke zwischen den geltenden Gesetzesstexten und ihrer Umsetzung besteht, wodurch deren Realität leider zu einem Mythos wird.

 

Außerdem wies der frühere Verfassungsgerichtspräsident Dr. Issam Sleiman, ehemaliger Vorsitzender des Verfassungsrats, auf die Grundprinzipien der Demokratie hin, zu denen auch das Konzept der "Wahl" gehört. Anschließend beleuchtete er auf der Grundlage seiner früheren Erfahrungen das Thema der Wahleinsprüche, was in die Zuständigkeit des Verfassungsrats fällt. Richter Issam beendete seine Rede, indem er den Zuhörern\innen von einem umstrittenen Wahleinspruch erzählte, bei dem eine bekannte religiöse Persönlichkeit bestochen worden war.

 

Die vierte Sitzung: Partei- und Wahlkampfmedien: Professionalität, Fehlinformation und Sicherheit der Journalist/inn/en.

 

Die Sitzung begann mit den Lebenserfahrungen eines Fotografen und eines Journalisten: der erste wurde bei einer Medienberichterstattung verletzt und verlor dauerhaft sein Augenlicht; der zweite verlor seinen Job in einer Medieneinrichtung, weil er sich weigerte, deren politische Zugehörigkeit zu akzeptieren.

 

Frau Elsy Moufarrej sprach über die Verantwortung der Medieninstitutionen, über die Meinungsfreiheit und die Sicherheit von Journalist/inn/en und berichtete von den Erfahrungen ihrer Kolleg/inn/en. Frau Moufarrej ist Journalistin und Reporterin sowie Koordinatorin des alternativen Pressesyndikats.

 

Eine weitere Medienexpertin, Dr. Mirna Abou Zeid, Professorin für Journalismus an der Libanesischen Universität, befasste sich mit dem Thema: "Die libanesischen Medien und die Wahlen: die fehlende Demokratie und die Zweideutigkeit zwischen Information und Werbung". Dr. Mirna wies darauf hin, dass den Medien eine große Bedeutung zukomme, vor allem wegen ihrer Fähigkeit, die öffentliche Meinung zu beeinflussen, weshalb ein gewisses Maß an Ethik vorhanden sein müsse.

 

Am Ende der vierten Sitzung wurden Vertreter/inn/en der Parteien erneut in den Dialog miteinbezogen.

 

Der dritte Tag am 17. September war für eine Dialogsitzung mit Jugendvertretern/innen der politischen Parteien reserviert, um Empfehlungen für eine mögliche Gesetzesgestaltung auszusprechen; und der vierte Tag am 18. September war den Rechtssyndikaten, Jurist/inn/en und Rechtsexpert/inn/en vorbehalten, um ebenfalls miteinander zu diskutieren und Empfehlungen auszuarbeiten.

 

Ein Entwurf, der alle Stellungnahmen und Empfehlungen zusammenfasst, wird in arabischer und englischer Sprache verfasst, übersetzt, redigiert, herausgegeben und verbreitet werden.

Asset-Herausgeber

Kontakt

Paul Saadeh

Paul Saadeh

Projektkoordinator

paul.saadeh@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

comment-portlet

Asset-Herausgeber

Mediathek

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani über Datenschutz in Lateinamerika
Mit Eduardo Magrani sprechen wir über die DSGVO und ihren Einfluss auf die lateinamerikanische und vor allen die brasilianische Gesetzgebung.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu über den Einfluss der DSGVO in Südosteuropa
Ioana Stupariu berät kleine und mittelständische Start-ups in Südosteuropa bei der Implementierung von Datenschutzrichtlinien. Und sie forscht zu Datenschutz & Privacy.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter über die weltweite Wirkung der Datenschutzgrundverordnung der EU
Mit Frederick Richter sprechen wir über die Stiftung Datenschutz, die Rolle des Datenschutzes in Deutschland und über die DSGVO und ihre Ausstrahlungswirkung in die Welt.
Jetzt lesen

Asset-Herausgeber

Asset-Herausgeber