Event Reports

The Judiciary - the Most Prominent Challenges and Ways to Address them

by Paul Saadeh

A workshop for the heads of the Arab and European Supreme Judicial Councils

Under the auspices of His Excellency the Lebanese Prime Minister, Mr. Najib Mikati, and His Excellency the Secretary-General of the League of Arab States, Mr. Ahmad Aboul Gheit, the Rule of Law Programme Middle East and North Africa of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), in collaboration with the Lebanese Foundation for Permanent Civil Peace (LFPCP) and the Arab Center for Legal & Judicial Researches (Arab League), organized a two-day workshop for the heads of the Arab and European Supreme Judicial Councils on the most prominent challenges facing the judiciary and ways to address them. This event took place on Thursday and Friday, the 10th and 11th of November, 2022 at the Hilton Habtoor Hotel - Beirut, Lebanon.

At 10 a.m. on Thursday the 10th and following arrival and registration, the day officially commenced with an opening session that included speeches given by Dr. Antoine Messarra (head of the Lebanese Foundation for Permanent Civil Peace), Mr. Philipp Bremer (head of the Rule of Law Program Middle East and North Africa of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung), H.E. Judge Henry Khoury (head of the Arab Center for Legal and Judicial Studies) and H.E. Houssam Zaki (Assistant Secretary General of the Arab League) and H.E. the Lebanese Prime Minister Najib Mikati. Afterwards, the signing of the protocol between the Lebanese Government and the Arab League took place, which undertook a donation of a plot of land to the Arab Center for Legal and Judicial Research from the Lebanese Government. This was followed by the delivery of a trophy of distinction on the judicial training to the State of Palestine on behalf of the Arab Center for Legal and Judicial Research.

The workshop was divided into five closed sessions:

The first session, under the direction of Judge Suhail Abboud (head of the Supreme Judicial Council in Lebanon), was comprised of Judge Faiq Zaidan (head of the Supreme Judicial Council in Iraq), Judge Abdul Aziz Mohammed (head of the Supreme Judicial Council in Sudan) and Judge Mohamed Sidiya Lemrabott (deputy head of the Supreme Judicial Council in Mauritania). This session took on the role of the Supreme Judicial Council as a regulator of judicial work. Judge Abboud shed light on the composition of the Lebanese Supreme Judicial Council whose 8 out of 10 members are appointed by the executive power; the executive power also tries to greatly interferes in the council’s usual work. Moreover, Judge Zaidan noted that the judicial experience in Iraq is generally regarded as exemplary despite the harsh times that Iraq has gone through over the years. As for Judge Lemrabott, he stated that the judiciary in Mauritania is not as independent since it is under the direct direction of the Ministry of the Interior. Indeed, the country lacks proper institutions for the training and education of judges which has led to the recruitment of foreign judges. Judge Abdul Aziz Mohammed focused on the financial and administrative independence of the judiciary.

Following the first session, a case study on the Judiciary in Slovenia was presented by Judge Jan Zobec, judge representing the Supreme Court of Slovenia. He emphasized on the importance of the independence of the judiciary which will allow the Supreme Court in Slovenia to fully focus on itself and on unifying the case law.

The second session, under the direction of Judge Fadi Elias (head of the State Council in Lebanon), was comprised of Ambassador Mohamed Wled Kik (head of the technical secretariat of the Arab Justice Ministers’ Council), Judge Mohammed Raslan (Secretary General of the Arab States and Higher Administrative Courts Federation), Judge Dr. Bernd Pickel (head of the Court of Appeal of the Federal State of Berlin, Germany) and Attorney Nader Gaspar (head of the Beirut Bar Association). This session talked about the relation between the Judiciary and other constitutional authorities as well as its relation with lawyers and civil society organizations. The session also addressed the role of the ministry of justice. Ambassador Mohamed Wled Kik talked about the role of the Ministry of Justice in observing the independence and separation of powers as well as strengthening the bridge between constitutional authorities and the judiciary. Judge Mohammed Raslan further emphasized the importance of an independent budget for the judiciary in order for it to be truly independent from outside influence; the judge also explained the historical background of the principle of separation of powers. As for Judge Dr. Pickel, he expressed his concern in the recruitment of new judges in Germany and emphasized on the importance of good qualities and impartiality in judges. Judge Dr. Pickel also noted that the Ministry of Justice in Germany plays an advisory role in the selection of judges. Moreover, Mr. Nader Gaspar talked about the good and stable relation between judges and lawyers in Lebanon and that the Bar Association plays an important role in preserving these good relations.

On Friday 11th of November 2022, the third session “The role of electronic systems and technology in the service of judicial work” was moderated by Judge Mohamad Badran, Head of the Court of Audit in Lebanon. On one hand, Judge Mustapha Lob, Head of the Court of Cassation in Morocco, discussed the importance of digitization of courts and the efforts that are being done in Morocco to simplify and speed up legal procedures and how courts and prisons are propitious to activate the virtual trial. On the other hand, Judge Ali Darwish Al Musiemi, Secretary General of the Supreme Judicial Council in Jordan, shed light on the Justice Sector strategy for 2022-2026 in Jordan that cannot be implemented without the use of technology.

The fourth session titled “The mechanism and procedures for admission into the judiciary - Key Challenges, Good practices and Comparative experiences” was conducted by the Head of the Constitutional Council in Lebanon, Judge Tannous Meshleb. The panel consisted of Judge Kove Villu (Head of the Supreme Court in Estonia), Judge Issa Abu Sharar (Head of the Supreme Judicial Council in Palestine), and Judge Nada Dakrub (President of the Judicial Institute in Lebanon). There was a discussion among the judges about the conditions for becoming judges, the importance of continuous judicial training and the lack of motivation among young people to choose the career of a judge.

The fifth and final session titled “Mechanisms and tools for evaluating the work of the judge - Comparative experiences” was comprised of Judge Nadhem Salem, the Head of the Judicial Inspection in Yemen and of Judge Abou Sifian Ahmad from Sudan. The two discussed the importance of continuously assessing the performance of judges and evaluating them. In addition, it was explained that the judicial inspection body has the option of conducting regular or random inspections.

At the end of the conference, the judges expressed their positive feedback on the workshop. This was followed by the final words of the organizers.

 

Written by Marilyn Saliba & Patrik Saad

Workshop
November 10 - 11, 2022
The event announcement

Media library

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani on Data Protection in Latin America
We speak with Eduardo Magrani about the General Data Protection Regulation and its influence in Brazilian and Latin American legal framework.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu on the GDPR's influence in South East Europe
Ioana Stupariu works with tech and healthcare start-ups and companies across Central and Eastern Europe. And she researches on Data protection & Privacy.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter on the the EU’s GDPR and data protection worldwide
We look at the EU’s GDPR: How is data protection handled in other parts of the world? How can we establish international standards? And what will happen next?
read now

Asset-Herausgeber

Veranstaltungsberichte

Die Justiz – Die wichtigsten Herausforderungen und Lösungsansätze

von Paul Saadeh

Ein Workshop für die Präsidenten/Vertreter der arabischen und europäischen Obersten Justizräte

Unter der Schirmherrschaft Seiner Exzellenz des Premierministers, Herrn Najib Mikati, und Seiner Exzellenz, des Generalsekretärs der Liga der Arabischen Staaten, Herrn Ahmad Aboul Gheit, organisierte das Rechtsstaatsprogramms Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) zusammen mit der Lebanese Foundation for Permanent Civil Peace (LFPCP) und dem Arab Centre for Legal & Judicial Research (Arab League) einen zweitägigen Workshop für die Leiter der arabischen und europäischen Obersten Justizräte zu den wichtigsten Herausforderungen für die Justiz und möglichen Lösungsansätzen. Die Veranstaltung fand am Donnerstag und Freitag, den 10. und 11. November 2022 im Hilton Habtoor Hotel - Beirut, Libanon statt.

Asset-Herausgeber

Am Donnerstag, den 10. Oktober, begann die Veranstaltung nach der Ankunft und Registrierung offiziell um 10 Uhr mit Eröffnungsreden von Dr. Antoine Messarra (Leiter der libanesischen Stiftung für dauerhaften zivilen Frieden), Herrn Philipp Bremer (Leiter des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung), S.E. Richter Henry Khoury (Leiter des Arab Center for Legal and Judicial Studies) und S.E. Houssam Zaki (stellvertretender Generalsekretär der Arabischen Liga) sowie S.E. der libanesische Premierminister Najib Mikati.

Anschließend wurde ein Protokoll zwischen der libanesischen Regierung und der Arabischen Liga unterzeichnet, in dem sich die libanesische Regierung verpflichtet, dem Arabischen Zentrum für Rechts- und Justizforschung ein Grundstück zu schenken. Im Anschluss daran wurde dem Staat Palästina im Namen des Arabischen Zentrums für Rechts- und Justizforschung eine Ehrung für die juristische Ausbildung überreicht.

Der Workshop war in fünf nichtöffentliche Diskussionsrunden unterteilt:

Die erste Diskussionsrunde unter der Leitung von Richter Suhail Abboud (Vorsitzender des Obersten Justizrates im Libanon) bestand aus Richter Faiq Zaidan (Vorsitzender des Obersten Justizrates im Irak), Richter Abdul Aziz Mohammed (Vorsitzender des Obersten Justizrates im Sudan) und Richter Mohamed Sidiya Lemrabott (stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Obersten Justizrates in Mauretanien). Diese Runde befasste sich mit der Rolle des Obersten Justizrates als Regulierungsinstanz für die Arbeit der Justiz. Richter Abboud beleuchtete die Zusammensetzung des Obersten Justizrates im Libanon, dessen 8 von 10 Mitgliedern von der Exekutive ernannt werden. Die Exekutive versuche auch, sich stark in die übliche Arbeit des Rates einzumischen. Darüber hinaus stellte Richter Zaidan fest, dass die Erfahrung der Justiz im Irak trotz der harten Zeiten, die der Irak im Laufe der Jahre durchgemacht habe, allgemein als beispielhaft angesehen wird. Richter Lemrabott erklärte, dass die Justiz in Mauretanien nicht unabhängig sei, da sie direkt dem Innenministerium unterstellt sei. Dem Land fehle es an Einrichtungen für die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Richtern, was dazu geführt habe, dass ausländische Richter eingestellt würden. Richter Abdul Aziz Mohammed trug zur finanziellen und administrativen Unabhängigkeit der Justiz vor.

Im Anschluss an die erste Diskussionsrunde stellte Richter Jan Zobec, Vertreter des Obersten Gerichtshofs von Slowenien, eine Fallstudie über die Justiz in Slowenien vor. Er betonte die Bedeutung der Unabhängigkeit der Justiz, die es dem Obersten Gerichtshof in Slowenien ermöglicht, sich voll und ganz auf sich selbst und auf die Einheitlichkeit der Rechtsprechung zu konzentrieren.

An der zweiten Diskussionsrunde unter der Leitung von Richter Fadi Elias (Vorsitzender des Staatsrats im Libanon) nahmen Botschafter Mohamed Wled Kik (Leiter des technischen Sekretariats des arabischen Justizministerrats), Richter Mohammed Raslan (Generalsekretär der Arab States and Higher Administrative Courts Federation), Richter Dr. Bernd Pickel (Vorsitzender des Kammergerichts des Bundeslandes Berlin, Deutschland) und Rechtsanwalt Nader Gaspar (Vorsitzender der Anwaltskammer Beirut) teil. In dieser Runde ging es um die Beziehungen zwischen der Justiz und anderen Verfassungsorganen sowie um ihre Beziehungen zu Anwälten und Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft. Die Runde befasste sich auch mit der Rolle des Justizministeriums. Botschafter Mohamed Wled Kik sprach über die Rolle des Justizministeriums bei der Wahrung der richterlichen Unabhängigkeit und der Gewaltenteilung sowie bei der Stärkung der Brücke zwischen den Verfassungsorganen und der Justiz. Richter Mohammed Raslan betonte, wie wichtig ein unabhängiger Haushalt für die Justiz sei, damit diese wirklich unabhängig von äußeren Einflüssen sei. Er erläuterte ferner die historischen Hintergründe des Prinzips der Gewaltenteilung. Richter Dr. Pickel äußerte seine Besorgnis über die Einstellung neuer Richter in Deutschland und betonte die Bedeutung guter Eigenschaften und der Unparteilichkeit von Richtern. Er wies auch darauf hin, dass das Justizministerium in Deutschland eine beratende Rolle bei der Auswahl von Richtern einnehme. Außerdem sprach Nader Gaspar über die guten und stabilen Beziehungen zwischen Richtern und Anwälten im Libanon und betonte, dass die Anwaltskammer eine wichtige Rolle bei der Aufrechterhaltung dieser guten Beziehungen spielt.

Am Freitag, den 11. November 2022, wurde die dritte Diskussionsrunde zum Thema "Die Rolle elektronischer Systeme und Technologien im Dienste der Justiz" von Richter Mohamad Badran, Leiter des Rechnungshofs im Libanon, moderiert. Richter Moustafa Lob, Vorsitzender der Verwaltungskammer des Kassationsgerichts in Marokko, sprach über die Bedeutung der Digitalisierung der Gerichte und die Anstrengungen, die in Marokko unternommen werden, um die Gerichtsverfahren zu vereinfachen und zu beschleunigen, sowie darüber, wie Gerichte und Gefängnisse dazu beitragen können, den virtuellen Prozess aktiver zu nutzen. Richter Ali Darwish Al Musiemi, Generalsekretär des Obersten Justizrates in Jordanien, erläuterte die Strategie für den Justizsektor 2022-2026 in Jordanien, die ohne den Einsatz von Technologie nicht umgesetzt werden könne.

Die vierte Diskussionsrunde mit dem Titel "Der Mechanismus und die Verfahren für die Zulassung zum Richteramt - Wichtige Herausforderungen, bewährte Praktiken und vergleichende Erfahrungen" wurde vom Vorsitzenden des Verfassungsrats im Libanon, Richter Tannous Meshleb, geleitet. Das Podium bestand aus Richter Villu Kõve (Vorsitzender des Obersten Gerichtshofs in Estland), Richter Issa Abu Sharar (Vorsitzender des Obersten Justizrats in Palästina) und Richterin Nada Dakrub (Vorsitzende des Justizinstituts im Libanon). Die Teilnehmer diskutierten über die Voraussetzungen für den Einstieg in den Richterberuf, die Bedeutung einer kontinuierlichen juristischen Ausbildung und die mangelnde Motivation junger Menschen, sich für den Beruf des Richters zu entscheiden.

Die fünfte und letzte Diskussionsrunde mit dem Titel "Mechanismen und Instrumente zur Bewertung der Arbeit von Richtern - Vergleichende Erfahrungen" wurde von Richter Nadhem Salem, dem Leiter der Justizaufsicht im Jemen, und von Richter Abou Sifian Ahmad aus dem Sudan bestritten. Die beiden betonten, wie wichtig es sei, die Leistung von Richtern kontinuierlich zu beurteilen und sie zu bewerten. Außerdem wurde erläutert, dass die Justizaufsicht die Möglichkeit habe, regelmäßige oder stichprobenartige Überprüfungen durchzuführen.

Am Ende der Konferenz äußerten sich die Richter positiv über den Workshop. Es folgten die Schlussworte der Organisatoren.

von Marilyn Saliba & Patrik Saad

Asset-Herausgeber

Kontakt

Paul Saadeh

Paul Saadeh

Projektkoordinator

paul.saadeh@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

comment-portlet

Asset-Herausgeber

Mediathek

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani über Datenschutz in Lateinamerika
Mit Eduardo Magrani sprechen wir über die DSGVO und ihren Einfluss auf die lateinamerikanische und vor allen die brasilianische Gesetzgebung.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu über den Einfluss der DSGVO in Südosteuropa
Ioana Stupariu berät kleine und mittelständische Start-ups in Südosteuropa bei der Implementierung von Datenschutzrichtlinien. Und sie forscht zu Datenschutz & Privacy.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter über die weltweite Wirkung der Datenschutzgrundverordnung der EU
Mit Frederick Richter sprechen wir über die Stiftung Datenschutz, die Rolle des Datenschutzes in Deutschland und über die DSGVO und ihre Ausstrahlungswirkung in die Welt.
Jetzt lesen

Asset-Herausgeber

Asset-Herausgeber