Event Reports

Workshop: "Best practices in the profession of a Lawyer in the region"

Two-day workshop of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the German Federal Bar Association in Amman (Jordan).

On August 15 and 16, 2022, a workshop in cooperation of the Rule of Law Program Middle East and North Africa of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, the German Federal Bar Association and the Jordanian Bar Association entitled "Best practices in the profession of a Lawyer in the region" took place in Amman- Jordan.

Presidents and representatives from several bar associations in the Arab world, including Libya, Jordan, Tunisia, Lebanon, Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Palestine, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Bahrain, and Germany, participated in the workshop.

 

The first day started with opening speeches by Mr. Philipp Bremer, Director of the Rule of Law Program Middle East and North Africa, by Mr. Andre Haug, Vice President of the German Federal Bar Association and the President of the Jordanian Bar Association, Mr. Yahya Abo Aboud.

The event continued with the first session "Networking of Lawyers", where all participants introduced themselves.

Here, among other things, it was discussed how lawyers can best expand their network. In this context, it was also directly addressed what larger potential networks could be, both locally and regionally, and what initiatives might be worthwhile.

Later, current challenges of the legal profession and specifically of the respective bar associations in the countries were discussed. Here, participants were able to exchange ideas on various approaches to solving the problem.

Many lawyers emphasized the value of the workshop also with regard to the fact that not every country and, using the example of this subject area, every bar association always has to develop a new model of how it operates, but that despite all the differences between the countries there are similar challenges in the current age. The participants agreed that this includes digitalization, which was also seen during the pandemic.

The third session of the first day dealt with the topic of cross-border legal disputes and here, among other things, with the questions of how to handle disputes that arise at the national and international level.

The day then concluded with a reception at the residence of the German Ambassador to Jordan, where conference participants were able to exchange ideas and expand their network.

 

The second day started with a session on ethical issues of the legal profession and the responsibility of professionals in this field.

Then continued with a session on administrative procedures for lawyers and courts. Here, regional and national comparisons were made, potential difficulties were considered, and how to learn from each other was discussed.

The second day was rounded off by final presentations by Mr. Philipp Bremer and Mr. Riad Khalil Hassanain, who spoke on behalf of the German Federal Bar Association.

 

KAS-RSPNO team: Philipp Bremer, Salam Alzahran, Maximilian Lüderwaldt

 

Contact

Salam Al-Zahran

Salam Al-Zahran

Project Manager

Salam.Alzahran@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

Media library

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani on Data Protection in Latin America
We speak with Eduardo Magrani about the General Data Protection Regulation and its influence in Brazilian and Latin American legal framework.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu on the GDPR's influence in South East Europe
Ioana Stupariu works with tech and healthcare start-ups and companies across Central and Eastern Europe. And she researches on Data protection & Privacy.
read now
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter on the the EU’s GDPR and data protection worldwide
We look at the EU’s GDPR: How is data protection handled in other parts of the world? How can we establish international standards? And what will happen next?
read now

Veranstaltungsberichte

Workshop: "Bewährte Praktiken im Beruf des Rechtsanwalts in der Region"

Zweitägiger Workshop der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und der deutschen Bundesrechtsanwaltskammer in Amman (Jordanien).

Am 15. und 16. August 2022 fand in Zusammenarbeit des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Naher Osten und Nordafrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, der Bundesrechtsanwaltskammer und der jordanischen Anwaltskammer ein Workshop mit dem Titel "Best practices in the profession of a Lawyer in the region" in Amman/Jordanien statt.

An dem Workshop nahmen Präsidenten und Vertreter mehrerer Anwaltskammern aus der arabischen Welt teil, darunter Libyen, Tunesien, Libanon, Marokko, Mauretanien, Algerien, Palästina, die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, Oman, Bahrain und Deutschland.

 

Der erste Tag begann mit Eröffnungsreden von Philipp Bremer, Direktor des Rechtsstaatsprogramms für den Nahen Osten und Nordafrika, von Andre Haug, Vizepräsident der Bundesrechtsanwaltskammer, und von dem Präsidenten der jordanischen Anwaltskammer, Yahya Abo Aboud.

 

Die Veranstaltung wurde mit der Sitzung "Networking of Lawyers" fortgesetzt, während derer sich alle Teilnehmer vorstellten.

 

Hier wurde unter anderem diskutiert, wie Anwälte ihr Netzwerk am besten ausbauen können. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde auch direkt angesprochen, welche größeren Netzwerke sowohl lokal als auch regional möglich sind und welche Initiativen sich lohnen könnten.

 

Anschließend wurden aktuelle Herausforderungen der Anwaltschaft und speziell der jeweiligen Anwaltskammern in den Ländern diskutiert. Hier konnten sich die Teilnehmer über verschiedene Lösungsansätze austauschen.

 

Viele Anwältinnen und Anwälte betonten den Wert des Workshops auch im Hinblick darauf, dass nicht jedes Land und am Beispiel dieses Themenbereichs auch nicht jede Rechtsanwaltskammer immer wieder ein neues Modell ihrer Arbeitsweise entwickeln müsse, sondern dass es trotz aller Unterschiede zwischen den Ländern ähnliche Herausforderungen in der heutigen Zeit gebe. Die Teilnehmer waren sich einig, dass dazu auch die Digitalisierung gehöre, deren Nutzen auch während der Pandemie zu beobachten gewesen sei.

 

Die dritte Sitzung des ersten Tages befasste sich mit dem Thema grenzüberschreitende Rechtsstreitigkeiten und hier unter anderem mit der Frage, wie man mit Streitigkeiten umgeht, die auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene entstehen.

 

Der Tag endete mit einem Empfang in der Residenz des deutschen Botschafters in Jordanien, bei dem die Konferenzteilnehmer Ideen austauschen und ihr Netzwerk erweitern konnten.

 

Der zweite Tag begann mit einer Sitzung über ethische Fragen von Berufen im Bereich des Rechts und die Verantwortung der Fachleute in diesem Bereich.

 

Danach ging es weiter mit einer Sitzung über Prozesse in der Verwaltung für Rechtsanwälte und Gerichte. Hier wurden regionale und nationale Vergleiche angestellt, mögliche Schwierigkeiten erörtert und diskutiert, wie man voneinander lernen kann.

 

Abgerundet wurde der zweite Tag durch Abschlussreferate von Herrn Philipp Bremer und Herrn Riad Khalil Hassanain, der für die Bundesrechtsanwaltskammer sprach.

 

KAS-RSPNO-Team: Philipp Bremer, Salam Alzahran, Maximilian Lüderwaldt

 

Kontakt

Salam Al-Zahran

Salam Al-Zahran

Projektkoordinatorin

Salam.Alzahran@kas.de +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094

Mediathek

A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
A Closer Look: The New Tunisian Draft Constitution
On the 25th July 2022 Tunisia will be voting on a new draft constitution. What can we expect? We asked the experts: Prof. Salsabil Klibi, Saïd Bernabia and Dr. Malte Gaier.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#3: Eduardo Magrani über Datenschutz in Lateinamerika
Mit Eduardo Magrani sprechen wir über die DSGVO und ihren Einfluss auf die lateinamerikanische und vor allen die brasilianische Gesetzgebung.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#2: Ioana Stupariu über den Einfluss der DSGVO in Südosteuropa
Ioana Stupariu berät kleine und mittelständische Start-ups in Südosteuropa bei der Implementierung von Datenschutzrichtlinien. Und sie forscht zu Datenschutz & Privacy.
Jetzt lesen
Rule of Law Rules Podcast
#1: Frederick Richter über die weltweite Wirkung der Datenschutzgrundverordnung der EU
Mit Frederick Richter sprechen wir über die Stiftung Datenschutz, die Rolle des Datenschutzes in Deutschland und über die DSGVO und ihre Ausstrahlungswirkung in die Welt.
Jetzt lesen