Event Reports

Summary of the KAS-ABAC Conference on Ecological, Social and Economic Sustainabiliy in Thailand and the ASEAN Region

by Michael Winzer

Bildung kommt eine Schlüsselfunktion zu

This one-day conference on the topic of ecological, social and economic sustainability within Thailand and ASEAN’s economy took place on November 28, 2013 at Assumption University, Bangkok. The goal of this conference was to find a solution for the ecological, social and economic problems created by the integration process of the ASEAN community. This comprehensive theme was discussed from a total of six different perspectives.

The first session was concerned with the topic of economic sustainability. In his speech, Prof. Dr. Seri Phongphit argued that economic sustainability is not yet observed in reality, but instead remains a philosophic idea, which originated from principles of capitalism and socialism. According to Prof. Dr. Phongphit, three criteria need to be fulfilled in order to reach economic sustainability: moderation in human behavior, reasonable consumption of goods and services, as well as appropriate economic behavior. The education system functions as a foundation for such profound changes.

The next session was led by Prof. Apichai Puntasen who outlined the problems of ASEAN’s integration process from a religious point of view. According to the concept of Buddhist Economics, he applies the Buddhist mind-set to find solutions for economic problems. The Buddhist way of thought not only allows humans to use their minds to its fullest capacity, but furthermore creates a new dimension of reality that is supposed to be more realistic than the conventional scientific approach.

During the third session, Dr. Chamniern Paul Vorratnchaiphan examines the implications of trans-boundary natural resources for the sustainable development of the ASEAN region. He emphasizes that sustainable development can be reached through partnership, equity, consideration for the prosperity of nature, and anticipation of consequences for future generations. Especially cooperation in the field of environmental protection is of great importance for the economic as well as social development. Additionally, the speaker proposes an Earth Charter which is supposed to facilitate the creation of a more sustainable and peaceful world.

The fourth session examined problems of ASEAN’s integration process from the perspective of the relationship between humans and nature. In his presentation, John T. Giordano analyzes the relationship between humans’ lucid understanding of nature and simultaneous increase in destructive behavior. During the course of this session, the intelligence of machines is examined through the comprehension of poetry.

The fifth speech, which was held by Dr. Charn Mayot, was centered around a philosophical approach that was used to examine the agriculture-based economy with regards to sustainability in economic and social developments. Finally, Prof. Dr. Kampanad Bhaktikul concluded the conference with a review of the floods taking place in 2011, and an outlook on the future of the ASEAN community.

Overall, this conference was able to give its participants a greater awareness of the ecological, social and economic consequences resulting from the integration process of the ASEAN community.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Auswege aus ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Problemen der ASEAN-Staaten

von Michael Winzer

Bildung kommt eine Schlüsselfunktion zu

Die eintägige Konferenz zum Thema ökonomische, soziale und wirtschaftliche Nachhaltigkeit in Perspektive für Thailand und ASEAN fand am 28.11.2013 in der Assumption Universität, Bangkok statt. Ziel dieser Konferenz ist es Lösungswege zu finden für die ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Probleme, die durch den Integrationsprozess der ASEAN Gemeinschaft entstanden. Das umfassende Thema wurde im Rahmen von sechs Vorträgen aus verschiedenen Perspektiven betrachtet.

Der erste Teil der Konferenz drehte sich um das Thema „Nachhaltigkeit in der Wirtschaft“. In seinem Vortrag behauptet Prof. Dr. Seri Phongphit, dass Nachhaltigkeit in der Wirtschaft bis jetzt nur ein philosophisches Konzept ist, welches aus Kapitalismus und Sozialismus entstand. Laut Prof. Dr. Phongphit müssen drei Kriterien erfüllt sein, damit eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft entstehen kann: Moderation im menschlichen Verhalten und ein angemessener Konsum von Gütern sowie ökonomische Verhaltensweise. Das Bildungssystem dient hierfür als Grundlage für solche Veränderungen.

Anschlieβend ergänzte Prof. Apichai Puntasen den ersten Vortrag, indem er die Probleme des Integrationsprozesses der ASEAN Gemeinschaft aus religiöser Perspektive betrachtet. Nach dem Konzept des Buddhist Economics wendet er die buddhistische Denkweise als Lösungsansatz für wirtschaftliche Probleme an. Die buddhistische Denkweise erlaubt dem Menschen nicht nur sich seelisch zu entwickeln, sondern schafft zudem eine neue Dimension der Realität, welche realistischer sein soll als konventionelle wissenschaftliche Herangehensweisen.

Im dritten Teil der Konferenz untersuchte Dr. Chamniern Paul Vorratnchaiphan die Implikation von transnationalen natürlichen Ressourcen für die nachhaltige Entwicklung in der ASEAN Region. Er bekräftigt, dass die nachhaltige Entwicklung ein Produkt von Partnerschaften, Eigenkapital, Rücksicht auf die Kapazität der Natur, sowie Miteinkalkulation der Konsequenzen für zukünftige Generationen sei. Kooperation im Bereich Umweltschutz ist von besonderer Bedeutung für die wirtschaftliche und soziale Entwicklung. Zudem schlägt er einen sogenannten Earth Charter vor, welcher es ermöglichen soll eine nachhaltigere sowie friedlichere Welt zu schaffen.

Der vierte Teil handelt von der Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Natur. Der Redner, John T. Giordano, analysiert den Zusammenhang zwischen einem ausgeprägten menschlichen Verständnis der Natur und gleichzeitiger Zunahme an naturfeindlichem Verhalten. Im Rahmen seines Vortrags untersucht er die Intelligenz von Maschinen mit Einbezug von Gedichten.

Der fünfte Vortrag von Dr. Charn Mayot thematisiert einen philosophischen Ansatz, der die Agrarwirtschaft in Hinblick auf Nachhaltigkeit in der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung ermittelt. Zuletzt beendete Prof. Dr. Kampanad Bhaktikul die Konferenz mit einem Rückblick auf die Fluten, die 2011 stattfanden, sowie Ausblick für die Zukunft der ASEAN Gemeinschaft.

Alles in allem verlieh die Konferenz den Teilnehmern ein gestärktes Bewusstsein für die ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Konsequenzen des Integrationsprozesses der ASEAN Gemeinschaft.