Event Reports

The 8th Ocean Dialogue

40th Anniversary of UNCLOS: Promoting Maritime Cooperation in Southeast Asia

Ocean Dialogue is one of the flagship cooperation programs between Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Vietnam and Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam (DAV). Each Ocean Dialogue goes into a carefully set out topic. The series of Ocean Dialogue intends to raise the importance of the maritime/sea/ocean by building up the knowledge and looking at it from different angles. Maritime issues are of great importance to the countries around the South China Sea, which affect their economic, political, environmental and security context. Not only regionally is this topic of relevance, it is of equal importance to the global community.

On 29/06/2022 the 8th Ocean Dialogue “40th Anniversary of UNCLOS – Promoting Maritime Cooperation in Southeast Asia” was co-organized by Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Vietnam (KAS), Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam (DAV) and Australian Embassy in Vietnam. Over the years, the series of Ocean Dialogues have become one of the flagship events which received fruitful participation and high appreciation from scholars, experts, academia and diplomats in the region.

The 8th Ocean Dialogue was held in the format of on-site and online, with the participation of more than 250 delegates including national and international experts, representatives of central and local relevant agencies, diplomatic institutions. It is the Dialogue which provide a platform to re-emphasize the value of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) after 40 years of establishment, as well as discuss potential aspects of cooperation in the Southeast Asia. The highlight of this Dialogue was the participation of two judges from the International Court of the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) - Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum (Germany) and Judge Kriangsak Kittichaisaree (Thailand) with two keynote speeches on the potential capacity of the international dispute settlement mechanisms established under UNCLOS and the future development of UNCLOS.

Speaking at the Dialogue, Vietnam Deputy Foreign Minister Pham Quang Hieu emphasized that the adoption of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea 40 years ago was a historic milestone in the development of international law of the sea. For the first time, a comprehensive legal framework - a "constitution" of the oceans was established. Since then, UNCLOS has been universally accepted and crystalized into customary international law. To date, the Convention continues to play a fundamental role in the development of international law of the sea, and in the promotion of peace, security, cooperation among nations, and sustainable development of oceans and seas.

The core issues discussed at the 8th Ocean Dialogue were: (i) a number of under-studied legal and maritime issues related to the implementation of UNCLOS in Southeast Asia, (ii) emission reductions from zero-emission transport activities and initiatives (iii) the obligation to cooperate among semi-enclosed bordering countries and (iv) the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity in areas beyond national jurisdiction. Through four open and substantive discussion sessions, the Dialogue has received a lot of comprehensive, multi-dimensional exchange of ideas. Moreover, scientific statements were made which emphasize the role of international law and UNCLOS in maintaining the legal order at sea, referring to aspects that are directly related to Southeast Asia, towards solutions to resolve disagreements, strengthen cooperation and make practical policy recommendations for countries in the region. In addition, many experts shared existing experiences and initiatives from not only coastal states but also landlocked countries in order to promote the peaceful use of the seas and strengthen cooperation.

 

 

Contact

Vu Thi Thu Phuong

Vu Phuong

Project Manager

Phuong.Vu@kas.de +84 24 3 7186194 /17 +84 24 37186197

Veranstaltungsberichte

Der "8. Ocean Dialogue - 40 Jahre UNCLOS: Förderung der maritimen Zusammenarbeit in Südostasien"

Der alljährliche "Ocean Dialogue" ist eines der führenden Kooperationsprogramme zwischen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Vietnam und der Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam (DAV). Das Fundament jedes "Ocean Dialogue" bildet ein spezifisch präsenter Themenschwerpunkt. Ziel der "Ocean Dialogue-Reihe" ist, durch neu gewonnene Eindrücke und Wissenserweiterung, aber auch durch multiperspektivische Neubetrachtung des Meeres, die zentrale Bedeutung der internationalen Gewässer/der Meere hervorzuheben. Besonders maritime Fragen sind für die Länder, die rund um das Südchinesische Meer angesiedelt sind, von großer Bedeutung. In Anbetracht dessen ist dieses Thema ist nicht nur regional von hoher Relevanz, sondern ebenso von gleicher Bedeutung für die ganze Welt.

Am 29.06.2022 fand der "8. Ocean Dialogue - 40th Anniversary of UNCLOS – Promoting Maritime Cooperation in Southeast Asia“ in Hanoi statt. Er wurde gemeinsam in Zusammenarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Vietnam (KAS), der Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam (DAV) und der australischen Botschaft in Vietnam organisiert. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich die Reihe der "Ocean Dialogues" zu einer der führenden Veranstaltungen des Landes entwickelt, die von zahlreichen Gelehrten, Experten, Akademikern und Diplomaten in der Region geschätzt wird.

Der hybrid durchgeführte "8. Ocean Dialogue" konnte mehr als 250 Delegierte begrüßen, darunter nationale und internationale Experten, Vertreter zentraler und lokaler relevanter Ämter  und diplomatischer Institutionen. Dabei ist der Dialog und Austausch, der eine zentrale Plattform bietet, um den Wert des 40-jährigen Seerechtsübereinkommens der Vereinten Nationen (UNCLOS), zu betonen und mögliche Aspekte der Zusammenarbeit in Südostasien zu erörtern und aufzuweisen. Höhepunkt dieses Dialogs war die Teilnahme von zwei Richtern des Internationalen Seegerichtshofs (ITLOS), Richter Rüdiger Wolfrum (Deutschland) und Richter Kriangsak Kittichaisaree (Thailand), die mit ihren jeweiligen Ansprachen über die potenzielle Kapazität des internationalen Streits im Rahmen der in UNCLOS eingerichteten Abwicklungsmechanismen sowie die künftige Entwicklung von UNCLOS, den "8. Ocean Dialogue" eröffneten.

Pham Quang Hieu, der stellvertretende vietnamesische Außenminister, betonte, dass die Verabschiedung des Seerechtsübereinkommens der Vereinten Nationen vor 40 Jahren ein historischer Meilenstein in der Entwicklung des internationalen Seerechts sei. Erstmals wurde ein umfassender Rechtsrahmen – eine „Verfassung“ der Ozeane – geschaffen. Seitdem ist UNCLOS nicht nur allgemein akzeptiert, sondern auch als Völkergewohnheitsrecht fest etabliert. Bis heute spielt das Übereinkommen weiterhin eine fundamentale Rolle bei der Entwicklung des internationalen Seerechts und bei der Förderung von Frieden, Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit zwischen Nationen und nachhaltiger Entwicklung der Ozeane und Meere.

Die beim "8. Ocean Dialogue" diskutierten Kernthemen waren: (i) eine Reihe von wenig untersuchten rechtlichen und maritimen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Umsetzung des UNCLOS in Südostasien, (ii) Emissionsminderungen durch emissionsfreie Transportaktivitäten und -initiativen (iii) die Verpflichtung zur Zusammenarbeit zwischen halbumschlossenen angrenzenden Ländern und (iv) die Erhaltung und nachhaltige Nutzung der biologischen Vielfalt der Meere in Gebieten außerhalb der nationalen Hoheitsgewalt. Durch vier offene und sachliche Diskussionsrunden konnte ein umfassender und mehrdimensionaler Gedankenaustausch stattfinden. Darüber hinaus wurden wissenschaftliche Erklärungen abgegeben, die die Rolle des Völkerrechts und des UNCLOS bei der Aufrechterhaltung der Rechtsordnung auf See betonen und sich auf Aspekte beziehen, die in direktem Zusammenhang mit Südostasien stehen, um Lösungen zur Beilegung von Meinungsverschiedenheiten zu finden, die Zusammenarbeit zu stärken und praktische Politikempfehlungen für die betroffenen Länder auszusprechen. Darüber hinaus tauschten viele Experten bestehende Erfahrungen und Initiativen nicht nur aus Küstenstaaten, sondern auch aus Binnenstaaten aus, um die friedliche Nutzung der Meere zu fördern und die Zusammenarbeit zu stärken.

Kontakt

Vu Thi Thu Phuong

Phuong

Projektmanagerin

Phuong.Vu@kas.de +84 24 3 7186194 /17 +84 24 37186197