Event Reports

Before the Voting

What Can We Expect?

Discussion on the 2021 German federal election with Ms. Ursula Groden-Kranich, Member of the Bundestag

One month before the 2021 federal election, on 27 August, KAS Japan organised its first online election event. Ms Ursula Groden-Kranich, Member of the Foreign Affairs Committee and the Committee on European Union Affairs of the Bundestag, was our speaker.

This event was organised to support the work of journalists, think tanks, researchers and government officials who are interested in German and European politics. The aim of our discussion was to get a deeper understanding of the new era in German politics.

Ms Groden-Kranich participated in our event live from Germany and answered several questions from the Japanese audience. She criticized the short-sightedness of German and EU foreign policy and argued in favour of a new way of thinking and a more active international presence of the German Armed Forces.

Regarding the EU, Ms Groden-Kranich underlined that the idea of networked cooperation at the European level is being gradually lost: "We cannot learn from the pandemic in isolation from our European neighbours, we have to learn together."

The German MP emphasized that not many are aware of the tensions in the Indo-Pacific, which is why the political debate on Germany's role as a peacekeeping force in the area remains controversial in the political debate. In addition, she argued that Germany and the EU should become more economically independent from China.

The discussion was moderated by Ms Rabea Brauer, Country Representative of the Japan office and Director of the Regional Economic Programme Asia (SOPAS) of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Contact

Jeroen Kohls

Jeroen Kohls bild

Senior Research Associate

jeroen.kohls@kas.de +81 3 6426 5041

Veranstaltungsberichte

Bundestagswahl 2021: Was ist zu erwarten?

Hintergrundgespräch mit Frau Ursula Groden-Kranich, MdB

Ein Monat vor der Bundestagswahl 2021, am 27. August, organisierte KAS Japan ihre erste Online-Wahlveranstaltung. Frau Ursula Groden-Kranich, MdB, Ordentliches Mitglied des Auswärtigen Ausschusses und des Ausschusses für Angelegenheiten der Europäischen Union, war unsere Gesprächspartnerin.

Diese Veranstaltung sollte insbesondere die Arbeit von Journalisten, Think-Tanks, Forscher und Regierungsvertreter, die die deutsche und europäische Politik verfolgen, unterstützen. Ziel unserer Diskussion war es, ein tieferes Verständnis für die neue Ära der deutschen Politik zu bekommen.

Frau Groden-Kranich nahm zu unserer Veranstaltung live aus Deutschland teil und beantwortete mehrere Fragen des japanischen Publikums. Sie kritisierte die außenpolitische Kurzsichtigkeit Deutschlands und der EU und argumentierte für ein neues außenpolitisches Denken und eine aktivere internationale Präsenz des Bundeswehrs.

Bezüglich der EU, unterstrich Frau Groden-Kranich, dass die Idee des vernetzten Miteinanders uns im Moment etwas auf der europäischen Ebene abhandengekommen ist: "Wir können nicht losgelöst von unseren Europäischen Nachbaren aus der Pandemie lernen, wir müssen miteinander lernen."

Die deutsche Abgeordnete betonte, dass die Gefahr im Indopazifik vielen überhaupt nicht bewusst ist, deswegen bleibt die Diskussion zur Rolle Deutschlands kontrovers in der politischen Debatte. Zusätzlich, argumentierte sie das Deutschland und die EU wirtschaftlich unabhängiger von China werden sollen.

Die Diskussion wurde von Frau Rabea Brauer, Leiterin des Länderprogramms Japan und des Regionalprogramms Soziale Ordnungspolitik in Asien (SOPAS) der Konrad-Adenauer – Stiftung, moderiert.

Kontakt

Jeroen Kohls

Jeroen Kohls bild

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

jeroen.kohls@kas.de +81 3 6426 5041