Event Reports

Youth Need to Use Their Full Potential, Demand Debaters

Kickoff of a Countrywide Youth Debate Series in Jinja

The University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) invited students and youth leaders from the Eastern Region of Uganda to have a discussion on youth participation in democratic governance. Besides current challenges the youth is facing, the students also talked about possible solutions to fight the identified problems.

Although constitutional structures should ensure the political participation of youth, the youth fail to play an effective role in the political decision making process. A countrywide youth debate session aims to discuss why the youth is unable for a meaningful participation in democratic governance and what needs to be done to strengthen youth participation.

After some short welcoming remarks by Bruce Balaba Kabaasa, Associate Director of UNIFOG, and Awel Uwihanganye, Programme Officer at KAS, the panel discussion started. The panel consisted of four students from different fields: Mr. Ivan Rugambwa, Fourth Year Journalism Student, Ms. Martha Mulerwa, Fourth Year Biomedical Engineering Student, Mr. Brian Tushabomwe, Fourth Year Water Resources Engineering Student and Ms. Daphine Arinda, Last Year Law Student.

At first Mr. Yusuf Kiranda, Director of UNIFOG and moderator of the debate, focused on the topic of why youth are not in high political positions while youth representation structures like the National Youth Council exist. The panelists pointed out that there was a disconnection between the appointed youth representatives and the masses of youth who are not involved in formal structures: Most youth representatives had a better financial and educational background compared to the majority of youth. Moreover, the panelists noted poor accountability and leadership skills among the youth representatives.

To ensure lively discussions, Mr. Kiranda handed over to his co-moderator, Mr. Michael Mugisha, after every panel session and gave the audience a platform to formulate their comments, feedback and questions. The audience identified several reasons of the ineffective youth participation. On the one hand participants pointed out that youth in the rural area lacked civil education, on the other hand some argued that the youth was ignorant and not interested in political participation. A lecturer of Busitema University argued that the youth lacked economic democracy because they were not engaged in productive sectors, which gave them less power in the political decision-making process.

In the second debate phase the panelists discussed on who should be blamed for the difficult political position of the youth. The panelists mainly blamed the youth themselves or the government. Mr. Rugambwa made the case for a value-based youth movement that holds politicians accountable. Therefore, the youth should be financially independent from government funding. Other panelist agreed with Mr. Rugambwa and argued that some candidates only ran for political office because of the financial benefits they expected from that. Mrs. Arinda suggested teaching more patriotism in school in order to raise a new generation of accountable and transparent leaders.

The audience mainly agreed that the youth was not using its full potential to create a youth friendly environment due to the misuse of money, short time planning rather than investing in long term goals, and the low struggle for implementing alternatives.

Following the panel, the youth discussed unemployment and underemployment problem in Uganda which, according to them, reduced the effective capability of youth to participate in politics. The panel emphasized political, cultural and educational problems. First of all the government should identify promising sectors and provide infrastructure and policies which enable productive economic development and job creation. Therefore, in their opinion, a reformation of the current education system was needed to provide the required skills companies ask for. However, youth were not being trusted in the society and most companies asked for a minimum working experience of two years.

The debate ended with some suggestions to improve the current situation in fostering civil education, changing the parental and social mindset of youth, and concentrating existing youth engagements.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung would like to thank the panelists for their constructive input and the students for their participation and active engagement. The discussion gave a good insight into the challenges young people are facing when engaging in the political decision-making process.

Author: Nele Kr├╝ger, KAS Intern

unifog logo formatted

Veranstaltungsberichte

Aufruf zur vollständigen Nutzung des Potentials der ugandischen Jugend

Start einer landesweiten Serie von Jugenddebatten in Jinja

Das University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) luden Student_Innen und Jugendvertreter_Innen aus der Ostregion Ugandas dazu ein, miteinander über die Jugendbeteiligung am demokratischen Prozess zu diskutieren. Neben aktuellen Herausforderungen, denen junge Menschen gegenüberstehen, sprachen die Teilnehmer_Innen auch über mögliche Lösungsansätze, um die bestehenden Probleme zu überkommen.

Obwohl verfassungsrechtliche Strukturen die politische Beteiligung der Jugend gewährleisten sollen, schaffen es junge Menschen in Uganda nicht, sich effektiv in den politischen Entscheidungsprozess einzubringen. Eine landesweite Serie von Jugenddebatten zielt darauf ab, die Frage zu diskutieren warum die Jugend nicht zu einer bedeutsamen Beteiligung im demokratischen Prozess fähig ist und was nötig ist, um Jugendbeteiligung zu stärken.

Nach einer kurzen Begrüßung durch Bruce Balaba Kabaasa, Associate Director von UNIFOG begann die erste Diskussionsrunde. Das Podium setzte sich zusammen aus Student_Innen verschiedenster Fachrichtungen: Ivan Rugambwa, Journalismusstudent an der Makarere Universität, Martha Mulerwa, Studentin der Biomedizintechnik an der Makarere Universität, Brian Tushabomwe, Student des Wasseringenieurswesens an der Busitema Universität, und Daphine Arinda, Jurastudentin an der Makarere Universität.

Zu Beginn der Debatte konzentrierte sich Yusuf Kiranda, Direktor von UNIFOG und Moderator der Debatte, auf die Frage warum junge Menschen nicht hochrangige politische Führungspositionen einnehmen, obwohl Strukturen im Bereich der Jugendrepräsentation, wie beispielsweise der National Youth Council, existieren. Die Diskussionspartner betonten die fehlende Verbindung zwischen gewählten Jugendvertreter_Innen und den Wähler_Innen. Die meisten Jugendrepräsentant_Innen hätten einen besseren finanziellen Hintergrund und einen höheren Bildungsgrad im Vergleich zur Mehrheit der Jugend in Uganda. Darüber hinaus merkten die Diskussionsteilnehmer_Innen an, dass Jugendrepräsentant_Innen über ein schwaches Verantwortungsgefühl und fehlende Führungsqualitätem verfügen würden.

Um eine lebhafte Diskussion zu erzeugen, übergab Herr Kiranda das Wort nach jeder Diskussionsrunde an seinen Ko-Moderator, Michael Mugisha, und bot damit dem Publikum eine Plattform auf der sie Anmerkungen, Feedback und Fragen formulieren konnten. Das Publikum identifizierte mehrere Gründe für die ineffektive Jugendbeteiligung. Einerseits betonten die Teilnehmer_Innen, dass der Jugend im ländlichen Bereich politische Bildung fehle, andererseits erklärten einige, dass die Jugend ignorant sei und kein Interesse an politischer Beteiligung habe. Ein Dozent der Busitema Universität erklärte, dass es der Jugend an Beteiligung in der Wirtschaftsdemokratie fehle, da sie nicht in wirtschaftlich produktiven Sektoren tätig sei, was ihr weniger Macht im politischen Entscheidungsprozess gebe.

In der zweiten Diskussionsphase erörterten die Diskussionsteilnehmer_Innen wer für die schwierige politische Situation der Jugend verantwortlich ist. Die auf dem Podium vertretenen Student_Innen machten vor allem die Jugend und die Regierung verantwortlich. Herr Rugambwa warb für eine wertebasierte Jugendbewegung, die Politiker_Innen zur Verantwortung zieht. Daher solle die Jugend finanziell unabhängig von den Mitteln der Regierung sein. Andere Diskussionsteilnehmer_Innen stimmten Herrn Rugambwa zu und argumentierten, dass einige Kandidat_Innen sich nur wegen des Geldes zur Wahl stellen ließen. Frau Arinda schlug vor, in der Schule Patriotismus zu fördern, um eine neue Generation von verantwortlichen und transparenten Führungskräften heranwachsen zu lassen.

Das Publikum einigte sich größtenteils darauf, dass die Jugend nicht ihr volles Potenzial, auf Grund vom Missbrauch von Geldern, Kurzzeitplanung anstatt Investitionen in Langzeitziele und wenig Bemühungen Alternativen umzusetzen, nutze, um eine jugendfreundliche Umgebung zu schaffen.

Anschließend debattierte die Diskussionsrunde das Problem der Jugendarbeitslosigkeit und Unterbeschäftigung in Uganda, welche die Fähigkeiten junger Leute mindert sich am politischen Prozess zu beteiligen. In der Diskussionsrunde wurden politische, kulturelle und schulische Probleme benannt. Zunächst solle die Regierung vielversprechende wirtschaftliche Sektoren identifizieren und Infrastruktur und Policies implementieren, welche eine produktive wirtschaftliche Entwicklung sichern und Arbeitsplätze schaffe. Daher sei eine Reform des Bildungssystems notwendig, um die erforderlichen Kenntnisse, welche die Unternehmen fordern, zu lehren. Allerdings würde jungen Leuten oft nichts zugetraut und viele Unternehmen forderten Arbeitserfahrung von mindestens zwei Jahren.

Die Debatte endete mit einigen Vorschlägen zur Verbesserung der aktuellen Situation, wie die Förderung nach politischer Bildung, Veränderung der elterlichen und sozialen Denkweise über die Jugend und die Vereinigung existierender Jugendbewegungen. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung bedankt sich bei den Diskussionsteilnehmer_Innen für ihre konstruktive Beteiligung und wir freuen uns, dass viele Student_Innen an der Diskussion teilgenommen haben. Die Debatte gab einen guten Einblick in die Herausforderungen, denen die Jugend bei der Beteiligung am politischen Entscheidungsprozess begegnet.

Autorin: Nele Krüger, KAS Praktikantin

unifog logo formatted