Event Reports

The Role of Appointed and Elected Leaders in Promoting Good Governance in a Multiparty-System at the District Level

Promoting responsible citizenship, pluralism and cooperation regardless of political affiliation

The Directorate of National Guidance (DNG)in partnership with KAS trained 35 local government leaders from Tororo, Busia and Butajela on effectively collaborating in a multiparty-system at local level, with special emphasis on responsible citizenship, civic education and citizen engagement to guarantee efficient service delivery. Aware of the fact that multipartyism is still relatively new in Uganda, the concept lacks appreciation, especially at the local level – leaders therefore need to be oriented towards the key tenets of democracy and pluralism

For the third time in 2016 we have partnered with the Directorate of National Guidance (DNG) to train 35 local government leaders hailing from the Tororo, Busia and Butajela on effectively collaborating in a multiparty-system at local level, with special emphasis on responsible citizenship, civic education and citizen engagement to guarantee efficient service delivery. Aware of the fact that multipartyism is still relatively new in Uganda, the concept lacks appreciation, especially at the local level – leaders therefore need to be oriented towards the key tenets of democracy and pluralism.

Even though Uganda is a multiparty democracy, political parties had been in abeyance for many decades and a culture of political pluralism is still lacking in multiple locations. Most districts in Uganda have both opposition and ruling NRM councilors as well as appointed leaders - however, fruitful cooperation is frequently overshadowed by mistrust and rivalry, especially at the local level. The shaky working relationship between the opposition and the NRM sometimes stifles the smooth service delivery at the local level. The Directorate of National Guidance, together with KAS, therefore initiated the third of three workshops to train elected and appointed leaders to cooperate in a multiparty-system, despite their differences in political ideology and affiliation.

The event was organised and fully financed by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Uganda and South Sudan in partnership with the Directorate of National Guidance (DNG) and targeted both appointed and elected leaders at the local level, including Resident District Commissioners, LCV and LC 3 chairpersons, Sub county Chiefs, Community Development Officers, Chief Administrative Officers, Women and Youth Leaders, hailing from the Tororo, Busia and Butaleja districts respectively.

Dr. Milton Mutto held an interactive presentation on the importance of civic education and its role in the process of nation-building. During this session, he emphasized what for him was the essence of this workshop: to learn how to reflect on one’s own actions and thoughts critically. Dr. Mutto presented the essentials of nation-building as a continuous process created through deliberate actions by responsible citizens. Subsequently, he referred on the concept of democracy, its basic principles, conditions and benefits for the society. The presentation’s content was both descriptive, explaining to the participants what elected and appointed leaders actually do, what their roles and what their needs are, as well as normative, stressing the benefits of collaborating despite all ideological and political differences in order to guarantee effective service delivery.

Oroch Martin, the Resident District Commissioner (RDC) of Tororo, lectured on the duties of each citizen according to the national constitution of Uganda and linked the leaders’ individual roles within the bigger whole to the realization of the “Vision 40”, recently published by the Ugandan government.

Sango Richard spoke to the participants about Responsible Citizenship and the Common Good. Starting from the current challenges Uganda faces – an extremely young, but increasingly frustrated and passive population – he pointed out the possible solutions to these problems, namely a deliberate public education and a responsible and active role as local leaders to comply with their role within the bigger picture. Hereafter, Mr. Sango enlarged upon the common goods of Uganda and raised the question if the citizens of Uganda are actually protecting those goods.

Mr. Joal Wanjala posed the provocative question of what actually makes the difference between rich, developed nations and developing countries like Uganda. Concluding on an active plenary discussion, he stated that the one thing that makes the difference is the peoples’ mind-set, their attitude towards responsible citizenship, caused by a difference in civic education. From there, Mr. Wanjala continued to explain the concept of good governance and its key principles.

KAS emphasized that responsible citizenship needs to go much further than paying taxes or participating at elections: “Think about deliberate actions you can actively take in your districts. Even through the smallest steps towards improving your community you are playing your role as units of a whole” (Bernard Mukhone).

There was high interest from the participants who actively participated during all the sessions. The workshop successfully created awareness about the concepts of democracy and political pluralism among the district leaders, enabled them to work together cooperatively in a multiparty environment, created ability to identify priorities for the districts and raised awareness about the role of civic education in successful nation-building.

Report compiled by Leonie Staas and Bernard Mukhone

KAS DNG training for appointed an elected leaders v_1
KAS DNG training for appointed an elected leaders v_4
DNG KAS training appointed and elected leaders
KAS DNG training for appointed and elected leaders

Veranstaltungsberichte

Gute Regierungsführung im Mehrparteiensystem: Die Rolle von gewählten und bestellten Führungskräften auf lokaler Ebene

Förderung von verantwortungsvoller Bürgerschaft, Pluralismus und Kooperation, unabhängig von politischer Orientierung

In Kooperation mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung veranstaltete das “Directorate of National Guidance” (DNG) für 35 lokale Führungskräfte aus Tororo, Busia und Butajela einen Trainingsworkshop zur effektiven Kooperation in einem Mehrparteiensystem, mit besonderem Fokus auf verantwortungsvolles Bürgertum, staatsbürgerliche Erziehung und bürgerschaftliches Engagement, um effiziente Dienstleistung von Seiten des Staates zu garantieren. Da das Mehrparteiensystem in Uganda noch immer sehr jung ist, fehlt es noch immer an Wertschätzung und Anwendung des Konzepts, ganz besonders auf lokaler Ebene.

Zum dritten Mal in diesem Jahr haben wir mit dem Directorate of National Guidance (DNG) kooperiert, um 35 lokale Führungskräfte aus Tororo, Busia und Butajela in effektiver Kooperation im Mehrparteiensystem auszubilden, , mit besonderem Fokus auf verantwortungsvolles Bürgertum, staatsbürgerliche Erziehung und bürgerschaftliches Engagement, um effiziente Dienstleistung von Seiten des Staates zu garantieren. Da das Mehrparteiensystem in Uganda noch immer sehr jung ist, fehlt es noch immer an Wertschätzung und Anwendung des Konzepts, ganz besonders auf lokaler Ebene. Für Führungskräfte müssen daher Orientierungshilfen in Richtung Demokratie und Pluralismus bereitgestellt werden. Zwar ist Uganda offiziell eine Mehrparteien-Demokratie, dennoch haben sich politische Parteien de facto jahrzehntelang im Abseits befunden, eine Kultur des politischen Pluralismus hat sich an vielen Stellen noch immer nicht durchgesetzt.

Die meisten Distrikte in Uganda haben sowohl eine Opposition als auch regierende NRM Ratsmitglieder sowie bestellte Führungskräfte aus der Verwaltung – doch erfolgreiche Kooperation wird häufig von Misstrauen und Rivalität überschattet. Die wackelige Arbeitsbeziehung zwischen Opposition und NRM behindert oft eine reibungslose Dienstleistungserbringung auf lokaler Ebene. Das DNG, in Kooperation mit der KAS, hat daher den dritten von drei Trainingsworkshops organisiert, mit dem Ziel, sowohl gewählte als auch bestellte Führungskräfte zur Kooperation im Mehrparteiensystem auszubilden, unabhängig von ihrer politischen Ideologie oder Orientierung.

Das Event wurde vollständig von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Uganda und Süd-Sudan organisiert und finanziert, in Kooperation mit dem Directorate of National Guidance (DNG). Es richtete sich sowohl an gewählte als auch an bestellte Führungskrüfte auf lokaler Ebene, unter anderem an Bezirkskommissare (Resident District Commissioners), LCV and LC 3 Vorsitzende, Landkreisleiter (Sub County Chiefs), Gemeinde-Entwicklungsbeauftragte (Community Development Officers), leitende Verwaltungsbeamte (Chief Administrative Officers) sowie Frauen- und Jugendleiter.

Dr. Milton Mutto hielt eine interaktive Präsentation zum Thema staatsbürgerliche Erziehung und deren Rolle im Staatsbildungsprozess. Während dieser Präsentation betonte er, was für ihn die Essenz dieses Workshops sei: zu lernen, die eigenen Handlungen und Gedanken kritisch zu reflektieren. Dr. Mutto stellte die Grundprinzipien der der Staatsbildung als kontinuierlichen Prozess dar, angetrieben vom aktiven Engagement von verantwortungsbewussten Bürgern. Anschließend referierte er zum Konzept der Demokratie, deren Grundprinzipien, Voraussetzungen und Vorteile für die Gesellschaft. Der Inhalt der Präsentation war sowohl deskriptiv, indem er im Detail erläuterte, was gewählte und bestellte Führungskräfte tatsächlich tun, als auch normativ, indem er hervorhob, welche Vorteile Kooperation über politische und ideologische Differenzen hinweg nach sich zieht.

Oroch Martin, Bezirkskommissar von Tororo, erläuterte die zivilen Pflichten eines jeden Bürgers nach der Ugandischen Verfassung und setzte die individuellen Rollen der Teilnehmer innerhalb des großen Ganzen in Beziehung zur Umsetzung der sogenannten „Vision 40“, die kürzlich von der Ugandischen Regierung veröffentlicht worden ist.

Sango Richard sprach mit den Teilnehmern über verantwortungsbewusstes Bürgertum und gemeinsame Güter (Common Goods). Ausgehend von den aktuellen Herausforderungen, denen Uganda gegenüber steht – eine extrem junge, aber zunehmend passive und frustrierte Bevölkerung – benannte er mögliche Lösungen für eben diese Probleme; darunter in erster Linie eine umfangreiche öffentliche Bildung und eine verantwortungsbewusste und aktive Rolle als lokale Führungskraft. Anschließend ging Mr. Sango auf die gemeinsamen Güter Ugandas ein und stellte die Frage in den Raum, ob die Bürger Ugandas diese tatsächlich schützten.

Mr. Wanjala stellte die provokative Frage, was letztendlich den Unterschied macht zwischen reichen, entwickelten Nationen und Entwicklungsländern wie Uganda. Aufbauend auf eine angeregte Plenardiskussion fasste er zusammen dass der eine Faktor, der tatsächlich den Unterschied macht, die Einstellung der Menschen gegenüber verantwortungsvollem Bürgertum, verursacht durch einen signifikanten Qualitätsunterschied in staatsbürgerlicher Erziehung. Darauf folgend erklärte Mr. Wanjala das Konzept der Guten Regierungsführung (Good Governance) und dessen Grundprinzipien.

KAS hob hervor, dass verantwortungsbewusstes Bürgertum sehr viel weiter geht als lediglich seiner Steuerpflicht nachzukommen und an Wahlen teilzunehmen: “Denken Sie über deliberative Handlungen nach, die Sie aktiv in Ihren Heimatdistrikten durchsetzen können. Selbst durch den kleinsten Schritt, der der Gemeinschaft hilft, nehmen Sie bereits ihre Rolle als Teil eines großen Ganzen ein“ (Bernard Mukhone).

Das Interesse der Teilnehmer an den Inhalten der Veranstaltung war durchweg sehr groß, die Teilnahme an den Diskussionen sehr rege. Der Workshop hat dazu beigetragen, unter den lokalen Führungskräften ein besseres Bewusstsein für die Prinzipien der Demokratie und des politischen Pluralismus zu schaffen, befähigte diese zu effizienterer Zusammenarbeit und zur Identifikation von Prioritäten für ihre Distrikte und vermittelte die zentrale Rolle von staatsbürgerlicher Bildung im Staatsbildungsprozess.

Bericht erstellt von Leonie Staas und Bernard Mukhone

KAS DNG training for appointed an elected leaders v_1
KAS DNG training for appointed an elected leaders v_4
DNG KAS training appointed and elected leaders
KAS DNG training for appointed and elected leaders