Event Reports

Debate Alumni Demand for Free and Fair Elections

by Maike Messerschmidt

Youth Democracy Forum Held to Celebrate ACFODE@30

On 10 November 2015, Action for Development (ACFODE) and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) held a Youth Democracy Forum which did not only address civil society and party youth, but also alumni from different universities who participated in the KAS and ACFODE inter-university debating competitions in 2013.

Even though there are numerous avenues for youth participation in the Ugandan constitution and other legal frameworks and a plethora of NGOs, CSOs, and government institutions whose main purpose it is to include the youth in political decision making and advocate for their interests, the Ugandan youth fail to make their voices heard effectively. There are a number of reasons which account for that, such as for example a lack of political and civic education, cultural practices which advantage elders over the youth, and political party structures which are based on financial capacities and therefore often disenfranchise the youth who might either not generate any income at all or are just at the beginning of their professional careers.

In order to address these issues, which gain even more importance ahead of the 2016 general elections, ACFODE and KAS have decided to tap into the network of students who participated in inter-university debating competitions which had been organized in 2013. Students and young professionals from many different universities all over the country came together at Metropole Hotel in order to discuss the challenges their generation faces as well as possible solutions. In 2013, the debates focused on motions of gender equality, women’s rights, and cultural practices that establish gender relations in Uganda. The goal was then to tap into the energies of the youth to make them advocates for gender equality and create a pool of multipliers who would, after they finished university, share their knowledge about gender issues in Uganda in their workplace.

The forum was opened representatives of KAS and ACFODE, who emphasized that it was a great honour to welcome the alumni to Kampala after all the time that had passed. They made a strong point in encouraging all the participants to be active and engaged – not only in the course of the Forum, but also beyond in their everyday lives.

Following that was a presentation by Hellena Okiring, Team Leader of the Dream Initiative, who gave an outlook on the status of, avenues for, and challenges to youth participation in political processes in Uganda at the moment. She called on the participants to double check if they were actually participating of they “were being participated” and – through that – kept quiet. For that purpose, she introduced indicators that would make it possible for the participants to analyse their own participation and find out if they are being an active part of the system. She closed her presentation by asking the question “How do YOU want to participate?”

Following that, Isabella Akiteng, Project Coordinator with UYONET and moderator of the Forum, invited Irene Ikomu, Coordinator of Parliament Watch Uganda, to share her presentation on how to influence political party structures for effective youth engagement. She assessed the degree of political party work of the participants by asking several questions, starting with who of them was registered to vote in 2016, who would actually go and vote, and – if the latter was answered negatively – why they wouldn’t go and vote. It turned out that a large part of the participants was already certain that the elections were going to be rigged and therefore they did not want any part in them. However, Ms. Ikomu made it a strong point that participating in elections is crucial in order to be able to claim ownership in the political process.

Two youth Members of Parliament joined the Forum: Hon. Monica Amoding and Hon. Gerald Karuhanga, who both used the opportunity to address the participants. Especially Hon. Karuhanga took the chance to look back on his legislature period and on the things he achieved for the youth in Uganda. He admitted that, seeing the trust that was given to him by the youth by voting for him, he had not achieved as much as he should have.

Before collecting ways forward for improving youth participation, one of the debate alumni was asked to share his experience after participating in the debating competitions. He not only demonstrated great passion for governance issues and political activism, but also thanked ACFODE for giving him the exposure and knowledge that made it possible for him to become the activist he was today.

acfode logo

Veranstaltungsberichte

KAS-ACFODE Debattier-Alumni fordern freie und faire Wahlen

von Maike Messerschmidt

Jugend Demokratie-Forum anlässlich von ACFODEs 30. Geburtstag

Am 10. November 2015 veranstalteten Action for Development (ACFODE) und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) ein Jugend Demokratie-Forum, welches nicht nur auf die Zivilgesellschaft und die Parteijugend abzielte, sondern auch auf Alumni unterschiedlicher Universitäten, die 2013 an universitären Debattierwettbewerben von KAS und ACFODE teilnahmen.

Obwohl es zahlreiche Beteiligungsmöglichkeit für die Jugend gibt, die in der ugandischen Verfassung und anderen gesetzlichen Rahmen festgelegt sind und die Beteiligung der Jugend durch eine Fülle von NGOs und politischen Institutionen, deren Hauptaufgabe es ist die Jugend in den politischen Entscheidungsprozess miteinzubinden und ihre Interessen zu vertreten, praktikabel gemacht wird, schaffen es junge Leute in Uganda nicht, effektiv Einfluss auf die Politik zu nehmen. Es gibt viele Gründe, die zu dieser Problematik führen, wie beispielsweise mangelhafte politische Bildung, kulturelle Überzeugungen, welche ältere Mitbürger_Innen deutlich bevorteilen, und Parteistrukturen, die auf finanzielle Kapazitäten beruhen und daher junge Menschen, die meist kein eigenes Einkommen haben oder am Anfang ihrer beruflichen Karriere stehen und nur wenig finanzielle Mittel zur Verfügung haben, Mitbestimmung verwehren.

Um diese Probleme zu behandeln, die im Zuge der bevorstehenden Wahlen 2016 noch an Bedeutung gewinnen, entschieden ACFODE und KAS, das durch Debattierwettbewerbe bestehende Netzwerk von Student_Innen zu nutzen. Student_Innen und junge Expert_Innen von unterschiedlichen Universitäten aus dem ganzen Land trafen sich im Metropole Hotel, um die Probleme, die ihre Generation zu bewältigen hat zu diskutieren und mögliche Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln. 2013 befassten sich die Debatten vor allem mit Geschlechtergleichstellung, Frauenrechten und kulturellen Gegebenheiten, auf denen Geschlechterbeziehungen in Uganda basieren. Das Ziel war es, die Energie der Jugend zu nutzen und sie zu Verfetreter_Innen von Geschlechtergleichstellung zu machen, sowie einen Pool von Multiplikator_Innen zu schaffen, die ihr Wissen zum Thema Gleichstellung nach ihrem Universitätsabschluss mit Menschen in ihrem Arbeitsumfeld teilen.

Das Forum wurde von Vertretern von ACFODE und KAS eröffnet, die betonten, dass e eine große Ehre sei, die Alumni in Kampala willkommen zu heißen. Sie forderten die Teilnehmer_Innen dazu auf, aktiv zu teilzunehmen – nicht nur während des Forums, sondern auch darüber hinaus in ihrem täglichen Leben.

Anschließend hielt Hellena Okiring, Teamleiterin bei der Dream Initiative, einen Vortrag und gab einen Überblick über den Status Quo von, den Zugang zu und die Probleme mit der Jugendbeteiligung im politischen Prozess in Uganda. Sie rief die Teilnehmer_Innen dazu auf, zu überprüfen ob sie sich tatsächlich beteiligen oder „beteiligt werden“. Um dies beurteilen zu können, präsentierte sie Indikatoren, die es den Teilnehmern_Innen ermöglichten, ihre eigene Beteiligung zu analysieren und herauszufinden, ob sie aktiv am politischen Prozess beteiligt sind. Sie schloss ihren Vortrag mit der Frage „Wie willst DU dich beteiligen?“

Anschließend bat Isabella Akiteng, Projektkoordinatorin bei UYONET und Moderatorin des Forums, Irene Ikomu, Koordinatorin von Parliament Watch Uganda, eine Präsentation darüber zu halten wie Parteistrukturen dahingehend Beeinflusst werden können, eine effektive Jugendbeteiligung zu erreichen. Sie beurteilte das Ausmaß politischer Parteiarbeit der Teilnehmer_Innen indem sie mehrere Fragen stellte. Zunächst fragte sie, wer für die Wahlen 2016 registriert ist, wer wählen gehen wird und - bei einer negativen Antwort - warum sie nicht zur Wahl gehen wollen. Es stellte sich heraus, dass ein großer Teil der Teilnehmer_Innen bereits jetzt davon überzeugt ist, dass die Wahlen manipuliert seien und sie daher nicht daran beteiligt sein wollen. Frau Ikomu stellte klar, dass die Beteiligung an Wahlen unerlässlich sei, um den politischen Prozess zu beeinflussen.

Zwei Jugendvertreter_Innen im ugandischen Parlament beteiligten sich am Forum: Monica Amoding und Gerald Karuhanga, die beide die Gelegenheit nutzten, zu den Teilnehmer_Innen zu sprechen. Vor allem Herr Karuhanga sah eine Chance, um auf seine Legislaturperiode und die Dinge, die er für die Jugend in Uganda erreicht hatte, zurückzublicken. Er gab allerdings auch zu, dass er - mit Blick auf das Vertrauen, das seine Wähler_Innen ihm ausgesprochen haben - nicht all das erreicht habe was er hätte erreichen können.

Bevor schließlich Wege zur besseren Jugendbeteiligung diskutiert und entwickelt wurden, berichtete einer der Alumni über seine Erfahrungen nachdem er an dem Debattierwettbewerb teilgenommen hatte. Er zeigte nicht nur eine große Leidenschaft für Regierungsfragen und politischen Aktivismus, sondern bedankte sich auch bei ACFODE für das bereitgestellte Wissen, das ihm half, ein Aktivist zu werden.

acfode logo