Event Reports

Political Actors and Academicians Discuss the State of Multiparty Democracy in Uganda

KAS-Symposium mit politischen Akteuren und Akademikern

A Symposium conducted by KAS raised a vibrant discussion on the challenges and successes of the five-year-old multiparty democracy in Uganda.

The one-day symposium entitled “Reality Check – The state of multiparty democracy in Uganda in 2010” brought together politicians, representatives of the media and civil society as well as academicians in order to assess the state of multiparty democracy in Uganda through inputs from experts and an interactive dialogue. Among the many participants were representatives from both sides of the political spectrum - supporters of the NRM as well as the opposition parties. The lively and at times controversial debate exposed the diverging opinions and assessments of the situation in Uganda. While supporters of the NRM government emphasised the achievements of the last years and accused the opposition parties of “complete failure”, the supporters of the opposition complained about a lack of democracy, particularly manifested in the authoritarian leadership style of the NRM and unfair political competition.

Background

The year 2010 marks the five-year anniversary of the legal reintroduction of multi-party democracy in Uganda following a national referendum in 2005. With the second presidential and parliamentary elections after the return to a multi-party system taking place next year, assessing and discussing the extent to which multi-party democracy has truly been established in Uganda since 2005 was considered a timely endeavour.

The 1995 constitution granted the Ugandan citizens the right to take ultimate decision thrpugh a referendum whether to be governed under multi-partyism or under a different political system. In the first referendum in 2000 the majority still decided against the multi-party system. However, five years later the situation had changed – partly due to a string campaign by the NRM – and a majority of more than 90% voted in favour of the introduction of multipartyism. Five years later the young multiparty system is confronted with numerous challenges on the way towards democratic consolidation.

The symposium was divided into two sessions, each of which consisted of two presentations from experts and practitioners and a subsequent open discussion. All presentations were based on elaborate papers which are going to be compiled in a publication.

Legal and Institutional Context

The first session was dedicated to an assessment of the developments of the past years and the current situation with regard to the legal and institutional context from an academic perspective.

In his introductory remarks, Mr. Mathias Kamp, KAS Project Officer, emphasised that in order to undertake the “reality check”, the assessment of the state of multiparty democracy in Uganda it is important to take a look at four important dimensions:

1.The legal fixation of the political system,

2.The reflection of the pluralistic democratic system in the institutional set-up,

3.The adherence of democratic principles by the major political actors,

4.The acceptance of the democratic multiparty system by the population and the development of a “democratic culture”.

Furthermore, he noted that while there are different types of party systems even in consolidated democracies (ranging from two-party-systems to fragmented party systems), what most of them have in common is that they are balanced to a certain degree, with changes in power being more than just a theoretical option. This according to Kamp distinguishes them from many party systems in Africa, including Uganda, which can be described as “imbalanced” since they are characterised by a permanently dominating ruling party facing a very weak opposition. In Uganda, where the current multiparty system is still young and developing, different reasons can be brought forward in order to explain this imbalance, depending on the standpoint of the observer. Kamp noted that the arguments range from historical explanations (negative experiences with multipartyism in the past), complaints about undemocratic tendencies and manipulations by the ruling party, to accusations of inability, internal quarrels and disunity of the opposition which allegedly fails to present itself as a real alternative. According to Kamp, the symposium provided a welcome occasion to enter into a dialogue and exchange these views and arguments.

Dr. Sabiti Makara: Challenge and Prospect of Multiparty Democracy in Uganda

In the first presentation, Dr. Sabiti Makara, political scientist at Makerere University, undertook a detailed analysis of the Ugandan democratisation process and the introduction of the multiparty system. While generally acknowledging some laudable democratic developments, Makara identified a number of challenges for the consolidation of multiparty democracy and the guarantee of fair political competition.

He noted that in the current practice this fair competition was still significantly limited, on the one hand because of the instrumental use of the state apparatus to the advantage of the NRM and interference with democratic rights, but on the other hand also because of a weakness of the opposition parties which manifests itself in poor financial resources and grassroots structures and a lack of elaborate programmatic profiles.

Makara concluded that the weak institutionalisation of the party system in Uganda, characterised by weal links between the parties and the population, authoritarian leadership style, internal wrangles within the parties and a lack of programmatic alternatives, poses a serious obstacle to democratic consolidation in the country.

Prof. Yasin Olum: Checks-and-Balances and Level Playing Field

His colleague Prof, Yasin Olum, another Makerere political scientist, in his presentation focussed on two crucial factors for the consolidation of multiparty democracy: the guarantee of checks and balances and a level political playing field. For both aspects, Olum identified serious weaknesses and challenges in the Ugandan context. The separation of powers and provision of checks and balances, which is an essential feature of any genuine Presidential democratic system, according to Olum is only partly ensured in Uganda and indeed undermined by a number of factors such as the presence of cabinet ministers and army representatives in parliament and the “fusion between the NRM party and the state”.

He stated that the political competition was not based on a level playing field and that the opposition parties were seriously disadvantaged compared to the ruling NRM. The competition was characterised by confrontational and conflictive conduct and the unwillingness of the NRM to even acknowledge the possibility of a change in power. According to him, the level playing field is undermined by the dominance of the NRM, particularly with regard to the financial situation due to an exploitation of state resources, as well as the circumcision of basic democratic rights such as the freedom of opinion and the freedom of assembly. Furthermore he stated that the contested impartiality and independence of the Electoral Commission could pose a serious threat to the fairness, credibility and acceptance of the coming elections.

Controversial Debate

In the subsequent discussion some participants expressed support for the arguments brought forward by the two scholars, while others rejected their analysis, Supporters of the NRM government defended the historical achievements of the NRM as a movement and later as a political party. It was argued that the NRM brought the country stability and facilitated democratic reforms. It was emphasised that democratic reforms would need time and patience and that Uganda could not simply be forced to copy a Western style democracy. Thus, as one participant put it, the explanations of the two political scientists on democratic principles would sound nice in theory but could not easily be applied to the Ugandan context.

Focus on the Actors: Political Parties

In the second part of the symposium the focus shifted from the contextual analysis to the major actors, the political parties. Particular attention was given to the question to what extent the Ugandan opposition offers a viable alternative for effective governance.

In his introduction of the topic, Mr. Yusuf Kiranda, KAS Programme Officer, explained that the political opposition always has to be considered a “government in waiting” - which legitimises the question in how far the opposition in Uganda fulfils this role. He also emphasised that in the ideal case the parties should all fulfil some basic democratic functions, namely the reflection, channelling and articulation of the interests of the citizens.

The Perspective of the Ruling NRM

Mr. Awel Uwihanganye of TETEA Uganda, a consultancy firm, took over the perspective of the NRM and was sceptical towards the ability of the opposition to provide a viable alternative to the current government. According to him, the opposition parties are internally divided, suffer from weak structures and are mainly formed around few individual leaders. The main objective was the obsession with the idea of ousting the NRM government. For this purpose the opposition parties wouldn’t even fear to trigger conflict and violence through their irresponsible rhetoric. He argued that the opposition parties had been busy attacking the NRM while neglecting the development of functioning party structures at the grassroots level and the formulation of programmatic alternatives over which they could have a constructive dialogue with the government. According to Uwihanganye the opposition parties are lacking ideological orientation and are still oriented along ethnic and religious lines while at the same time being under massive influence from abroad through the support from Western donors.

Alternative View: The Opposition Perspective

His views were strongly opposed by Mr. Omar Kalinge-Nnyango form the Justice Forum (JEEMA). He blamed the “increasingly dictatorian leadership” by Museveni and the NRM and the restriction of democratic rights for the weakness of the opposition in Uganda

In his view, the political parties could not easily by categorised according to religion or ethnicity anymore, Instead, all political parties had strengthened their national character. Despite the “defamation campaigns” and the negative interference of state organs, particularly police and the army who wouldn’t even fear to violently interrupt or disperse opposition rallies, the parties had been successful in deepening and expanding nation-wide structures. With experiences leaders and clear programmatic alternatives, according to Kalinge, the opposition despite facing many challenges “provides, to a great extent, a viable alternative for effective governance”.

Final Debate and Outlook

The two presentations were again followed by a lively and controversial debate, which at times was characterised by mutual accusations between supporters of the NRM and the opposition parties. However, a particular focus was also on important policy fields, particularly health and education, and participants commented on the achievements as well as shortcomings of the NRM government and the alternative policy proposals brought forward by the opposition. Representatives of civil society called upon both sides to focus on important national issues and the needs and demands of the people instead of being permanently involved in political conflict.

All in all, the symposium was welcomed as an important opportunity for debate and dialogue. The presentation with their critical, partly provocative character fulfilled their purpose of initiating a lively discussion. The active participation confirmed that there is a general interest in such debates on the side of political actors although a stronger presence of NRM-representatives would have desirable.

It is obvious that the democratisation process in Uganda still has a long way to go. Important challenges are the strengthening of democratic institutions and procedures, the guarantee of fair political competition as well as the nurturing of political parties as central actors in the relatively young Ugandan multiparty democracy. It was also confirmed that the potential for conflict in the forefront of the elections should not be underestimated. There is a continuous need for constructive dialogue and joint efforts by all democratic actors to prevent a violent scenario.

In order to make the topics and arguments of the debate accessible for a wider audience, KAS is planning a compilation of the papers prepared by the four presenters as well as a synthesis of the discussions that can be published it in a printed version.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Kontroverse Debatte um den Stand der Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda

von Mathias Kamp

KAS-Symposium mit politischen Akteuren und Akademikern

Ein von der KAS organisiertes Symposium mit politischen Akteuren und Akademikern löste eine lebendige Diskussion zu Erfolgen und Herausforderungen fünf Jahre nach Einführung des Mehrparteiensystems in Uganda aus.

Das eintägige Symposium unter dem Titel „Reality Check – The State of Multiparty Democracy in Uganda in 2010“ brachte Vertreter aus Politik, Medien und Zivilgesellschaft sowie Akademiker zusammen, um sich im aktiven Dialog einer Bestandsaufnahme der Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda zu widmen. Unter den zahlreich erschienenen Teilnehmern waren sowohl Anhänger der Regierungspartei National Resistance Movement (NRM), als auch der verschiedenen Oppositionsparteien. In der lebhaften und mitunter kontroversen Debatte wurde deutlich, dass die verschiedenen Akteure die demokratischen Entwicklungen im Land unterschiedlich bewerten. Während Regierungsanhänger die Fortschritte der vergangenen Jahre betonen und auf das „Versagen“ der Oppositionsparteien verweisen, beklagen sich eben jene über einen Mangel an Demokratie, der sich laut Kritikern vor allem im autoritären Führungsstil der NRM-Führung und der Benachteiligung der Opposition durch unfairen Wettbewerb ausdrücke.

Hintergund

Hintergrund des Symposiums war zum einen das fünfjährige Jubiläum der Einführung des Mehrparteinsystems in Uganda, sowie die bevorstehenden Parlaments- und Präsidentschaftswahlen Anfang 2011 – nach 2006 erst die zweiten demokratischen Wahlen, bei der offiziell politische Parteien im Wettbewerb stehen.

Die 1995 verabschiedete Verfassung Uganda gesteht der Bevölkerung das Recht zu, per Referendum über das bevorzugte politische System zu entscheiden. In einer ersten Abstimmung hatte sich die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung noch gegen die Einführung des Mehrparteiensystems gewandt. Dies änderte sich jedoch bei einem zweiten Referendum im Jahr 2005, bei dem sich - auch aufgrund einer starken Kampagne des NRM – über 90 Prozent der Bevölkerung für den Parteienpluralismus entschieden. Fünf Jahre später steht die noch junge Mehrparteiensystem vor zahlreichen Herausforderungen auf dem Weg der demokratischen Konsolidierung.

Das Symposium war in zwei Sitzungen unterteilt, die jeweils aus zwei Präsentationen sowie einer anschließenden offenen Diskussion bestanden.

Die erste Session widmete sich der Bewertung der Entwicklungen der vergangenen Jahre sowie der rechtlich-institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen aus akademischer Perspektive.

Rechtlicher und institutioneller Kontext

In seiner Einführung des Themas betonte Mathias Kamp, Project Officer der KAS Uganda, die Bedeutung verschiedener Bereiche für eine umfassende Bestandsaufnahme der Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda:

1.Die rechtliche Verankerung des politischen Systems,

2.Die Widerspiegelung von Demokratie und politischem Pluralismus im Institutionengefüge,

3.Die Beachtung der „Spielregeln“ und die Verinnerlichung demokratischer Prinzipien auf Seiten der politischen Akteure,

4.Die Identifikation der Bevölkerung mit dem Mehrparteiensystem und die Entwicklung einer „demokratischen Kultur“.

Zudem betonte Kamp, dass es sich im Gegensatz zu konsolidierten westlichen Parteiensystemen in Uganda - wie in vielen afrikanischen Ländern – um ein unausgewogenes Parteiensystem handle, charakterisiert durch das Gegenüber einer permanent dominanten Regierungspartei und einer schwachen Opposition. Während diese Beobachtung offensichtlich sei, so gingen laut Kamp die Begründungen hierfür in verschiedene Richtungen - je nach Standpunkt des Betrachters. Die Erklärungen reichten dabei von historischen Gründen (negative Erfahrungen mit Parteinpluralismus in Ugandas Geschichte), Beschwerden über Vorteilsnahme und Manipulation seitens der Regierungspartei, bis hin zu Vorwürfen der Unfähigkeit und Zerstrittenheit der Opposition, der es nicht gelinge, sich als echte Alternative zu präsentieren. Das Symposium, so Kamp, sei eine gute Gelegenheit, sich im offenen Austausch dieser Bandbreite von Ansichten und Argumenten zu widmen.

Dr. Sabiti Makara: Herausforderungen der Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda

In der ersten Präsentation unternahm Dr. Sabiti Makara, Politikwissenschaftler der Makerere Universität in Kampala, eine detaillierte Analyse des ugandischen Demokratisierungsprozesses bis hin zum Mehrparteiensystem. Dabei betonte er Fortschritte wie auch Herausforderungen. Letztere sieht Makara vor allem hinsichtlich der Konsolidierung der Mehrparteiendemokratie und der Gewährleistung echten Wettbewerbs. In der aktuellen Praxis sei dieser Wettbewerb noch erheblich eingeschränkt. Dies liege zum einen, so Makara, an der Macht der Regierungspartei, die sich den Staatsapparat zu Nutzen mache, und der „Beeinflussung und Beschneidung“ staatlicher Institutionen durch die politische Elite; zum anderen aber auch an der Schwäche der Oppositionsparteien, die sich unter anderem im Mangel an finanziellen Ressourcen, Grasswurzel-Strukturen und ausgearbeiteten Programmen manifestiere. Abschließend betonte er, dass die mangelnde Institutionalisierung des Parteiensystems, charakterisiert unter anderem durch schwache Anbindung der Parteien an die Bevölkerung, autoritären Führungsstil und mangelnde programmatische Alternativen, ein nur mühsam zu überwindendes Hindernis für die Konsolidierung der Demokratie darstelle.

Prof. Yasin Olum: Gewaltenteilung und fairer Wettbewerb

Im zweiten Beitrag widmete sich sein Kollege Professor Yasin Olum, ebenfalls Politikwissenschaftler der Makerere Universität, zwei entscheidenden Faktoren für die Konsolidierung der Mehrparteiendemokratie: der Gewährleistung von „checks-and-balances“, also der Teilung und gegenseitigen Kontrolle der Macht zwischen den drei Gewalten (Exekutive, Judikative, Legislative), sowie eines freien und fairen Wettbewerbs um die politische Macht. In beiden Bereichen sieht Olum erhebliche Schwächen im ugandischen Kontext. Die in einem präsidentiellen System unabdingbare starke Gewaltenteilung sei in Uganda nur schwach ausgeprägt und würde zum Teil erheblich unterwandert, unter anderem durch die Repräsentation von Kabinettsmitgliedern und Vertretern der Armee im Parlament, sowie der „Fusion von Staatsapparat und NRM-Partei“.

Der politische Wettbewerb in Uganda beruht laut Olum auf ungleichen Bedingungen. Die Oppositionsparteien seien gegenüber dem NRM erheblich benachteiligt. Der Wettbewerb sei charakterisiert durch konfrontatives und konfliktives Verhalten und der „Klammerung der Regierungspartei an die Macht“, so Olum. Die gleichen Wettbewerbsbedingungen würden unterwandert durch die Überlegenheit der NRM-Partei, vor allem in finanzieller Hinsicht durch Ausbeutung von Staatsressourcen, sowie der Einschränkung von Grundrechten wie Meinungs- und Versammlungsfreiheit. Zudem stelle die von Kritikern in Frage gestellte Unabhängigkeit der ugandischen Wahlkommission ein ernstes Hindernis für die Fairness und Glaubwürdigkeit der anstehenden Wahlen dar.

Kontroverse Debatte

In der anschließenden Diskussion wurde sowohl Zustimmung als auch Ablehnung der vorgebrachten Thesen und Argumente zum Ausdruck gebracht. Anhänger des NRM wehrten sich gegenüber den Vorwürfen von Autoritarismus und Manipulation und betonten die historischen Leistungen des Movements als Partei sowie zuvor als Befreiungsbewegung. Man habe dem Land Stabilität gebracht und auf eigenes Streben den Demokratisierungsprozess vorangebracht, so die Argumente. Dass dieser Prozess Zeit in Anspruch nehme und Geduld benötige, sei selbstverständlich. Schließlich könne man Uganda nicht einfach ein westliches Demokratiemodell „überstülpen“. Entsprechend seien die Ausführungen der beiden Politikwissenschaftler zu demokratischen Prinzipien zwar „wohlklingend in der Theorie“ aber auf den ugandischen Kontext nicht einfach übertragbar, so einer der Teilnehmer in der Debatte.

Fokus auf die Akteure: Politische Parteien

Im zweiten Teil der Debatte verlagerte sich der Fokus von den Kontextbedingungen zu den Hauptakteuren, den politischen Parteien. Dabei ging es vor allem um die Frage inwieweit die politische Opposition in Uganda eine ernstzunehmende und glaubwürdige Alternative zur NRM-Regierung darstelle.

In seinem einführenden Statement erklärte Yusuf Kiranda, Programme Officer der KAS Uganda, dass es sich bei der politischen Opposition immer auch um eine „Schattenregierung in Wartestellung“ handle, und daher die Frage legitim und relevant sei, inwiefern die Opposition in Uganda diese Rolle erfülle. Dabei sei zu beachten, dass die Parteien im Idealfall die gleichen Funktionen effektiv erfüllen müssten, nämlich die Reflexion, Bündelung und Artikulation von Interessen in der Bevölkerung.

Die Sicht der Regierungspartei NRM

Awel Uwihanganye von TETEA Uganda, einer politischen Beratungsfirma, widmete sich der Frage nach der Regierungsfähigkeit der Oppositionsparteien aus NRM-Perspektive. Entsprechend skeptisch viel sein Urteil aus: Die Oppositionsparteien seien innerlich zerstritten, hätten schwache Strukturen und formten sich zum Großteil um einzelne Persönlichkeiten. Hauptanliegen der Parteien sei der Sturz der NRM-Regierung, zu der man in Fundamentalopposition stehe. Dabei schrecke man auch vor „gefährlicher, Konflikt schürender Rhetorik“ nicht zurück. Man sei auf Oppositionsseite seit Jahren nur damit beschäftigt, die NRM-Regierung zu attackieren und habe dabei „über Jahre versäumt funktionierende Parteistrukturen bis zur lokalen Ebene aufzubauen und programmatische Alternativen zu entwickeln, über die man in einen konstruktiven Dialog mit der Regierung treten kann“, so Uwihanganye. Zudem fehle es an einer ideologischen Positionierung. Die Oppositionsparteien reflektierten noch immer ethnische und religiöse Identitäten und seien zudem durch die Hilfe westlicher Geber massiv aus dem Ausland beeinflusst.

Gegenposition: Die Sicht der Opposition

Dieser Darstellung widersprach Omar Kalinge-Nnyango vom Justice Forum (JEEMA), einer von fünf Oppositionsparteien, die sich zum Bündnis der Inter-Party Cooperation (IPC) zusammengeschlossen haben und den oppositionellen Präsidentschaftskandidaten Kizza Besigye unterstützen, der bereits zweimal erfolglos gegen Präsident Museveni antrat.

Er machte den „zunehmend diktatorischen Führungsstil“ und die „Beschneidung demokratischer Rechte“ für die Schwäche der Opposition verantwortlich.

Laut Kalinge-Nnyango ließen sich die Parteien nicht einfach in „ethnische oder religiöse Schubladen einordnen“, sondern hätten alle ihren nationalen Charakter gestärkt. Trotz der „Diffamationskampagnen“ und Behinderungen durch Regierungsbehörden, Polizei und Armee, die auch vor gewaltsamen Auflösungen von Parteiveranstaltungen nicht zurückschreckten, habe man erfolgreich die landesweiten Strukturen ausgeweitet und gestärkt. Dabei habe auch der Zusammenschluss zum Bündnis der IPC geholfen. Man sei mit erfahrenen Führungspersönlichkeiten sowie klaren programmatischen Alternativen gut vorbereitet auf eine Übernahme der Macht. Es sei jedoch seine Befürchtung, dass in Anbetracht der „Verweigerung der lange überfälligen Reform der Wahlkommission“ die anstehenden Wahlen in 2011 „erneut zugunsten der NRM-Regierung manipuliert werden könnten“, so Kalinge-Nnyango.

Abschließende Diskussion und Ausblick

Auf die beiden Beiträge folgte eine erneut lebhafte und kontroverse Debatte, die eine zeitlang von gegenseitigen Vorwürfen zwischen Regierung und Opposition gekennzeichnet war. Allerdings wurden auch wichtige Politikbereiche besprochen, darunter vor allem Gesundheits- und Bildungspolitik, um die Erfolge bzw. Misserfolge der Regierung Museveni sowie die Vorschläge seitens der Oppositionsparteien zu bewerten. Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft riefen die politischen Akteure dazu auf, sich effektiver den wichtigen Themen des Landes und den Anliegen der Bevölkerung zu widmen, „anstatt sich permanent in politische Grabenkämpfe zu verwickeln“.

Insgesamt wurde das Symposium seitens der Teilnehmer als wichtiges Diskussionsforum begrüßt. Es zeigte sich, dass die Beiträge in ihrer kritisch-provokanten Ausrichtung den Zweck der Initiierung einer fokussierten Debatte voll erfüllten. Die rege Teilnahme zeigte, dass ein entsprechendes Interesse auf Seiten der wichtigsten Akteure vorhanden ist, auch wenn eine stärkere Präsenz von Vertretern des National Resistance Movements wünschenswert gewesen wäre.

Es zeigt sich, dass der Demokratisierungsprozess in Uganda noch einen weiten Weg vor sich hat. Wichtige Herausforderungen sind die Stärkung demokratischer Institutionen, die Gewährleistung von fairem politischem Wettbewerb, sowie die Stärkung von politischen Parteien als zentrale Akteure der noch jungen Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda. Es wurde aber auch deutlich, dass das Konfliktpotential im Vorfeld der anstehenden Wahlen nicht unterschätzt werden darf. Hier sind konstruktive Dialoge und gemeinsame Anstrengungen aller demokratischen Akteure gefragt, um ein gewalttätiges Szenario zu verhindern.

Um die wichtigen Themen und Argumente einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, plant die KAS die zeitnahe Veröffentlichung der Expertenbeiträge und der zusammengefassten Diskussion in einer Druckpublikation.