Event Reports

Engaging More Young Women to Participate in Democratic Governance

Second Debate of a Countrywide Youth Debate Series in Kampala

The University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) have started a countrywide youth debate series to discuss meaningful youth participation in democratic governance. Students and youth leaders from the Central Region were invited to debate on current challenges the youth is facing and how to ensure effective youth participation on all levels of governance.

The moderator Yusuf Kiranda, Director of UNIFOG, explained why this youth debate series was necessary. He noted that while the constitution and the law provided representation structures for youth, like the National Youth Council, youth participation remained ineffective. He invited Jacob Eyeru, Mechanical Engineering Student at Makerere University and Ugandan Youth Ambassador to the EAC, Ivan Rugambwa, Journalism Student at Makerere University, Ahmed Hadji, President of African Youth Development Link, and Sarah Aporo, Guild Speaker of Makerere University Business School, to join the panel and to debate on why youth participation still remains ineffective and what can be done about it.

To ensure lively discussions, the audience had the opportunity to contribute actively to the debate. The co-moderator, Michael Mugisha, member of UNIFOG and lecturer at Makerere University, collected comments and arguments from the audience after every panel session.

In the first panel session, the debaters talked about why there was week youth representation. Mr. Hadji pointed out that the representation structures which are in place, were not effective and argued that the structures were favoring the NRM. Mr. Rugambwa agreed on that and explained that other parties lacked capacity and the fusion of the state and the NRM gave no space for other parties and pressure groups.

Ms. Aporo focused on the problem of less female representation among the youth. She noted that although the law provided affirmative action to ensure gender equality, discrimination against women remained high and discouraged young women from participating in politics. Concerning gender equality, Mr. Eyeru referred to the social construction of gender in Africa, which was dominated by men and emphasized the progress Uganda had already achieved to ensure gender equality. He argued that there was enough space for women to participate but a lot of women lacked the knowledge about their political rights. Moreover, he pointed out that the main reason of electing a representative should not be the gender but the competence of the candidate.

One participant argued that affirmative action policies existed but not were implemented. Another participant disagreed and argued that not the implementation of affirmative action policies was the problem but the mind-set of the youth, which still tolerated discrimination against women. Furthermore, the responsibility of civil society and Civil Society Organisation (CSOs) was brought up and one participant suggested providing more civic education at the grass roots to ensure gender equality and stronger youth structures.

Some participants blamed the government for not engaging with the youth and rather talking about them. Others blamed the families for not providing their children with basic democratic education. Because the audience already raised the issue of who should be blamed for the ineffective representation of youth, the panelists were asked to discuss on who is responsible for the current situation. Ms. Aporo noted that it did not help to blame anyone for the current problems and explained that when people blame the government they automatically blame themselves due to the fact that the government is representing the people. Mr. Hadji suggested rethinking the current representation structures and recreating them on the level of civil society. In his opinion, the problem of the current structure was the incorrect implementation. Mr. Rugambwa pointed out the missing accountability of youth representatives due to funding from special pressure groups and parties, which were not interested in mobilizing the youth.

The audience raised the importance of social media in the mobilization and communication process. Others disagreed with the alleged huge potential of social media and countered that only few people had excess to internet and used social media. Some participants argued that there was no unity among the youth and depending on gender, origin, and education, young people had different interests. One participant appealed to the audience to share their knowledge with those who lack education or have no access to relevant political information.

Mr. Rugambwa and Mr. Eyeru promoted issue-based campaigns to unite the homogenous group of youth and to avoid categorizing the youth according to political party affiliation. He suggested promoting the Youth Manifesto in order to demand for youth-oriented policies.

Bruce Kabaasa, Member of UNIFOG, summarized the discussion and welcomed Peter Girke, former KAS Country Representative and KAS Desk Officer for East Africa. He appreciated the long partnership between KAS and UNIFOG and thanked Mr. Girke for starting the partnership during his time as KAS Country Representative in Uganda. At the end, Mr. Kabaasa invited Mr. Mathias Kamp, current KAS Country Representative, to give his closing remarks, who motivated the audience to take action and keep discussions on youth representation alive.

Author: Nele Kr├╝ger, KAS Intern

unifog logo formatted

Veranstaltungsberichte

Mehr junge Frauen für die Partizipation im demokratischen Entscheidungsprozess motivieren

Zweite Debatte einer landesweiten Serie von Jugenddebatten in Kampala

Das University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) haben mit einer landesweiten Serie von Jugenddebatten begonnen, um effektive Jugendpartizipation im demokratischen Entscheidungsprozess zu diskutieren. Studenten und Jugendvertreter aus der Zentral-Region wurden eingeladen, um die derzeitigen Herausforderungen, welche die Jugend in Uganda betreffen, und wie effektive Jugendbeteiligung sichergestellt werden kann, zu diskutieren.

Der Moderator Yusuf Kiranda, Direktor von UNIFOG, erklärte warum die Debattenserie notwendig sei. Er stellte fest, dass während die Verfassung und Gesetze Repräsentationsstrukturen für die Jugend sicherstellten, die Beteiligung der Jugend ineffektiv bleibe. Er lud Jacob Eyeru, Maschinenbau Studenten an der Makerere Universität und Jugendbotschafter für Uganda bei der EAC, Ivan Rugambwa, Journalismus Student an der Makerere Universität, Ahmed Hadji, President von African Youth Development Link, und Sarah Aporo, Guild Speaker an der Makerere University Business School, an der Diskussionsrunde teilzunehmen und darüber zu debattieren warum Jugendbeteiligung noch immer ineffektiv bleibt und wie man dies ändern kann.

Um eine lebhafte Diskussion zu erzeugen, hatte das Publikum die Möglichkeit aktiv zu der Debatte beizutragen. Der Ko-Moderator Michael Mugisha, Mitglied bei UNIFOG und Dozent an der Makerere Universität, sammelte nach jeder Diskussionsrunde Kommentare und Gegenpositionen im Publikum.

In der ersten Runde sprachen die Diskutanten darüber warum die Jugendrepräsentation in Uganda schwach ist. Herr Hadji betonte, dass die derzeitigen Repräsentationsstrukturen nicht effektiv genug seien und argumentierte, dass diese Strukturen die NRM bevorzugen würden. Herr Rugambwa stimmte dem zu und erklärte, dass es anderen Parteien an Kapazitäten fehle und die Verschmelzung zwischen Staat und der NRM keinen Platz für andere Parteien oder Interessengruppen ließe.

Frau Aporo richtete ihr Augenmerk auf das Problem der geringen Repräsentation von jungen Frauen. Sie stellte fest, dass trotz gesetzlicher Grundlagen, welche die Beteiligung von Frauen sichere, die Diskriminierung gegenüber Frauen hoch sei und junge Frauen entmutigt würden, sich in der Politik zu engagieren. Herr Eyeru bezog sich auf das soziale Konstrukt von Gender in Afrika, das von Männern dominiert sei, und betonte die Entwicklung, die Uganda durchgemacht habe, um Geschlechtergleichstellung zu erreichen. Er argumentierte, dass genug Raum für die Beteiligung von Frauen existiere, aber Frauen oft nicht ihre politischen Rechte kennen würden. Darüber hinaus betonte er, dass der Grund für die Wahl eines Repräsentanten nicht vom Geschlecht sondern von der Kompetenz eines Kandidaten_in abhängen solle.

Eine Teilnehmerin erklärte, dass Policies speziell für Frauen existieren aber nicht implementiert würden. Ein anderer Teilnehmer stimmte dem nicht zu und entgegnete, dass nicht die Implementierung solcher Policies das Problem sei, sondern die Denkweise der Jugend, die nach wie vor Diskriminierung gegenüber Frauen toleriere. Des Weiteren wurde die Verantwortung der Zivilgesellschaft und zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen angesprochen und ein Teilnehmer schlug vor, verstärkt politische Bildungsmaßnahmen für die Basis bereitzustellen, um die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und stärkere Jugendstrukturen zu etablieren.

Einige Teilnehmer_innen machten die Regierung dafür verantwortlich nicht mit der Jugend zu interagieren und stattdessen nur über sie zu sprechen. Andere sahen die Verantwortung bei den Familien, die ihren Kindern nicht die nötige Demokratieerziehung geben würden. Da das Publikum bereits das Thema angesprochen hatte wer für die problematische Situation der Jugend verantwortlich sei, wurden die Diskutanten nach ihrer Meinung zur Verantwortlichkeit gefragt. Frau Aporo war der Meinung, dass es nicht helfe irgendjemanden verantwortlich zu machen und erklärte, dass wenn man die Regierung für die Situation verantwortlich mache, sich gleichzeitg selbst in der Verantwortung sieht, da die Regierung das Volk und damit jeden einzelnen repräsentiere. Herr Hadji schlug vor, die derzeitigen Repräsentationsstrukturen zu überdenken und sie auf der Ebene der Zivilgesellschaft neu zu gestalten. Herr Rugambwa machte auf die fehlende Verantwortlichkeit der Jugendrepräsentanten gegenüber den Wählern, aufgrund der finanziellen Unterstützung von Interessengruppen und Parteien, die nicht daran interessiert seien die Jugend zu mobilisieren, aufmerksam.

Das Publikum sprach die Wichtigkeit von sozialen Medien bei dem Mobilisierungs- und Kommunikationsprozess an. Andere stimmten mit dem vermeintlich großen Potential der sozialen Medien nicht überein und entgegneten, dass nur wenige einen Zugang zu Internet und den sozialen Medien hätten. Einige Teilnehmer_innen argumentierten, dass es keine Einigkeit unter den Jugendlichen gäbe und sich die Interessen aufgrund des Geschlechts, der Herkunft und dem Bildungsgrad unterscheiden würden. Eine Teilnehmerin rief die Studenten dazu auf, ihr Wissen mit denen zu teilen, die keinen oder geringen Zugang zu relevanten politischen Informationen haben.

Herr Rugambwa und Herr Eyeru warben für eine themenbezogene Kampagne, um die heterogene Gruppe der Jugend zusammenzubringen und zu vermeiden, dass die Jugend zu einer Parteienfrage stigmatisiert werde. Er schlug vor das Youth Manifesto zu unterstützen, um jugendorientierte Policies einzufordern.

Bruce Kabaasa, Mitglied bei UNIFOG, fasste die Debatte kurz zusammen und begrüßte Peter Girke, ehemaliger Leiter des KAS Auslandsbüros in Uganda und Länderreferent der KAS für Ostafrika. Er schätzte die lange Partnerschaft zwischen KAS und UNIFOG und dankte Herrn Girke für sein Engagement, zu seiner Zeit als Büroleiter, die Partnerschaft von Anfang an unterstützt zu haben. Am Ende bat er Mathias Kamp, derzeitiger Leiter des KAS Auslandsbüros in Uganda, eine Abschlussrede zu halten. Herr Kamp rief das Publikum dazu auf aktiv zu handeln und die Diskussion zur Jugendbeteiligung fortzuführen.

Autorin: Nele Krüger, KAS Praktikantin

unifog logo formatted