Event Reports

Six Years of Multiparty System - What Is the State of Multiparty Democracy in Uganda?

Public Dialogue organized by the Makerere University Convocation

The Makerere University Convocation (MUC) held another public dialogue in its monthly series of events dealing with issues pertinent to democratic governance and development in Uganda. MUC had invited four Members of the Ugandan Parliament to discuss the state of the Multiparty System in Uganda with students and the interested public.

The public dialogue took place in the Upper Conference Hall in the Senate Building of the Makerere University. After welcoming words by MUC Chairman Bruce Baraba and Mr. Patrick Wegner on behalf of KAS, Professor Arron Mukwaya of Makerere University held a lecture on the state of democracy in Uganda to kick off the dialogue. Moderation for the dialogue was done by NTV’s Maurice Mugisha.

In his speech Prof. Mukwaya emphasized that democracy means that the people own the country and have a duty to be active citizens participating in governance. In this context he argued for more efforts in the democratic education of the people. His assessment of the situation in Uganda was critical. He argued that there has been a circular movement in Uganda without a real progress and thus concluded that it was problematic to even speak about the state of the Multiparty System at the moment. He highlighted as main problems the lack of clear programmes and ideologies on the part of Ugandan parties, as well as the rampant corruption and the mentality of owning the country among politicians. The removal of term limits and irregularities in elections were two additional problems that Prof. Mukwaya pointed out. He urged for a better separation of powers in Uganda and for a moderation of the powers of the President.

Unfortunately, three of the four invited Members of Parliament were not able to attend the event. The Honourable Gerald Karuhanga, Youth MP for the Western Region, arrived late, but was able to offer his views on the topic. He emphasized that President Museveni had ruled through manipulation and patronage in the past six years. He accused the President of working with the electoral commission in order to manipulate the results of the 2011 election. Additionally he criticized the rampant corruption in Uganda and the removal of the Presidential term limit.

The floor was then opened to the participants. The comments from the audience focused on the corruption in government and the lack of clear ideologies and internal democracy in the Ugandan parties.

(Patrick Wegner)

Veranstaltungsberichte

Sechs Jahre Mehrparteiensystem – Was ist der Stand der Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda?

Diskussionsveranstaltung der Makerere University Convocation

Die Makerere University Convocation (MUC) hielt kürzlich eine weitere Diskussion im Rahmen ihrer monatlichen Vortragsserie zu Fragen demokratischer Regierungsführung und Entwicklung in Uganda ab. MUC hatte vier ugandische Parlamentarier eingeladen, um den Stand der Mehrparteiendemokratie in Uganda mit Studenten und der interessierten Öffentlichkeit zu diskutieren.

Die Diskussion fand im oberen Konferenzraum des Senate Building der Makerere Universität statt. Nach der Begrüßung durch den MUC Vorsitzenden Bruce Baraba und Herrn Patrick Wegner für KAS hielt Professor Arron Mukwaya von der Makerere Universität einen Vortrag zum Stand der Demokratie in Uganda, um die Diskussion anzustoßen. Die Moderation der Veranstaltung wurde von NTV Nachrichtensprecher Morris Mugisha übernommen.

In seinem Vortrag betonte Prof. Mukwaya, dass Demokratie dafür stehe, dass das Land dem Volk gehöre. Daraus ergebe sich auch eine Pflicht, als Bürger aktiv in das Regierungsgeschehen einzugreifen. Er sprach sich in diesem Kontext für eine bessere demokratische Bildung der Bevölkerung aus. Seine Beurteilung der Situation in Uganda fiel eher kritisch aus. Seiner Argumentation zufolge bewege sich Uganda seit vielen Jahren im Kreis, wodurch es schwierig sei im Moment überhaupt über den Stand einer Mehrparteiendemokratie zu sprechen. Er betonte, dass ein Hauptproblem darin läge, dass ugandische Parteien keine klaren Programme und Grundsätze verträten. Weitere Stolpersteine seien die grassierende Korruption und die Mentalität unter Politikern, dass sie das Land besäßen. Er wies außerdem darauf hin, dass Unregelmäßigkeiten bei Wahlen weiterhin ein Problem seien, und kritisierte die Aufhebung der Beschränkung der Amtszeit des Präsidenten. Abschließend forderte Prof. Mukwaya eine bessere Gewaltenteilung sowie eine Einschränkung der dominanten Rolle des Präsidenten im ugandischen System.

Bedauerlicherweise sahen sich drei der vier eingeladenen Parlamentarier nicht dazu in der Lage der Veranstaltung beizuwohnen. Der Abgeordnete Gerald Karuhanga, Jugendvertreter für die westliche Region, verspätete sich zwar, konnte seine Ansichten jedoch noch in die Diskussion einbringen. Er warf Präsident Museveni vor, in den letzten sechs Jahren durch Manipulation und Patronage geherrscht zu haben. Er beschuldigte den Präsidenten außerdem die Wahlergebnisse bei den Wahlen im Februar 2011 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Wahlkommission manipuliert zu haben. Schließlich kritisierte er die grassierende Korruption in Uganda sowie die Abschaffung der Beschränkung der Amtszeit des Präsidenten.

Anschließend wurde die Diskussion für das Publikum geöffnet. Die Anmerkungen der Zuhörer hoben die Korruption in der Regierung sowie den Mangel an Grundsätzen und interner Demokratie in den ugandischen Parteien hervor.

(Patrick Wegner)