Event Reports

Students Discuss the Impact of Poverty on Youth Participation

Third Youth Debate of a Countrywide Debate Series

The University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) organized a youth debate in Gulu with students and youth representatives from the Northern Region. It was the third debate in a countrywide debate series on effective youth participation in the political decision making process.

While a number of constitutional structures exist to ensure youth representation in the democratic system (e.g. Youth MPs and the National Youth Council), young people are still unable to have a meaningful influence on the political decision making process. With the youth debate in Gulu students had the possibility to exchange ideas on how to improve effective youth participation.

After welcoming remarks by Mr. Bruce Balaba Kabaasa, Associate Director of UNIFOG, and Ms. Nele Krüger, Intern at KAS, Mr. Yusuf Kiranda, Director of UNIFOG and moderator of the debate, introduced the topic of the debate to the audience. He invited the panelists Ms. Florence Acuma, Coordinator of Apac District Youth Network (ADYN), Mr. Donnas Ojok, Social Entrepreneur and Volunteer at UNIFOG, Mr. Richard Ruganya, Law Student and Guild President at Gulu University and Ms. Rehema Namirembe, Coordinator of TDA Candidates' Selection Committee, to discuss the reasons of ineffective youth participation in Uganda.

At first Mr. Ojok presented an inspiring poem on youth participation. He compared the youth with a referee in a football match and highlighted the power the youth had.

The panelists discussed the reasons why youth participation remained ineffective and noted that current representation structures were occupied by the NRM and therefore did not function as a real form of representation. Ms. Acuma pointed out that youth representatives were not included in the decision making process and were unable to be part of committees where the decisions were prepared.

Mr. Michael Mugisha, Technical Advisor with UNIFOG and co-moderator of the debate, collected comments and questions of the audience to ensure a lively and interactive discussion. Participants raised the argument that poverty was the main hurdle to participating in the democratic process. They argued that poverty forced young people to accept being bribed and therefore the youth was unable to formulate their interests and implement favorable policies. Ms. Namirembe disagreed with the audience and noted that poverty was not the reason for bribery. She blamed the youth themselves for selling their votes and not holding their leaders accountable.

Ms. Acuma informed the audience about her work in Apac and presented a best practice model. In Apac District, youth structures existed from the village level up to the district level. She explained that this structure ensured regular input from the grass roots and a strong connection between all youth groups in the district.

We like to thank the panelists for sharing their experiences and contributing to a lively debate. Moreover we are very happy about the high attendance of students.

Author: Nele Krüger, KAS Intern

unifog logo formatted

Veranstaltungsberichte

Studenten diskutieren die Auswirkungen von Armut auf Jugendpartizipation

Dritte Jugenddebatte einer landesweiten Debattenserie

Das University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) organisierten eine Debatte in Gulu mit Studenten und Jugendvertretern aus der nördlichen Region. Es war die dritte Debatte einer landesweiten Debattenserie über wirksame Jugendpartizipation im politischen Entscheidungsprozess.

Während einige konstitutionelle Strukturen bestehen, die Jugendrepräsentation im demokratischen Prozess sichern (z.B. Jungend-Parlamentarier_innen und das National Youth Council) existieren, sind junge Menschen in Uganda nach wie vor nicht in der Lage den politischen Entscheidungsprozess wirksam zu beeinflussen.

Nach den Willkommensreden von Bruce Balaba Kabaasa, stellvertretender Direktor von UNIFOG, und Nele Krüger, Praktikantin bei KAS, führte Yusuf Kiranda, Direktor von UNIFOG und Moderator der Debatte, in das Thema ein. Er hieß die Diskussionspartner Florence Acuma, Koordinatorin von Apac District Youth Network (ADYN), Donnas Ojok, Sozialunternehmer und Ehrenamtlicher bei UNIFOG, Richard Ruganya, Jurastudent und Präsident der Studentenvertretung an der Gulu Universität und Rehema Namirembe, Koordinatorin des TDA Candidates' Selection Committee, herzlich willkommen.

Zu Beginn trug Herr Ojok ein sehr inspirierendes Gedicht über Jugendpartizipation vor. Dabei verglich er einen Schiedsrichter eines Fußballspiels mit der Jugend und brachte damit die Macht der jungen Generation zum Ausdruck.

Die Diskussionsrunde befasste sich zunächst damit warum die Beteiligung der Jugend ineffektiv bleibt. Die Diskutanten identifizierten die NRM, welche die Repräsentationsstrukturen für sich vereinnahmen und damit wirkliche Jugendrepräsentation verhindern würden, als Hauptgrund. Frau Acuma betonte, dass Jugendrepräsentanten nicht in den Entscheidungsprozess involviert und daher nicht in der Lage seien aktiv an Komitee-Sitzungen teilzunehmen, wo die Entscheidungen vorbereitet würden.

Herr Mugisha, Mitglied bei UNIFOG und Ko-Moderator der Debatte, sammelte Kommentare und Fragen im Publikum, um eine lebhafte und interaktive Diskussion zu erzeugen. Die Teilnehmer_innen waren sich einig, dass Armut der Hauptgrund für ineffektive politische Partizipation sei. Sie argumentierten, dass Armut junge Menschen dazu zwinge sich bestechen zu lassen und sie daher nicht in der Lage seien ihre Interessen zum Ausdruck zu bringen und ihre favorisierten Policies umzusetzen. Frau Namirembe widersprach der Argumentation und betonte, dass Armut nicht der Grund für Bestechungen sein könne. Sie beschuldigte die jungen Leute dafür, dass sie ihre Stimmen verkaufen und die Politiker für ihre Taten nicht zur Rechenschaft ziehen würden.

Frau Acuma erzählte von ihrer Arbeit in Apac und präsentierte ein Best-Practice-Model. In Apac existieren Jugendstrukturen von der lokalen Ebene bis zur Distrikt-Ebene. Sie erklärte, dass diese Strukturen den regelmäßigen Input der lokalen Jugendgruppen auf Distrikt-Ebene gewährleisten und eine stärkere Verbindung zwischen den Jugendgruppen fördern würden.

Wir bedanken uns ganz herzlich bei den Diskussionsgästen dafür, dass sie ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Publikum geteilt und zu einer lebhaften Diskussion beigetragen haben. Des Weiteren haben wir uns sehr über die hohe Zahl an Teilnehmern gefreut.

Autorin: Nele Krüger

unifog logo formatted