活动

Business Principles for a Strong Africa

Organized by Brenthurst Foundation and Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in collaboration with the African Economic Research Consortium and Business Leadership SA

Details

Background

This is intended as the first of two meetings aimed at developing an African perspective on development, one especially informed by the African private sector. The theme of the conference emanates in part from discussions over the past two years around both the ‘Africa beyond Aid’ process (co-hosted by Brenthurst, DANIDA, and KAS) and those ideas that emerged from the Africa-China-US Trilateral Dialogue.

This new process stems from the recognition of three inter-related issues:

  • First, the need for African governments to operate in a way that establishes conditions in which the private sector can thrive;
  • Second, finding the means to employ aid as a better, transitory mechanism to this end;
  • Third, for actors to act productively and consistently in upholding common principles of good governance.
To understand how to achieve this modus operandi, however, it is necessary to understand what occurred in this regard in other high-growth emerging markets, and also to assess the preferences of African investors across a variety of sectors.

The second meeting will likely take place in Nairobi at a time and venue to be determined. The agenda for this meeting would flow from the outcome of the first conference, but the aim is to produce a single text document which encapsulates what sort of business, donor and government action Africans would like to see in place for rapid development to occur. This single text would be along the lines of the Tswalu Protocol on Peace Building produced in collaboration with the Brenthurst Foundation during 2007/8.

The discussion will be centred around a single paper authored by Jeffrey Herbst, Greg Mills and Alan Gelb, which provides an external view of what is required of Africa to develop. This paper will be pre-circulated in advance of the event.

The following sessions will respond to this paper from the viewpoints of various other participants, from Africa and further afield. In the case of the African participants (Session Two), they are asked to focus on a particular sector; in the case of the non-Africans (Session Three) they are asked to reflect on their country-specific experiences. All participants are encouraged to actively contribute to the discussion in order to compare and contrast views, present ideas and proposals, and shape new ideas on the overall topic.

Monday, 26 May 2008

Arrival of participants at Milano, Pick-up at airport and transfer to the Conference Venue Villa La Collina

19h00

Welcome and Introduction

  • Frank Spengler, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Berlin
  • Patrick Mazimhaka, Brenthurst Foundation, Rwanda
Opening Dinner at Villa La Collina

Tuesday, 27 May 2008

Session One: A View of Africa from Outside

09h00 - 10h30

Chair: Greg Mills

Presentation of discussion paper (15 Minutes each)

  • Alan Gelb, World Bank, US
  • Jeffrey Herbst, Miami University, US
Discussants:

  • Stefan Mair, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, Germany
  • Stephan Malherbe, Genesis Analytics, SA
  • Klaus Rudischauser, European Commission, Belgium

Session Two: Views from Africa

11h00 - 12h30

Chair: Frank Spengler

(Short presentations of 12 Minutes each)

  • Business-Government Relations

    Thomas Nziratimana, TransAfrika Resources, Congo

  • Corporate Governance

    Robert Sithebe, KPMG, Swaziland

  • Civil Society

    Fatima Harrak, University of Mohammed V, Morocco

Discussant: Ann Bernstein, CDE, South Africa

14h00 - 16h00

Session Two (continued)

Chair: Thomas Claiborne

  • Trade Access

    James Kibera, Mzima Estates, Kenya

  • The Role for Aid

    Natty Davis, Office of the President, Liberia

  • What Government Must Do

    Mohammed Dahbi, Al-Akhawayn University, Morocco

Discussion

16h30 - 17h15

Session Two (continued)

Chair: Markus Lackamp

  • Ethics and Good Governance: The Role of Corporate Actors

    Tumenta F. Kennnedy, Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics, Germany

Discussion

17h15 - 18h15

  • Scenarios for Africa

    Stephan Malherbe, Genesis Analytics

18h15 - 19h00

Conclusion of Day

Wednesday, 28 May 2008

Session Three: What Might the Principles for a Strong Africa Look Like? – Comparative Experiences

09h00 - 10h30

This session should highlight the roles played in key development success stories by the three principal partners: business, government and the external community. What lessons were learned in this process?

Chair: Michael Spicer

Short inputs (8 minutes each) from:

  • TN Ninan, Business Standard, India
  • Andrés Rozental, Mexican Council on Foreign Relations, Mexico
Discussion

11h00 - 12h00

Session Three (continued)

Chair: Jennifer Oppenheimer

Short inputs (continued):

  • Alberto Trejos, INCAE, Costa Rica
  • Tan Khee Giap, RSIS, Singapore
Discussion

12h00 - 12h40

Summary and conclusions: An Agenda for the Second Meeting

Greg Mills

12h40 - 13h00

Closing remarks

  • Greg Mills, Brenthurst Foundation
  • Frank Spengler, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung
15h00 - 19h00

Excursion to Bellagio (by boat)

Thursday, 29 May 2008

Transfer to Airport and departure

Practical Information

Conference Venue:

Villa La Collina - Cadenabbia

Via Roma 11

I-22011 Cadenabbia (Co.)

Tel. +39 0344 441 11

Fax +39 0344 410 58

cadenabbia@villalacollina.it

Participants

  1. Alan Gelb, Director: Development Policy, World Bank, US

    agelb@worldbank.org

  2. Alberto Trejos, Professor: INCAE, Costa Rica

    alberto.trejos@incae.edu

  3. Andrés Rozental, Associate: Mexican Council on Foreign Relations; Senior Fellow: Brookings Institution, Mexico

    rozental@consejomexicano.org

  4. Ann Bernstein, Director: Centre for Development Enterprise, SA

    ann@cde.org.za

  5. Annette Schwarzbauer, Desk Officer: Team Africa/Middle East, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Germany

    annette.schwarzbauer@kas.de

  6. Anton Bösl, Country Representative Namibia/Angola, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Namibia

    boesl@kas.de

  7. Dan Makokera, Paumzinda Prouctions, South Africa

    daniel@pamuzinda.co.za

  8. Fatima Harrak, Director: Institute of African Studies, University of Mohammed V, Morocco

    felharraq@yahoo.com

  9. Frank Spengler, Deputy Head: International Cooperation, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Germany

    frank.spengler@kas.de

  10. Greg Mills, Director: Brenthurst Foundation, SA

    millsg@eoson.co.za

  11. Holger Hansen, Chair: Danida; Professor: African Studies, Copenhagen, Denmark

    hbh@teol.ku.dk

  12. James Kibera, Director: Mzima Estates, Kenya

    james@mzima.co.ke

  13. Jeffrey Herbst, Professor and Provost: Miami University, US

    herbstj@muohio.edu

  14. Jennifer Oppenheimer, South Africa

    jwo@nyazengu.com

  15. Jonathan Oppenheimer, Director: DB Investments, SA

    burgonj@eoson.co.za

  16. Klaus Rudischhauser, Director: ACP I, DG Development, European Commission, Belgium

    klaus.rudischhauser@ec.europa.eu

  17. Markus Lackamp, Political Programmes and Analyses, CDU, Germany

    markus.lackamp@cdu.de

  18. Martin Kimani, Counter Terrorism Advisor, ICPAT, Ethiopia

    mkimani@gmail.com

  19. Mauro De Lorenzo, Resident Fellow American Enterprise Institute, US

    mauro.delorenzo@gmail.com

  20. Michael Spicer, CEO: Business Leadership SA, South Africa

    mspicer@businessleadership.org.za

  21. Mohammed Dahbi, Dean: School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Al Akhawayn University, Morocco

    M.Dahbi@aui.ma

  22. Natty B Davis, Presidential Adviser, Liberia

    ndavis@emansion.gov.lr

  23. Patrick Mazimhaka, Chairman: Brenthurst Foundation Governance Board, Rwanda

    mazimhakap@yahoo.com

  24. Peter Pham, Director: Nelson Institute for International and Public Affairs James Madison University, US

    phamjp@jmu.edu

  25. Robert Sithebe, Partner: KPMG, Swaziland

    robert.sithebe@kpmg.co.sz

  26. Stefan Mair, Member of Directing Staff, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, Germany

    stefan.mair@swp-berlin.org

  27. Stephan Malherbe, Managing Partner: Genesis Analytics, SA

    stephan.malherbe@genesis-analytics.com

  28. Tan Khee Giap, Associate Dean, Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Singapore

    atankg@ntu.edu.sg

  29. Terence McNamee, Director of Publications: Royal United Services Institute, UK

    terrym@rusi.org

  30. Thomas Claiborne, MD: E Oppenheimer & Son, SA

    claibornet@eoson.co.za

  31. Thomas Nziratimana, General Manager Government and Community Relations, TransAfrika Resources, Congo

    thomasn@transafrikaresources.com

  32. TN Ninan, Editor: Business Standard, India

    tn.ninan@bsmail.in

  33. Tumenta F. Kennedy, Program Director, Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics, Germany

    kennedy@wcge.org

  34. Witney Schneidman, Sullivan Foundation, US

    wwschneid@aol.com

添加到日历

会场

Cadenabbia, Como, Italy

Publikation

Business Principles for a Strong Africa
现在读