International Reports

Of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Water. Power. Conflict.

International Reports 3/2017
Some 30 years ago, Boutros Boutros-Ghali – who went on to become UN Secretary General – predicted that the wars of the future would be fought over water. His prediction has not yet come true, but when we look at the various regions of the world, it is clear water is becoming an increasingly scarce resource that is indeed at the centre of many conflicts – or is at least exacerbating them significantly. Oct. 18, 2017 more...

The Fight for Democracy

International Reports 2/2017
Democracy is not a matter of course, as a glance beyond our immediate horizon illustrates. To paraphrase Konrad Adenauer, democracy must be filled with life every day and, where necessary, defended vigorously, both internally and externally. July 13, 2017 more...

Borders

International Reports 1/2017
As Europe became more unified, Germany made strides in overcoming the country’s division and the processes of globalisation became all-pervasive, the last few decades have been characterised by increasingly disappearing boundaries. This development now seems to have stalled. The major migration movements of the last few years, the annexation of Crimea in contravention of international law, the Brexit vote, the proliferation of isolationist voices within and outside Europe – however different these phenomena may be in principle, they have one thing in common: they illustrate that borders and boundaries still have considerable significance. Apr. 21, 2017 more...

Demographic Change: A Fateful Challenge

International Reports 4/2017
As long ago as August 2006 at a federal press conference Angela Merkel stated “anyone who knows how to successfully manage demographic change is to be congratulated”. Today, ten years later, the need to confront the challenges posed by demographic change has not lost its urgency. On the contrary, while global population numbers continue to rise, the German and European populations are shrinking and ageing. Dec. 31, 2016 more...

Rise and Fall of Regional Powers

International Reports 3/2016
A constant struggle for power and influence between states has always figured among the main characteristics of international politics. Regional powers can be considered the middle management of world politics: sufficiently powerful to make their mark on the region and take on a political and economic leadership role, but not yet or no longer powerful enough to be able to fill this role at the global level as well. Accordingly, the latest issue of International Reports deals with the topic "Rise and Fall of Regional Powers". Oct. 10, 2016 more...

Climate. Energy. Security.

International Reports 2/2016
The fight against climate change is not merely a question of ecological necessity but a question of economic reason. It is a question of generational equity, a question of compassion and a question of humanity and its future. These are the aspects Angela Merkel reminded her audience of when she addressed the 21st UN Climate Change Conference (COP21) at the end of 2015. Accordingly, the latest issue of International Reports deals with the topic "Climate. Energy. Security.". July 18, 2016 more...

The Globalisation of Terrorism

International Reports 1/2016
Preserving that which is worth preserving does not mean cementing the status quo. Anyone seeking to preserve something valuable in the long term must improve it cautiously, yet continuously. This applies as equally to politics as it does to a publication such as International Reports (IR), which is presenting itself in a new form in this issue with its focus on the "Globalisation of Terrorism". Apr. 4, 2016 more...

Europe in Crisis

International Reports 11-12/2015
When we began planning this issue in mid-August last year, the third bailout package for Greece had just been approved and Europeans were on tenterhooks about the “euro crisis”, a term that had come to symbolise the financial and debt crisis. Hardly anyone would have thought at that time that the EU could enter a totally different crisis within just a few weeks – a crisis of unprecedented magnitude. Dec. 30, 2015 more...

"Small" States in International Politics

International Reports 10/2015
Helmut Kohl once expressed one of the fundamental principles of his European policy as follows: “The small countries in the European Union deserve as much respect as the large ones. The significance of a Member State cannot be measured by the size of its population or the square kilometers it occupies.” While Kohl was concerned with Europe, of course the principle applies beyond its borders. Nov. 12, 2015 more...

Towards a New Development Agenda

International Reports 9/2015
How many refugees can and should Germany accept? How can an equitable sharing of the burden in Europe be organised? And what will be the consequences of the influx of hundreds of thousands of people on the cohesion of the societies affected? These are just some of the many questions that are currently occupying the minds of politicians, businesspeople and society in Germany and Europe in equal measure. However, there is another aspect that is not receiving much attention and that Chancellor Merkel therefore made a point of emphasising during a speech on the occasion of the UN Development Summit in New York. Oct. 13, 2015 more...

Image: International Reports

Also available as print-edition

About this Serial

This periodical responds to questions concerning international issues, foreign policy and development cooperation. It is aimed at access of information about the international work for public and experts.

Editorial staff
Frank Priess, Dr. Peter Fischer-Bollin, Thomas Birringer, Rabea Brauer, Dr. Lars Hänsel, Paul Linnarz, Andrea Ellen Ostheimer, Stefan Reith

Editor-in-chief
Sebastian Enskat

Managing Editor
Dr. Anja Schnabel

Editor

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers

ISSN

0177-7521

Contact

Abbildung
Chefredakteur der Auslandsinformationen (Ai)
Sebastian Enskat M.A.
Phone +49 (0)30-26996-3383
sebastian.enskat(akas.de
Abbildung
Editor International Reports
Dr. Anja Schnabel
Phone +49 (0)30-26996-3740
anja.schnabel(akas.de

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung publishes four issues of International Reports per year. Single issues: 10 €. Cheaper subscription rates. There is a special discount for students. For more information and orders, please contact:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Newsletter
If you wish to receive an email notification whenever a new issue is available online, please contact:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Auslandsinformationen

Der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Der Kampf um die Demokratie

Auslandsinformationen 2/2017
Demokratie ist keine Selbstverständlichkeit, wie uns ein Blick über den eigenen Tellerrand verdeutlicht. Demokratie muss – frei nach Konrad Adenauer – jeden Tag aufs Neue mit Leben gefüllt und, wo nötig, vehement verteidigt werden, und zwar nach innen wie nach außen. 13. Juli 2017 mehr...

Grenzen

Auslandsinformationen 1/2017
Mit dem Voranschreiten der europäischen Einigung, der Überwindung der deutschen Teilung und den allgegenwärtigen Globalisierungsprozessen waren die letzten Jahrzehnte von zunehmender Entgrenzung geprägt. Diese Entwicklung scheint nun ins Stocken geraten zu sein. Die großen Migrationsbewegungen der letzten Jahre, die völkerrechtswidrige Annexion der Krim, das Brexit-Votum, der Ruf nach Abschottung in- und außerhalb Europas – so unterschiedlich diese Phänomene im Einzelnen sein mögen, ist ihnen doch eines gemeinsam: Sie alle liefern anschauliche Beispiele für die nach wie vor erhebliche Bedeutung von Grenzen. 21. Apr. 2017 mehr...

Demografischer Wandel als Schicksalsfrage

Auslandsinformationen 4/2016
„Wer weiß, wie dem demografischen Wandel erfolgreich zu begegnen ist, den beglückwünsche ich“, sagte Angela Merkel schon im August 2006 im Rahmen der Bundespressekonferenz. Heute, zehn Jahre später, hat sich an der Dringlichkeit der Herausforderungen, die der demografische Wandel mit sich bringt, nichts geändert. Im Gegenteil, während die Weltbevölkerung kontinuierlich wächst, sinken und altern sowohl der deutsche als auch der europäische Anteil daran immer weiter. 31. Dez. 2016 mehr...

Aufstieg und Fall regionaler Mächte

Auslandsinformationen 3/2016
Ein stetes Ringen um Macht und Einfluss zwischen Staaten gehört von jeher zu den prägenden Merkmalen der internationalen Politik. Regionalmächte sind dabei gewissermaßen das middle management der Weltpolitik: mächtig genug, um innerhalb einer Region prägend Einfluss und eine politische und wirtschaftliche Führungsrolle zu übernehmen, jedoch noch nicht bzw. nicht mehr mächtig genug, um diese Rolle auch global ausfüllen zu können. Ausgabe 3|2016 der Auslandsinformationen (Ai) widmet sich folgerichtig dem Themenkomplex "Aufstieg und Fall regionaler Mächte". 10. Okt. 2016 mehr...

Klima. Energie. Sicherheit.

Auslandsinformationen 2/2016
Der Kampf gegen den Klimawandel ist nicht nur eine Frage der ökologischen Notwendigkeit, sondern auch eine Frage der ökonomischen Vernunft. Er ist eine Frage der Generationengerechtigkeit, eine Frage der Menschlichkeit und eine Frage der Zukunft der Menschheit. Daran hat Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel in ihrer Rede bei der 21. Konferenz der Vereinten Nationen zum Klimawandel (COP21) Ende 2015 erinnert. Ausgabe 2|2016 der Auslandsinformationen (Ai) widmet sich folgerichtig dem Themenkomplex "Klima. Energie. Sicherheit". 18. Juli 2016 mehr...

Die Globalisierung des Terrorismus

Auslandsinformationen 1/2016
Bewahrenswertes zu bewahren heißt nicht, den Status Quo zu zementieren. Wer das Bestehende langfristig erhalten möchte, muss es behutsam aber kontinuierlich verbessern. Das gilt in der Politik genauso wie für die Arbeit an einer Zeitschrift wie den Auslandsinformationen (Ai), die sich mit dieser Ausgabe und dem Themenschwerpunkt "Die Globalisierung des Terrorismus" in neuem Gewand präsentieren. 4. Apr. 2016 mehr...

Auslandsinformationen 2015 (Jahresregister)

Auslandsinformationen 2016 (Jahresregister)
21. Feb. 2016 mehr...

Europa in der Krise

Auslandsinformationen 11-12/2015
Als wir Mitte August letzten Jahres mit ersten Planungen für diese Ausgabe begannen, war gerade das dritte Hilfspaket für Griechenland beschlossen worden und das Wort „Eurokrise‟ stand synonym für die ganz Europa in Atem haltende Finanz- und Schuldenkrise. Wohl kaum einer hätte sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt vorstellen können, dass die EU innerhalb von nur wenigen Wochen in eine ganz neue Krise geraten könnte – eine Krise bis dato ungekannten Ausmaßes. 30. Dez. 2015 mehr...

"Kleine" Staaten in der internationalen Politik

Auslandsinformationen 10/2015
Helmut Kohl hat eines der Grundprinzipien seiner Europapolitik einmal so formuliert: „Die kleinen Länder in der Europäischen Union verdienen genauso viel Achtung wie die großen. Die Bedeutung eines Mitgliedstaates lässt sich nicht an seiner Einwohnerzahl oder an Quadratkilometern messen.‟ Was Kohl ein Anliegen für Europa war, gilt selbstverständlich auch darüber hinaus. 12. Nov. 2015 mehr...

Auf dem Weg zu einer neuen Entwicklungsagenda

Auslandsinformationen 9/2015
Wie viele Flüchtlinge kann und sollte Deutschland aufnehmen? Wie lässt sich eine gerechte Lastenverteilung in Europa organisieren? Und welche Folgen hat der Zustrom Hunderttausender für den Zusammenhalt der betroffenen Gesellschaften? Das sind nur einige der vielen Fragen, die Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft in Deutschland und Europa derzeit gleichermaßen umtreiben. Wenig Aufmerksamkeit erfährt dabei jedoch ein Aspekt, den Bundeskanzlerin Merkel anlässlich des Entwicklungsgipfels der Vereinten Nationen in New York dementsprechend deutlich hervorgehoben hat. 13. Okt. 2015 mehr...

Abbildung: Auslandsinformationen

Als Zeitschrift erhältlich: Auslandsinformationen (Ai)

Über diese Reihe

Die Auslandsinformationen (Ai) der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung sind eine Zeitschrift für internationale Fragen, Außenpolitik und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Sie haben das Ziel, einen Teil der im Zusammenhang mit der Auslandsarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gesammelten Informationen der Öffentlichkeit bzw. Fachöffentlichkeit in Deutschland zugänglich zu machen.

Gekennzeichnete Artikel geben nicht unbedingt die Meinung der Redaktion wieder.

Jahresregister 2015 (PDF)

Redaktion
Frank Priess, Dr. Wolfgang Maier, Thomas Birringer, Rabea Brauer, Dr. Lars Hänsel, Paul Linnarz, Andrea Ellen Ostheimer, Markus Rosenberger

Chefredakteur
Sebastian Enskat

Redakteurin
Dr. Anja Schnabel

Herausgeber

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers

ISSN

0177-7521

Kontakt

Abbildung
Chefredakteur der Auslandsinformationen (Ai)
Sebastian Enskat M.A.
Tel. +49 (0)30-26996-3383
sebastian.enskat(akas.de
Abbildung
Redaktion Auslandsinformationen
Dr. Anja Schnabel
Tel. +49 (0)30-26996-3740
anja.schnabel(akas.de

Die Auslandsinformationen (Ai) erscheinen viermal im Jahr. Der Einzelheftpreis beträgt 10,- € zzgl. Porto. Im Abonnement günstiger. Für Schüler und Studenten wird ein Sonderrabatt gewährt. Für weitere Informationen und Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Newsletter
Wenn Sie kostenlos per E-Mail über das Erscheinen neuer Ausgaben und Beiträge informiert werden möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de