The current issue


Political Parties – Challenges and Perspectives

Political parties are a pillar of the democratic system. They assume central functions such as promoting citizen participation in political life and shaping public opinion. They have a major impact on our country’s political development and serve as an interface between state organs and the public. Parliamentary democracy is ultimately always party democracy.

Show table of contents

Content

Political Parties – Challenges and Perspectives

  • Editorial

    Political parties are a pillar of the democratic system. They assume central functions such as promoting citizen participation in political life and shaping public opinion. They have a major impact on our country’s political development and serve as an interface between state organs and the public. Parliamentary democracy is ultimately always party democracy.

    by Gerhard Wahlers

  • Voting and Campaigns in Times of Polarisation

    An Assessment Based on International Examples

    Both democratic and non-democratic elections, and the hopes people place in them, raise the same basic questions: Who has the right approach to challenges of the future? Who will make it better for us in the years to come? These questions moved people in the past and continue to do so.

    by Frank Priess

  • New Kids on the Block

    The Potential of New Parties in Europe

    They are the New Kids on the Block – the new political parties in Europe. They describe themselves as being new and different. Some of them have achieved electoral victory in no time at all. The reasons for their success are varied and country-specific, but they also reflect a general shift in society. These parties not only change the party landscape, but also pose new challenges for the established parties. What does this mean for the future of party democracy and what opportunities do these changes afford to the established political parties?

    by Franziska Fislage

  • Parties in Crisis, Instability and “the Will of the People”

    Recent Trends in Tunisia’s Young Democracy

    January 2021 marks the tenth anniversary of the revolution in Tunisia, but the celebrations will be tempered by a strong sense of disappointment at developments since then. Representative surveys reveal that the vast majority of Tunisians are unhappy with their country’s political, economic and social situation, and believe the country is moving in the wrong direction.

    by Holger Dix

  • Strategic Partners under Pressure

    Seven Theses on the State of Party-Based Democracy in Latin America

    As far as its party systems are concerned, Latin America bears a much stronger resemblance to Europe than the so-called Global South. If they are to ride the storm of social protests, populist cure-all promises, and Chinese advances, Latin America’s parties will need strategic support from Europe. In a time of global changes, Latin America’s shared values makes it an indispensable partner.

    by Sebastian Grundberger

  • Mexico’s ­PAN

    An Opposition Party with the Potential to Govern?

    The Partido Acción Nacional (­PAN) can look back at 81 years of history and tradition, although it has spent most of this period in opposition. In the run-up to Mexico’s super election year of 2021, the party is once again keen to demonstrate its ability to govern at local and state level. In this way, it aims to position itself as a real alternative at the national level for the next presidential elections in 2024. However, the challenges it faces are immense in light of the country’s structural problems and of the historical peculiarities of the Mexican party system.

    by Hans-Hartwig Blomeier, Ann-Kathrin Beck

  • Parties in Africa

    The Case for Increased Engagement with a Neglected Issue

    Thirty years ago, the vast majority of sub-Saharan countries chose the path of parliamentary democracy. What is the state of the multi-party systems today? At first glance, the verdict is: defective. However, this generalisation is dangerous and overlooks important differences and new tendencies. Below are six arguments for further research.

    by Benno Müchler, Christoph Schmidt

Other Topics

  • In Decline?

    Migration, Automation, and Work Force in Japan

    On almost every corner in Tokyo, there is a friendly, elderly citizen who guides passers-by, waves cars into parking lots, helps school children to cross the roads, or does other important service jobs for the community. Notably, almost all taxi drivers in Japan have passed the official retirement age. Yet in restaurants, no customer bats an eye about a robot serving dinner. Meanwhile, in Japan’s praised convenience stores, one is mostly waited upon by Asian staff who speak impeccable Japanese. However, if a Gaikokujin ever gets a seat on Tokyo’s crowded subways, that foreigner will most of the time enjoy an empty seat next to him or her. How does it all add up?

    by Rabea Brauer, Atsushi Kondo

  • Can EU Trade Foster Sustainable Development?

    EU Efforts to Enforce Trade and Sustainable Development Chapters in Free Trade Agreements with South Korea and Vietnam

    By integrating chapters on Trade and Sustainable Development (­TSD) in Free Trade Agreements, the European Union highlights its commitment to a “values-based trade agenda”, which fosters economic, social, and environmental development simultaneously. Tackling non-compliance and fostering the implementation of ­TSD commitments is crucial to achieving high labour and sustainability standards through trade tools.

    by Carolin Löprich, Denis Schrey

About this series

This periodical responds to questions concerning international issues, foreign policy and development cooperation. It is aimed at access of information about the international work for public and experts.

Ordering Information

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung publishes four issues of International Reports per year. Single issues: 10 €. Cheaper subscription rates. There is a special discount for students. For more information and orders, please contact:

auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Newsletter

If you wish to receive an email notification whenever a new issue is available online, please contact:

auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Editor

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers

ISBN

0177-7521

Benjamin Gaul

Benjamin Gaul

Head of the Department International Reports and Communication

benjamin.gaul@kas.de +49 30 26996 3584

Dr. Sören Soika

Dr

Desk Officer for Public Relations and Media

soeren.soika@kas.de +49 30 26996 3388

Louisa Heuss

Louisa Heuss (2020)

Desk Officer for Communication and Marketing

louisa.heuss@kas.de +49 30 26996 3916 +49 30 26996 53916

Fabian Wagener

Fabian Wagener

Desk Officer for Multimedia

fabian.wagener@kas.de +49 30-26996-3943

Die aktuelle Ausgabe


Parteien – Herausforderungen und Perspektiven

Parteien sind ein Grundpfeiler des demokratischen Systems. Sie übernehmen zentrale Funktionen wie die Förderung von Partizipation am politischen Leben von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern und die Gestaltung der öffentlichen Meinung. Sie haben maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die politische Entwicklung im Land und sind das Scharnier zwischen Volk und Staatsorganen. Parlamentarische Demokratie ist letzten Endes immer Parteiendemokratie.

Inhaltsverzeichnis anzeigen

Inhalt

Parteien – Herausforderungen und Perspektiven

  • Editorial

    Parteien sind ein Grundpfeiler des demokratischen Systems. Sie übernehmen zentrale Funktionen wie die Förderung von Partizipation am politischen Leben von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern und die Gestaltung der öffentlichen Meinung. Sie haben maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die politische Entwicklung im Land und sind das Scharnier zwischen Volk und Staatsorganen. Parlamentarische Demokratie ist letzten Endes immer Parteiendemokratie.

    von Gerhard Wahlers

  • Wahlen und Wahlkämpfe in Zeiten der Polarisierung

    Eine Annäherung anhand internationaler Beispiele

    Für demokratische und nichtdemokratische Wahlen und die dahinterstehenden Hoffnungen der Menschen dürfte gleichermaßen die Grundfrage gelten: Wer hat die richtige Antwort auf die Herausforderungen der Zukunft, mit wem wird es uns künftig besser gehen? Diese Frage bewegte die Menschen gestern und bewegt sie heute.

    von Frank Priess

  • New Kids on the Block

    Zum Potenzial neuer Parteien in Europa

    Sie sind die New Kids on the Block – neue Parteien in Europa. Sie bezeichnen sich als neu und anders. Einige konnten schnell Wahlerfolge erzielen. Die Gründe für ihren Erfolg sind vielfältig und länderspezifisch, zeugen aber auch von einem generellen gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Diese Parteien verändern nicht nur die Parteienlandschaften, sondern stellen auch die etablierten Parteien vor neue Herausforderungen. Was heißt dies für die Zukunft der Parteiendemokratie und welche Chancen bieten diese Veränderungen den etablierten Parteien?

    von Franziska Fislage

  • Parteienkrise, Instabilität und „Volkswille“

    Trends in der jungen Demokratie Tunesiens

    Wenn Tunesien im Januar 2021 das zehnjährige Jubiläum der Revolution begeht, wird in den Feierlichkeiten die große Enttäuschung über die bisherige Entwicklung mitschwingen. Repräsentative Umfragen zeigen, dass die große Mehrheit der Tunesier mit der politischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Situation des Landes unzufrieden ist – und sich das Land ihrer Meinung nach in eine falsche Richtung bewegt.

    von Holger Dix

  • Wertepartner im Stresstest

    Sieben Schlaglichter auf den Stand der ­lateinamerikanischen Parteiendemokratien

    Was seine Parteiensysteme betrifft, steht Lateinamerika Europa deutlich näher als weiten Teilen des sogenannten Globalen Südens. Um im Sturm von sozialen Protesten, populistischen Heilsversprechen oder chinesischen Avancen zu bestehen, brauchen Lateinamerikas Parteien strategische Unterstützung aus Europa. In einer Zeit des globalen Wandels sind sie als Wertepartner unverzichtbar.

    von Sebastian Grundberger

  • Die ­PAN in Mexiko

    Oppositionspartei mit Regierungspotenzial?

    Die Partido Acción Nacional (­PAN) blickt auf 81 Jahre Tradition und Geschichte zurück, deren Großteil sie allerdings in der Opposition verbracht hat. Im Vorfeld des Superwahljahres 2021 will die Partei auf lokaler und bundesstaatlicher Ebene ihre Regierungs­fähigkeit wieder unter Beweis stellen und sich so auch auf nationaler Ebene für die nächste Präsidentschaftswahl 2024 als Regierungsalternative präsentieren – angesichts der strukturellen Probleme im Land und historisch gewachsener Eigenheiten des mexikanischen Parteiensystems eine enorme Herausforderung.

    von Hans-Hartwig Blomeier, Ann-Kathrin Beck

  • Parteien in Afrika

    Ein Plädoyer für eine verstärkte Befassung mit einem vernachlässigten Topos

    Die große Mehrzahl der Staaten südlich der Sahara wählte vor 30 Jahren den Weg der Parteiendemokratie. In welchem Zustand sind die Mehrparteiensysteme heute? Defekt, lautet das erste Urteil. Diese Verallgemeinerung ist jedoch gefährlich und übersieht wichtige Unterschiede und neue Tendenzen. Sechs Argumente für eine intensivierte Forschung.

    von Benno Müchler, Christoph Schmidt

Weitere Themen

  • Im Niedergang?

    Migration, Automatisierung und Erwerbsbevölkerung in Japan

    An nahezu jeder Straßenecke in Tokio stehen freundliche und hilfsbereite ältere Bürger, die Passanten den Weg weisen, Autos in Parklücken winken, allmorgendlich Schulkinder über die Straße lotsen oder andere wichtige Aufgaben für die Gemeinschaft übernehmen. Fast alle Taxifahrer in Japan arbeiten jenseits des Rentenalters. In Restaurants und Hotels haben Roboter das Servieren und Einchecken übernommen. In beinah jedem Konbini wird man heutzutage von asiatischen Mitarbeitern bedient, die sehr gut Japanisch sprechen. Trotzdem bleibt der Sitz neben den Gaikokujin, wenn sie denn einen Platz in Tokios überfüllten U-Bahnen ergattern, meist frei. Wie passt das zusammen?

    von Rabea Brauer, Atsushi Kondo

  • Kann Handel nachhaltige Entwicklung fördern?

    Über die Bemühungen der EU, Arbeits- und Nachhaltigkeitsstandards in den Freihandelsabkommen mit Südkorea und Vietnam zu verankern

    Durch die Integration von Kapiteln zu Handel und nachhaltiger Entwicklung (Trade and Sustainable Development, ­TSD) in Freihandelsabkommen betont die EU ihr Engagement für eine „wertebasierte Handelsagenda“, die gleichzeitig die wirtschaftliche, soziale und ökologische Entwicklung in Drittländern fördern soll. Der Umgang mit Verstößen und die Förderung der Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitsverpflichtungen sind von zentraler Bedeutung, um hohe Arbeits- und Nachhaltigkeitsstandards zu erreichen.

    von Carolin Löprich, Denis Schrey

Über diese Reihe

Die Auslandsinformationen (Ai) der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung sind eine Zeitschrift für internationale Fragen, Außenpolitik und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Sie haben das Ziel, einen Teil der im Zusammenhang mit der Auslandsarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gesammelten Informationen der Öffentlichkeit bzw. Fachöffentlichkeit in Deutschland zugänglich zu machen. Gekennzeichnete Artikel geben nicht unbedingt die Meinung der Redaktion wieder.

Bestellinformationen

Die Auslandsinformationen (Ai) erscheinen viermal im Jahr. Der Einzelheftpreis beträgt 10,- € zzgl. Porto. Im Abonnement günstiger. Für Schüler und Studenten wird ein Sonderrabatt gewährt. Für weitere Informationen und Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte an:

auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Newsletter

Wenn Sie kostenlos per E-Mail über das Erscheinen neuer Ausgaben und Beiträge informiert werden möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an:

auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Herausgeber

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers

ISBN

0177-7521

Benjamin Gaul

Benjamin Gaul

Leiter der Abteilung Auslandsinformationen und Kommunikation

benjamin.gaul@kas.de +49 30 26996 3584

Samuel Krug

Samuel Krug 2020

Chefredakteur Auslandsinformationen (Ai)

samuel.krug@kas.de +49 30 26996 3818

Louisa Heuss

Louisa Heuss (2020)

Referentin Kommunikation und Vermarktung

louisa.heuss@kas.de +49 30 26996 3916 +49 30 26996 53916

Fabian Wagener

Fabian Wagener

Multimediareferent

fabian.wagener@kas.de +49 30-26996-3943