Democratic Development

KAS4Democracy
KAS4Democracy

Since its foundation, the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation has been committed to democracy and the rule of law - in Germany and worldwide. We are convinced that the participation of citizens in the political process of their country contributes to sustainable stability and creates the preconditions for development and prosperity. The Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation has therefore made representation and participation one of its core themes, which will guide the Foundation's work in the coming years.
As far as our work abroad is concerned, each country must of course find its own way. We do not promote ready-made concepts, but support our local partners in developing and implementing initiatives for political education and reforms on the basis of shared values

In Jordan, the Foundation works in three areas for this purpose:

1. Political Institutions and Parties

Together with the Ministry of Political and Parliamentary Affairs (MoPPA), KAS conducts campaigns throughout Jordan to raise awareness and train young people in particular for political participation. Furthermore, dialogue between ministries, parliamentarians, political parties and civil society is promoted through various dialogue and training measures. 
Already since 2013, the Al-Quds Centre for Political Political Studies and the KAS, together with other partners, have been offering a programme to promote political parties. We organise events and trainings for members of political parties, which aim to improve programmatic skills and inner-party organisational structures of parties in Jordan. In doing so, KAS follows a multi-party approach in order to promote the emergence of a pluralistic party system.

 

2. Youth and Civil Society

The KAS supports the political education and civic engagement of Jordanian youth. In youth academies organised together with the Jordan Center for Civic Education (JCCE), young adults from all over the country are familiarised with the basics of political and social participation in a series of seminars and supported in developing their own projects. In 2021, another programme will start with "Women Voices", which will focus on young women from East Amman. From 2017-2020, over 100 social studies teachers were trained using a specially developed manual to integrate tolerance and civic awareness more strongly into their lessons.

 

3. Media and Policy Analysis

The development of an independent and pluralistic media landscape is a key element in Jordan's democratic development. In this context, KAS regularly conducts training measures for journalists and young journalists, either on its own or in cooperation with partners such as the Al-Rai Center for Strategic Studies and the Roya Academy for Media Training. In addition, KAS promotes new media formats such as political satire. In cooperation with the Amman Comedy Club, interested young Jordanians are introduced to this genre and talented people are given the opportunity to develop their own formats. Together with Qalam Hurr and Wishbox Media, a group of young female cartoonists is also receiving further training as part of a mentoring programme.  

In addition, the KAS promotes the development of political science analysis in and on Jordan. With Jordanian and international experts, studies are published that analytically accompany Jordan's development process and its foreign policy positioning and formulate corresponding policy recommendations. From 2021 onwards, a scholarship programme will be set up to support outstanding students of international relations at the University of Jordan and thus contribute to the formation of a new generation of policy experts.

Contact

Dr. Edmund Ratka

Dr

Director Foundation Office Jordan

edmund.ratka@kas.de +962 6 5929777

Demokratische Entwicklung

Seit ihrer Gründung setzt sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für Demokratie und Rechtsstaat ein – in Deutschland und weltweit. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Mitwirkung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger am politischen Prozess ihres Landes zu nachhaltiger Stabilität beiträgt und die Voraussetzung schafft für Entwicklung und Wohlstand. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hat deshalb Repräsentation und Partizipation zu einem ihrer Kernthemen gemacht, welche die Stiftungsarbeit in den nächsten Jahren orientieren.
Für unsere Arbeit im Ausland gilt dabei, dass jedes Land natürlich seinen eigenen Weg finden muss. Wir werben nicht für vorgefertigte Konzepte, sondern unterstützen auf der Grundlage gemeinsamer Werte unsere lokalen Partner dabei, Initiativen für politische Bildung und Reformen zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

In Jordanien arbeitet die Stiftung hierfür in drei Bereichen:

1. Politische Institutionen und Parteien

Gemeinsam mit dem Ministerium für Politische und Parlamentarische Angelegenheiten (MoPPA) führt die KAS Kampagnen in ganz Jordanien durch, um insbesondere junge Menschen für politische Beteiligung zu sensibilisieren und auszubilden. Außerdem wird durch verschiedene Dialog- und Trainingsmaßnahmen der Dialog zwischen Ministerien, Parlamentariern, Parteien und Zivilgesellschaft gefördert. 
Bereits seit 2013 bietet das Al-Quds Centre for Political Political Studies und die KAS, gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern, ein Programm zur Förderung von Parteien an. Wir organisieren Veranstaltungen und Trainings für die Mitglieder politischer Parteien, die darauf abzielen programmatische Fähigkeiten und innerparteiliche Organisationsstrukturen von Parteien in Jordanien zu verbessern. Dabei verfolgt die KAS einen Mehrparteienansatz, um die Herausbildung eines pluralistischen Parteiensystems zu fördern.

2. Jugend und Zivilgesellschaft

Die KAS unterstützt die politische Bildung und das zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement jordanischer Jugendlicher. In gemeinsam mit dem Jordan Center for Civic Education (JCCE) organisierten Jugendakademien werden junge Erwachsene aus dem ganzen Land in einer Seminarreihe mit den Grundlagen politischer und gesellschaftlicher Partizipation vertraut gemacht und bei der Entwicklung eigener Projekte unterstützt. 2021 startet mit „Women Voices“ ein weiteres Programm, das den Fokus auf junge Frauen aus Ost-Amman legt. Von 2017-2020 wurden über 100 Sozialkundelehrer anhand eines eigens entwickelten Handbuchs fortgebildet, um Toleranz und bürgerschaftliches Bewusstsein stärker in ihren Unterricht zu integrieren.

3. Medien und Politikanalyse

Die Herausbildung einer möglichst unabhängigen und pluralen Medienlandschaft ist ein Schlüsselelement in der demokratischen Entwicklung Jordaniens. Die KAS führt dabei in Eigenregie oder in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern wie dem Al-Rai Center for Strategic Studies und der Roya Academy for Media Training regelmäßig Fortbildungsmaßnahmen für Journalisten und Nachwuchsjournalisten durch. Daneben fördert die KAS neue Medienformate wie Politische Satire. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amman Commedy Club werden interessierte junge Jordanier an dieses Genre herangeführt und Talente erhalten die Möglichkeit, eigene Formate zu entwickeln. Gemeinsam mit Qalam Hurr und Wishbox Media wird zudem eine Gruppe junger Cartoonistinnen im Rahmen eines Mentorenprogrammes weitergebildet.  

Daneben fördert die KAS die Herausbildung politikwissenschaftlicher Analyse in und zu Jordanien. Mit jordanischen und internationalen Experten werden Studien veröffentlich, die Jordaniens Entwicklungsprozess und seine außenpolitische Verortung analytisch begleiten und entsprechende Politikempfehlungen formulieren. Ab 2021 wird zudem ein Stipendienprogramm aufgesetzt, das herausragende Studenten der Internationalen Beziehungen an der University of Jordan vor Ort fördert und damit zur Herausbildung einer neuen Generation von Politikexperten beiträgt.

Kontakt

Dr. Edmund Ratka

Dr

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Jordanien

edmund.ratka@kas.de +962 6 5929777