About us

Welcome to the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung!

Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions. His name is synonymous with the democratic reconstruction of Germany, the firm alignment of foreign policy with the trans-Atlantic community of values, the vision of a unified Europe and an orientation towards the social market economy. His intellectual heritage continues to serve both as our aim as well as our obligation today.

Through civic education activities in Germany and in over 120 countries we want to make a contribution to get closer to a world of peace, freedom and justice. The promotion of democracy, the intensification of the transatlantic relationship and development cooperation are our major goals. As a think tank and advisory agency we elaborate profound analysis to guide political action.

Multilateral Dialogue Geneva

In May 2019 the Multilateral Dialogue was established in Geneva. The Geneva office wants to be a place for networking between partners and experts from the worldwide network of the KAS and the organizations located in Geneva. Although the KAS office accompanies the whole range of issues which are dealt with in Geneva, the focus of our work is on the following themes:

Trade

Global Health

Migration

The Multilateral Dialogue Geneva thus also fulfills the function of a networking platform.

On the one hand, we organize lecture events, dialogue programs, expert talks, workshops and conferences on the above mentioned themes, thus promoting the exchange between the foundation and representatives of Geneva-based organizations and permitting the access to discussions on current issues for an interested local audience. These programs are to strengthen the flow of information and sharing between the different KAS offices, the central office in Berlin and relevant actors in Geneva.

On the other hand, we prepare reports, position papers, analyses and other information material on the work of organizations in Geneva, thus providing first hand information to experts within the global network of the foundation as well as to an interested public.

Our aim is improving the understanding for the discussions led in the Geneva-based organizations and at the same time introducing the guiding principles of the KAS into the debates and the work of the Geneva-based organizations.

As the office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in Switzerland, the Geneva office also follows central events of Swiss politics.

Über uns

Willkommen bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung!

Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität sind die Leitprinzipien der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Die KAS ist eine Politische Stiftung, die der Christlich Demokratischen Union Deutschlands (CDU) nahesteht. Als Mitbegründer der CDU und erster deutscher Bundeskanzler verband Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) christlich-soziale, konservative und liberale Traditionen. Sein Name steht für den demokratischen Wiederaufbau Deutschlands, die außenpolitische Verankerung in einer transatlantischen Wertegemeinschaft, die Vision der europäischen Einigung und die Orientierung an der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft. Sein geistiges Erbe ist uns weiterhin Aufgabe und Verpflichtung zugleich.

Durch politische Bildung in Deutschland und in über 120 Ländern wollen wir unseren Beitrag zu Frieden, Freiheit und Gerechtigkeit leisten. Die Festigung der Demokratie, die Intensivierung der transatlantischen Beziehungen und die entwicklungspolitische Zusammenarbeit sind unsere besonderen Anliegen.

Als Think Tank und Beratungsagentur erarbeiten wir wissenschaftliche Grundlagen und aktuelle Analysen vorausschauend für politisches Handeln. Die Akademie der Stiftung in Berlin ist das Forum für den Dialog über zukunftsrelevante Fragen zwischen Politik, Wirtschaft, Kirche, Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft.

Multilateraler Dialog Genf

Seit Mai 2019 ist der Multilaterale Dialog in Genf ansässig. Das Büro versteht sich als Ort der Vernetzung von Partnern und Experten aus dem weltweiten KAS-Netzwerk mit den in Genf angesiedelten Organisationen. Auch wenn die gesamte Bandbreite der in Genf bearbeiteten Themen im Blickpunkt des KAS-Büros steht, liegt ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit auf folgenden Themen:

Handel

Globale Gesundheit

Migration

Dabei sieht sich der Multilaterale Dialog Genf sowohl in einer Netzwerkplattforms-, wie in einer Übersetzerfunktion.

Zum einen werden zu den oben genannten Themen Vortragsveranstaltungen, Dialogprogramme. Expertengespräche, Workshops und Konferenzen organisiert und damit der Austausch zwischen der Stiftung und Vertretern der Genfer Organisationen gefördert sowie aktuelle Diskussionen einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit vor Ort zugängig gemacht. Mit diesen Programmen sollen der Informationsfluss und Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen KAS-Büros, der Zentrale in Berlin und den relevanten Akteuren in Genf verstärkt werden.

Zum anderen gehört die Erarbeitung von Länderberichten, Positionspapieren, Analysen und anderen Informationsmaterialien zur Arbeit der Genfer Organisationen ebenfalls zu unseren Aufgaben. Damit sollen Informationen aus erster Hand den Experten im weltweiten Netzwerk der Stiftung sowie einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Ziel ist es zum einen das Verständnis für die Diskussionen in den Genfer Organisationen zu verbessern und gleichzeitig Leitprinzipien der KAS in die Debatten und in die Arbeit der hier angesiedelten Organisationen einfließen zu lassen.

Als in der Schweiz ansässiges Büro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung verfolgt das Genfer Büro der KAS auch zentrale Ereignisse der Schweizer Politik.