Image fragment Solon: Sailko via Wikimedia.

International Reports

Editorial

Rapid technological developments witnessed over recent decades offer many opportunities, but also present us with new challenges – political, social, and sometimes private. Strategic questions regarding the political design of our digital future need to be considered at the international level in particular. This is because strict technological separation of a wide variety of state and non-state actors is now virtually impossible. Globalised goods, services, communications, and data streams are shaping the world.

How do we deal with states that are integrated into global economic cycles and exhibit remarkable innovative potential, but at the same time have restrictive societies and political systems? Countries like China demonstrate how technological development can take place even in an environment characterised by political oppression. There does not appear to be a contradiction between “authoritarian” and “innovative”. In such an environment, how can we take advantage of the opportunities of the digital age to create a sustainable digital future that enhances global democracy and equality of opportunity? In order to answer this question, the United Nations is working towards transnational and trans-institutional cooperation. Technological progress can only become a foundation for growth that includes everyone if there is cross-border collaboration, emphasises Fabrizio Hochschild, Under-Secretary-General at the United Nations.

The opportunities and risks of the digital age are clearly demonstrated in Sub-Saharan Africa. The internet, and particularly social media, offers a continent with great democratic deficits new opportunities for civic involvement, transparency, and free access to information. However, the initial euphoria with respect to the emancipatory potential of social media is increasingly tempered with scepticism, as Mathias Kamp writes. The dark sides, such as the spread of hate and fake news, are all too obvious. Autocratic governments in Africa are becoming increasingly adept at instrumentalising social media for their ends.

In democratic countries, on the other hand, the digital transformation can be used to eliminate obsolete bureaucratic apparatuses, simplify work processes, and increase overall economic attractiveness. The new Greek government is striving for such a network of citizens, business, and state, as Henri Giscard Bohnet and Martha Kontodaimon describe. The country, which is scarred by the financial crisis, aspires to catch up in the digital sector.

China shows how technological innovation in the digital area can be used at least as effectively in autocratic systems. Sebastian Weise uses the example of China, a high-tech autocracy, to show how liberal democracies can face the challenge of innovation in an illiberal context.

The development of cryptocurrencies forms part of the digital transformation. State actors are involved, as are, increasingly, non-state actors. Jason Chumtong analyses the various causes and possible effects of introducing digital currencies such as Libra, e-krona, and the digital yuan. Only time will tell how successful these initiatives will be, and whether they will become true alternatives to established currency systems.

Cutting-edge technologies constitute a threat when they are used for political manipulation. This is clear from the example of deepfakes, as Hans-Jakob Schindler explains in an interview with Nauel Semaan. The spread of fake news as a political instrument has long been a topic in political discourse. It is important to react to technological innovations that continuously expand the potential of disinformation campaigns, threatening our domestic security in the process.

Digitalisation presents an ambivalent picture across the globe. Technological innovation does not necessarily solidify liberal values. Instead, digitalisation is an instrument that can be used in the service of any political or regulatory idea. Actively designing and refining the digital age, but also regulating it in the spirit of liberal values is absolutely essential for opposing high-tech autocracies. Germany must actively participate and fund the digital innovations necessary to avoid being crushed by the digital wave. Because, ultimately, the relationship between technology and ideology will increasingly occupy us in the years to come.

I wish you a stimulating read.

Yours,

 

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers is Editor of International Reports, Deputy Secretary General and Head of the Department European and International Cooperation of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (gerhard.wahlers@kas.de). Choose PDF format for the full version of this article including references.
Contact

Samuel Krug

Bildfragment Solon: Sailko via Wikimedia.

Auslandsinformationen

Editorial

von Gerhard Wahlers
In der heutigen komplexen digitalen Welt sehen wir enorme Vorteile der digitalen Technologien, die in den nächsten Jahren eine immer größere Rolle für nachhaltige Entwicklung spielen werden. Natürlich erleben wir auch Risiken und Herausforderungen bei dem schnellen Ausbau dieser Technologien. Diese Herausforderungen können nicht länger von einzelnen Organisationen oder Ländern bewältigt werden. Vielmehr hängt die Antwort auf diese Herausforderungen von der Kooperation zwischen verschiedenen Gruppen, Bereichen, Interessenvertretern und Ländern ab.

Wie gehen wir dann aber mit Staaten um, die in globale Wirtschaftskreisläufe eingebunden sind und eine beachtliche Innovationskraft vorweisen können, gleichzeitig aber gesellschaftlich und politisch restriktiv sind? Länder wie China zeigen, dass technologische Entwicklung auch in einem Umfeld stattfinden kann, das von politischer Unfreiheit geprägt ist. „Autoritär“ und „innovativ“ scheint kein Widerspruch zu sein. Wie können wir in so einem Umfeld die Möglichkeiten des digitalen Zeitalters nutzen, um eine nachhaltige digitale Zukunft zu schaffen, die Chancengleichheit und Demokratie weltweit stärkt? Um diese Frage zu beantworten, bauen die Vereinten Nationen auf transnationale und transinstitutionelle Zusammenarbeit. Zu einer Wachstumsgrundlage für alle wird technologischer Fortschritt nur durch grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit, betont Fabrizio Hochschild, Untergeneralsekretär bei den Vereinten Nationen.

Die Chancen und Risiken des digitalen Zeitalters zeigen sich gerade in Afrika südlich der Sahara. Das Internet und insbesondere die sozialen Medien bieten dem Kontinent mit großen demokratischen Defiziten neue Möglichkeiten für bürgerschaftliche Teilhabe, Transparenz und freien Informationszugang. Doch zur anfänglichen Euphorie mit Blick auf das emanzipatorische Potenzial sozialer Medien gesellt sich immer mehr Skepsis, wie Mathias Kamp schreibt. Zu offensichtlich sind die Schattenseiten, wie die Verbreitung von Hass und Falschmeldungen im Netz. Dabei verstehen es autokratische Regierungen in Afrika immer besser, soziale Medien für ihre Zwecke zu instrumentalisieren.

In demokratischen Staaten kann die digitale Transformation dagegen genutzt werden, um eingestaubte Bürokratieapparate zu entschlacken, Arbeitsabläufe zu vereinfachen und die wirtschaftliche Attraktivität eines Landes zu steigern. Eine solche bessere Vernetzung von Bürgern, Wirtschaft und Staat strebt die neue griechische Regierung an, wie Henri Giscard Bohnet und Martha Kontodaimon beschreiben. Das von der Finanzkrise gezeichnete Land ist bestrebt, im digitalen Sektor aufzuholen.

China zeigt, wie technologische Innovation im digitalen Bereich mindestens ebenso effektiv durch autokratische Systeme genutzt werden kann. Am Beispiel der Hightech-Autokratie China diskutiert Sebastian Weise, wie sich freie Demokratien der Herausforderung von Innovation im illiberalen Kontext stellen können.

Teil der digitalen Transformation ist die Entwicklung von Kryptowährungen. Dabei sind sowohl staatliche als auch zunehmend nichtstaatliche Akteure involviert. Jason Chumtong analysiert die unterschiedlichen Gründe und mögliche Auswirkungen der Einführung von digitalen Währungen wie Libra, E-Krona und digitalem Yuan. Wie erfolgreich diese Initiativen sein werden und ob sie sich tatsächlich zu Alternativen zum etablierten Währungssystem entwickeln, wird sich erst in Zukunft zeigen.

Modernste Technologien stellen dann eine Bedrohung dar, wenn sie zur politischen Manipulation genutzt werden. Das zeigt sich deutlich am Beispiel von Deepfakes, wie Hans-Jakob Schindler im Interview mit Nauel Semaan schildert. Die Verbreitung von Fake News als politisches Instrument ist längst Thema im politischen Diskurs. Dabei gilt es auch auf technologische Neuerungen zu reagieren, die das Potenzial von Desinformationskampagnen fortlaufend erweitern und somit unsere innere Sicherheit bedrohen.

Digitalisierung zeichnet weltweit ein ambivalentes Bild. Technologische Innovation baut nicht per se auf liberalen Werten auf. Digitalisierung ist vielmehr ein Instrument, das in den Dienst jeder erdenklichen (ordnungs-)politischen Idee gestellt werden kann. Um Hightech-Autokratien etwas entgegenzusetzen, ist die aktive Gestaltung, Weiterentwicklung aber auch ordnungspolitische Regulierung des digitalen Zeitalters im Sinne freiheitlich liberaler Werte zwingend notwendig. Deutschland muss sich hier aktiv einbringen und digitale Innovationen fördern, um nicht von der „digitalen Welle“ überrollt zu werden. Denn das Verhältnis von Technologie und Ideologie wird uns auch in den nächsten Jahren zunehmend beschäftigen.

Ich wünsche Ihnen eine anregende Lektüre.

Ihr

 


 

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers ist Herausgeber der Auslandsinformationen (Ai), stellvertretender Generalsekretär und Leiter der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (gerhard.wahlers@kas.de).
Ansprechpartner

Samuel Krug

Samuel Krug 2020

Chefredakteur Auslandsinformationen (Ai)

samuel.krug@kas.de +49 30 26996 3818