About us

Welcome to the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung!

The Multilateral Dialogue KAS office in Vienna was opened as a venue for multilateral and bilateral exchange and discourse in December 2018. We follow the guiding principles of the European ideals as well as the Christian democratic values. The leading themes of our work include representative democracy, innovation and security. Key elements include establishing in-depth contacts with partners and experts from the worldwide KAS network as well as with international organizations in Vienna. We also offer a venue for the discussion of current issues and the dialogue between political parties.

We are committed to strengthening multilateralism, to democratic and rule-based principles, for the consolidation of the European Union and the security of Europe. Our most important instrument for furthering understanding and conflict resolution is in fostering dialogue between different actors.

Our main focus is on foreign and security policy, especially with regard to the work of the OSCE and the corresponding Vienna-based institutions such as the IAEA and other UN organizations. This includes manifold topics like climate protection, migration, digitalisation, disarmament and arms control.

For the KAS the furthering of dialogue between relevant parties is crucial for the consolidation of the European Union. The challenges facing the European Union can only be solved jointly. To further the achievement of this goal, we view representative democracy and political parties as indispensable pillars of parliamentary democracy.

Through conferences, workshops and seminars, we invite experts and interested parties from politics, science, industry and international organizations and NGOs to participate in discussions and our search for solutions.

Über uns

Willkommen bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung!

Das Büro Multilateraler Dialog KAS in Wien ist seit Dezember 2018 Ort für multilateralen und bilateralen Austausch und Diskurs. Wir orientieren uns am Leitprinzip des europäischen Gedankens sowie den christlich-demokratischen Werten. Die Leitthemen unserer Arbeit sind repräsentative Demokratie, Innovation und Sicherheit. Für uns ist die Vernetzung der Partner und Experten aus dem weltweiten KAS-Netzwerk und der in Wien ansässigen internationalen Organisationen wichtig, die Diskussion aktueller Fragestellungen und der Parteiendialog. Wien als Plattform und Drehscheibe internationaler Organisationen und NGOs nimmt eine wichtige Rolle ein, der wir mit diesem Büro Rechnung tragen.

Wir setzen uns für die Stärkung des Multilateralismus, der sich demokratischen und regelgebundenen Prinzipien verpflichtet fühlt, für die Festigung der Europäischen Union und die Sicherheit Europas ein. Die Förderung des Dialogs zwischen verschiedenen Akteuren ist dabei unser wichtigstes Instrument für Verständigung und Konfliktlösung.

Unsere Themenschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, vor allem mit Blick auf die Arbeit der OSZE und den entsprechenden in Wien ansässigen Institutionen und eingebundenen UN-Organisationen wie der IAEA. Darunter fallen vielfältige Themenkomplexe wie Klimaschutz, Migration, Digitalisierung, Abrüstung und Rüstungskontrolle.

Für die Festigung der Europäischen Union ist für uns der Parteiendialog entscheidend. Die Herausforderungen, vor denen die Europäische Union steht, lassen sich nur gemeinsam lösen. Wir setzen uns dabei unter anderem mit der Frage nach der Zukunft der repräsentativen Demokratie und von Parteien als unabdingbare Träger parlamentarischer Demokratie auseinander.

Im Rahmen von Konferenzen, Workshops und Seminaren laden wir Experten und Interessierte aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und von internationalen Organisationen und NGOs ein, sich an den Diskussionen und Lösungsfindungen zu beteiligen.