Events

There are currently no events planned.

KAS-UMU Scholars in Uganda discuss the social and economic opportunities which Social Protections Floors could offer for Uganda

On the 10th of May, 2019, scholars and the alumni members of our scholarship programme at Uganda Martyrs University gathered in Kampala to examine the social and economic opportunities Social Protection Floors could offer for Uganda and discussed ways in which the challenges of establishing such mechanisms could be overcome.

Ugandan experts call for more action to address climate change.

Climate change is real. It is a global threat whose impacts are felt already at the smallest scales. To tackle this problem, the African Center for Trade and Development (ACTADE) together with the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) hosted a round table discussion on 7th of May. The debate dealt with the topic of the facing climate change challenges and Uganda’s response plans and actions towards it. The expert discussion engaged 30 participants from several fields related to climate change. Participants from Government and Private sector, academia, media, and relevant Civil Society Organizations actively discussed not only governmental but also individual actions which positively impacting climate change.

South Sudanese Refugees at Bidi-Bidi Rally to Defy Ethnic Divides and Build Peace

Misunderstanding cultures can lead to conflicts - this is particularly relevant in the context of South Sudan, where 64 different ethnic groups exist. At our intercultural dialogue organised together with the Network of South Sudanese Civil Society Organizations in Uganda (NoSSCOU) and Young-adult Empowerment Initiative (YEi), we brought together different stakeholders to discuss how to live together peacefully and constructively in a multicultural setting and to develop a sense of community and belonging.

Young Professionals step up to contribute to Public Policy in Uganda

Kicking off the second Y4P Fellowship

From the 25th to the 28th of April, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in partnership with the Centre for Development Alternatives (CDA) and the Public Policy Institute (PPI) hosted the inaugural workshop for the second cohort of fellows of the Youth4Policy programme. Through the training workshop, the fellows were able to discuss and refine their policy research topics, which will be further developed throughout the upcoming months.

Women and youth participation is not a favour but a fundamental right guaranteed by both, national and international law.

Between 16th and 18th April the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) organized in cooperation with its partner National Youth Council (NYC) a National Youth Council Training of Secretaries for Female Youth Affairs. 38 participants were trained in promoting their skills and capacity to participate actively in democratic processes.

Youth Leaders from Gulu district attend Training on political economy analysis

On 13Th of April 2019, we organized in cooperation with our partner University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) the second session of the Political Leadership Advancement Lab (POLA-LAB). 25 young leaders from Gulu district participated in a one-day youth leadership training, on political issues such as economy analysis, civic engagement and advocacy.

Introducing Youth4Policy to Hon. Minister Mbayo

Recent graduates of our first Youth4Policy cohort received the opportunity to present the fellowship along with their policy papers at the Ministry of the Presidency. The fellows of the Youth4Policy programme used the opportunity to make a case for their areas of research and defended their policy suggestions, which was greatly appreciated by Hon. Minister Mbayo.

Football4Peace Tournament Unites South Sudanese University Students in Uganda

On Sunday 31st March 2019, the Network of South Sudanese Civil Society Organizations in Uganda (NoSSCOU) brought together the Bugema university South Sudanese Students Association (BUSSSA), St. Lawrence University South Sudanese Students Association (SLUSSSA) and Uganda Christian University South Sudanese Students Association (UCUSSSA) to contest in a football Tournament for Peace under the theme: ‘’Unity through sports’’. The tournament was attracted over 300 students including youth leaders, university administration, civil society organizations, church members and the host community of Bugema neighborhood.

South Sudan’s Customary Courts should be strengthened if they are to promote justice

On 29th March the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) hosted a workshop together with its partner Network of South Sudanese Civil Society Organisations in Uganda (NoSSCOU) on the concept of transitional justice. Transitional justice is a system of judicial and non-judicial measures to address human right violations and promote a smooth transition towards peace. 22 civil society actors participated actively during the three presentations.

Ugandan Non State Climate Action Actors Tipped on How to Access the Green Climate Fund

The way we treat our planet needs change. Uganda needs change. And this change needs the support of companies, NGOs and private actors. But even these actors often need financial support in order to advance climate protection goals. In cooperation with the African Centre for Trade and Development (ACTADE), the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) therefore organised a workshop at which all those present were better informed about the means of financing climate programmes.

Veranstaltungen

Derzeit sind keine Veranstaltungen geplant.

KAS-UMU-Stipendiaten in Uganda diskutieren über die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten, die eine soziale Grundsicherung für Uganda bieten könnte

Am 10. Mai 2019 trafen sich Stipendiaten und Alumni des KAS-Stipendienprogramms an der Uganda Martyrs University in Kampala, um die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten zu untersuchen, die eine soziale Grundsicherung für Uganda bieten könnte, und zu diskutieren, wie die Herausforderungen bei der Etablierung solcher Mechanismen überwunden werden können.

Ugandische Experten fordern zusätzliche Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels

Der Klimawandel ist real. Es handelt sich um eine globale Bedrohung, deren Auswirkungen bereits auf kleinster Ebene spürbar sind. Um dieses Problem anzugehen, veranstaltete das African Center for Trade and Development (ACTADE) zusammen mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) am 7. Mai eine Diskussionsrunde. In der Debatte ging es um Herausforderungen des Klimawandels und um die Pläne und Maßnahmen Ugandas in diesem Bereich. An der Diskussion nahmen 30 Teilnehmer aus verschiedenen Bereichen teil. Teilnehmer aus Regierung und Privatsektor, Wissenschaft, Medien und relevanten zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen diskutierten aktiv nicht nur über staatliche, sondern auch individuelle Maßnahmen, die sich positiv auf den Klimawandel auswirken.

Südsudanesische Flüchtlinge kommen im Bidi Bidi Refugee Settlement zusammen um ethnischen Spaltungen zu trotzen und Frieden zu schaffen.

Kulturelle Missverständnisse können zu Konflikten führen - dies ist besonders im Südsudan, wo 64 verschiedene ethnische Gruppen existieren, von Bedeutung. Bei unserem interkulturellen Dialog, der gemeinsam mit dem Netzwerk der südsudanesischen Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft in Uganda (NoSSCOU) und der Young-adult Empowerment Initiative (YEi) organisiert wurde, haben wir verschiedene Interessengruppen zusammengeführt, um darüber zu diskutieren, wie man friedlich und konstruktiv in einem multikulturellen Umfeld zusammenlebt und ein Gefühl von Gemeinschaft und Zugehörigkeit entwickeln kann.

Junge Fachkräfte setzen sich für die Gestaltung neuer Policy-Richtlinien in Uganda ein

Auftakt des Y4P Fellowships

Vom 25. bis 28. April veranstaltete die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre for Development Alternatives (CDA) und dem Public Policy Institute (PPI) den ersten Workshop für die zweite Kohorte von Fellows des Youth4Policy Programms. Im Rahmen des Trainingsworkshops konnten die Fellows ihre politischen Forschungsthemen diskutieren und weiterentwickeln sowie die Zielsetzung für die kommenden Monate besprechen.

Die politische Beteiligung von Frauen und Jugendlichen ist keine Gefälligkeit, sondern ein Grundrecht, das sowohl vom nationalen als auch vom internationalen Recht gewährleistet wird.

Vom 16. bis 18. April organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Zusammenarbeit mit ihrem Partner National Youth Council (NYC) einen Workshop zur Förderung weiblicher Jugendvertreter. 38 Teilnehmer wurden ermutigt, ihre Fähigkeiten zur aktiven Teilnahme an demokratischen Prozessen auszubauen.

Pola-Lab: Junge Führungskräfte werden auf bevorstehende Herausforderungen vorbereitet

Am 13. April 2019 organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Zusammenarbeit mit University Forum on Governance (UNIFOG) die zweite Veranstaltung im Jahr 2019 aus der Reihe des Political Leadership Advancement Lab (POLA-LAB). 25 junge Führungskräfte aus Gulu nahmen an einem eintägigen Training zu politischen Themen wie der Analyse wirtschaftlicher und politischer Prozesse, gesellschaftlichem Engagement und Lobbyingstrategien teil.

Vorstellung des Youth4Policy Programms bei Ministerin Mbayo

Die Graduierten der ersten Kohorte unseres Youth4Policy Programms erhielten die Möglichkeit, das Fellowship und ihre Policyrichtlinien im „Ministry of the Presidency“ vorzustellen. Die Graduiertes nutzten die Gelegenheit, in ihre Forschungsergebnisse einzuführen sowie ihre Gesetzesentwürfe zu bewerben. Von Ministerin Esther Mbayo wurde dieses Vorhaben begrüßt.

Football4Peace Turnier vereint südsudanesische Studenten in Uganda

Am Sonntag, den 31. März 2019, versammelte unser Partner Network of South Sudanese Civil Society Organizations in Uganda" (NoSSCOU) die Bugema University South Sudanese Students Association (BUSSSA), die St. Lawrence University South Sudanese Students Association (SLUSSSA) und die Uganda Christian University South Sudanese Students Association (UCUSSSA), um bei einem Fußballturnier für den Frieden unter dem Motto: "Unity through sports" für den Frieden zu werben. Das Turnier zog über 300 Schüler an, darunter Jugendleiter, Universitätsverwaltung, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen, Kirchenmitglieder und die Gastgemeinde des Stadtteils Bugema.

Transitional Justice als Mittel zum Frieden

Am 29. März veranstaltete die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) gemeinsam mit ihrem Partner "Network of South Sudanese Civil Society Organisations in Uganda" (NoSSCOU) einen Workshop zum Konzept der Transitional Justice. Transitional Justice ist ein System bestehend aus gerichtlichen und außergerichtlichen Maßnahmen zur Verfolgung von Menschenrechtsverletzungen und zur Förderung eines sanften Übergangs zum Frieden. 22 zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure nahmen an den lebhaften Diskussionen teil.

Workshop für nicht-staatliche Akteure zur Nutzung des Green Climate Fund

Der Umgang mit unserem Planeten benötigt einen Wandel. Uganda benötigt einen Wandel. Und dieser Wandel benötigt die Unterstützung von Unternehmen, NGOs und privaten Akteuren. Doch auch diese Akteure benötigen dabei häufig finanzielle Unterstützung, um Ziele des Klimaschutzes voranzutreiben. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem African Centre for Trade and Development (ACTADE) veranstaltete die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) daher einen Workshop bei dem alle Anwesenden besser über die Mittel zur Finanzierung von Klimaprogrammen informiert wurden.