China Photos / Reuters

Facts & Findings

The Belt and Road Initiative

by Daniela Braun, Alexander Badenheim

China’s Strategies to Secure its Foreign Investments

The success of the Belt and Road Initiative is of central importance for realising the “Chinese dream” and legitimising the CCP as a guarantor for prosperity and security. Increased Chinese investment volumes and a growing interdependence of multinational corporations go hand in hand with greater risks. Beijing is adopting various strategies in order to protect its global investments, which in turn increasingly threaten to undermine its self-imposed policy of non-interference.
  • Increased Chinese investment volumes and a growing interdependence of multinational corporations go hand in hand with greater risks. Beijing is adopting various strategies in order to protect its global investments, which in turn increasingly threaten to undermine its self-imposed policy of non-interference.

  • Driven by a pragmatic foreign policy, as reflected in China maintaining relations with current rulers on the one hand, but also with the opposition on the other – such as in Venezuela – the People’s Republic is attempting to keep all options open and secure its investments in the event of a change of power.

  • Beijing is playing an increasingly active role in terms of security policy, and especially when it comes to securing its foreign investments. Hence, Beijing is continually expanding its involvement in UN peacekeeping missions, scaling up its military presence, supplying weapons and increasingly using private security firms.

  • The success of the Belt and Road Initiative is of central importance for realising the “Chinese dream” and legitimising the CCP as a guarantor for prosperity and security.


Contact Person

Daniela Braun

Daniela Braun bild

Foreign and Security Affairs

daniela.braun@kas.de +49 2241 246-3399
Contact Person

Alexander Badenheim

Alexander Badenheim bild

Senior Programme Manager

alexander.badenheim@kas.de +86 10 6462-2207; 2208 +86 10 6462-2209
Comments

To commit you must sign in.

About this series

This serial informs and merges major issues of current topics the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is dealing with.

The editions present:

  • Results and recommendations
  • Offer short analysis
  • Illustrate future plans and
  • List contacts within the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Ordering Information

China Photos / Reuters

Analysen und Argumente

Die Seidenstraßeninitiative

von Daniela Braun , Alexander Badenheim

Chinas Strategien zur Absicherung seiner Auslandsinvestitionen

Der Erfolg der Seidenstraßeninitiative ist für die Verwirklichung des "chinesischen Traums" von zentraler Bedeutung. Die Legitimierung der Kommunistischen Partei als Garant für Wohlstand und Sicherheit ist daran unmittelbar geknüpft. Mit steigendem chinesischen Investitionsvolumen und zunehmender Verflechtung von (Staats)Unternehmen im Ausland gehen auch größere Risiken einher. Zum Schutz seiner globalen Investitionen und Interessen setzt Peking unterschiedliche Mittel und Strategien ein, die zunehmend die selbstauferlegte Politik der Nichteinmischung zu unterminieren drohen.
  • Mit steigendem chinesischen Investitionsvolumen und zunehmender Verflechtung von Unternehmen im Ausland gehen auch größere Risiken einher. Zum Schutz seiner globalen Investitionen setzt Peking unterschiedliche Strategien ein, die zunehmend die selbstauferlegte Politik der Nichteinmischung zu unterminieren drohen.
  • Durch eine pragmatische Außenpolitik, die sich zum Beispiel darin äußert, dass China nicht nur Beziehungen zu aktuellen Machthabern unterhält, sondern auch zur Opposition – wie in Venezuela – versucht die Volksrepublik, sich alle Optionen offen zu halten und im Falle eines Machtwechsels ihre Investitionen abzusichern.
  • Sicherheitspolitisch wird Peking immer aktiver, insbesondere um seine Investitionen im Ausland zu schützen. Dabei baut Peking kontinuierlich sein Engagement in VN-Friedensmissionen aus, wird militärisch präsenter, liefert Waffen und nutzt zunehmend private Sicherheitsfirmen.
  • Der Erfolg der Seidenstraßeninitiative ist für die Verwirklichung des „chinesischen Traums“ und die Legitimierung der KPCh als Garant für Wohlstand und Sicherheit von zentraler Bedeutung.
Ansprechpartner

Daniela Braun

Daniela Braun bild

Referentin Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik

daniela.braun@kas.de +49 30 26996-3399
Ansprechpartner

Alexander Badenheim

Alexander Badenheim bild

Länderreferent China

alexander.badenheim@kas.de +49 - (0) 30 - 26996 3804 +49 30 26996-3564
Kommentare

Bitte melden Sie sich an, um kommentieren zu können

Über diese Reihe

Die Reihe informiert in konzentrierter Form über wichtige Positionen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zu aktuellen Themen.

Die einzelnen Ausgaben stellen zentrale Ergebnisse und Empfehlungen vor, bieten Kurzanalysen, erläutern die weiteren Pläne der Stiftung und nennen KAS-Ansprechpartner.