racken

International Reports

“The EU’s Normative Appeal Ought Not to Be Underestimated”

by Anja Schnabel
An interview with Olaf Wientzek, European Policy Coordinator at the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Ai: Ai: Mr. Wientzek, the US’s withdrawal from international agreements, the advance of authoritarian influences, and divisive tendencies within Europe – some see this as the end of the liberal world order. Are their fears justified?

Olaf Wientzek: We are indeed experiencing a gradual change in the balance of international power. It is possible that we are in a kind of transition period towards a new world order. Regarding the examples you cited, three comments: Firstly, we must distinguish between temporary and structural changes. For instance, US withdrawal from international agreements is not insignificantly related to the current leadership; as such, it is not necessarily a permanent condition. On the other hand, the US demand for stronger security policy commitment on the part of its European allies is well-known, and will likely intensify. Secondly, the resilience of existing structures should not be underestimated. The coming withdrawal of a member state from the EU – namely, the United Kingdom –, has not triggered a domino effect on other member states thus far. If anything, the experience has acted as a deterrent. Since then, the determination to hold the EU together has generally increased among key actors. And thirdly, a change in the existing world order is not to say a collapse of existing structures and alliances. Despite all the crises, the collapse of the EU in the coming years remains an improbable scenario.

Ai: You mentioned the call for greater European commitment to security policy, which is an important point. Many parties, not just the Americans, accuse the EU of willingly ceding the role of “global policeman” to the US, and thereby having little to offer when it comes to countering the erosion of the liberal fabric. Given its many internal problems, is the EU even capable of filling the gap left by the US’s retreat?

Olaf Wientzek: Fully filing that gap, is - at least in the short term – highly difficult. The response must vary according to the policy area. In the area of trade policy, the EU has performed well ever since the TTIP was put on hold: Free trade agreements have been concluded with Canada and Japan, amongst others, and an agreement with Mexico is close to completion. This area is simpler, however, because EU trade policy is a Community policy – i. e., supranational, and not subject to the principle of unanimity. I am a bit more sceptical regarding security policy: Much has been done in the last two years, but the EU is miles away from “strategic autonomy”. Here, the backlog is still considerable. This issue should therefore be one of the priorities during the next European legislative period. Efforts here are impaired by the intergovernmental nature of EU foreign and security policy, as EU member states must approve decisions unanimously.

Ai: The disagreement between heads of government is one thing, the unwillingness of the population to support such decisions is another. EU-scepticism has increased significantly across the continent. Isn’t that the much bigger problem?

Olaf Wientzek: Framed in such broad terms, I do not see that to be true. On the one hand, in many (but not all) EU countries, populist and EU-critical forces are gaining in importance. On the other, support for the EU has increased significantly since the Brexit referendum. As recent Eurobarometer surveys have shown, the majority of EU citizens are not opposed to European integration per se, although there are significant differences between countries. What many citizens object to, however, are the priorities the EU has set. The impression is that the EU – which is a well-oiled legislative machine – -regulates many details that EU citizens care little about. In areas in which there has been broad support for “more Europe” for years, such as internal and external security, the EU’s offer has been but modest. Both legislative and enforcement powers are lacking. Accordingly, a stronger role for the EU in these issues would be important. However, this cannot be achieved without a further transfer of national sovereignty.

Ai: Stronger EU commitment requires, as you say, reliable partners in other parts of the world. Who do you consider to be potential partners?

Olaf Wientzek: Even after Brexit, the EU has great interest in maintaining a close partnership with the United Kingdom. And, despite all the current difficulties, the US remains an indispensable partner. Additionally, of course, there are the countries that identify with the value canon of the liberal world, such as Japan, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, and the Mercosur states. The liberal-democratic model, as represented by the EU, will be increasingly challenged by alternative authoritarian models in the future. If we want our values to influence future international norms, we will seek to forge partnerships with those countries sharing not only our interests, but also our values. Such partnerships should be proactively and urgently forged with key sub-Saharan African countries that fulfil these criteria. In addition, depending on the policy field, all countries that support an international rule-based order, international institutions, and multilateral solutions to global challenges should be considered. This would, for instance, include China in the area of climate policy, although I am much more sceptical in some other policy areas. What is important is to support fora – such as the ASEM (Asia-Europe Meeting) – that seek to maintain this order. If we move from the global level to the immediate European neighbourhood, Ukraine and Turkey must certainly be included. Further escalation of the economic or political crises in Turkey would have severe consequences for the EU. A successful political and economic transformation process in Ukraine, on the other hand, could contribute to the stabilisation and development of the EU’s entire eastern neighbourhood.

Ai: Let’s dwell a little longer on the issue of authoritarianism, which is challenging the EU both from outside, and from within. If I understand you correctly, the current cooperation with authoritarian systems is a pragmatic decision and indispensable in certain policy areas. Nevertheless, the question remains as to how the EU should deal with authoritarian tendencies and regimes if it wishes to succeed in the competition between systems, and thus in the struggle for a liberal world order. A satisfactory answer does not yet seem to have been found, especially since authoritarian tendencies seem to be on the rise even in some member states.

Olaf Wientzek: You mention two different aspects here: The first is dealing with authoritarian external partners; the second is dealing with authoritarian tendencies within the EU. Perhaps we should first concentrate on the external dimension. It is difficult to formulate a universally valid rule here. In some regions, the EU can only choose between competing authoritarian states. In such cases, the balance between interests and values is often invoked, or that between reform and resilience. In the long run, I see no conflict between them. If we consider our immediate neighbours, I believe there will be no long-term stability without the democratic political and economic transformation of these countries. It is therefore in the EU’s best interest to give its full support to efforts by Ukraine, Morocco, Georgia, and Tunisia towards economic and political reform. Much more should be done here, especially towards the countries in the EU’s southern neighbourhood. I consider the narrative of stability through authoritarianism to be no more than a fairy-tale in the long run. In short, wherever we have a choice, such as in our immediate neighbourhood, we should promote democratic aspirations.

Ai: From your point of view, what is the best way to achieve this? How can the EU convince its immediate neighbours, when these are faced with difficult circumstances, that democratic reforms are preferable to, for instance, a shift towards authoritarianism?

Olaf Wientzek: Despite legitimate concerns about the spread of autocratic rhetoric, the appeal of the EU should not be underestimated. The EU’s positive track record is clear. This is often more clearly recognised from outside the EU than from within it. Merely consider the long period of peace in the countries of the EU. This may be an overused example, but it makes it no less true. The successful political and economic transformation process in the post-Communist countries of Central and Eastern Europe as well as in the Baltic States also demonstrates the strength of the European model. Of course there are also defensive reactions and problematic developments in these countries. Nevertheless, democracy in these countries is far more firmly established than in other regions of the world that are undergoing transformation – one has but to look at the post-Soviet space beyond the Baltic States.

We in the EU, and in the Western world generally, have a tendency towards exaggerated self-doubt in the face of serious problems. Ironically, this is even a good sign, since it shows that critical voices are not being silenced. In authoritarian countries, this does not happen, or hardly happens at all. I have doubts as to whether alternative models would be considered this successful. In any case, none of the countries of the Western Balkans or of Eastern Europe has yet voluntarily abandoned their European ambitions in order to instead join other trade blocs, such as the Eurasian Economic Union. Even Belarus and Armenia – which had to take this step under enormous political pressure – are sending strong signals of rapprochement towards the EU.

Ai: Nevertheless, we are witnessing authoritarian powers -celebrating unforeseen successes in Eastern Europe, gradually undermining the democratic nature and prevalence of the rule of law in certain countries. While these developments do not necessarily entail the departure of these countries from the EU, they do signal a dangerous retreat from common European values, which, in turn, may impact the EU’s normative influence on the outside world. This is especially true if the EU appears to have no effective means at its disposal to counteract such dangerous internal tendencies.

Olaf Wientzek: Your concern is justified. However the EU has not been idle: With the support of most member states, the Commission has responded to the worrying assault on the rule of law made by the current Polish government. Moreover, much attention is currently focussed on Poland and Hungary. In my view, there are alarming developments in Romania, which are getting far too little attention. I also don’t believe that the “old” member states are immune to such developments. In fact, the existing EU instruments for such cases have so far shown themselves insufficient. This includes the -Copenhagen Criteria, within the framework of the accession process. Then there is the Article 7 procedure, which is being initiated against Poland and Hungary for violations of the rule of law. This can lead to the suspension of the country’s voting rights, although such an outcome is unlikely. These instruments are not enough. First of all, the EU needs to address more regularly address the rule of law situation in its member states, and not to wait until a crisis has already arisen. I therefore believe that we need, first, an annual review of the state of the rule of law in all member states. Secondly, we need the possibility of reducing EU funds if and when it can no longer be assumed that the courts are independent. The EU is also a legal community, not just an economic and solidary community. This fact is often forgotten.

Ai: In your opinion, therefore, expanding the existing EU toolbox is a matter of urgency. Which member states do you think would be most capable of pushing for such reforms?

Olaf Wientzek: Support from Germany and France would be indispensable. But it would not be enough: Time and time again, we see that in a 27-state EU, a functioning German--French tandem is a necessary but insufficient condition for a functioning EU. Support from other EU states is therefore required. Belgium, Sweden, and the Netherlands, amongst others, have in recent months expressed support for some of these ideas, or for similar proposals. Especially when dealing with sensitive matters, the broadest possible alliance should be sought out. Some member states – not just Poland and Hungary – oppose such ideas. Interestingly, however, their reservations are not shared by all Central and Eastern European countries. As a general rule, broader alliances are necessary. In Berlin, we sometimes tend to focus solely on France. Certainly, France remains Germany’s most important partner in the EU. But exchanges with and involvement of partners such as Italy, Poland, Spain, the Netherlands, and the Nordic countries must be intensified.

Ai: Germany should thus play a more active role. What would that look like, in concrete terms? And do you currently see any willingness in Germany to make a more active contribution?

Olaf Wientzek: First of all, as the largest member state and a founding member, Germany has a duty to lead and to give fresh impetus to the EU – in a spirit of partnership. It is in -Germany’s interest to ensure the cohesion of the EU as a whole and also to resist calls for a rapid encapsulation of an avant-garde core.

Second, there are duties that derive from this leadership role. Germany should feel itself particularly committed to upholding the fundamental values of the EU. It is, moreover, of comparatively greater importance for Germany to comply with the rules than it is for other countries. Given Germany’s relative size and power, any violation of the rules would lead to disastrous effects.

Third, Germany should further involve itself in the area of foreign policy. The other member states expect it. This means providing the necessary financial resources in the area of defence, but also mustering the political will to become more involved, also on a military level, with the EU’s Common Security and Defence Policy, for instance. This is a requirement that is not particularly popular in Germany, but there is no way around it if we wish to build more trust on the part of France and other EU allies. And without more mutual trust, there can be no viable Common Security and Defence Policy.

Fourth, Germany must become more aware that even domestic policy decisions have a considerable impact on our neighbours. German domestic policy is followed with close attention abroad. This awareness must give rise to the reflex of always considering the implications of domestic decisions on the EU as a whole, on European partners, and even on the Western world. This reflex is still partly lacking. For instance, the political upheaval caused by a project such as Nord Stream 2 can hardly be underestimated – no matter how often it is stressed that the project is primarily an economic one.

Ai: And, in your opinion, is Germany really prepared for all of this?

Olaf Wientzek: I absolutely see awillingness to assume more responsibility in several areas. Therehas been a great deal of progress in foreign and defence policy, although even more could certainly have been achieved. The fact that Germany is prepared to pay more into the EU budget - in return for strengthening conditionality - is another positive example. What is sometimes lacking is the ability to better understand the perspectives of other countries. In addition, there are still a few isolationist reflexes to be found from time to time. This is apparent both from the debates about CETA and about the increase in defence spending, but it has also been observed in other policy areas. To put it bluntly, many people still dream that Germany could be a kind of large version of Switzerland, but from my point of view that would be very dangerous. To return to your opening question, if Germany assumes a responsible, value-based, partnership-based leadership role in the EU, I think there is a good chance that Western and European norms will also shape the world of tomorrow. However if Germany were to shirk this responsibility, it would not only substantially weaken the EU, but also greatly exacerbate the crisis of the liberal world order.


– translated from German –



The interview was conducted by Dr. Anja Schnabel.

Contact Person

Sebastian Enskat, M.A.

Sebastian Enskat

Head of Demokratie, Recht und Parteien

sebastian.enskat@kas.de +49 30-26996-3383
Contact Person

Dr. Anja Schnabel

Managing Editor International Reports

anja.schnabel@kas.de +49 (0)30-26996-3740

racken

Auslandsinformationen

„Die normative Strahlkraft der EU sollte man nicht unterschätzen“

von Anja Schnabel
Ein Gespräch mit Olaf Wientzek, Koordinator für Europapolitik der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Ai: Ai: Herr Wientzek, der Ausstieg der USA aus internationalen Verträgen, der Vormarsch autoritärer Kräfte, Spaltungstendenzen innerhalb Europas – so mancher sieht angesichts dieser Entwicklungen bereits das Ende der liberalen Weltordnung gekommen. Zu Recht?

Olaf Wientzek: Wir erleben in der Tat einen graduellen Wandel, was das internationale Machtgefüge betrifft. Möglicherweise befinden wir uns tatsächlich in einer Art Übergangszeit hin zu einer neuen Weltordnung. Was die von Ihnen genannten Beispiele betrifft, drei Anmerkungen: Erstens muss man temporäre und strukturelle Veränderungen voneinander unterscheiden. Beispiel: Der Ausstieg der USA aus internationalen Verträgen ist nicht unwesentlich mit der aktuellen Führung verbunden und muss kein Dauerphänomen sein. Die Forderung der USA nach einem stärkeren sicherheitspolitischen Engagement an ihre europäischen Verbündeten ist hingegen altbekannt und wird sich eher noch verstärken. Zweitens sollte man die Widerstandsfähigkeit der bestehenden Strukturen nicht unterschätzen. Der voraussichtliche Austritt eines Mitgliedstaats – Großbritannien – aus der EU hat bislang nicht zu einem Dominoeffekt bei anderen Mitgliedstaaten geführt. Eher hat dieser Schritt eine abschreckende Wirkung gehabt. Die Entschlossenheit, die EU zusammenzuhalten, hat seitdem bei den wichtigsten Akteuren eher noch zugenommen. Drittens ist noch nicht gesagt, dass ein Wandel der etablierten Weltordnung gleichbedeutend ist mit dem Zusammenbruch aller bestehender Strukturen und Allianzen. Trotz aller Krisen ist der Zerfall der EU in den kommenden Jahren ein unwahrscheinliches Szenario.

Ai: Mit der Forderung nach einem stärkeren sicherheitspolitischen Engagement der Europäer sprechen Sie einen wichtigen Punkt an. Aktuell wird der EU – übrigens nicht nur von amerikanischer Seite – vorgehalten, dass sie den USA die Rolle des Weltpolizisten nur allzu bereitwillig überlassen und nun der Schwächung des liberalen Gefüges kaum etwas entgegenzusetzen hat. Ist die EU – auch vor dem Hintergrund der Vielzahl interner Probleme – überhaupt in der Lage, die Lücke, die der Rückzug der USA reißt, zu füllen?

Olaf Wientzek: Komplett ist diese Lücke zumindest kurzfristig nur schwer zu füllen. Die Antwort muss je nach Politikbereich unterschiedlich ausfallen. Im Bereich der Handelspolitik hat die EU eine gute Figur abgegeben, seitdem TTIP auf Eis gelegt wurde: Abschluss von Freihandelsabkommen u.a. mit Kanada und Japan, das Abkommen mit Mexiko ist nahe am Abschluss. Das fällt auch deshalb leichter, weil die EU-Handelspolitik eine Gemeinschaftspolitik ist, d. h. supranational und nicht nach dem Einstimmigkeitsprinzip erfolgt. Was die Sicherheitspolitik angeht, wäre ich skeptischer: Hier ist zwar in den vergangenen zwei Jahren viel passiert, von „strategischer Autonomie“ ist die EU jedoch noch meilenweit entfernt. Hier ist der Rückstand noch erheblich. Das Thema sollte deshalb einer der Schwerpunkte in der nächsten europäischen Legislaturperiode sein. Erschwerend wirkt, dass die Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik nach wie vor inter-gouvernemental geregelt ist: Für Entscheidungen braucht es Einstimmigkeit unter allen EU-Mitgliedstaaten.

Ai: Die Uneinigkeit zwischen den Regierungschefs ist das eine, die mangelnde Bereitschaft der Bevölkerung, solche Entscheidungen mitzutragen, das andere. Auf dem ganzen Kontinent hat die EU-Skepsis zuletzt deutlich zugenommen. Ist das nicht das viel größere Problem?

Olaf Wientzek: So allgemein formuliert stimmt das aus meiner Sicht nicht. Auf der einen Seite gewinnen in vielen – aber nicht in allen – EU-Ländern europakritische und populistische Kräfte an Gewicht. Auf der anderen Seite hat die Zustimmung zur EU im Nachgang des Brexit wieder deutlich zugenommen. Wie auch die letzten Eurobarometer gezeigt haben, ist der Großteil der EU-Bürger nicht gegen die europäische Integration an sich – wobei es hier zwischen den Ländern durchaus signifikante Unterschiede gibt. Vielmehr sind viele Bürger nicht mit der Prioritätensetzung der EU einverstanden. Der Eindruck besteht, dass die EU – die eine gut geölte Gesetzgebungsmaschine ist – viele Details regelt, die von den Bürgern als weniger wichtig angesehen werden. In Bereichen, in denen es seit Jahren viel Zustimmung für „mehr Europa“ gibt – etwa bei innerer wie äußerer Sicherheit–, ist das Angebot der EU hingegen bescheiden. Da fehlen ihr sowohl die Gesetzgebungs- als auch die Umsetzungskompetenzen. Entsprechend wäre eine stärkere Rolle der EU in diesen Fragen wichtig. Ohne eine weitere Aufgabe nationaler Souveränität wird das aber nicht möglich sein.

Ai: Ein stärkeres Engagement der EU braucht, wie Sie sagen, verlässliche Partner in der Welt. Wer sind aus Ihrer Sicht denn mögliche Partner?

Olaf Wientzek: Auch nach dem Brexit hat die EU ein großes Interesse an einer engen Partnerschaft mit dem Vereinigten Königreich. Die USA bleiben trotz aller aktuellen Schwierigkeiten als Partner unverzichtbar. Und dann natürlich Länder, die sich dem Wertekanon der freiheitlichen Welt verbunden fühlen wie Japan, Kanada, Australien, Neuseeland, Mexiko oder die Mercosur-Staaten. Das freiheitlich-demokratische Leitbild, wie die EU es vertritt, wird künftig stärker von alternativen, autoritäreren Modellen herausgefordert werden. Wenn wir wollen, dass internationale Normen künftig durch unsere Werte geprägt werden, sind all diejenigen Länder Partner, mit denen uns nicht nur viele gemeinsame Interessen, sondern auch gemeinsame Werte verbinden. Vorausschauend sollte man solche Partnerschaften unbedingt auch mit Schlüsselländern Subsahara-Afrikas schmieden, die diese Kriterien erfüllen. Darüber hinaus kommen – je nach Politikfeld – grundsätzlich alle in Frage, die eine internationale regelbasierte Ordnung, internationale Institutionen und multilaterale Lösungen für globale Herausforderungen unterstützen. Im Bereich der Klimapolitik ist das beispielsweise auch China, wobei ich da in einigen anderen Politikbereichen deutlich skeptischer bin. Wichtig ist, Gesprächsformate, die diese Ordnung beibehalten möchten, zu stützen, etwa das ASEM (Asia--Europe Meeting). Wenn wir von der globalen Ebene auf die unmittelbare europäische Nachbarschaft gehen, muss man sicherlich die Ukraine und auch die Türkei nennen. Eine weitere Verschärfung der wirtschaftlichen oder der politischen Krise in der Türkei hätte für die EU schwerwiegende Folgen. Ein Erfolg des politischen und des wirtschaftlichen Transformationsprozesses in der Ukraine könnte dagegen zur Stabilisierung und Entwicklung der gesamten östlichen Nachbarschaft der EU beitragen.

Ai: Bleiben wir doch einen Moment beim Thema Autoritarismus, von dem die EU ja sowohl von außen als auch von innen herausgefordert wird. Die punktuelle Zusammenarbeit mit autoritären Systemen ist, wenn ich Sie richtig verstehe, eine pragmatische Entscheidung und in einzelnen Politikfeldern unerlässlich. Nichtsdestotrotz bleibt die Frage, wie die EU mit autoritären Tendenzen und Regimen grundsätzlich umgehen sollte, wenn sie im Wettstreit der Systeme und damit im Kampf um die liberale Weltordnung bestehen will. Eine befriedigende Antwort scheint da bislang noch nicht gefunden – zumal autoritäre Tendenzen auch in einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten auf dem Vormarsch sind.

Olaf Wientzek: Sie nennen hier zwei unterschiedliche Aspekte: Erstens den Umgang mit autoritären externen Partnern, zweitens den Umgang mit autoritären Tendenzen innerhalb der EU. Konzentrieren wir uns vielleicht erst einmal auf die äußere Dimension. Es ist schwer, hier eine allseits gültige Regel zu formulieren. In einigen Regionen hat die EU nur die Wahl zwischen miteinander konkurrierenden autoritären Staaten. Gerne wird hier die Abwägung zwischen Interessen und Werten beschworen. Oder aber diejenige zwischen Reform und Resilienz. Langfristig sehe ich hier keinen Gegensatz. Wenn wir über unsere unmittelbare Nachbarschaft sprechen, so glaube ich, dass es ohne eine demokratische politische und wirtschaftliche Transformation dieser Länder langfristig keine Stabilität geben wird. Es ist daher im ureigensten Interesse der EU, Bemühungen der Ukraine, von Marokko, Georgien oder Tunesien um eine Reform von Wirtschaft und Politik nach Kräften zu unterstützen. Hier sollte noch viel mehr passieren, gerade gegenüber den Ländern der südlichen Nachbarschaft. Ich halte das Narrativ von Stabilität durch Autoritarismus langfristig auch für eine Mär. Kurz: Dort, wo wir die Wahl haben, so etwa in unserer unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft, sollten wir die demokratischen Bestrebungen fördern.

Ai: Wie kann das aus Ihrer Sicht am ehesten gelingen? Wie kann die EU ihre unmittelbare Nachbarschaft angesichts schwieriger Rahmenbedingungen davon überzeugen, dass demokratische Reformen einer Wendung z. B. hin zum Autoritarismus vorzuziehen sind?

Olaf Wientzek: Trotz durchaus berechtigter Sorgen um die Verbreitung autokratischer Diskurse sollte man die Strahlkraft der EU nicht unterschätzen. Die Erfolgsbilanz der EU kann sich durchaus sehen lassen. Von außen wird das mitunter auch stärker anerkannt als in der EU selbst. Man betrachte nur die lange Friedensperiode in den Ländern der EU. Das ist zwar ein überstrapaziertes Beispiel, aber es wird dadurch nicht weniger wahr. Der erfolgreiche politische und wirtschaftliche Transformationsprozess der postkommunistischen Länder Mittelosteuropas und auch des Baltikums zeigt gleichfalls die Stärke des europäischen Modells. Natürlich gibt es in diesen Ländern auch Abwehrreaktionen und problematische Entwicklungen. Die Demokratie in diesen Ländern ist dennoch weit gefestigter als in anderen Transformationsregionen dieser Welt, man schaue allein auf den postsowjetischen Raum jenseits des Baltikums.

Wir in der EU und in der westlichen Welt neigen bei allen unbestrittenen Problemen zu übertriebenen Selbstzweifeln. Ironischerweise ist das sogar ein gutes Zeichen, denn es zeigt, dass (selbst-)kritische Stimmen ungehindert zu Wort kommen. Das erfolgt in autoritären Ländern nicht oder kaum. Ob die Alternativmodelle als so erfolgreich angesehen werden, würde ich ebenfalls bezweifeln. Jedenfalls hat noch keines der Länder des westlichen Balkans oder Osteuropas aus freien Stücken seine europäischen Ambitionen aufgegeben, um sich etwa der Eurasischen Wirtschaftsunion anzuschließen. Selbst Armenien, das diesen Schritt unter starkem politischem Druck machen musste, und Weißrussland senden starke Signale einer Annäherung Richtung EU.

Ai: Nichtsdestotrotz erleben wir, wie autoritäre Kräfte gerade in Osteuropa ungeahnte Erfolge feiern und die demokratische Verfasstheit und Rechtsstaatlichkeit einzelner Länder schrittweise untergraben. Diese Entwicklungen bedeuten vielleicht keinen Austritt dieser Staaten aus der EU, aber eine gefährliche Abkehr von den gemeinsamen europäischen Werten, was wiederum Auswirkungen auf die normative Strahlkraft der EU nach außen haben kann. Noch dazu, wenn der EU – so der Eindruck – keine effektiven Mittel zur Verfügung stehen, um solchen gefährlichen Tendenzen im Innern entgegenzuwirken.

Olaf Wientzek: Ihr Einwand ist berechtigt. Die EU war allerdings nicht untätig: Mit Unterstützung der meisten Mitgliedstaaten hat die Kommission ja auch auf den besorgniserregenden Umgang mit dem Rechtsstaat durch die aktuelle polnische Regierung reagiert. Im Übrigen: Vieles konzentriert sich derzeit auf Polen und Ungarn. Die sehr bedenklichen Entwicklungen in Rumänien erfahren aus meiner Sicht viel zu wenig Aufmerksamkeit. Ich halte im Übrigen auch die „alten“ Mitgliedstaaten nicht für immun gegenüber solchen Entwicklungen. In der Tat ist das bestehende Instrumentarium der EU hier bislang nicht ausreichend. Es gibt zum einen die Kopenhagener Kriterien im Rahmen des Beitrittsprozesses. Dann ist da noch die Artikel 7-Prozedur, die jetzt wegen Verstößen gegen die Rechtsstaatlichkeit gegen Polen und Ungarn in die Wege geleitet wurde und an deren Ende ein Stimmentzug stehen kann, was aber sehr unwahrscheinlich ist. Diese Instrumente reichen nicht. Zunächst einmal muss sich die EU regelmäßiger mit der Lage der Rechtsstaatlichkeit in ihren Mitgliedstaaten auseinandersetzen – und nicht erst, wenn die Krise schon da ist. Deshalb brauchen wir meines Erachtens erstens eine jährliche Bestandsaufnahme des Zustands der Rechtsstaatlichkeit in allen Mitgliedstaaten und zweitens die Möglichkeit, EU-Gelder zu reduzieren, wenn nicht mehr davon ausgegangen werden kann, dass die Gerichte unabhängig sind. Die EU ist eben auch eine Rechtsgemeinschaft und nicht nur eine Wirtschafts- und Solidargemeinschaft. Das wird gern vergessen.

Ai: Der bestehende Instrumentenkasten der EU müsste Ihrer Ansicht nach also dringend erweitert werden. Welche Mitgliedstaaten wären in Ihren Augen am ehesten in der Lage, derartige Reformen innerhalb der EU voranzutreiben?

Olaf Wientzek: Eine Unterstützung sowohl durch Deutschland als auch Frankreich wäre unabdingbar. Aber das wäre nicht genug: Wir sehen immer wieder, dass in einer EU der 27 ein funktionierendes deutsch-französisches Tandem eine notwendige, aber noch keine hinreichende Bedingung für eine funktionierende EU ist. Es bedarf mithin der Unterstützung weiterer EU-Staaten. Neben anderen haben sich beispielsweise Belgien, Schweden und die Niederlande in den letzten Monaten für einige dieser Ideen oder für ähnliche Vorschläge ausgesprochen. Gerade bei einem solch sensiblen Thema sollte man sich auf eine möglichst breite Allianz stützen können. Einige Mitgliedstaaten – nicht nur Polen und Ungarn – sind gegen solche Ideen. Interessanterweise werden deren Vorbehalte aber nicht von allen mittelosteuropäischen Ländern geteilt.

Generell gilt: Es bedarf breiterer Allianzen. Wir neigen bisweilen in Berlin dazu, uns allein auf Frankreich zu fixieren. Klar ist: Frankreich bleibt der wichtigste Partner in der EU. Aber der Austausch mit und das Einbeziehen von Partnern wie Italien, Polen, -Spanien, den Niederlanden und den nordischen Ländern müsste intensiviert werden.

Ai: Deutschland sollte also eine aktivere Rolle spielen. Wie sähe diese konkret aus? Und sehen Sie in Deutschland momentan überhaupt die Bereitschaft, hier einen aktiveren Beitrag zu leisten?

Olaf Wientzek: Erstens hat Deutsch-land als größter Mitgliedstaat und Gründungsmitglied die Pflicht, in der EU – in partnerschaftlicher Art und Weise – zu führen und Impulse zu verleihen. Es liegt im deutschen Interesse, die EU in Ihrer Gesamtheit zusammenzuhalten und auch Rufen nach einer zu schnellen Abkapselung eines Avantgarde-Kerns zu widerstehen.

Zweitens leiten sich aus dieser Führungsrolle Pflichten ab. Deutschland sollte sich besonders der Wahrung der Grundwerte der EU verpflichtet fühlen. Deutschland muss gleichzeitig mehr als andere vorbildlich bei der Regelerfüllung sein. Jeder Regelverstoß durch Deutschland hat verheerende Wirkungen.

Drittens sollte sich Deutschland gerade im außenpolitischen Bereich noch mehr engagieren. Das wird von den übrigen Mitgliedstaaten erwartet. Das heißt: die notwendigen finanziellen Ressourcen im Verteidigungsbereich bereitstellen, aber auch den politischen Willen, sich – u.a. in der Gemeinsamen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik der EU – auch militärisch stärker zu engagieren. Das ist eine in Deutschland gerade wenig populäre Forderung, aber daran führt kein Weg vorbei, wenn wir bei Frankreich und anderen EU-Verbündeten mehr Vertrauen schaffen möchten. Und ohne mehr gegenseitiges Vertrauen wird es keine wirkliche gemeinsame Europäische Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik geben.

Viertens muss sich Deutschland bewusster werden, dass selbst innenpolitische Entscheidungen erhebliche Auswirkungen auf unsere Nachbarn haben. Dort wird deutsche Innenpolitik aufmerksam verfolgt. Daraus muss der Reflex erwachsen, bei allen Entscheidungen stets die Auswirkungen für die europäischen Partner und die gesamte EU und sogar die westliche Welt zu bedenken. Dieser Reflex fehlt teilweise. Zum Beispiel ist kaum zu unterschätzen, für welche politischen Verwerfungen ein Projekt wie North Stream 2 sorgt – egal wie häufig man betont, dass es sich hier in erster Linie um ein wirtschaftliches Projekt handle.

Ai: Und zu all dem ist Deutschland Ihrer Meinung nach tatsächlich bereit?

Olaf Wientzek: Die Bereitschaft, mehr Verantwortung zu übernehmen, sehe ich in einigen Bereichen durchaus. In der Außen- und Verteidigungspolitik hat sich einiges getan, wenn auch sicher noch mehr möglich wäre. Die Tatsache, dass Deutschland bereit ist, im Gegenzug für eine Stärkung der Konditionalität mehr in den EU-Haushalt zu zahlen, ist ebenfalls ein positives Beispiel. Was bisweilen noch fehlt, ist die Fähigkeit, die Perspektive anderer Länder besser nachzuvollziehen. Zudem gibt es immer mal wieder doch noch den einen oder anderen isolationistischen Reflex. Das hat man sowohl bei der Debatte um CETA als auch um die Erhöhung der Verteidigungsausgaben gesehen. Das sieht man aber auch in anderen Politikfeldern. Salopp gesagt: Viele träumen nach wie vor davon, dass Deutschland eine Art große Schweiz sein könnte, aber aus meiner Sicht wäre das sehr gefährlich. Um in diesem Zusammenhang auf Ihre Eingangsfrage zurückzukommen: Wenn Deutschland eine verantwortungsbewusste, wertefundierte, partnerschaftliche Führungsrolle in der EU einnimmt, stehen die Chancen meines Erachtens gut, dass westliche und europäische Normen auch die Welt von morgen prägen. Drückt sich Deutschland allerdings vor dieser Verantwortung, würde das nicht nur die EU nachhaltig schwächen, sondern auch die Krise der liberalen Weltordnung erheblich verschärfen.




Das Gespräch führte Dr. Anja Schnabel.

Ansprechpartner

Sebastian Enskat

Sebastian Enskat M.A

Leiter Demokratie, Recht und Parteien

sebastian.enskat@kas.de +49 30-26996-3383
Ansprechpartner

Dr. Anja Schnabel

Dr

Redakteurin Auslandsinformationen (Ai) (in Elternzeit)

anja.schnabel@kas.de +49 (0)30-26996-3740