racken.

International Reports

“Large Cities Are Where the Society of Singularities Concentrates”

by Andreas Reckwitz
An Interview with Prof. Dr. Andreas Reckwitz, Professor of Comparative Cultural Sociology at the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder)
A word cloud in form of a head © racken.
A word cloud in form of a head

IR:Professor Reckwitz, your book “The Society of Singularities” paints the picture of a society that is downright obsessed with the extraordinary: unusual hobbies, individual eating habits, highly styled apartments, and customised adventure holidays – maximum self-realisation appears to be the only measure of a “good” life. Is there no room left in our society for that which is general and binding?

Andreas Reckwitz: I do not want to sink into generalised pessimism about culture. But my book does in fact carefully examine the social mechanisms through which these processes of singularisation, that is, of orientation on that which is unusual and unique, have spread in Western societies over the last few decades. What is at work here goes beyond mere individualism. It is not just individuals who are trying to be special and non-interchangeable – which becomes especially obvious in digital media like Instagram and Facebook –, things and objects, such as the goods of cultural capitalism from the individual piece of craftsmanship to the Netflix series, are also to be experienced as unique.

IR: So interpreting it as hyperindividualism would fail to go far enough?

Andreas Reckwitz: Most certainly, since even spatial units such as cities are engaging in global competition by attempting to design themselves as units with special urban landscapes, special atmospheres. Or take the singularisation of temporal units: the trend is away from routines and toward events, special moments, or projects. Ultimately, we are seeing the paradoxical profiling of collective units as special in the wake of the “Society of Singularities”. One conspicuous example are “imagined communities” such as regionalistic movements extending from Catalonia to Scotland: one's own people with its special history is also singularised here; this enables the power of identity to unfold. Thus, singularisation goes far beyond the “individualism” of individuals.

IR: So, “Be special!” is, in a sense, the imperative that provides orientation not only to everyone, but also to everything?

Andreas Reckwitz: Yes, but it is important to see that the orien-tation towards the unusual and unique is itself a thoroughly societal process in which entities are assessed, produced, and experienced as being unique. Almost everything in late modern society that promises identification and emotional fulfilment takes the form of the singular – from holiday trips to attractive jobs, romantic relationships, and desirable places to live through to political projects. Overall, this is shifting the primary societal evaluation criteria: whereas during the period of the classical industrial society from the 1950s to the 1970s, dominant criteria included the normal and the standardised: the same standard of living, the same types of residence, major political parties, mass culture, etc. These criteria have increasingly shifted towards the unusual. This is because singularity promises authenticity and attractiveness. These are the primary values of the late modern period. What society therefore deems to be weak and of little emotional appeal is ordinariness, routine, and uniformity.

IR: A society does not make fundamental changes for no reason at all. What do you think are the causes of the development you have described?

Andreas Reckwitz: I identify three sets of causes in particular: economic, cultural, and technological. The economic one refers to the goods that promise cultural value and uniqueness, the area of growth of late modern economy – be it tourism or the internet industry, education or nutrition. The classical industrial economy reached its limits back in the 1970s and is being increasingly displaced by a cognitive, cultural, or immaterial capitalism. What is successful here is what marks a difference, what promises a special experience or identificational potency. It is therefore no wonder that only about 20 per cent of workers are employed in industry – it used to be 50 per cent. The spearhead of this development, however, is the so-called knowledge economy. But singularisation is not merely the result of economic competition. A cultural factor is also of importance: what late modern individuals want for their lives is not the standard, but the singular. They are influenced by a life principle of successful self-realisation, and individual development in a multitude of opportunities. This is the result of a far-reaching shift in values, which have been underway since the 1970s: away from duty and acceptance values toward self-realisation values. Of course, there is a long tradition behind this shift, but it was not until the development of a broad new middle class, most of whom had high levels of education and participated in the knowledge economy, that a lifestyle of successful self-realisation found a substantial social group to support it and thus became culturally dominant for the first time. Finally, there are also technical framework conditions for singularisation: digitalisation. The internet’s algorithms ultimately create an individualised world of consumption and information that is identical to no other such world, addressing each person in his or her uniqueness via data tracking. Additionally, the internet also generates a massive selection of images and texts that are compliant with the radical laws of the attention economy. In this economy, the only way to succeed, whether that be a YouTube video or Instagram photo, is not to be like everything else, but to have an interesting difference to attract attention through singularity.

IR: If you look at what things succeed on platforms like Instagram and Facebook, you see the new designer tennis shoes, dinner from a popular sushi place, or a selfie with someone who is more or less a celebrity – all of them things that you would associate with trendy neighbourhoods like Prenzlauer Berg in Berlin and not so much with Kirchberg an der Iller or any other little village in the countryside. Is the “Society of Singularities” primarily a big-city phenomenon?

Andreas Reckwitz: Yes and no. On the one hand, singularisations exist independently of the city-countryside question. Everyone participates in the internet, and it allows the promises of cultural capitalism to penetrate into even the remotest of villages. On the other hand, big cities are in fact the places where the Society of Singularities concentrates – which is not surprising, since cities have always been at the cutting edge of new developments throughout modern history. There are also reasons for that in this case: as I said, the supporting group is the new middle class, the highly qualified, and they congregate in large cities, if for no other reason than that this is where they can study and get jobs in the knowledge economy. At the same time, of course, big cities offer an especially wide range of opportunities for singular goods in the broadest sense: opportunities for high and scene culture, widely varied choice of schools for children, gastronomy of various types, exercise classes from Tai Chi to tango, and so on and so on. The influence of global culture is especially great in the big “cosmopolitan” cities.

IR: But can’t a village also be a place of self-realisation?

Andreas Reckwitz: Sure, and that is an idea that is as current as it is old. Around 1900, a life reform movement fed the longing of big-city-dwellers for a return to the countryside. Today, there are also tendencies among city dwellers to acquire a second property in the countryside or even to migrate completely – from Berlin to the Brandenburg countryside, for instance. People expect to find something that they do not get in the city: nature and peace, preferably in “unique” surroundings. However, a new flight from the cities seems to be constrained by practical limits for the time being: the highly qualified professions in the knowledge economy concentrate in cities.

IR: So there is competition not primarily between city and countryside, but more among the cities themselves?

Andreas Reckwitz: In fact, industrial cities were relatively interchangeable in industrial society. In post-industrial society, on the other hand, cities polish their profiles so as to be unique: that applies to Hamburg or the Ruhr, Marseille or Copenhagen. That is not merely a question of city marketing, but of structural design of the cities themselves. Why do they do it? The reason is primarily the significance of the new, educated middle class and its great spatial mobility, including the workplace mobility of highly qualified individuals. The cities find themselves in competition in order to appeal to inhabitants, visitors, and companies. The ones that succeed are those that can offer the right quality of life, those that successfully develop a “self-logic”, as Martina Löw put it in “Sociology of Cities”. In the late modern era, we are therefore experiencing polarisation at the spatial level as well: between boom towns and abandoned regions. The boom towns are beginning to suffer the consequences of their success as singular locations, however: overcrowding, congestion, high rental prices, etc.

IR: You already mentioned Hamburg, the Ruhr, Marseille, and Copenhagen. Does that mean that the phenomenon of singularisation is primarily a European or Western one?

Andreas Reckwitz:Yes and no. Transformation due to singularisation does indeed initially centre on Western societies. They were the first industrial societies and are the first post-industrial societies. They therefore experience especially intense competition among their cities. But the rapid social changes in several emerging countries are clearly beginning to exhibit singularisation processes. Consider metropolises like Shanghai, Singapore, and the cities of the United Arab Emirates.

IR: So singularisation is becoming noticeable in Asia, even though the collective group traditionally enjoys a much higher value there?

Andreas Reckwitz: That is an important question, and it would require a separate study to answer it. There is a long tradition of distinguishing Western individualism and Eastern Asian collectivism, but you have to be careful not to think of them as closed cultural circuits, like adjacent spheres with no mutual influence. Cultural capitalism and the digital attention economy exert massive influence in places like Japan, South Korea, and the Chinese metropolises. They will probably result in a mixture of singularism and elements of these cultures’ collectivist heritage.

IR: The phenomenon of singularisation also has another dimension: self-realisation is, after all, not necessarily what social cohesion is based on, and even if some people may be disdainful of such things as church on Sunday, fire brigade festivals, and neighbourly cooperation, these practical social measures play important societal roles. My question is therefore: what price does a society pay for increasingly allowing these things to die out?

Andreas Reckwitz: The Society of Singularities is indeed to be observed with ambivalence. It has advantages, and it has costs. Life according to the criteria of successful self-realisation provides great opportunities for individual fulfilment and quality of life – more than in the classical industrial society. But there are winners and losers, and there are societal structures that are forced into the defensive. Industrial society had distributed social recognition relatively evenly: almost everyone was in the middle class. In the post-industrial society, polarisation set in: expanding education allowed the rise of the ambitious, urban new middle class. But another group are on the decline: the new underclass of low-qualified people, often employed in providing simple services, or outside the labour market altogether. Between the two is the old middle class, which feels itself to be at least somewhat on the cultural defensive and tends to champion the lifestyle typical of the old industrial society. “Being left behind” takes on various forms. In these three groups, people live in completely different worlds. The groups have diametrically opposed feelings for life. Those involved in public politics need to deal with these differences, but are themselves in crisis: digitalisation is dissolving what has been the “general public” that still had fixed points of reference such as the daily paper and the television that everybody used. Political communication is itself being singularised online. The notorious filter bubbles are forming.

IR: You describe the major parties in this context as “stewards of the commons” who almost inevitably experience crises in a “Society of Singularities”. Are major parties relics of the past?

Andreas Reckwitz: The major parties were characteristic of the “dominion of the commons” in industrial society. In a society that is quite homogeneous in any case, they were able to combine the interests of various milieus. Indeed, since the 1980s, a shift in political structures has accompanied the societal shift. One dimension is the singularisation of the party system. If you look at Scandinavia, the Netherlands, or more recently at France, this becomes especially clear: a number of new parties have arisen to address more closely networked milieus, but they develop a great identity-forming character. The major parties – the conservatives and the social democrats – lose when that happens.

IR: If you were a consultant for a major party, what strategy would you recommend? Enhancing the core brand and focusing on the base? Ultimately, one could also argue that a “Society of Singularities” is especially dependent on political forces that focus on what is common and what binds society together.

Andreas Reckwitz: There are two possibilities for such a singularised party system: either there is polarisation in which everybody insists on their own unique selling point, or a new culture of compromise arises among the many small segments of the party. In the latter case, it matters little whether these compromises are reached within a single large party (the major party model) or among many small parties. You cannot simply advise the major parties to concentrate on their voter base. The fact that these bases are eroding is the very cause of the problem.

Generally, however, late modern politics in particular faces the question of a renaissance of commonality: society – business, technology, lifestyles – is singularising rapidly, but shouldn’t politics compensate for that development by creating common and generally applicable framework conditions? This affects the “cultural question” as well as the “social question”: the question of securing infrastructures, participation in social goods, and education for everyone, of securing basic standards and a generally observed level of civility on the internet. The question of what form a general policy should take as part of a Society of Singularities is the central question of the politics of the future.

The interview was conducted by Sebastian Enskat.

– translated from German –

Choose PDF format for the full version of this article including references.

Contact Person

Sebastian Enskat, M.A.

Sebastian Enskat

Head of Demokratie, Recht und Parteien

sebastian.enskat@kas.de +49 30-26996-3383

racken

Auslandsinformationen

„Großstädte sind die Konzentrationspunkte der Gesellschaft der Singularitäten“

von Andreas Reckwitz
Ein Gespräch mit Prof. Dr. Andreas Reckwitz, Professor für Vergleichende Kultursoziologie an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)
Eine Wortwolke in Form eines Kopfes. © racken
Eine Wortwolke in Form eines Kopfes.

Ai: Herr Professor Reckwitz, in Ihrem Buch „Die Gesellschaft der Singularitäten“ zeichnen Sie das Bild einer Gesellschaft, die sich geradezu obsessiv am Besonderen orientiert: ausgefallene Hobbys, individuelle Essgewohnheiten, eine durchgestylte Wohnung, der maßgeschneiderte Abenteuerurlaub – maximale Selbstverwirklichung scheint der einzige Maßstab für ein „gutes“ Leben zu sein. Ist für das Allgemeine, das Verbindende in unserer Gesellschaft überhaupt kein Platz mehr?

Andreas Reckwitz: In einen solchen pauschalen Kulturpessimismus will ich nicht verfallen. In der Tat untersuche ich in meinem Buch aber genau die sozialen Mechanismen, entlang derer sich diese Prozesse der Singularisierung, das heißt der Orientierung am Besonderen und Einzigartigen in den westlichen Gesellschaften in den letzten Jahrzehnten, verbreitet haben. Hier ist mehr als ein einfacher Individualismus am Werk. Nicht nur Individuen versuchen sich als besondere und nicht-austauschbare zu gestalten – sehr auffällig etwa in den digitalen Medien wie Instagram oder Facebook –, auch Dinge und Objekte, so die Güter des kulturellen Kapitalismus vom handwerklichen Einzelstück bis zur Netflix-Serie, wollen als einzigartige erlebt werden.

Ai: Von Hyperindividualismus zu sprechen würde also zu kurz greifen?

Andreas Reckwitz: Das in jedem Fall, denn auch räumliche Einheiten wie etwa Städte versuchen sich im globalen Wettbewerb als Einheiten mit besonderem Stadtbild, besonderer Atmosphäre zu gestalten. Oder nehmen Sie die Singularisierung zeitlicher Einheiten: weg von der Routine, hin zum Event, zum besonderen Moment oder zum Projekt. Schließlich beobachten wir im Zuge der „Gesellschaft der Singularitäten“ auch die paradoxe Profilierung kollektiver Einheiten als besondere. Auffällig ist das beispielsweise in den imagined communities wie etwa den regionalistischen Bewegungen zwischen Katalonien und Schottland: das eigene Volk mit besonderer Geschichte wird hier ebenfalls singularisiert und entfaltet Identifikationskraft. Die Singularisierung geht also weit über den „Individualismus“ der Individuen hinaus.

Ai: „Sei besonders!“ ist also gewissermaßen das Leitbild, an dem sich nicht nur jeder, sondern alles orientiert?

Andreas Reckwitz: Ja, wichtig ist allerdings zu sehen, dass die Orientierung am Besonderen und Einzigartigen selbst ein durch und durch gesellschaftlicher Prozess ist, bei dem Entitäten als singulär bewertet, hervorgebracht und erlebt werden. Fast alles in der spätmodernen Gesellschaft, was Identifikation und emotionale Befriedigung verspricht, bewegt sich in der Form des Singulären: von der Ferienreise über die attraktive Arbeitsstelle, die Liebesbeziehung, den attraktiven Wohnort bis zum politischen Projekt. Insgesamt verschieben sich damit die leitenden gesellschaftlichen Bewertungskriterien: Während in der klassischen Industriegesellschaft, welche die Zeit von den 1950er bis in die 70er Jahre prägte, Kriterien des Normalen und Standardisierten vorherrschten – der gleiche Lebensstandard, der gleiche Wohnort, die Volksparteien, die Massenkultur etc. –, haben sie sich mehr und mehr zum Bewertungskriterium des Besonderen verschoben. Denn Singularität verspricht Authentizität und Attraktivität. Das sind die Leitwerte der Spätmoderne. Was damit tatsächlich gesellschaftlich eher schwach bewertet wird und emotional wenig anspricht, ist Durchschnittlichkeit, Routine, Gleichförmigkeit.

Ai: Eine Gesellschaft, die sich derart grundlegend wandelt, tut das ja nicht einfach so. Wo verorten Sie die Ursachen der von Ihnen beschriebenen Entwicklung?

Andreas Reckwitz: Ich mache hier vor allem drei Ursachenkomplexe aus: einen ökonomischen, einen kulturellen und einen technologischen. Ökonomisch sind die Güter, die kulturellen Wert und Einzigartigkeit versprechen, ''der'' Wachstumsbereich der spätmodernen Wirtschaft – ob im Tourismus oder der Internetbranche, ob im Bildungssektor oder der Ernährung. Die klassische Industrieökonomie ist schon seit den 1970er Jahren an ihre Grenzen gestoßen und wird mehr und mehr von einem kognitiven, einem kulturellen oder immateriellen Kapitalismus überlagert. Erfolgreich ist hier, was eine Differenz markiert, was ein besonderes Erleben oder besondere Identifikationskraft verspricht. Es ist daher auch nicht verwunderlich, dass mittlerweile nur noch etwa zwanzig Prozent der Beschäftigten im Industriesektor arbeiten - früher waren es einmal fünfzig Prozent. Die Speerspitze der neuen Entwicklung ist hingegen die sogenannte Wissensökonomie. Aber die Singularisierung ist nicht nur das Ergebnis eines ökonomischen Wettbewerbs. Wichtig ist auch ein kultureller Faktor: Die spätmodernen Individuen ''wünschen'' für sich und ihr Leben nicht Standard, sondern Singularität. Sie werden geprägt von einem Lebensmotiv der erfolgreichen Selbstverwirklichung, der individuellen Entfaltung in der Fülle der Möglichkeiten. Dies ist das Ergebnis des tiefgreifenden Wertewandels, der seit den 1970er Jahren konstatiert werden kann: weg von den Pflicht- und Akzeptanzwerten hin zu den Selbstverwirklichungswerten. Dahinter steckt natürlich eine lange Tradition, aber erst mit der Entwicklung einer breiten neuen Mittelklasse, die meist höhere Bildungsabschlüsse hat und in der Wissensökonomie tätig ist, hat eine Lebensform der erfolgreichen Selbstverwirklichung auch eine gewichtige soziale Trägergruppe erhalten und ist damit zum ersten Mal kulturell dominant geworden. Schließlich gibt es auch eine technische Rahmenbedingung für die Singularisierung: die Digitalisierung. Die Algorithmen des Netzes adressieren via data tracking den Einzelnen in seiner Besonderheit, sie kreieren schließlich für den Einzelnen seine ganz eigene Konsum- und Informationswelt, die mit keiner anderen identisch ist. Hinzu kommt: das Internet spannt einen riesigen Raum von Bildern und Texten auf, die radikalen Gesetzen der Aufmerksamkeitsökonomie gehorchen. Hier reüssiert – ob als YouTube-Video oder Foto auf Instagram – nur, was gerade nicht so ist wie alles andere, sondern eine interessante Differenz markiert, in seiner Singularität anspricht.

Ai: Schaut man sich an, welche Dinge auf Plattformen wie Instagram oder Facebook reüssieren, dann sind das beispielsweise die neuen Designer-Turnschuhe, ein Abendessen im angesagten Sushi-Laden oder ein Selfie mit jemand mehr oder weniger Prominentem – alles Dinge, die man eher mit Szenevierteln wie dem Prenzlauer Berg in Berlin und nicht so sehr mit Kirchberg an der Iller oder irgendeinem anderen Örtchen auf dem platten Land in Verbindung bringt. Ist die „Gesellschaft der Singularitäten“ in erster Linie ein Phänomen der Großstädte?

Andreas Reckwitz: Ja und nein. Einerseits existieren die Singularisierungen unabhängig von der Stadt-Land-Frage. Am Internet nimmt jeder und jede teil und auch die Konsumverheißungen des kulturellen Kapitalismus dringen über diesen Weg bis ins letzte Dorf. Andererseits sind aber die Großstädte tatsächlich die Konzentrationspunkte der Gesellschaft der Singularitäten – was auch nicht überraschend ist, waren die Städte in der Geschichte der Neuzeit immer die Speerspitze für neue Entwicklungen. Das hat auch in diesem Fall Gründe: Wie gesagt, Trägergruppe ist die neue Mittelklasse, die Hochqualifizierten, und die ballen sich nun einmal in den Großstädten – allein schon weil diese Studienplätze und Jobs in der Wissensökonomie bieten. Die Großstädte bieten zugleich natürlich eine besonders breite Palette von Möglichkeiten singulärer Güter im weitesten Sinne: Möglichkeiten der Hoch- und Szene-Kultur, sehr unterschiedliche Schulangebote für die Kinder, Gastronomie verschiedener Couleur, Bewegungsangebote von Tai Chi bis Tango etc. etc. Der Einfluss der globalen Kultur ist in den „kosmopolitischen“ Großstädten besonders stark.

Ai: Aber kann nicht auch ein Dorf Ort der Selbstverwirklichung sein?

Andreas Reckwitz: Sicherlich, das ist ja ein ebenso altes wie aktuelles Thema. Um 1900 gab es die Lebensreformbewegung, die die Sehnsucht der Großstädter nach einem „Zurück aufs Land“ nährte. Auch heute gibt es Tendenzen der Metropolenbewohner, sich ein zweites Standbein auf dem Land zu schaffen oder auch ganz überzusiedeln – etwa von Berlin in die brandenburgische Landschaft. Man erwartet dann vom Land das, was man in der Stadt vermisst: Natur und Ruhe, möglichst alles in „einzigartiger“ Umgebung. Allerdings scheinen bis auf Weiteres einer solchen neuen Stadtflucht praktische Grenzen gesetzt zu sein: Die hochqualifizierten Berufe der Wissensökonomie konzentrieren sich in den Städten.

Ai: Konkurrenz herrscht also nicht so sehr zwischen Stadt und Land, sondern eher im Verhältnis von Städten untereinander?

Andreas Reckwitz: In der Tat, in der Industriegesellschaft waren die Industriestädte verhältnismäßig austauschbar. In der postindustriellen Gesellschaft hingegen feilen die Städte an ihrem Profil als einzigartig: ob Hamburg oder das Ruhrgebiet, ob Marseille oder Kopenhagen. Das ist nicht nur eine Frage des Stadtmarketings, sondern auch der baulichen Gestaltung der Städte selbst. Warum tun sie das? Hintergrund ist wiederum vor allem die große Bedeutung der neuen, gut ausgebildeten Mittelklasse in ihrer großen räumlichen Mobilität, auch die Mobilität der Arbeitsplätze der Hochqualifizierten. Die Städte befinden sich hier in einem Attraktivitätswettbewerb um Bewohner, Besucher und Unternehmensansiedlungen. Es reüssiert, wer als Stadt hier eine entsprechende Lebensqualität bieten kann, wer erfolgreich eine „Eigenlogik“ entwickelt, wie es Martina Löw in „Soziologie der Städte“ nennt. Entsprechend erleben wir auch auf der räumlichen Ebene in der Spätmoderne eine Polarisierung: zwischen den Boomtowns und den abgehängten Regionen. Die Boomtowns leiden inzwischen allerdings unter den Folgen ihres Erfolgs als „singuläre“ Orte: Überfüllung, Überlastung, hohe Mietpreise etc.

Ai: Sie haben gerade Hamburg, das Ruhrgebiet, Marseille und Kopenhagen erwähnt. Heißt das, dass wir dem Phänomen der Singularisierung vor allem in Europa beziehungsweise dem so genannten Westen begegnen?

Andreas Reckwitz: Ja und nein. Zunächst einmal ist die Transformation der Singularisierung tatsächlich auf die westlichen Gesellschaften zentriert: Sie waren die ersten Industriegesellschaften und sind nun die ersten postindustriellen Gesellschaften. Dementsprechend ist auch der genannte Städtewettbewerb hier besonders intensiv. Aber: mit dem rasanten sozialen Wandel in einigen der Schwellenländer beginnen dort offenbar auch Singularisierungsprozesse zu greifen. Man denke an Metropolen wie Shanghai, Singapur oder die Städte in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten.

Ai: Die Singularisierung macht sich also auch in Asien bemerkbar, obwohl das Kollektiv hier traditionell einen deutlich höheren Stellenwert genießt?

Andreas Reckwitz: Das ist eine wichtige Frage und um sie beantworten zu können, wären eigene Untersuchungen nötig. Den westlichen Individualismus vom ostasiatischen Kollektivismus zu unterscheiden, hat ja eine lange Tradition, aber man muss sich hüten, hier heute noch geschlossene „Kulturkreise“ vorauszusetzen, die wie Kugeln unbeeinflusst nebeneinander stünden. Es gibt ja massive Einflüsse des kulturellen Kapitalismus und der digitalen Aufmerksamkeitsökonomie etwa in Japan, Südkorea oder auch den chinesischen Metropolen. Vermutlich wird es hier auf hybride Mischungen zwischen Singularismus und Elementen aus dem kollektivistischen Erbe dieser Kulturen hinauslaufen.

Ai: Nun hat das Phänomen der Singularisierung ja noch eine weitere Dimension: Selbstverwirklichung ist schließlich nicht unbedingt das, worauf sich gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt gründet. Und selbst wenn manch einer möglicherweise naserümpfend auf Dinge wie den sonntäglichen Kirchgang, Feuerwehrfeste und nachbarschaftliches Miteinander blickt, erfüllen solche sozialen Praktiken doch auch wichtige gesellschaftliche Funktionen. Deshalb meine Frage: Welchen Preis zahlt eine Gesellschaft, in der solche Dinge offenbar zunehmend verloren gehen?

Andreas Reckwitz: Man muss die Gesellschaft der Singularitäten in der Tat ambivalent bewerten. Sie hat Vorzüge und sie hat Kosten. Das Leben nach den Kriterien der erfolgreichen Selbstverwirklichung enthält hohe Chancen individueller Befriedigung und von Lebensqualität, mehr als in der klassischen Industriegesellschaft. Aber es gibt Gewinner und Verlierer und es gibt gesellschaftliche Strukturen, die in die Defensive geraten. Die Industriegesellschaft hatte soziale Anerkennung verhältnismäßig gleichmäßig verteilt: fast alle waren Mittelschicht. In der postindustriellen Gesellschaft setzt eine Polarisierung ein. Im Zuge der Bildungsexpansion steigt eine Gruppe auf: die ambitionierte, urbane neue Mittelklasse. Es steigt aber auch eine Gruppe ab: die neue Unterklasse der Niedrigqualifizierten, häufig in den einfachen Dienstleistungen beschäftigt oder außerhalb des Arbeitsmarktes. Dazwischen gibt es die alte Mittelklasse, die sich auch partiell in der kulturellen Defensive sieht, eher die Lebensform der alten Industriegesellschaft vertritt. „Abgehängtsein“ nimmt verschiedene Formen an. In diesen drei Gruppen lebt man in ganz verschiedenen Welten, hat diametral entgegengesetzte Lebensgefühle. Die politische Öffentlichkeit müsste mit diesen Differenzen umgehen, aber sie steckt selbst in der Krise: Im Zuge der Digitalisierung löst sich die „allgemeine Öffentlichkeit“, die noch Fixpunkte wie Tageszeitung oder Fernsehen hatte, die alle benutzten, auf: Die politische Kommunikation wird im Netz selbst „singularisiert“. Es entstehen die berüchtigten Filterblasen.

Ai: Die Volksparteien beschreiben Sie in diesem Zusammenhang als „Sachverwalterinnen des Allgemeinen“, die in einer „Gesellschaft der Singularitäten“ fast zwangsläufig in die Krise geraten. Sind Volksparteien aus Ihrer Sicht Relikte der Vergangenheit?

Andreas Reckwitz: Für die „Herrschaft des Allgemeinen“ der Industriegesellschaften waren die Volksparteien charakteristisch. In einer ohnehin recht homogenen Gesellschaft konnten sie die Interessen verschiedener Milieus zusammenbinden. Tatsächlich findet nun seit den 1980er Jahren mit dem gesellschaftlichen auch ein politischer Strukturwandel statt. Eine Dimension ist die Singularisierung des Parteiensystems. Wenn man nach Skandinavien, in die Niederlande oder jüngst auch nach Frankreich schaut, wird es besonders deutlich: Es sind eine Vielzahl neuer Parteien entstanden, die engere Milieus adressieren, dort aber große Identifikationskraft entfalten. Die Volksparteien – die Konservativen und die Sozialdemokraten – verlieren dabei.

Ai: Wenn Sie Berater einer Volkspartei wären, welche Strategie würden Sie dann empfehlen: den Markenkern schärfen und sich auf die Stammwählerschaft konzentrieren? Es ließe sich schließlich auch argumentieren, dass gerade die „Gesellschaft der Singularitäten“ dringend auf politische Kräfte angewiesen ist, die das Allgemeine, das Verbindende wieder in den Vordergrund rücken.

Andreas Reckwitz: Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten für ein solches singularisiertes Parteiensystem: entweder findet eine Polarisierung statt, in der jeder auf sein „Alleinstellungsmerkmal“ pocht oder aber eine neue Kultur des Kompromisses zwischen den vielen, kleinen Segmenten entsteht. Dann ist es fast gleichgültig, ob diese Kompromisse innerhalb einzelner, großer Parteien (Modell Volkspartei) oder zwischen vielen kleinen Parteien stattfinden. Den Volksparteien kann man im Übrigen nicht einfach raten, sich auf ihre Stammwählerschaft zu konzentrieren. Denn dass diese erodiert, ist ja gerade die Ursache ihres Problems.

Generell aber stellt sich gerade für die spätmoderne Politik die Frage nach einer Renaissance des Allgemeinen: Die Gesellschaft singularisiert sich rasant – die Wirtschaft, die Technik, die Lebensstile, aber muss die Politik hier nicht auch ausgleichend wirken, indem sie auf allgemeine und allgemeingültige Rahmenbedingungen setzt? Dies berührt die „soziale Frage“ ebenso wie die „kulturelle Frage“: die Frage der Sicherung von Infrastrukturen, die Partizipation an sozialen Gütern und Bildung für alle, die Sicherung von kulturellen Grundstandards oder auch einer allgemeinen Zivilität im Internet. Die Frage, welche Form eine Politik des Allgemeinen im Rahmen einer Gesellschaft der Singularitäten annehmen kann, ist die zentrale Frage der Politik der Zukunft.

Das Gespräch führte Sebastian Enskat.

Für eine vollständige Version dieses Beitrags inkl. Quellenverweisen wählen Sie bitte das PDF-Format.

Ansprechpartner

Sebastian Enskat

Sebastian Enskat M.A

Leiter Demokratie, Recht und Parteien

sebastian.enskat@kas.de +49 30-26996-3383