Asset Publisher

International Politics and Security Affairs

Asset Publisher

Russia’s recent revisionist foreign policy, the military rise of China, the political instability in the neighbouring MENA region, and the increased potential of terrorist organisations have given rise to a security situation in Europe such as has not been seen in the last three decades. The shift of the USA’s military focus toward Asia and the weakness of the Europeans’ security capabilities, which will be further exacerbated by Great Britain’s leaving the EU, create further challenges.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung observes and analyses these global security policy changes and develops options for action and recommendations for German and European policy. 

The International Policy and Security department deals with Germany’s foreign and defence policy. It looks here at Germany’s international role in the European Union, NATO and the United Nations, as well as at the threat currently posed by terrorism in Europe and the structures of internal security in Germany and the EU.

The department puts special focus on the political, cultural and industrial dimensions of the debate on a European army, the future of multilateralism, and certain interlinking issues like “security and health”, “security and climate”, “cybersecurity” and the “future of warfare”.

The threat posed to Europe by international terrorist organisations and inner-European extremist currents are other areas of work. In the context of this threat, we examine German and European strategies on counterterrorism, deradicalisation and violence prevention. The security architecture of Germany and Europe, as well as police and intelligence cooperation on both the federal level in Germany and the European level, play a prominent role here.

The “Adenauer Conference” on foreign and security policy issues and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation working groups on “Young Foreign-Policy-Makers” and “Terrorism and Internal Security” are important components of the department's work.

Asset Publisher

Asset Publisher

Management

Management

Dr. Christina Catherine Krause

Dr

Head of Department International Politics and Security Affairs

christina.krause@kas.de +49 30 26996-3445 +49 30 26996-53445

Team

Team member

Jan Senkyr

Jan Senkyr bild

Advisor Foreign and Security Policy

jan.senkyr@kas.de +49 30 26996-3936
Team member

Ferdinand Alexander Gehringer

Ferdinand Alexander Gehringer

Homeland and cyber security

ferdinand.gehringer@kas.de +49 30 26996 3709
Team member

Matthias Hespe

Matthias Hespe

Advisor Maritime Security

matthias.hespe@kas.de +49 30 26996 3882
Team member

Felix Neumann

Felix Neumann

Counter-extremism and counter-terrorism

felix.neumann@kas.de +49 30 26996-3879
Team member

Evelyn Gaiser

Evelyn Gaiser bild

Policy Advisor for Transatlantic Relations/NATO

evelyn.gaiser@kas.de +49 30 26996-3645
Contact

Luise Gebhardt

Contact

Christin Hesse

Christin Hesse bild

Administrator

christin.hesse@kas.de +49 30 26996 3855 +49 30 26996 3490
Contact

Melanie Wirth

Portrait von Melanie Wirth.

Administrator

melanie.wirth@kas.de +49 30 26996 3266

Asset Publisher