jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

The world is digital. Photos have gone digital for some time, as have communication systems; the modern workplace is constantly changing, and global knowledge can now fit into your pocket. In research and science, data-driven approaches determine project applications, the Bundeswehr, the German Armed Forces, are taking the Internet into their security policy portfolio, and fully automated driving is no longer a pipe dream.

The added value of digital technologies has become self-evident. Access to information and services at all times is indispensable for implementing business ideas and for managing our daily lives. No network? No way! Politics and the business world have placed digitalization at the top of their agendas. It is now a top priority as a key driver for ensuring future prosperity.

To the same extent that a digital society is establishing itself, there are growing fears that data and algorithms wield a destructive power, from which there is no escape. Like a self-fulfilling prophecy, data and algorithms are devouring jobs, privacy, and freedom, so as to ultimately replace us with artificial intelligence. For many, digital technologies and growing data mountains constitute a black box: complicated, complex and non-transparent. Politics, it now seems, cannot keep pace with the dynamics of technological developments and is powerless in dealing with a globally operative digital economy.

In this essay, Geoff Mulgan asks what needs to be done in order to exploit the benefits of digitization, without becoming hostage to its disadvantages. The author, an experienced policy adviser and Chief Executive of the Nesta Foundation, refutes the assumption that technology is deterministic. He urges us “to think digitally” instead of merely staring at new technologies. Iterative, collaborative, networked, and adaptive are keywords that are meant take the focus away from traditional analysis of structures and hierarchies toward stronger network behaviour.

For Geoff Mulgan, the ability to openly navigate and manage a complex network of supporting relationships is crucial in order to be better prepared for change: digitalization doesn’t pose us a technical challenge, but above all a social one.

Contact

ImageTobias Wangermann
Head of Team Digitalisation
Phone +49 30 26996-3380
Tobias.Wangermann(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Welt ist digital. Fotos sind es schon lange, die Kommunikation ist es auch, Arbeit verändert sich unablässig, und das Weltwissen passt in die Hosentasche. In Forschung und Wissenschaft bestimmen datengetriebene Ansätze die Projektanträge, die Bundeswehr nimmt das Internet ins Portfolio der Sicherheitspolitik, und das vollautomatisierte Fahren ist kein Zukunftstraum mehr.

In gleichem Maße wie sich die digitale Gesellschaft etabliert, wachsen die Befürchtungen, dass Daten und Algorithmen eine zerstörerische Macht haben, vor der es kein Entrinnen gibt. Wie eine selbsterfüllende Prophezeiung verschlinge sie Arbeitsplätze, Privatsphäre und Freiheit, um zum Schluss uns selbst durch eine künstliche Intelligenz zu ersetzen. Digitale Technologien und wachsende Datenberge sind für viele eine Black Box: kompliziert, komplex und intransparent. Die Politik, so scheint es, kann mit der Dynamik der technologischen Entwicklung nicht mithalten und wirkt machtlos im Umgang mit einer global agierenden digitalen Wirtschaft.

Was muss getan werden, um die Vorteile der Digitalisierung zu nutzen, ohne zur Geisel ihrer Nachteile zu werden, fragt Geoff Mulgan im vorliegenden Essay. Der Autor, erfahrener Politikberater und Geschäftsführer der britischen Innovations-Stiftung Nesta, widerspricht der Annahme, dass Technologie deterministisch wirke. Er ruft auf, „digital zu denken“, statt nur auf die neuen Technologien zu starren. Iterativ, kollaborativ, vernetzt und adaptiv sind Stichworte, die den Fokus weg von der traditionellen Analyse von Strukturen und Hierarchien hin zu stärkerem Netzwerkverhalten lenken sollen.

Die Fähigkeit, in der Offenheit navigieren und ein komplexes Netz von unterstützenden Beziehungen verwalten zu können, ist für Geoff Mulgan entscheidend, um auf Veränderungen vorbereitet zu sein: Es ist nicht eine technische Herausforderung, vor die uns die Digitalisierung stellt, sondern vor allem eine gesellschaftliche.

Kontakt

AbbildungTobias Wangermann ›
Leiter Team Digitalisierung
Tel. +49 30 26996-3380
Tobias.Wangermann(akas.de


zum Anfang springen