jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

Despite Brexit, the UK remains, at least so far, highly committed to the Paris Agreement and the respective contributions of the EU as a whole. Private climate finance is an instrument that the UK plans to use in meeting its commitments. The Paris Agreement has increased confidence in investments in green technologies, considered to be key in the process of meeting the climate targets. Climate finance is an area in which the UK has a competitive advantage.

An off-shore wind farm in the English Channel near Clacton-on-Sea in south east England.© Toby Melville, Reuters

Importance of private sector climate finance

Several actors are directly involved in shaping the field of climate finance: the government, by proposing frameworks that would encourage private climate finance, the public financial sector (the Bank of England), the private financial sector (Aviva and HSBC, which have emerged as global leaders in this field), insurance companies, climate finance academics and think tanks. Large oil and gas companies such as BP have started to financially support low-carbon technologies and to adopt an internal carbon price. The debate is taking place in settings provided by media, government, think tanks and foundations (E3G, ODI and European Climate Foundation), and sometimes even by private financial institutions (Lloyds Bank, for instance).

London also hosted climate finance events with global implications, such as the Clean Energy Finance Summit held on 3 and 4 June 2014. Recent initiatives that are based in London include the Climate Bonds Initiative and the Green Finance Initiative. The Green Finance Initiative was launched on 14 January 2016 to enhance financing for sustainable infrastructure. Jointly with the UN Principles for Responsible Investment, the Initiative is organizing the Green Finance Summit 2017 on developments in green financial policy and market developments.

Concrete initiatives, experiences, provisions

The UK is part of the EU-ETS, Emissions Trading System, which is complemented in the UK by a carbon floor. They aim is to underpin the price of carbon at a level that drives low-carbon investment, which the EU ETS has not yet achieved.

In 2010, the UK established the Capital Markets Climate Initiative which - according to the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and Department for International Development - ‘created a strong public-private partnership to help mobilise and scale up private finance flows for low carbon solutions in developing economies’ (Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and Department for International Development 2013). In 2012, the UK government created the first worldwide green bank - the Green Investment Bank (GIB) -, which has mobilized more than £10 billion total capital (£2.7 billion direct commitment), to support over 80 low-carbon projects in the UK, with almost 75% of investment from non-GIB sources. The GIB aims to support and reduce barriers to investment in green projects, with the intention of attracting private funds for private sector investments. The priority areas of GIB include investing in energy efficiency projects and building retrofit projects.

The Climate Bonds Initiative is a UK initiative raising finance for climate change mitigation or adaptation-related projects or programs. The Climate Bonds Initiative is mobilising the $100 trillion bond market. The Capital Markets Climate Initiative (CMCI) has been set up to support governments of developing countries in obtaining a better understanding as to why and how to effectively and efficiently leverage private capital by helping to address the information barriers.

The UK Government has set up the £3.87 billion International Climate Fund (ICF) to help address the challenges of climate change and to benefit from the opportunities by catalysing green private investment and building markets for sustainable, low-carbon ventures worldwide. Through the ICF, public money helps to mitigate the risk of private investments, as well as increasing the availability of finance to small and medium enterprises (SMEs). ICF is perhaps the most significant positive experience in climate finance. It has supported the creation of over 39,000 jobs and helped avoid more than 2.3 million tons of greenhouse gas emissions worldwide. A range of ICF-financed programmes work with the private sector. The most important are the World Bank’s Carbon Initiative for Development (Ci-Dev), the Results-Based Financing Facility (for energy access) and the Energising Development (EnDev) programme. In December 2013, the UK government invested £30 million of ICF funds into the Global Climate Partnership Fund (GCPF), a public-private partnership committed to mitigating climate change.

The Climate Public Private Partnership Programme (CP3) is a joint initiative of the Department for International Development (DFID), the BEIS and the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC). CP3 is an important initiative in the UK’s contribution to mobilising $100bn of climate finance a year by 2020.

Another example of the role of the state in climate finance is the Global Innovation Lab for Climate Finance. The Lab was launched in 2014 by the UK, US, and Germany, as well as in partnership with some countries supporting climate finance such as Denmark, France, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, and major private sector representatives. The Lab is constituted by leaders from governments, pension funds, investment banks, project developers and development finance institutions. It aims to identify, develop and pilot climate finance instruments in order to drive billions of dollars of private investment into climate change mitigation and adaptation, contributing to the PA’s target of mobilising $100bn of climate finance a year by 2020.

There are some barriers from the country’s perspective related to climate finance. There is a need to align the government’s and private sector’s standpoints on green energy objectives. The state should spell out the reasons for the UK’s ratification of the PA. This would include making clear the outlines of the UK’s path to a greener future. There should also be more data transparency in climate finance operations in order to incentivise investments. The government should support the analysis and understanding of climate-related risks, ensuring that money managers, analysts, consultants and the financial leaders of the future can target climate-related risk and explore green economic opportunities. Additionally, the government should collaborate to institutionalise green finance through international best practices, learning, and cooperation.

The G20 as framework for encouraging private climate finance

The UK and especially the Bank of England places a lot of confidence in the G20 when it comes to climate finance. The G20 is regarded as a platform that can further stimulate both governments and financial services to work towards implementing the climate commitments made in Paris. The Bank of England co-founded and is co-chairing the G20 Green Finance Study Group (GFSG) together with the People’s Bank of China. The Group aims to detect institutional and market barriers and enhance the capacity of the financial system for mobilising private financial resources for green investment.

Voices from British academia hold a similar position. Ben Caldecott, Director of the Sustainable Finance Programme at Smith School, University of Oxford, welcomed the initiative of the G20 to focus on mobilising finance and the work on green finance of the Bank of England and the People’s Bank of China. Caldecott mentioned that this work needs to accelerate under the G20 taking place in Germany. However, G20 countries have also been criticised in the past by London-based institutes such as ODI for not phasing out subsidies for fossil fuels. Against this backdrop, in May 2016, alongside other G7 members, the UK took a pledge to end subsidies for fossil fuels by 2025, especially subsidies distorting the energy market. The media also recognise the impact that G7 agreement on cuts in carbon emissions and on pledging money to help poor countries access low-carbon energy infrastructure might have on effectively fighting climate change.

Conclusion

The UK is a leading European financial centre (London, for instance, is the third largest bond market in the world and covers 9% of total global issuance). Climate finance is an area in which the UK has a competitive advantage. Institutions in the UK are a leading issuer of green bonds. The UK has a positive track record in private climate finance, playing a central role in conducting important programmes to support the private sector’s fight against climate change. Some investments offer climate change benefits in their portfolios. Many of these programmes remain in their early stages, and their innovative elements will need to be monitored and evaluated over time as implementation proceeds. Initiatives such as ICF and GIB have sought to find new approaches that will bring greater volumes and proportions of private finance into climate compatible development. It remains to be seen whether these approaches will attract more private investment than past efforts. The more successful climate finance initiative will encourage investors to consider the sector for future investments and accelerate private sector capital flows towards a low-carbon economy.

About the authors: Alexandra-Maria Bocse and Pablo David Necoechea Porras are Research Fellows of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung at King’s College London.

Further Reading


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Das Vereinigte Königreich hält trotz ­Brexit unverändert am Abkommen und den Verpflichtungen fest, die die EU insgesamt eingegangen ist. Die ­private Finanzierung des Klimaschutzes ist ein Instrument, mit dem das Vereinigte Königreich seine Verpflichtungen erfüllen will. Das ­Pariser Klima­abkommen hat das ­Vertrauen in Inves­titionen in grüne Technologien erhöht, was für die Erreichung der Pariser Klimaziele als wesentlich erachtet wird. Im Bereich Klimafinanzierung verfügt das Vereinigte Königreich über Wettbewerbsvorteile.

Ein Offshore-Windpark am Ärmelkanal in der Nähe von Clacton-on-Sea in Südost-England.© Toby Melville, Reuters
Ein Offshore-Windpark am Ärmelkanal in der Nähe von Clacton-on-Sea in Südost-England.

Bedeutung des Privatsektors für die Klimafinanzierung

Zahlreiche Akteure sind unmittelbar an der Gestaltung des Bereichs Klimafinanzierung beteiligt: die Regierung, die durch den Vorschlag von Rahmenwerken zu privater Klimafinanzierung ermutigen würden, der öffentliche Finanzsektor (Bank of England), der private Finanzsektor (Aviva, HSBC, die sich in diesem Bereich zu den global führenden Akteuren entwickelt haben), Versicherungsgesellschaften, Akademiker auf dem Gebiet der Klimafinanzierung und Think-Tanks. Große Erdöl- und Erdgasunternehmen wie BP haben begonnen, kohlenstoffarme Technologien finanziell zu unterstützen und einen internen Kohlenstoffpreis einzuführen. Die Debatte findet in einem Umfeld statt, das von Medien, der Regierung, Think-Tanks sowie Stiftungen (E3G, ODI und European Climate Foundation) und manchmal sogar von privaten Finanzinstituten (beispielsweise die Lloyds Bank) gebildet wird.

In London fanden zudem Veranstaltungen für die Klimafinanzierung mit weltweiter Wirkung statt, wie der Clean Energy Finance Summit, der am 3. und 4. Juni 2014 organisiert wurde. Neuere Initiativen, die in London ins Leben gerufen wurden, umfassen die Climate Bonds Initiative und die Green Finance Initiative. Die Green Finance Initiative wurde am 14. Januar 2016 gestartet, um die Finanzierung nachhaltiger Infrastrukturen zu fördern. Die Initiative organisiert gemeinsam mit den UN Principles for Responsible Investment den Green Finance Summit 2017 zu Entwicklungen im Bereich der grünen Finanzpolitik und Marktentwicklungen.

Konkrete Initiativen, Erfahrungen, Bestimmungen

Das Vereinigte Königreich ist Teil des Europäischen Emissionshandelssystema (EU-EHS), das im Vereinigten Königreich durch eine Kohlenstoffuntergrenze ergänzt wird. Das Ziel besteht darin, den Kohlenstoffpreis auf einem Niveau zu fixieren, mit dem kohlenstoffarme Investitionen gefördert werden, was vom EU-EHS noch nicht erzielt wurde.

Im Jahr 2010 hat das Vereinigte Königreich die Capital Markets Climate Initiative geschaffen, die gemäß dem Ministerium für Geschäfts-, Energie- und Industriestrategie und den Ministerien für internationale Entwicklung „eine starke öffentlich-private Partnerschaft gründete, um dabei zu helfen, private Finanzströme für kohlenstoffarme Lösungen in Entwicklungsländern zu mobilisieren und zu stärken“ (Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and Department for International Development 2013). Im Jahr 2012 hat die Regierung des Vereinigten Königreichs die weltweit erste grüne Bank gegründet – die Green Investment Bank (GIB), die Kapital von insgesamt mehr als 10 Mrd. GBP (2,7 Mrd. GBP an Direktverpflichtungen) mobilisiert hat, um über 80 kohlenstoffarme Projekte im Vereinigten Königreich zu unterstützen, wobei beinahe 75 % der Investitionen nicht aus GIB-Quellen stammen. Die GIB verfolgt das Ziel, Hürden für Investitionen des Privatsektors in umweltfreundliche Projekte zu reduzieren. Die Prioritätsbereiche der GIB umfassen Investitionen in Projekte für Energieeffizienz und Gebäudesanierungsprojekte.

Die Climate Bonds Initiative ist eine britische Initiative zur Beschaffung von Finanzen für die Abmilderung der Folgen des Klimawandels oder für die Anpassung verwandter Projekte oder Programme. Die Climate Bonds Initiative mobilisiert den Anleihenmarkt mit einem Volumen von 100 Bio. USD. Die Capital Markets Climate Initiative (CMCI) wurde eingerichtet, um Regierungen von Entwicklungsländern dabei zu unterstützen, ein besseres Verständnis über den effektiven und effizienten Einsatz von Privatkapital zu unterstützen, indem an der schwierigen Informationslage gearbeitet wird.

Die britische Regierung hat einen International Climate Fund (ICF) mit einem Volumen von 3,87 Mrd. GBP eingerichtet, um den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels zu begegnen und Chancen zu nutzen, indem umweltfreundliche Privatinvestitionen gefördert und weltweit Märkte für nachhaltige, kohlenstoffarme Unternehmen aufgebaut werden. Durch den ICF werden öffentliche Gelder verwendet, um die Risiken privater Investitionen abzumildern und kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen (SMEs) den Zugang zu Geldern zu erleichtern. Der ICF ist die möglicherweise wichtigste positive Erfahrung im Bereich Klimafinanzierung. Er hat die Schaffung von über 39.000 Arbeitsplätzen unterstützt und dazu beigetragen, dass über 2,3 Mio. Tonnen an Treibhausgasemissionen weltweit eingespart wurden. Eine Reihe ICF-finanzierter Programme arbeitet mit dem Privatsektor zusammen. Am wichtigsten sind dabei die Carbon Initiative for Development (Ci-Dev) der Weltbank, die Results Based Financing Facility (für Zugang zu Energie) und das Energising Development (EnDev)-Programm. Im Dezember 2013 hat die Regierung des Vereinigten Königreichs 30 Mio. GBP in den Global Climate Partnership Fund (GCPF) investiert, eine öffentlich-private Partnerschaft, die sich der Bekämpfung des Klimawandels verschrieben hat.

Das Climate Public Private Partnership Programme (CP3) ist eine gemeinsame Initiative des Ministeriums für internationale Entwicklung (DFID), des BEIS und des Ministeriums für Energie und Klimawandel (DECC). CP3 ist eine wichtige Initative im Rahmen des Beitrags des Vereinigten Königreichs, bis zum Jahre 2020 100 Mrd. USD an Mitteln für die Klimafinanzierung zu mobilisieren. Ein weiteres Beispiel für die Rolle des Staates bei der Klimafinanzierung ist das Global Innovation Lab for Climate Finance. Das Lab wurde im Jahr 2014 vom Vereinigten Königreich, den USA und Deutschland in Partnerschaft mit anderen Ländern, die die Klimafinanzierung unterstützen, wie zum Beispiel Dänemark, Frankreich, Japan, die Niederlande und Norwegen sowie mit wichtigen Vertretern des Privatsektors gestartet. Im Lab engagieren sich Führungskräfte aus Regierungen, Rentenfonds, Investmentbanken, Projektentwickler und Entwicklungsfinanzinstitute. Es zielt darauf ab, Klimafinanzinstrumente zu identifizieren, zu entwickeln und zu testen, um Milliarden US-Dollar an Privatinvestitionen in Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und zur Anpassung an diesen zu fördern; damit wird das Ziel der PA, bis zum Jahr 2020 jährlich 100 Mrd. USD an Mitteln für die Klimafinanzierung zu mobilisieren, unterstützt.

Aus der Perspektive des Landes bestehen einige Hürden in Bezug auf die Klimafinanzierung. Es ist notwendig, die Perspektiven der Regierung und des Privatsektors auf die Ziele der umweltfreundlichen Energie auszurichten. Der Staat sollte die Gründe für die Unterzeichnung der PA durch das Vereinigte Königreich deutlich benennen. Dies würde eine eindeutige Darstellung des Weges des Vereinigten Königreichs in Richtung einer umweltfreundlicheren Zukunft umfassen. Zudem sollte es bei Klimafinanzaktivitäten mehr Datentransparenz geben, um Anreize für Investitionen zu schaffen. Die Regierung sollte die Analyse und das Verständnis von klimabedingten Risiken unterstützen und sicherstellen, dass Finanzmanager, Analysten, Berater und die Finanzentscheider der Zukunft klimabezogene Risiken angehen und umweltfreundliche Geschäftschancen entdecken können. Darüber hinaus sollte die Regierung zusammenarbeiten, um den umweltfreundlichen Finanzmarkt durch bewährte Vorgehensweisen, Erfahrungsaustausch und Kooperation zu institutionalisieren.

G20 als Rahmen zur Förderung privater Klimafinanzierung

Das Vereinigte Königreich und insbesondere die Bank of England haben ein starkes Vertrauen in die G20 in Bezug auf die Klimafinanzierung. Die G20 werden als eine Plattform angesehen, die sowohl Regierungen als auch Finanzdienstleister weiter dazu ermutigen kann, die Klimaverpflichtungen zu erfüllen, die in Paris verabschiedet wurden. Die Bank of England hat gemeinsam mit der People’s Bank of China die G20 Green Finance Study Group (GFSG) gegründet. Die Gruppe verfolgt das Ziel, institutionelle und marktbedingte Barrieren zu identifizieren und die Möglichkeiten des Finanzsystems zur Mobilisierung privater Finanzressourcen für umweltfreundliche Investitionen zu stärken

In der akademischen Welt Großbritanniens vertritt man eine ähnliche Meinung. Ben Caldecott, Direktor des Sustainable Finance Programme an der Smith School, University of Oxford, begrüßte die Initiative der G20 zur Mobilisierung von Geldern wie auch die Zusammenarbeit der Bank of England mit der People’s Bank of China im Bereich Green Finance. Caldecott merkte an, dass diese Arbeit im Rahmen des in Deutschland stattfindenden G20-Gipfels intensiviert werden müsse. Die G20-Länder wurden jedoch in der Vergangenheit auch von Londoner Einrichtungen wie ODI dafür kritisiert, dass sie Subventionen für fossile Brennstoffe nicht schrittweise abbauen. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Vereinigte Königreich im Mai 2016 neben anderen G7-Mitgliedern zugesichert, bis zum Jahre 2025 Subventionen für fossile Brennstoffe einzustellen, insbesondere Subventionen, die den Energiemarkt stören. Die Medien erkennen ebenfalls, welchen Effekt die G7-Vereinbarung zum Abbau der Kohlenstoffemissionen und das Versprechen, arme Ländern mit Geld für den Zugang zu kohlenstoffarmen Infrastrukturen zu unterstützen, haben könnten, um den Klimawandel effektiv zu bekämpfen.

Fazit

Das Vereinigte Königreich ist ein führendes europäisches Finanzzentrum (London ist der drittgrößte Anleihenmarkt der Welt). Die Klimafinanzierung ist ein Bereich, in dem das Vereinigte Königreich über einen Wettbewerbsvorteil verfügt. Einrichtungen im Vereinigten Königreich sind ein führender Emittent umweltfreundlicher Anleihen. Das Vereinigte Königreich hat positive Erfahrungen mit der privaten Klimafinanzierung und spielt eine zentrale Rolle bei der Durchführung wichtiger Programme, um den Kampf des Privatsektors gegen den Klimawandel zu unterstützen. Einige Investitionen bieten in ihrem Portfolio Klimaschutzvorteile. Viele dieser Programme sind noch in der Anfangsphase und ihre innovativen Elemente müssen im Laufe der Zeit verfolgt und ausgewertet werden. Initiativen wie ICF und GIB bemühen sich, neue Vorgehensweisen zu identifizieren, mit denen höhere Summen an privaten Geldern für klimafreundliche Entwicklungstätigkeiten aufgebracht werden können und deren Anteil im Verhältnis zu öffentlichen Mitteln gesteigert wird. Es wird sich zeigen, ob diese Strategien im Vergleich zu Bemühungen der Vergangenheit mehr private Investitionen anregen werden. Die erfolgreichere Klimafinanzierungsinitiative wird Investoren dazu ermutigen, den Sektor für künftige Investitionen zu berücksichtigen und die Kapitalflüsse des privaten Sektors für eine kohlenstoffarme Wirtschaft zu beschleunigen.


ÜBER DIE AUTOREN

Alexandra-Maria Bocse und Pablo David Necoechea Porras sind Forschungsstipendiaten der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung am King’s College London.


WEITERFÜHRENDE LITERATUR

Bank of England 2017: Climate Change, Green Finance and Financial Stability, in: http://bit.ly/2u59Fwb (04.07.2017).

Carney, Mark 2016: Resolving the Climate Paradox – speech by Mark Carney, 22.09.2016, in: http://bit.ly/2tExUAh (04.07.2017).

Climate Bonds Initiative 2017: Labelled Green Bonds Data, in: http://bit.ly/2t0Y0Pj (04.07.2017).

Climate Policy Observer 2016: UK Stays ”Committed to Dealing with Climate Change” Despite Brexit Vote, 29.06.2016, in: https://shar.es/1BMr2x (04.07.2017).

UK Government, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy/Department for International Development 2013: Capital Markets Climate Initiative, 19.01.2013, in: http://bit.ly/2t0HKxK (04.07.2017).

UK Government, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy/Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs / Department for International Development 2017: Policy paper: International Climate Fund, Policy Paper, 31.01.2017, in: http://bit.ly/2taNAYN (04.07.2017).

UK Government, Department of Energy and Climate Change 2014: Key Milestone in Scaling Up Private Sector Climate Finance, 04.06.2014, in: http://bit.ly/2taPecG (04.07.2017).


zum Anfang springen