jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)
Cover: Climate Report 2017: U.S.A.

Climate Report 2017: U.S.A.

Private Sector and Climate Financing in the G20 Countries

By Max GrünigJuly 6, 2017


Download PDF


Also available in Deutsch

The private sector has traditionally played a significant role in the USA. The US financial sector is the highest-volume sector in the world. Hence, institutional investors have considerable resources that also flow into climate financing, although still to a minimal extent. However, there are a number of sustainability indices in the U.S.A., but they have so far not been widely used. But more and more big companies opt for energy supply from renewables sources.

With around 5,000 wind turbines, the Alta Wind Energy Center in Bakersfield is one of the largest wind farms in the world.© Spondylolithesis, iStockPhoto

Private climate financing on the rise

The topic of "private climate financing" has held a strong presence in the media at the latest, since the beginning of the divestment debate, about five years ago. The divestment movement is currently directed mainly at the financial departments of private universities, which have considerable resources. This is primarily a shift from coal, natural gas and mineral oil investments into other sectors. However, explicit climate investments are not yet associated with this. The discussion on private climate finance is largely focused on the investment of large companies in their own supply of renewable energies. IT companies such as Amazon, Apple, Google, Facebook or Microsoft, as well as service providers such as the MGM Group detach themselves from the offer of the respective local energy supplier and opt for cost-effective long-term contracts for the procurement of renewable energies. The U.S.A. is the world leader in this market and represents a significant share of private investments in renewable energies

The importance of the Paris Agreement for private climate financing

At least 81 large companies joined the "American Business Act on Climate Pledge" in 2015 in support of the Paris Agreement (PA) and formulated their climate protection contributions in this context. However, at the national level, there is no direct link between the ambitions of the private sector and the NDC (Nationally Determined Contribution), which is the self-imposed contribution of the U.S.A. within the framework of the PA. The NDC of the U.S.A. covers emission reductions in all sectors, but does not establish sector-specific sub-goals. The private sector is directly affected by a number of the regulatory policies (Clean Air Act, Energy Policy Act, Energy Independence and Security Act). An open discussion on a proactive role of the private sector to achieve the NDC has begun to some extent in the final phase of the Obama administration; it broke off, however with the new government in 2017. At the level of the federal states, however, individual companies are likely to have a greater impact on climate policy developments; an example for this is the technology sector in California.

Important instruments to increase private climate investments

On the federal level, there are three tax incentives, which usually cannot be combined, for climate investment:

  1. Since December 31, 2016, there is the Renewable Electricity Production Tax Credit (PTC). This is limited to the promotion of wind energy plants, which will be built by the end of 2019 (currently at 2.3 US Ct / kWh for a maximum of 10 years).
  2. The Residential Renewable Energy Tax Credit, which only applies as of this year to photovoltaic systems (PV) and solar thermal systems for private homes, will allow a 30% tax deduction of plant costs by the end of 2019. The tax relief will be gradually reduced to 22% by the conclusion of the program, at the end of 2021.
  3. The Business Energy Investment Tax Credit (ITC) enables companies to claim tax deductions which, dependent on the technology, mean a gradual reduction from the current level to 30%. After 2022, only geothermal electricity generation and photovoltaic will be considered, with 10% each.

These tax credits can be traded in the USA nationwide so that project developers can sell these credits at a discount. This market is not very transparent or regulated and consists entirely of over-the-counter and broker transactions without the use of a stock exchange. There are various assumptions about the size of the market and whether it can be extended.

The federal states also generate important incentives which trigger private climate investments, particularly with their minimum quotas for renewable energies in the electricity mix. Suppliers must comply with the quotas either by investing in renewable energies themselves or by purchasing certificates in the open market instead. In addition, important incentives are also emerging from feed-in tariffs (net metering), in particular for the construction of smaller plants.

The expansion of renewable energies has developed into a very successful business field in the USA, thanks especially to very favorable conditions for wind power and solar power, but also thanks to the accompanying cost-cutting tax regulations. The most important role of the state is currently to continue with the existing tax benefits. The main reason for this, from the point of view of political decision-makers, is found in the economic power, which is now behind renewable energies, be it as a source of tax revenue, or with over 670,000 direct jobs created by the employers in this sector. On the other hand, climate adaptation and climate protection play only a subordinate role as motivators, if at all.

In addition, there are two regional emission trading systems in the USA: the California-based trading system and the system of the East Coast States, the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI). The RGGI has been in existence since 2009 and today includes the States of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont. The RGGI obliges the participants to cover their CO2 emissions from the generation of electricity through emission certificates. Fossil power generation plants with over 25 MW are obligated to comply. The total quantity of allowances (Cap) was 86.5 million tons in 2016, and is reduced by 2.5% annually. In the Californian trading system, there is a lowest price limit which has, however, led to the fact that since the beginning of 2016, the quantity supplied could no longer be sold in the auctions. At the last RGGI auction in March 2017, the price was only 3 USD per ton of CO2. Overall, the greenhouse gas emissions trading in the U.S.A. is not in good condition due to low allowance prices and low demand. No improvements are expected in the short term.

Initiatives of the Financial Sector

The financial sector is active in a number of areas: Important sustainable funds in the United States are, among others, the Green Century Equity Fund, the Vanguard FTSE Social Equity Fund, the Calvert Large Cap Core Portfolio and the Fidelity Select Environment & Alternative Energy Portfolio. Meanwhile, investing into green bonds has developed into a growing market, with USD 7.5 billion in 2016, in the United States of America. The world's largest green bond was issued by Apple with USD 1.5 billion. Among the banks, the Bank of America leads the global Green Bond market.

A number of banks have entered into commitments to quit coal production and exploitation, including Citigroup, Bank of America, Morgan Stanley and Wells Fargo. Also, almost all of the major banks in the U.S.A. have committed themselves to the Equator Principles for the management of environmental and social risks in projects. Also, some banks have committed themselves to making climate investments to a certain extent. Thus it was Citigroup's goal to invest USD 100 billion in climate protection in 2015; but it is spread across the world and over a ten-year period, which puts this figure back into perspective.

Restrictions and Barriers

The commitments mentioned above notwithstanding, a number of banks are still active in the mineral oil sector. Among others, Citigroup, SunTrust Robinson Humphrey, TD Bank and Wells Fargo are financing the controversial Dakota Access Pipeline or its parent company Energy Transfer Partners. Another example shows how complicated it is to comply with voluntary self-commitments. Although JPMorgan Chase was known to no longer promote coal projects, together with BNP Paribas, the bank has now begun to look for buyers for a 250-million-euro bond from Polish ENERGA Finance AB, the financial subsidiary of the Polish energy company ENERGA S.A. Since the bond cannot be directly attributed to the construction of a new power plant, JPMorgan Chase is not breaking its word, strictly speaking. While the experiences of investors are very positive due to the tax incentives for wind and solar energy, they have been rather negative in the biofuel sector, especially in the so-called third-generation biofuels, i.e. the enzyme- and algae-biofuels.

According to the current status, the new US government is not pursuing the goal of strengthening private climate financing. As a result, from the point of view of the United States the G20 is not a suitable framework or driving force for this purpose. Already at the meeting of the G20 finance ministers in March 2017, the new US government enforced that the issue of climate finance did not appear in the communiqué. The expectations of domestic stakeholders in the USA, that the G20 can make a contribution in the area of private climate financing, are extremely muted against this background.

Conclusion and Outlook

Private stakeholders in the USA will continue to be the driving force behind private climate investments in the USA. From the point of view of the financial stakeholders who are committed to climate investments, the business prospects in the U.S.A., however, are not favorable, although some big companies will continue to invest in the climate change, especially technology companies. Despite the existing incentives for climate investment, private investors in the U.S.A. largely lack in long-term planning security. The regulatory framework is subject to significant fluctuations, which slows down long-term investments. There is also a lack of price consideration of the environmental-, resource- and climate-related risks for investment decisions. The state authorities have recently been forced to disregard the social costs of climate change. A national cost estimate of the greenhouse gas emissions is currently not foreseeable. The Clean Power Plan will presumably continue to exist, if at all, in a very weakened form, which should reduce the climate policy ambitions of the federal states in the coming years.

Further reading


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Privatsektor spielt in den USA traditionell eine große Rolle. Der US-Finanzsektor ist der volumenstärkste der Welt, auch weil die Alterssicherung zu großen Teilen auf privater Vorsorge beruht. Dadurch verfügen institutionelle Investoren über erhebliche Mittel, die auch in die Klimafinanzierung fließen, jedoch bislang nur in sehr geringem Umfang. Darüber ­hinaus existiert in den USA eine Reihe von Nachhaltigkeitsindizes, die bislang aber erst wenig Verbreitung gefunden haben. Zugleich entscheiden sich immer mehr große Unternehmen für eine Energieversorgung aus erneuerbaren Quellen.

Mit mehr als 5.000 Windturbinen zählt der Alta Wind Energy Center in Bakersfield zu den größten Windparks weltweit.© Spondylolithesis, iStockPhoto
Mit mehr als 5.000 Windturbinen zählt der Alta Wind Energy Center in Bakersfield zu den größten Windparks weltweit.

PRIVATE KLIMAFINANZIERUNG IM WACHSTUM

Das Thema Private Klimafinanzierung ist medial spätestens seit dem Beginn der Divestment-Debatte vor ca. fünf Jahren stark präsent. Die Divestment-Bewegung richtet sich derzeit vor allem an die Finanzabteilungen privater Universitäten, die über beachtliche Mittel verfügen. Hierbei handelt es sich in erster Linie um eine Umschichtung von Kohle-, Erdgas- und Mineralöl-Investitionen in andere Sektoren. Explizite Klimainvestitionen sind hiermit allerdings noch nicht verbunden. Die Diskussion über private Klimafinanzierung konzentriert sich größtenteils auf die Investitionen großer Unternehmen in die eigene Versorgung mit erneuerbaren Energien. Sowohl IT-Unternehmen wie Amazon, Apple, Google, Facebook oder Microsoft als auch Dienstleister wie die MGM Group koppeln sich vom Angebot des jeweiligen örtlichen Energieversorgers ab und entscheiden sich für kostengünstige langfristige Verträge für den Bezug erneuerbarer Energien. Die USA sind in diesem Markt weltweit führend und stellen einen erheblichen Anteil an den privaten Investitionen in erneuerbare Energien.

DIE BEDEUTUNG DES PARISER ABKOMMENS FÜR PRIVATE KLIMAFINANZIERUNG

Mindestens 81 große Unternehmen haben sich im Jahr 2015 zur Unterstützung des Pariser Abkommens (PA) dem „American Business Act on Climate Pledge” angeschlossen und in diesem Zusammenhang eigene Klimaschutzbeiträge formuliert. Auf nationaler Ebene besteht jedoch kein direkter Zusammenhang zwischen den Ambitionen des Privatsektors und dem Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC), also dem national festgelegten Beitrag der USA im Rahmen des PA. Der NDC der USA umfasst Emissionsminderungen in allen Sektoren, legt jedoch keine sektorspezifischen Unterziele fest. Der Privatsektor ist von etlichen der steuernden Politiken direkt betroffen (Clean Air Act, Energy Policy Act, Energy Independence and Security Act). Eine offene Diskussion über eine proaktive Rolle des Privatsektors zum Erreichen des NDC hat in der Schlussphase der Obama-Administration ansatzweise begonnen, brach jedoch mit der neuen Regierung 2017 ab. Auf der Ebene der Bundesstaaten nehmen einzelne Unternehmen vermutlich aber größeren Einfluss auf die klimapolitischen Entwicklungen, so z. B. der Technologiesektor in Kalifornien.

WICHTIGE INSTRUMENTE ZUR STEIGERUNG PRIVATER KLIMAINVESTITIONEN

Auf der föderalen Ebene existieren vor allem drei, in der Regel nicht kombinierbare, Steueranreize für Klimainvestitionen:

  1. Seit dem 31. Dezember 2016 wurde der Renewable Electricity Production Tax Credit (PTC) angepasst und beschränkt sich nun auf die Förderung von Windenergieanlagen, die bis Ende 2019 gebaut werden (aktuell 2,3 US-Cent pro Kilowattstunde für maximal zehn Jahre).
  2. Der Residential Renewable Energy Tax Credit, der seit diesem Jahr nur noch für Photovoltaikanlagen (PV) und Solarthermie für Privathäuser gilt, ermöglicht noch bis Ende 2019 einen 30-prozentigen steuerlichen Abzug der Anlagenkosten. Die steuerliche Entlastung nimmt danach, bis zum Auslaufen des Programms Ende 2021, schrittweise bis auf 22 Prozent ab.
  3. Der Business Energy Investment Tax Credit (ITC) ermöglicht Unternehmen Steuerminderungen, die technologieabhängig von aktuell bis zu 30 Prozent schrittweise abnehmen. Nach 2022 werden nur noch geothermische Stromerzeugung und Photovoltaik mit jeweils zehn Prozent berücksichtigt.

Diese Steuergutschriften sind in den USA landesweit handelbar, sodass Projektentwickler die Gutschriften mit Abschlag veräußern können. Der Markt ist wenig transparent oder reguliert und besteht ausnahmslos aus Over-the-Counter- und Broker-Transaktionen ohne Nutzung eines Börsenplatzes. Es gibt unterschiedliche Annahmen darüber, wie groß der Markt ist und ob er noch ausgeweitet werden kann.

Wichtige Anreize setzen auch die Bundesstaaten, die insbesondere mit ihren Mindestquoten für erneuerbare Energien im Strommix private Klimainvestitionen auslösen. Versorger müssen die Quoten erfüllen, indem sie entweder selbst in erneuerbare Energien investieren oder stattdessen entsprechende Zertifikate auf dem offenen Markt erstehen. Weiterhin gehen auch von Einspeisevergütungen (Net-Metering) wichtige Anreize aus, insbesondere für den Bau kleinerer Anlagen.

Der Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien hat sich in den USA zu einem sehr erfolgreichen Geschäftsfeld entwickelt, vor allem auch dank sehr günstiger Bedingungen für Windkraft und Solarstrom, aber auch dank der flankierenden, kostensenkenden Steuerbestimmungen. Die wichtigste Rolle des Staates besteht derzeit darin, die bestehenden Steuervorteile weiterzuführen. Der wesentliche Grund hierfür liegt aus Sicht der politischen Entscheider in der Wirtschaftskraft, die mittlerweile hinter den erneuerbaren Energien steckt, sei es als Steuereinnahmequelle oder als Beschäftigungsträger mit über 670.000 direkten Arbeitsplätzen. Klimaanpassung und Klimaschutz als Motivatoren spielen hingegen – wenn überhaupt – nur eine deutlich untergeordnete Rolle.

Darüber hinaus bestehen in den USA zwei regionale Emissionshandelssysteme: das kalifornische Handelssystem sowie das System der Ostküstenstaaten, die Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI). Die RGGI besteht seit dem Jahr 2009 und umfasst heute die Bundesstaaten Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island und Vermont. Die RGGI verpflichtet die Teilnehmer, ihre CO2-Emissionen aus der Stromerzeugung durch Emissionszertifikate zu decken. Verpflichtet sind fossile Stromerzeugungsanlagen über 25 Megawatt. Die Gesamtmenge an Zertifikaten (Cap) lag 2016 bei 86,5 Millionen Tonnen und wird jährlich um 2,5 Prozent gemindert. Im kalifornischen Handelssystem besteht eine Preisuntergrenze, die jedoch dazu geführt hat, dass seit Anfang 2016 bei den Auktionen die Angebotsmenge nicht mehr abgesetzt werden konnte. Bei der letzten RGGI-Auktion im März 2017 lag der Preis bei nur noch drei US-Dollar je Tonne CO2. Insgesamt befindet sich der Emissionshandel in den USA wegen der niedrigen Zertifikatspreise bzw. der geringen Nachfrage in keinem guten Zustand. Besserungen sind kurzfristig nicht zu erwarten.

Quelle: DSIRE 2016
Quelle: DSIRE 2016

INITIATIVEN DES FINANZSEKTORS

Der Finanzsektor ist in verschiedenen Bereichen aktiv: Wichtige nachhaltige Fonds in den USA sind u. a. der Green Century Equity Fund, der Vanguard FTSE Social Equity Fund sowie das Calvert Large Cap Core Portfolio und das Fidelity Select Environment & Alternative Energy Portfolio. Mittlerweile haben sich Green Bonds in den USA zu einem wachsenden Markt entwickelt mit 7,5 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2016. Die weltweit größte grüne Anleihe emittierte Apple mit 1,5 Milliarden US-Dollar. Unter den Bankhäusern führt die Bank of America den globalen Green-Bond-Markt an.

Etliche Banken sind Selbstverpflichtungen eingegangen, aus der Kohleförderung und -nutzung auszusteigen, darunter Citigroup, Bank of America, Morgan Stanley und Wells Fargo. Auch haben sich fast alle wichtigen Banken in den USA zu den Equator Principles für das Management von ökologischen und sozialen Risiken in Projekten bekannt. Außerdem haben sich einige Banken dazu verpflichtet, Klimainvestitionen in einem bestimmten Umfang zu tätigen. So setzte sich die Citigroup bereits 2015 das Ziel, 100 Milliarden US-Dollar in den Klimaschutz zu investieren, allerdings weltweit verteilt und über einen Zeitraum von zehn Jahren, wodurch sich diese Zahl wieder relativiert.

EINSCHRÄNKUNGEN UND HEMMNISSE

Ungeachtet der genannten Selbstverpflichtungen sind etliche Banken weiterhin im Mineralölsektor aktiv. Unter anderem finanzieren Citigroup, SunTrust Robinson Humphrey, TD Bank und Wells Fargo die umstrittene Dakota Access Pipeline bzw. deren Muttergesellschaft Energy Transfer Partners. Ein weiteres Beispiel zeigt, wie kompliziert die Einhaltung freiwilliger Selbstverpflichtungen ist: Obwohl sich JPMorgan Chase dazu bekannt hatte, keine Kohleprojekte mehr zu fördern, hat das Bankhaus nun gemeinsam mit BNP Paribas damit begonnen, Käufer für eine Anleihe über 250 Millionen Euro der polnischen ENERGA Finance AB, der Finanztochter des polnischen Energieunternehmens ENERGA S.A., zu suchen. Da die Anleihe nicht direkt dem Kraftwerksneubau zugeschrieben werden kann, ist JPMorgan Chase im engeren Sinne nicht wortbrüchig. Während die Erfahrungen der Investoren aufgrund der Steuervergünstigungen bei Wind- und Solarenergie sehr positiv sind, fielen sie im Bereich der Biokraftstoffe eher negativ aus, insbesondere bei den Biokraftstoffen der sogenannten dritten Generation, also den Enzym- und Algen-Biokraftstoffen.

Nach aktuellem Stand verfolgt die neue US-Regierung nicht das Ziel, die private Klimafinanzierung zu stärken. Folglich ist auch die G20 als Rahmen oder Motor hierfür aus Sicht der USA wenig geeignet. Bereits beim Treffen der G20-Finanzminister im März 2017 setzte sich die neue US-Regierung damit durch, dass das Thema Klimafinanzierung nicht im Communiqué erschien. Die Erwartungen der heimischen Akteure in den USA, dass die G20 im Bereich der privaten Klimafinanzierung einen Beitrag wird leisten können, sind vor diesem Hintergrund äußerst verhalten.

FAZIT UND AUSBLICK

Private Akteure werden in den USA bis auf weiteres die treibende Kraft für private Klimainvestitionen in den USA sein. Aus Sicht der Finanzakteure, die sich für Klimainvestitionen einsetzen, sind die Geschäftsaussichten in den USA allerdings nicht günstig, auch wenn etliche große Unternehmen an ihren Klimainvestitionen festhalten werden, allen voran die Technologieunternehmen. Trotz der vorhandenen Anreize für Klimainvestitionen fehlt privaten Investoren in den USA vor allem langfristige Planungssicherheit. Der regulatorische Rahmen unterliegt erheblichen Schwankungen, was langfristige Investitionen bremst. Darüber hinaus fehlt eine preisliche Berücksichtigung von Umwelt-, Ressourcen- und Klimarisiken für Investitionsentscheidungen. Die staatlichen Stellen sind seit neuestem angehalten, die sozialen Kosten des Klimawandels nicht mehr zu berücksichtigen. Eine nationale Bepreisung von Treibhausgasemissionen ist derzeit nicht absehbar. Der Clean Power Plan wird vermutlich – wenn überhaupt – nur in sehr abgeschwächter Form weiterbestehen, was die klimapolitischen Ambitionen der Bundesstaaten in den kommenden Jahren verringern dürfte.


ÜBER DEN AUTOR

Max Grünig ist Präsident des Ecologic Institute, Washington D.C.


WEITERFÜHRENDE LITERATUR:

National Renewable Energy Laboratory 2017: Energy Analysis: Voluntary Green Power Procurement, in: http://bit.ly/2v6flmz (04.07.2017).

National Renewable Energy Laboratory 2016: Corporate Renew-able Energy Procurement, in: http://bit.ly/2uLXh1Y (04.07.2017).

Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative 2017: Annual Report on the Market for RGGI CO2 Allowances: 2016, in: http://bit.ly/2ucRqWb (04.07.2017).


zum Anfang springen