jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

France has made extremely ambitious commitments in connection with the ­reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. The French finance ministry predicts short-term investment needs till the year 2020 of between 40 to 60 billion euros annually. However, in its present form, the climate finance regulation in France depicts rather a brake for investments on account of the regulatory rules provided. The determination of a significant CO2 price could ­accelerate the redirection of private finance in the direction of low CO2 investments.

The General Electric offshore wind turbine plant in Montoir-de-Bretagne, near Saint-Nazaire, in western France.© Stephane Mahe, Reuters
The General Electric offshore wind turbine plant in Montoir-de-Bretagne, near Saint-Nazaire, in western France.

THE ROLE OF PRIVATE FINANCING FOR CLIMATE PROTECTION

In the 2015 “Energy Transition for Green Growth” Act, there is a provision for reducing the emission of greenhouse gases in France by 75 percent (default value from 1990). During the COP 22 in Marrakech, the French President tightened this ambitious goal further as he announced the same time-frame of emission neutrality for France. The challenge is enormous and requires a massive redirection of investment and the corresponding finances towards solutions without carbon in order to produce energy, ensure traffic mobility and provide accommodation and nourishment.

The French finance ministry predicts short-term investment needs till the year 2020 of between 40 to 60 billion euros annually. This funding framework corresponds to between ten and 15 percent of total investment in France. In its 2015 panorama of climate financing, the Think Tank 14CE (Caisse des Depots and AFD) mentions an estimated annual volume of 32 billion euros for France; 12.8 billion for energy efficiency, 6.5 billion for renewable energies (EE), 10.6 billion for the construction and modernization of sustainable transport and network infrastructure as well as 2.1 billion for the rehabilitation of nuclear power plants (KKW) and the war against other greenhouse gases (THG). 40 percent of this finance is provided by the state, business enterprises and households bear another 30 percent each.

If France wants to fulfil the assumed commitments, it would have to invest around 15 billion euros more annually till 2020 (around ten billion alone would be for the energy efficient rehabilitation of buildings). The additional need for finance is however quite modest and above all it involves redirecting private investments: less for fossil fuel energy sources and energy production capacities and more for renewable energies and energy efficiency. Also, if private finances do not flow in spontaneously, then it is of course to be positively noted that an excess of private finances are available today. Each publicly invested euro provides maximum leverage for private financing. A challenge exists for the public sector to create the conditions for finance intermediation to redirect private investments by guaranteeing an adequate return.

The financial sector, so far rather indifferent to climate issues, has approached the topic step by step with an increasing attention span starting from risk perspectives. Of the three risks, which Mark Carney differentiates (physical risk, transition risk, legal risk), the risk of the transition from the carbon world to a carbon-free world and the consequent world of stranded assets, is probably the main flash point of interest for the finance community about climate change.

The transition risk is especially critical for the enterprises which produce fossil fuel sources because in case of the two degree Celsius scenario, 80 percent of the coal, crude oil and natural gas reserves have to remain under the earth. Their share market value, however, is partly determined by the size of the confirmed reserves. On account of the influence of coal and crude oil companies on financial parameters, the argument of a “carbon bubble” gains credibility with long-term investors and regulatory bodies.

Banks, insurance companies and investors have assumed considerable obligations in 2015 and 2016 within the scope of the Montreal Carbon Pledge, to reduce their CO2 footprint by disinvestment in the coal sector. Recently, 500 enterprises which in total manage over three trillion US dollars, have taken a similar decision. Climate financing has thereby found a permanent place on the agenda of international economic and financing governance.

Source: Institute for Climate Economics
Source: Institute for Climate Economics

TRANSPARENCY AND REGULATION OF THE FINANCE SYSTEM

In France, investors must consider and be accountable for environmental aspects in their investment policy according to Article 173 of the statute on energy transition for green growth and especially the issues connected with climate risks. Although the relevant risk assessment methods have not yet been stipulated, the protagonists of the private sector have shown themselves to be extremely innovative considering the publication of this new type of strategic data. At end of October 2016, the Department of the Environment offered a prize “for the best reporting”. This French standard should serve as guideline for international rules and standards.

Apart from the risk transparency, the handling of institutional investors with finances, the usage of benchmark indices as well as the institutional and regulatory environment of the financial system have to be aligned with the time horizon of the climate challenge. However, in its present form, this financial regulation depicts rather a brake for investments on account of the regulatory rules provided. Therefore, some protagonists are pleading for environmental risk to be included in the upcoming discussions about the future regulatory standards.

GREEN BONDS

The green financing business of banks remains marginal; green bonds provide one percent of the total bond market. Analogous to it, only one percent of the assets of institutional investors are invested in green and sustainable infrastructures. What makes the situation more difficult is the definition problem of the selection criteria for projects to have entitlement to green bond financing: nuclear energy projects, natural gas installations, coal power plants’ rehabilitation? The definition of the criteria was till now left to the private sector on whose initiative the “green bonds principles” (2016) are based. The strong impulse triggered by the issue of the first green state bonds by France in January 2017 (amounting to seven billion euros) will make a contribution to structuring this market.

In order to accelerate the growth of the green finance sector, the Stern-Stiglitz Review (2017) that defines a corridor of benchmarks for climate measures, recommends integrating such benchmarks into the financing instruments. If the value of the CO2 emissions that were avoided with the help of green-financed investments is offset and guaranteed by the state sector, the risk of these investments is reduced and through it the financing costs will be more favourable.

CO2 PRICING

The determination of a significant CO2 price could accelerate the redirection of private finance towards low CO2 investments. France pleaded in 2016 in the EU for a vigorous reform of the emission business. With the help of a price corridor, the market price signal should be adequately strengthened in order to trigger low CO2 investments in the industry.

At the national level, in the energy transition law of 2015, France has established an ambitious development of CO2 tax which shall increase from 30.5 euros per ton in 2017 to 56 euros per ton in 2020 and to 100 euros per ton in 2030. The CO2 tax mainly concerns diffuse CO2 emissions in the private transport and residential sector. This long-term development must now be set on a credible basis so that households and business enterprises can invest with corresponding confidence in the stability of the price development.

GIVE LONG-TERM INVESTMENTS A SOCIAL VALUE

Transparency in environmental risks, reporting of the two degree Celsius portfolios, new approaches to finance regulation, clear definition of green investments, CO2 pricing and finance-engineering are necessary elements in order to align the financial system in a novel manner. All these elements are necessary to divert long-term investments in the battle against climate change. They are therefore of social benefit. This means that private finances need to be steered in harmony with big public investment projects more or less directly towards carbon-free projects. Without the involvement of the public when defining the course of action and the values to be achieved, any further investments from or on behalf of the central banks, or new investment incentives, will not have any long-term impact on growth.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Baptiste Perrissin Fabert is a specialist in climate finance at France Stratégie.


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Frankreich ist in Bezug auf die Reduzierung von ­Treibhausgas­emissionen äußerst ehr­geizige Verpflichtungen eingegangen. Das französische Finanzministerium rechnet mit einem kurzfristigen Investitionsbedarf bis zum Jahr 2020 von jährlich zwischen 40 und 60 Milliarden Euro. In ihrer ­jetzigen Form stellt die Klima­finanzregulierung in Frankreich aufgrund der ­vorgegebenen aufsichtsrechtlichen Regeln allerdings eher eine Bremse für Investitionen dar. Die Festsetzung eines signifikanten CO2-Preises könnte die Umlenkung von privaten Finanzmitteln in Richtung CO2-armer Investitionen beschleunigen.

Das General Electric-Montagewerk für Offshore-Windkraft in Montoir-de-Bretagne, in der Nähe von Saint-Nazaire, in Westfrankreich.© Stephane Mahe, Reuters
Das General Electric-Montagewerk für Offshore-Windkraft in Montoir-de-Bretagne, in der Nähe von Saint-Nazaire, in Westfrankreich.

DIE ROLLE DER PRIVATEN KLIMASCHUTZFINANZIERUNG

Im Gesetz von 2015 zur „Energiewende für grünes Wachstum” ist vorgesehen, den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen bis 2050 um 75 Prozent zu verringern (Ausgangswert 1990). Bei der COP 22 in Marrakesch verschärfte der französische Staatspräsident dieses ambitionierte Ziel noch, als er für Frankreich für den gleichen Zeithorizont die Emissionsneutralität ankündigte. Die Herausforderung ist riesig und erfordert eine massive Umlenkung der Investitionen und der entsprechenden Finanzmittel in Richtung Dekarbonisierungslösungen im Bereich Energie, Mobilität, Wohnen und Ernährung.

Das französische Finanzministerium geht von einem kurzfristigen Investitionsbedarf bis zum Jahr 2020 von jährlich zwischen 40 und 60 Milliarden Euro aus. Dieser Finanzierungsrahmen entspricht zehn bis 15 Prozent der französischen Gesamtinvestitionen. Der Think-Tank I4CE (Caisse des Depots und Agence Française de Développement) nennt in seinem Panorama der Klimafinanzierung ein geschätztes Jahresvolumen 2015 von 32 Milliarden Euro für Frankreich: 12,8 Milliarden für Energieeffizienz, 6,5 Milliarden für erneuerbare Energien (EE), 10,6 Milliarden für den Bau und die Modernisierung nachhaltiger Verkehrs- und Netzinfrastrukturen und 2,1 Milliarden für die Sanierung des KKW-Parks und den Kampf gegen andere Treibhausgasemissionen. Zu 40 Prozent werden diese Finanzmittel vom Staat erbracht, die Unternehmen und Haushalte tragen jeweils 30  Prozent bei.

Will Frankreich die eingegangenen Verpflichtungen erfüllen, müssten bis 2020 jährlich rund 15 Milliarden Euro mehr investiert werden (rund zehn Milliarden allein für energieeffiziente Gebäudesanierungen). Der zusätzliche Finanzierungsbedarf ist allerdings recht bescheiden und es geht vor allem darum, private Investitionen umzulenken: weniger für fossile Energieträger und Energieerzeugungskapazitäten und mehr für EE und Energieeffizienz. Auch wenn private Finanzmittel nicht spontan hierhin fließen, so ist doch positiv zu vermerken, dass private Finanzmittel heute im Überfluss vorhanden sind. Für jeden öffentlich investierten Euro kann mit einer maximalen Hebelwirkung für private Finanzierungen gerechnet werden. Für die öffentliche Hand besteht die Herausforderung darin, über eine entsprechende Finanzintermediation die Bedingungen für eine Umlenkung der privaten Investitionen zu schaffen, indem eine ausreichende Rendite garantiert wird.

Die bislang Klimafragen gegenüber eher indifferente Finanzbranche hat sich dem Thema nach und nach von der Risikoperspektive ausgehend genähert. Von den drei Risiken, die Mark Carney unterscheidet (physisches Risiko, Transitionsrisiko, rechtliches Risiko), ist das Risiko des Übergangs von der karbonisierten Welt in eine dekarbonisierte Welt und folglich eine Welt von Stranded Assets wohl der Hauptauslöser für das Interesse der Finanz-Community am Klimawandel.

Das Transitionsrisiko ist für Unternehmen, die fossile Energieträger produzieren, besonders kritisch, da bei dem Zwei-Grad-Szenario 80 Prozent der Kohle-, Erdöl- und Erdgasvorkommen unter der Erde bleiben müssen, ihr Börsenwert jedoch teilweise von der Größe der bestätigten Vorkommen bestimmt wird. Aufgrund des Einflusses der Kohle- und Mineralölgesellschaften auf die finanziellen Kenngrößen gewinnt das Argument der „CO2-Blase” bei langfristigen Investoren und Regulierungsorganen an Glaubwürdigkeit.

Banken, Versicherungsgesellschaften und Investoren sind 2015 und 2016 im Rahmen des Montreal Carbon Pledge erhebliche Verpflichtungen eingegangen, um ihren CO2-Abdruck durch ein Desinvestment im Kohlesektor zu reduzieren. Kürzlich haben 500 Unternehmen, die insgesamt über drei Billionen US-Dollar verwalten, eine ähnliche Entscheidung getroffen. Damit hat die Klimafinanzierung einen festen Platz auf der Agenda der internationalen Wirtschafts- und Finanz-Governance gefunden.

Quelle: Institute for Climate Economics
Quelle: Institute for Climate Economics

TRANSPARENZ UND REGULIERUNG DES FINANZSYSTEMS

In Frankreich müssen Investoren in ihrer Investitionspolitik gemäß Artikel 173 im Gesetz über die Energiewende für grünes Wachstum Umweltaspekte und insbesondere die mit Klimarisiken verbundenen Belange berücksichtigen und Rechenschaft darüber ablegen. Zwar sind die einschlägigen Risikobewertungsmethoden noch nicht festgeschrieben, aber die Akteure des Privatsektors sind hinsichtlich der Veröffentlichung dieser neuartigen strategischen Daten äußert innovativ. Das Umweltministerium hat dafür Ende Oktober 2016 einen Preis für „das beste Reporting” ausgelobt. Dieser französische Standard soll als Richtschnur für die internationalen Regelwerke dienen.

Neben der Risikotransparenz muss der Umgang der institutionellen Anleger mit den Finanzmitteln, die Verwendung von Vergleichsindizes und das institutionelle und regulative Umfeld des Finanzsystems an den zeitlichen Horizont der Klimaherausforderung angeglichen werden.

In ihrer jetzigen Form stellt diese Finanzregulierung aufgrund der vorgegebenen aufsichtsrechtlichen Regeln allerdings eher eine Bremse für Investitionen dar. Deshalb plädieren manche Akteure dafür, das Umweltrisiko in die anstehenden Diskussionen über die künftigen aufsichtsrechtlichen Standards aufzunehmen.

GRÜNE ANLEIHEN

Das grüne Finanzierungsgeschäft der Banken bleibt marginal, grüne Anleihen stellen ein Prozent des gesamten Rentenmarktes.Analog dazu wird nur ein Prozent der Aktiva der institutionellen Anleger in grüne oder nachhaltige Infrastrukturen investiert. Erschwerend hinzu kommt die Definitionsproblematik der Auswahlkriterien für Projekte, die Anrecht auf eine Green-Bond-Finanzierung haben: Kernenergieprojekte, Erdgasanlagen, Kohlekraftwerksanierung? Die Definition der Kriterien war bislang dem Privatsektor überlassen, auf dessen Initiative die Green Bonds Principles (2016) beruhen. Der starke Impuls, ausgelöst von der Ausgabe der ersten grünen Staatsanleihen durch Frankreich im Januar 2017 (in Höhe von sieben Milliarden Euro), wird dazu beitragen, diesen Markt zu strukturieren.

Um das Wachstum des grünen Finanzsektors zu beschleunigen, empfiehlt der „Stern-Stiglitz-Bericht” (2017), der einen Korridor von Bezugswerten für Klimamaßnahmen definiert, solche Werte in die Finanzinstrumente zu integrieren. Wird der Wert der CO2-Emissionen, die mittels grün finanzierter Investitionen vermieden wurden, angerechnet und von der öffentlichen Hand garantiert, wird das Risiko dieser Investitionen gemindert und dadurch sinken die Finanzierungskosten.

CO2-BEPREISUNG

Die Festsetzung eines signifikanten CO2-Preises könnte die Umlenkung von privaten Finanzmitteln in Richtung CO2-armer Investitionen beschleunigen. Frankreich setzte sich 2016 in der EU für eine energische Reform des Emissionshandels ein. Mittels eines Preiskorridors sollte das Marktpreissignal ausreichend verstärkt werden, um CO2-arme Investitionen in der Industrie auszulösen.

Auf nationaler Ebene hat Frankreich in dem Energiewendegesetz von 2015 eine ehrgeizige Entwicklung der CO2-Steuer festgeschrieben, die von 30,5 Euro pro Tonne im Jahr 2017 im Jahr 2020 auf 56 Euro pro Tonne und im Jahr 2030 auf 100 Euro pro Tonne steigen soll. Die CO2-Steuer betrifft hauptsächlich diffuse CO2-Emissionen im Privatverkehr und Wohnungssektor. Diese Langzeitentwicklung muss nun auf eine glaubwürdige Basis gestellt werden, damit Haushalte und Unternehmen mit entsprechendem Vertrauen in die Stabilität der Preisentwicklung investieren können.

FAZIT: LANGFRISTIGEN INVESTITIONEN EINEN GESELLSCHAFTLICHEN WERT GEBEN

Transparenz der Umweltrisiken, Reporting der Zwei-Grad-Celsius-Portfolios, neue Ansätze für die Finanzregulierung, klare Definition der grünen Investitionen, CO2-Pricing und das Finanz-Engineering sind erforderliche Elemente, um das Finanzsystem neu auszurichten. All diese Elemente haben zum Ziel, langfristige Investitionen für den Kampf gegen Klimawandel umzulenken. Dadurch sollen sie einen gesellschaftlichen Nutzen erhalten. Das bedeutet, dass private Finanzmittel im Einklang mit den großen öffentlichen Investitionsprojekten mehr oder weniger direkt in Richtung dekarbonisierte Projekte gelenkt werden. Ohne staatliche Beteiligung bei der Klärung der Kursrichtung und der zu erreichenden Werte werden auch alle weiteren Investitionen seitens der Zentralbanken oder neue Investitionsanreize keine dauerhafte wachstumsfördernde Wirkung haben.

ÜBER DEN AUTOR

Baptiste Perrissin Fabert ist Spezialist für Klimafinanzierung bei France Stratégie.


zum Anfang springen