jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

Green bonds – vanilla bonds with their proceeds earmarked for green initiatives – can potentially deliver significant financial flows for climate change action. Collectively, the EU and China are the largest issuers of green bonds. Despite this attribute, the growth of the green bond market in Europe is still inhibited by definitional and stan­dardisation issues. However, policy support for green bonds is strong in the EU which suggests that there is ­potential for the scaling up of the market.

There is still no common standard for green bonds in the EU.© ilolab, AdobeStock
There is still no common standard for green bonds in the EU.

BACKGROUND

Given the significant investment needs to realign the global economy with a low carbon climate resilient future, financial flows will be required from all sources, including both public (government) and private (commercial) actors. According to the International Energy Agency (IEA), aiming to limit temperature increase to two degrees Celsius, investment in low-carbon power generation would need to increase by a factor of three while energy efficiency would need to increase by a factor of eight – a cumulative investment of 53 trillion US dollars by 2035. This represents, between 780 billion and 2.3 trillion US dollars by 2020 and 2035, respectively, in annual low-carbon infrastructure investment, and cumulative investment of 53 trillion US dollars by 2035.

Financial innovation and the development of new green investment products will be vital in meeting the infrastructure financing gap. Green bonds – “plain vanilla bonds” with proceeds used for green initiatives – are an example of a promising financial innovation that enables proactive climate investment strategies. The green bond market has grown substantially in recent years.In 2015, the amount of labelled green bonds increased to 42 billion US dollars from 37 billion in 2014. As per July 2016, the labelled green market stood at 118 billion US dollars while the unlabelled climate-aligned bonds equalled 576 billion US dollars. Despite this booming growth, green bonds remain only a small fraction of the total bond market, approximately 0.1 percent.

Standards ensure that the proceeds from green bonds are used for green projects with measurable green benefits. Although there is no internationally accepted standard of green, the Green Bond Principles provide voluntary guidance and external environmental reviews are becoming best practice. However, these practices vary by issuer and by region, raising a risk of “green-washing” that could deter some investors. “Green-washing” in the context of green bonds refers to bonds labelled as green but the proceeds are allocated to projects that possess little or questionable environmental integrity. Approximately 40 percent of green bond issuances are self-labelled green, i. e. the issuer does not use an independent external review but determines what is green with no external environmental quality checks.

Source: Barrett 2012
Source: Barrett 2012

THE GREEN BOND MARKET IN THE EU

Some green bond thought leaders have suggested that the European market be standardised through the implementation of a European Green Bonds Standard. Standardisation is a critical issue in all green bond markets, including the EU. It may be more advisable for European actors (supported by the G7 or G20) to first increase transparency on green bond definitions as it must be recognized that one standard does not fit issuers and investors in all regions. A comparison of external reviewers and implied definitions in green bond funds, indices, and securities market listings could guide issuers and investors alike in green bond decisions.

Kidney and Sonerud (2015) also suggest that EU policy makers could support the expansion of green asset backed securities (ABS) which are defined as green bonds backed by pools of loans or other revenue generating assets. Green ABS make it easier for banks to make green investments as banks can get loans to green projects off their balance sheets. The Climate Bonds Initiative states that there is policy support for securitization in the European Commission and the European Central Bank. Lastly, ABS can further support the Europe 2020 project bond initiative by the European Investment Bank (EIB) which targets increased reliance on bond financing at the project level.

EXPERIENCES AND CHALLENGES IN THE GREEN BOND MARKET

This risk-return of green bonds must be more attractive to institutional investors than the risk-return of vanilla bonds. The public sector can also play a role in de-risking green bonds to attract a broader investor pool. There are various instruments that can be used by the public sector to provide credit enhancement including guarantees, sub-ordinated debt or equity, insurance and political risk insurance. The World Bank and the IFC were pioneers in creating the green bond market, issuing 8.1 million US dollars and 3.4 million as per July 2016, respectively. The strong credit ratings (AAA) of development institutions allow them to introduce green bonds to institutional investors without significant levels of credit risk making them more attractive, particularly in emerging economies.

For issuers, there is a general lack of awareness of the additional requirements and transaction costs in issuing a green bond versus a traditional bond. The voluntary Green Bond Principles are interpreted in different ways by different issuers. There are many external review providers with different approaches. Some issuers already have a strong capacity for environmental impact reporting, e. g. multilateral development banks, whereas others are just starting to consider the environmental impacts of their operations and products. Increased transparency and guidance on steps to issue a green bond could support increased issuance, especially by corporations.

For investors, transparency on environmental impacts can help guide financial decisions. The Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures convened by the Financial Stability Board recommends disclosure of potential impacts of climate risk for companies and financial organisations. This provides strong impetus for financial decision-makers and companies to seek information on climate risk. A useful framework for green bond assessment is the Shades of Green approach used by CICERO, an external reviewer, which allows for a transparent comparison of green bonds as to how well they support a low carbon climate resilient future. A broader application of such an approach across the green bond market could raise the level of publically available climate risk information to a broad set of investors.

CONCLUSION

Globally, European and Chinese issuers make up the largest portion of the climate aligned bond market. In Europe, France and the UK are the biggest issuers. Despite the growth of the Green Bond market in Europe, capacity building and awareness raising is still needed to diversify the pool of actors. Such initiatives could be directed at institutional investors and potential issuers to elaborate on potential green project types and climate risk while attracting actors who are not familiar with green bonds. Political groups including the G7 and G20 could further strengthen the case for such initiatives.

About the authors

Kamleshan Pillay is a climate finance researcher at CICERO Center for International Climate and Environmental Research, Oslo.

Christa Clapp is Head of Climate Finance at CICERO.


FURTHER READING

Barrett, Thomas C. 2012: Financing and Procurement of EU Infrastructure, Presentation, Irish Centre for European Law, in: http://bit.ly/2vwJtrA (10 Jul 2017).

Clapp, Christa/Alfsen, Knut H./Francke Lund, Harald/Pillay, Kamleshan 2016: Green Bonds and Environmental Integrity: Insights from CICERO Second Opinions, Policy Note 2016:01, in: http://bit.ly/2vd7zIG (10 Jul 2017).

Climate Bonds Initiative 2015, Scaling up Green Bond Markets for Sustainable Development, pp. 1-52.

Kidney, Sean/Sonerud, Beate 2015: Green Bonds: How to Grow the Market, Europe’s World, in: http://bit.ly/2uDvhjV (10 Jul 2017).

OECD 2015, Green Bonds: Mobilizing Debt Capital Markets for a Low-Carbon Transition, OECD Publishing.

Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) 2017: Final Report: Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (June 2017), in: http://bit.ly/2utyOBe (10 Jul 2017).

Torvanger, Asbjørn/Narbel, Patrick/Pillay, Kamleshan/Clapp, Christa 2016: Instruments to Incentivize Private Climate Finance for Developing Countries, CICERO Report: 2016:08, in: http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2420794 (10 Jul 2017).


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Grüne Anleihen als Plain Vanilla Bonds könnten mit ihren für grüne Initiativen gekennzeichneten Erträgen ­erhebliche ­Finanzflüsse für den Klimaschutz ­liefern. Gemeinsam sind die EU und China weltweit die größten Ausgeber grüner Anleihen. Dessen ungeachtet wird das ­Wachstum des ­europäischen Markts für grüne ­Anleihen noch immer durch Definitions- und Standardisie­rungsfragen gehemmt. Dennoch gibt es in der EU eine ­starke gesetzliche Unterstützung für grüne Anleihen, was auf eine ­potenzielle ­Ausweitung dieses Markts hindeutet.

Einen gemeinsamen Standard für grüne Anleihen gibt es in der EU noch nicht.© ilolab, AdobeStock
Einen gemeinsamen Standard für grüne Anleihen gibt es in der EU noch nicht.

HINTERGRUND

Angesichts der erheblichen Investitionen, die benötigt werden, um die globale Wirtschaft auf eine CO2-arme, klimaresiliente Zukunft auszurichten, werden finanzielle Investitionen aus allen Quellen erforderlich sein, sowohl von den öffentlich (staatlich) als auch von den privat (wirtschaftlich) Beteiligten. Um die globale Erwärmung auf zwei Grad Celsius zu begrenzen, müsste laut der Internationalen Energieagentur (IEA) die Investition in CO2-arme Energiegewinnung um den Faktor Drei und in Energieeffizienz um den Faktor Acht steigen – eine Gesamtinvestition von 53 Billionen US-Dollar bis 2035. Das macht bis 2020 bzw. 2035 zwischen 780 Milliarden US-Dollar und 2,3 Billionen an jährlichen Investitionen in eine CO2-arme Infrastruktur.

Um die Finanzierungslücke für die Infrastruktur zu schließen, sind Innovationen im Finanzsektor und die Entwicklung neuer grüner Investmentprodukte entscheidend. Grüne Anleihen – sogenannte Plain Vanilla Bonds, bei denen die Erlöse für grüne Initiativen verwendet werden – sind ein Beispiel für eine vielversprechende Innovation im Finanzsektor, die proaktive Klimainvestitionsstrategien ermöglicht. Der Green-Bond-Markt ist in den letzten Jahren erheblich gewachsen; die Menge an gelabelten grünen Anleihen stieg von 37 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2014 auf 42 Milliarden im Jahr 2015. Im Juli 2016 stand der gelabelte „grüne Markt” bei 118 Milliarden US-Dollar, während nichtgelabelte klimabezogene Anleihen 576 Milliarden US-Dollar ausmachten. Trotz dieses boomenden Wachstums machen grüne Anleihen weiterhin nur einen kleinen Anteil des gesamten Anleihemarktes aus, nämlich ungefähr 0,1 Prozent.

DER GREEN-BOND-MARKT IN DER EU

Standardisierung ist ein kritischer Punkt in allen Green-Bond-Märkten, auch in der EU. Standards gewährleisten, dass die Erlöse aus den grünen Anleihen für „grüne” Projekte mit messbar positiven Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt verwendet werden. Führende Vordenker in diesem Bereich haben vorgeschlagen, den EU-Markt durch die Einführung eines europäischen Green Bond Standards zu standardisieren. Für die europäischen Beteiligten (unterstützt durch die G7 oder G20) ist es eventuell ratsamer, zunächst die Transparenz der Definitionen von grünen Anleihen zu erhöhen, da ein Standard zugegebenermaßen eventuell nicht für Emittenten und Investoren in allen Regionen geeignet ist. Ein Vergleich von externen Gutachtern und impliziten Definitionen von Green Bond Funds, Indizes und Kursnotizen von Wertpapieren könnte sowohl für Emittenten als auch für Investoren eine Hilfestellung bei Entscheidungen in Bezug auf Green Bonds darstellen.

Kidney und Sonerud (2015) schlagen ebenfalls vor, dass die Entscheidungsträger in der EU die Ausweitung von grünen forderungsbesicherten Wertpapieren (Asset-backed Securities, ABS) unterstützen könnten, die als durch Darlehenspools oder andere Einnahmen schaffende Vermögenswerte gesicherte grüne Anleihen definiert werden. Grüne ABS erleichtern grüne Investitionen für Banken, da die Banken Darlehen für grüne Projekte in ihren Bilanzen abschreiben können. Die Climate Bonds Initiative stellt fest, dass bestehende Richtlinien die Verbriefung in der Europäischen Kommission und der Europäischen Zentralbank unterstützen. Zu guter Letzt können ABS eine zusätzliche Unterstützung der „Europa-2020-Projektanleiheninitiative” der Europäischen Investitionsbank (EIB) darstellen, deren Ziel mehr Vertrauen in Anleihefinanzierung auf Projektebene ist.

ERFAHRUNGEN UND HERAUSFORDERUNGEN AUF DEM GREEN-BOND-MARKT

Obwohl es keinen international akzeptierten Standard gibt, der als „grün” gilt, bieten die Green-Bond-Prinzipien freiwillige Richtlinien und externe Umweltprüfungen, die sich bewähren. Diese variieren jedoch je nach Emittent und Region, was das Risiko des sogenannten „Greenwashings” erhöht, was manche Investoren abschrecken könnte. „Greenwashing” bezieht sich im Kontext der Green Bonds auf Anleihen, die zwar als „grün” ausgewiesen werden, aber deren Erlöse für Projekte verwendet werden, deren Umweltfreundlichkeit gering oder zweifelhaft ist. Ungefähr 40 Prozent der ausgegebenen Green Bonds werden vom Emittenten selbst als „grün” bezeichnet, d. h., sie werden nicht extern geprüft, sondern der Emittent bestimmt selbst, ohne externe Umweltprüfungen, was „grün” ist.

Das Rendite-Risiko-Profil von grünen Anleihen muss für institutionelle Investoren attraktiver sein als das Rendite-Risiko-Profil von Plain Vanilla Bonds. Der öffentliche Sektor kann ebenfalls eine Rolle bei der risikoärmeren Gestaltung von grünen Anleihen spielen, um mehr Investoren anzuziehen. Es gibt verschiedene Instrumente, mit deren Hilfe der öffentliche Sektor diese fördern kann, u. a. Bonitätsverbesserungen, Garantien, nachrangige Verbindlichkeiten oder Eigenkapital, Kreditversicherungen und Versicherung von politischen Risiken. Die Weltbank und die IFC waren Pioniere bei der Schaffung des Green-Bond-Marktes; bis Juli 2016 gaben sie Anleihen im Wert von 8,1 bzw. 3,4 Millionen US-Dollar aus. Die starken Kreditwürdigkeitseinstufungen (AAA) von Entwicklungsinstitutionen ermöglichen es diesen, Green Bonds für institutionelle Investoren ohne großes Kreditrisiko einzuführen, was sie attraktiver macht, insbesondere in Schwellenländern.

Bei den Emittenten bestehen allgemein Defizite in Bezug auf die Berücksichtigung von zusätzlichen Anforderungen und Transaktionskosten für die Ausgabe eines Green Bonds gegenüber einer traditionellen Anleihe. Die freiwilligen Green-Bond-Prinzipien werden von unterschiedlichen Emittenten unterschiedlich ausgelegt. Es gibt viele externe Gutachter mit unterschiedlichen Ansätzen. Manche Emittenten verfügen bereits über leistungsfähige Kapazitäten für Umweltfolgenabschätzung, z. B. multilaterale Entwicklungsbanken, während andere gerade erst anfangen, sich über die Umweltauswirkungen ihrer Geschäfte und Produkte Gedanken zu machen. Erhöhte Transparenz und Unterstützung bei den Schritten zur Ausgabe einer grünen Anleihe könnten zu einer vermehrten Ausgabe führen, besonders durch Unternehmen.

Für Investoren kann Transparenz in Bezug auf Umweltauswirkungen Einfluss auf finanzielle Entscheidungen nehmen. Die vom Finanzstabilitätsrat einberufene Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) empfiehlt die Offenlegung von möglichen Auswirkungen des Klimarisikos für Unternehmen und Finanzorganisationen. Dies bietet einen starken Anreiz für Entscheidungsträger im Finanzbereich und Unternehmen, nach Informationen zum Klimarisiko zu suchen. Ein nützliches Bezugssystem für die Bewertung grüner Anleihen ist der des Center for International Climate and Environmental Research (CICERO), einem externen Prüfer, verwendete Shades of Green-Ansatz, der einen transparenten Vergleich von grünen Anleihen in Bezug darauf ermöglicht, wie gut sie eine CO2-arme, klimaresiliente Zukunft fördern. Wenn ein derartiger Ansatz im Green-Bond-Markt verstärkt eingesetzt würde, könnte das die Menge an öffentlich verfügbaren Klimarisikodaten auf ein breites Spektrum von Investoren ausdehnen.

Quelle: Barrett 2012
Quelle: Barrett 2012

SCHLUSSFOLGERUNG

Global machen europäische und chinesische Emittenten den größten Anteil des klimabezogenen Anleihemarktes aus. In Europa sind Frankreich und Großbritannien die größten Ausgeber. Trotz des Wachstums des Green-Bond-Marktes in Europa sind weiterhin ein Ausbau der Kapazitäten sowie eine Sensibilisierung erforderlich, um für mehr Vielfalt bei den Beteiligten zu sorgen. Derartige Initiativen könnten sich an institutionelle Investoren und potenzielle Emittenten wenden, um über potenziell grüne Projekttypen und Klimarisiken zu informieren und Marktteilnehmer anzuziehen, die mit grünen Anleihen nicht vertraut sind. Politische Gruppen wie die G7 und G20 könnten sich vermehrt für derartige Initiativen starkmachen.

ÜBER DIE AUTOREN

Kamleshan Pillay ist Forscher für Klimafinanzierung am CICERO Center for International Climate and Environmental Research, Oslo.

Christa Clapp ist Leiterin des Bereichs Klimafinanzierung am CICERO.


WEITERFÜHRENDE LITERATUR

Barrett, Thomas C. 2012: Financing and Procurement of EU Infrastructure, Presentation, Irish Centre for European Law, in: http://bit.ly/2vwJtrA (10.07.2017).

Clapp, Christa/Alfsen, Knut H./Francke Lund, Harald/Pillay, Kamleshan 2016: Green Bonds and Environmental Integrity: Insights from CICERO Second Opinions, Policy Note 2016:01, in: http://bit.ly/2vd7zIG (10.07.2017).

Climate Bonds Initiative 2015, Scaling up Green Bond Markets for Sustainable Development, S. 1–52.

Kidney, Sean/Sonerud, Beate 2015: Green bonds: How to Grow the Market, Europe’s World, in: http://bit.ly/2uDvhjV (10.07.2017).

OECD 2015, Green bonds: Mobilizing Debt Capital Markets for a Low-Carbon Transition, OECD Publishing.

Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) 2017: Final Report: Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (June 2017), in: http://bit.ly/2utyOBe (10.07.2017).

Torvanger, Asbjørn/Narbel, Patrick/Pillay, Kamleshan/Clapp, Christa 2016: Instruments to Incentivize Private Climate Finance for Developing Countries, CICERO Report: 2016:08, in: http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2420794 (10.07.2017).


zum Anfang springen