Event Reports

Educational and interactive program for young party leaders, young politicians and key figures from Kazakhstan

Invited by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, young political leaders of Kazakhstan have spent a week in Berlin. The main theme of the trip was to exchange experiences for further development of the democratic political organizations in Kazakhstan. The program of the visit was organized by the department of internal programs and accompanied by Mr. Thomas Helm, Director of the Foundation in Kazakhstan.

The delegation was welcomed as well by Frank Priess, Evelyn Gaiser and Tomislav Delinic.

President Nursultan Nazarbayev, after his re-election in mid-2015, announced to strengthen the role of the parliament in the constitutional structure. The parliament is dominated by the presidential party Nur Otan with its 80% majority. For the upcoming parliamentary elections in 2016 nobody expects that the opposition will make a significant change.

At the same time, the Kazakh side is visible willing to study the experiences of Germany. In particular, young politicians, decision-makers and civil servants are open to the exchange of experiences with a view on the democratic development of political institutions. In collaboration with the Institute for Public Policy of "Nur Otan" the Konrad Adenauer Foundation successfully conducted (Capacity building) courses to improve the management capacity in the parliament.

A visit to the German Bundestag gave the Kazakh partners the opportunity to learn about the administrative, political and institutional practices that allow members of the Bundestag to fulfill their mandates for the benefit of the citizens. Especially the interaction between the coalition and the opposition showed the importance of a pluralistic structure. During the visit at the Federal Office of the CDU, participants have learned processes such as the interaction between parties in the decision-making process and how to address voters and members of the party.

Contact Person

Thomas Helm

Thomas Helm bild

Resident Representative KAS Kazakhstan

thomas.helm@kas.de +7 7172 92 50 31

About this series

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Ordering Information

erscheinungsort

Berlin Deutschland

Veranstaltungsberichte

Studien- und Dialogprogramm für junge politische Entscheidungsträger aus Kasachstan

Auf Einladung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung sind in dieser Woche junge politische Entscheidungsträger aus Kasachstan zu Gast in Berlin. Im Vordergrund steht der Austausch über die demokratische Weiterentwicklung politischer Institutionen in Kasachstan. Das Besucherprogramm wurde vom Team Inlandsprogramme organisiert und wird von Thomas Helm, Leiter des Auslandsbüro Kasachstan, begleitet.

http://www.kas.de/upload/bilder/2015/12/Kasachstan_web.jpg
Die Delegation mit Thomas Helm, Frank Priess, Evelyn Gaiser und Tomislav Delinic

Nachdem das kasachische Parlament bisher mehr ein ausführendes Organ von Regierungsbeschlüssen im Verfahren der Gesetzgebung war, hat Präsident Nasarbajev nach seiner Wiederwahl Mitte 2015 eine deutliche Stärkung des Parlaments im Verfassungsgefüge angekündigt. Das Parlament wird mit einer 80 Prozent-Mehrheit von der Partei des Präsidenten Nur Otan dominiert. Auch vor den für Anfang 2016 erwarteten Parlamentswahlen ist eine ernst zu nehmende oppositionelle Kraft nicht in Sicht.

Zugleich ist die Bereitschaft von kasachischer Seite, von Deutschland zu lernen, deutlich ausgeprägt. Besonders junge kasachische Nachwuchspolitiker, Entscheidungsträger und Ministeriale sind sehr offen für einen Austausch im Hinblick auf eine demokratische Weiterentwicklung politischer Institutionen. Auch das Erlernen von Fertigkeiten, die eine kommende politische Elite begründen, steht hoch im Kurs. In einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Public Policy Institut der Partei Nur Otan wurde ein Capacity building im Umfeld des Parlaments seitens der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung bisher erfolgreich betrieben.

Mit den Besuchen im Deutschen Bundestag wird den kasachischen Partnern die Möglichkeit gegeben, den administrativen, politischen und institutionellen Rahmen kennenzulernen, der es einem Abgeordneten des Bundestages erst ermöglicht, sein freies Mandat zum Wohle der Bürgerinnen und Bürger auszuüben. Auch werden das Zusammenspiel von Koalition und Opposition und damit der Wert einer pluralistischen Struktur, deutlich werden. Mit einem Besuch in der CDU-Bundesgeschäftsstelle wird zudem herausgearbeitet werden, wie Parteien am politischen Willensbildungsprozess mitwirken.

Ansprechpartner

Thomas Helm

Thomas Helm bild

Leiter Auslandsbüro Kasachstan

thomas.helm@kas.de +7 7172 92 50 31

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.

Bestellinformationen

erscheinungsort

Berlin Deutschland