Event Reports

Collectively shaping the future of German-Namibian friendship

by Thomas W. Keller

High-ranked Namibian delegation visits Berlin on the invitation of the administration of the German Bundestag and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

From February 17th until February 23rd 2019, the Namibian speaker of parliament Peter Katjavivi together with a delegation consisting of members of parliament and administrative staff, visits Germany’s political hub Berlin. In cooperation with the administration of the German Bundestag, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung invited fourteen high-ranked senior officials of the Namibian parliament for a study visit to Berlin.

The visit is part of a larger cooperation project between the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and the parliament of Namibia. In October 2018 a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on a parliamentary support programme was signed by Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, in the presence of chairperson Norbert Lammert, and the National Assembly, in the presence of the speaker of parliament Peter Katjavivi. The visit to Berlin was made possible due to a long-standing and close relationship between the parliament and the Namibia-Angola office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Therefore, it came as no surprise when the speaker of parliament, upon his first official meeting, compared the visit to a visit with friends. He further emphasized the importance of a dialogue of friendship between Namibia and Germany for successfully shaping the future together.

The study visit consists of personal meetings, amongst others, with the president of the Bundestag, Wolfgang Schäuble, and the rapporteur in the CDU/CSU-faction in the German Bundestag on Africa and the African Union, Markus Koob. Besides the aforementioned, the delegation is meeting the SADC Parliamentary Group of the German Bundestag as well as visiting the constituency office of MP Klaus-Dieter Gröhler. The program was tailored to the Namibian parliament’s expressed needs, enabling its members to learn more about certain areas of the German Bundestag, such as public relations, human resources and general working procedures. Apart from an exchange of information, the goal of the visit is to encourage the dialogue between national counterparts concerning current national and international political issues and challenges.

Lammert highlighted in a meeting with the delegation that a collective shaping of the bilateral friendship between the two countries would be a core topic. The chairperson also underlined in this context the important role national parliaments will play.

Contact person: Thomas W. Keller / Tilmann Feltes

Contact Person

Thomas W. Keller

Thomas W

Resident Representative

thomas.keller@kas.de +264 61 225-568 +264 61 225-678

About this series

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Gemeinsame Gestaltung der Zukunft deutsch-namibischer Freundschaft

Hochrangige parlamentarische Delegation aus Namibia auf Einladung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V. und der Verwaltung des Deutschen Bundestags in Berlin

Vom 17. bis zum 23. Februar 2019 besucht der namibische Parlamentspräsident Peter Katjavivi gemeinsam mit einer Delegation aus Mitgliedern des Parlaments sowie der Parlamentsverwaltung Berlin. Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsprojekts mit der Verwaltung des Deutschen Bundestages lud die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung 14 hochrangige Vertreter des namibischen Parlaments zu einem Fortbildungs- und Informationsprogramm nach Berlin ein.

Unter den Delegationsteilnehmern befinden sich neben dem Parlamentspräsidenten die Fraktionsvorsitzenden bzw. Vorsitzenden der fünf größten Parteien Namibias sowie die Generalsekretärin der Parlamentsverwaltung, die Fraktionsvorsitzende der Regierungspartei sowie weitere Mitarbeiter der Verwaltung. Bereits im Oktober 2018 unterzeichneten die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, im Beisein des Stiftungsvorsitzenden Norbert Lammert und dem Parlamentspräsidenten Peter Katjavivi, ein Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) über ein Parlamentsberatungsprogramm in Namibia. Der Besuch der Delegation ist Bestandteil dieses Programms und Ergebnis der langjährigen intensiven Zusammenarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Namibia-Angola mit dem namibischen Parlament. Vor diesem Hintergrund betonte der Sprecher des Parlaments bei seinen ersten offiziellen Gesprächsterminen, dass es sich bei dem Besuch der Delegation um einen Besuch bei Freunden handle. Der freundschaftliche Dialog zwischen Namibia und Deutschland sei wichtig, um gemeinsam die Zukunft zu gestalten.

Das Programm der Reise beinhaltet neben Fortbildungseinheiten der Bundestagsverwaltung auch persönliche Gesprächstermine, u.a. mit dem Präsidenten des Deutschen Bundestages, Wolfgang Schäuble, und mit dem Berichterstatter der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion für Grundsatzfragen der Afrikapolitik sowie der AU, Markus Koob. Daneben standen Gesprächstermine mit der Parlamentariergruppe Südliches Afrika sowie ein Wahlkreisbesuch im Bürgerbüro von MdB Klaus-Dieter Gröhler auf dem Programm. Die Inhalte wurden eigens auf die Bedürfnisse des Parlaments zugeschnitten und ermöglichen den Teilnehmern mehr über die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, das Personalwesen und die Arbeitsweise der Ausschüsse im Deutschen Bundestag zu erfahren. Neben dem Informationsaustausch war das Ziel der Reise, sich mit entsprechenden Kontakten auf nationaler Ebene zu gegenwärtigen innen- sowie außenpolitischen Herausforderungen auszutauschen und Ansätze zu entwickeln, wie die parlamentarische Arbeit in Namibia gestärkt werden kann.

Lammert wies bei einem Gespräch mit der Delegation darauf hin, dass die gemeinsame Gestaltung der Freundschaft zwischen beiden Ländern ein zentrales Thema sei. Der Stiftungsvorsitzende unterstrich in diesem Kontext auch, welche wichtige Rolle nationalen Parlamenten hierbei zu Teil wird.

Organisation und Begleitung: Thomas W. Keller / Tilmann Feltes

Teilen

Ansprechpartner

Thomas W. Keller

Thomas W

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Namibia

thomas.keller@kas.de +264 61 225-568 +264 61 225-678

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.