Asset Publisher

shutterstock/Fotophoto

Facts and Findings

The Misunderstood? The Visegrád States and the Conference on the Future of Europe

What Europe do the Visegrád states want, and is it appropriate to speak of an alliance in the case of the Visegrád Group?

To mark the 30th anniversary of the Visegrád Group, the heads of government of the Visegrád states agreed in Krakow in February 2021 to work together in the framework of the Conference on the Future of Europe. How should this announcement be perceived, and which Europe do the Visegrád states stand for?

Asset Publisher

The Conference on the Future of Europe has begun on 9 May 2021. A goal of the process of reflection is to explore the question of what needs to improve in Europe, and the role it should play in the world. 

The Joint Presidency of the Conference on the Future of Europe also sets itself the objective of bringing together various visions for the future: a herculean task. Advocates of European federalism strive for a European federal state. National conservatives, on the other hand, want the EU to be understood as an alliance of nation states.

Different views on how the EU should look like in the future became clear again in negotiations on the 2021 – 2027 Multiannual Financial Framework, and the EU recovery fund. Here, the focus was placed on the Visegrád states that were often perceived as troublemakers, particularly in Western Europe. 

Throughout the Conference on the Future of Europe and beyond that it will be important to differentiate in line with European pluralism between challenging positions, and those which fundamentally contradict the spirit of the EU. In doing so, it is important not to evade the question about the relationship between national and European sovereignty.

Read the entire analysis here as a PDF. 
More information about the Conference on the Future of Europe here.

 

Asset Publisher

Contact Person

Alexander Beribes

Alexander Beribes

Western Balkans / Southeastern Europe

alexander.beribes@kas.de
Country Reports
Europäische Kommission
March 18, 2021
read now

comment-portlet

Asset Publisher

About this series

The series informs in a concentrated form about important positions of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung on current topics. The individual issues present key findings and recommendations, offer brief analyses, explain the Foundation's further plans and name KAS contact persons.

 

Dr. Kristin Wesemann

Dr

Head of Strategy and Planning

kristin.wesemann@kas.de +49 30 26996-3803

Sophie Steybe

Referentin Publikationen

sophie.steybe@kas.de +49 30 26996-3726

shutterstock/Fotophoto

Analysen und Argumente

Die Missverstandenen? Die Visegrád-Staaten und die Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas

Welches Europa wollen die Visegrád-Staaten und ist es angemessen, sie als ein Bündnis zu bezeichnen?

Die Regierungschefs der Visegrád-Staaten haben sich in Krakau anlässlich des 30. Jahrestages der Visegrád-Gruppe im Februar 2021 darauf verständigt, im Rahmen der Zukunftskonferenz zusammenzuarbeiten. Wie ist dies einzuordnen und für welches Europa stehen die Visegrád-Staaten?

Die Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas soll am 9. Mai 2021 beginnen. Ziel des Reflexionsprozesses ist es, der Frage nachzugehen, was in Europa besser werden muss und welche Rolle es international spielen soll.

Der Selbstanspruch des Vorsitzes der Zukunftskonferenz besteht auch darin, verschiedene Zukunftsvorstellungen zusammenzubringen. Eine Herkulesaufgabe. Fürsprecherinnen und Fürsprecher des europäischen Föderalismus streben einen europäischen Bundesstaat an. Nationalkonservative wollen die EU hingegen als ein Bündnis von Nationalstaaten verstanden wissen.

Die verschiedenen Auffassungen davon, wie die EU in Zukunft aussehen soll, waren zuletzt wieder in den Verhandlungen um den EU-Haushaltsrahmen 2021 bis 2027 und den EU-Wiederaufbaufonds ersichtlich. Dabei stand insbesondere die Visegrád-Gruppe im Fokus, deren Positionen von vielen als unruhestiftend wahrgenommen wurden.

Die Regierungschefs der Visegrád-Staaten haben sich anlässlich des 30. Jahrestages der Visegrád-Gruppe im Februar 2021 darauf verständigt, im Rahmen der Zukunftskonferenz zusammenzuarbeiten. Wie ist dies einzuordnen? Welches Europa wollen die Visegrád-Staaten und ist es angemessen, sie als ein Bündnis zu bezeichnen?

Lesen Sie die gesamte Analyse hier als PDF.

Länderberichte
Europäische Kommission
18. März 2021
Mehr lesen
Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten gesucht - Visual für die Bewerbung der Anmeldefrist
Bewerbungsfrist 15. Juli 2022

Studieren und promovieren
mit Stipendium

Wir suchen motivierte, politisch denkende Studierende und Promovierende, die sich für eine tolerante, offene und gerechte Gesellschaft einsetzen.

Jetzt informieren

Über diese Reihe

Die Reihe informiert in konzentrierter Form über Analysen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zu relevanten aktuellen Themen. Die einzelnen Ausgaben stellen zentrale Ergebnisse und Empfehlungen eigener und externer Expertinnen und Experten vor, bieten Kurzanalysen von rund fünf Seiten und nennen KAS-Ansprechpartnerinnen.

Dr. Kristin Wesemann

Dr

Leiterin Strategie und Planung

kristin.wesemann@kas.de +49 30 26996-3803

Sophie Steybe

Referentin Publikationen

sophie.steybe@kas.de +49 30 26996-3726