Event Reports

Goods and Services Tax (GST) - A Reality Check

by Philipp Huchel

A joint Seminar of KAS and MMA

The India Office of Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation and the Madras Management Association (MMA) have organized a joint seminar on the Goods and Services Tax (GST) in Chennai on 2nd December 2017 to discuss the current challenges and the pros and cons of the GST.

Introduced on July 1, 2017, the GST is the largest economic reform of indirect taxation in India so far. Almost five months have passed since the introduction and the results of the reform are assessed very differently. On the one hand, the GST should create the possibility of a single common market, which would integrating seamlessly the movement of goods and services throughout India and also facilitate exports. On the other hand, there are still several hurdles to overcome in the implementation, since a variety of problems have occurred. After about five months the event was organized to conduct a reality check with all the stakeholders.

Ms. Kavitha D. Chitturi, President of the MMA, welcomed the high-profile speakers and delegates and explained that in 1989, with the support of KAS, the Madras Management Association launched the Entrepreneurship Development Project to support small and medium-sized enterprises. She emphasized that over the past 28 years of implementation, the project has progressed both qualitatively and quantitatively. These joint activities have allowed lots of entrepreneurs to benefit.

Mr. Peter Rimmele, Resident Representative of the KAS in India, emphasized in his introductory speech that, like India, Germany needed a long time, almost 14 years, to politically prepare a reform similar to the GST. In the beginning of the implementation of the law Germany also had to face several problems. Regarding the current implementation problems of GST, he stressed, that it is important to regularly review and adjust it.

Mr. S Gurumurthy, editor of the Thuglak magazine, evaluated the GST in principle as a very good measure. At the same time he criticized the implementation of it. He said that the current economic situation in India is disregarded. However, in his opinion, it does not make any difference whether someone is for or against the GST. Rather, solutions have to be found to implement the GST successfully. First, he mentioned, the problems of India have to be taken in consideration. It is not possible to tackle all the problems in one day with the same model. With around 50 percent of Indian GDP coming from the informal sector, also providing jobs for 128 million people and growing at an annual rate of 18 percent, some of these sectors should be exempted from GST for at least 3 years.

In addition to Mr. Gurumurthy, Mr. C P Rao, Chief Commissioner-GST & Central Excise, Mr. S. Kannan, Commissioner-GST & Central Excise, and the spokesperson of the Indian National Congress Mr. Sanjay Jha attended the seminar and discussed with the participants. The event attracted some 400 delegates from the industry, chartered accountants, MSME entrepreneurs, management professionals and consumers. The seminar received a broad media coverage India wide.

About this series

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Ordering Information

erscheinungsort

India India

Veranstaltungsberichte

Goods and Services Tax (GST) - ein Realitätscheck

von Philipp Huchel

Gemeinsames Seminar der KAS Indien und der MMA

Das Auslandsbüro Indien der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und die Madras-Management Association (MMA) veranstalteten am 2. Dezember 2017 in Chennai ein gemeinsames Seminar zur Goods and Services Tax (GST), welche der deutschen Mehrwertsteuer ähnelt, um die aktuellen Herausforderungen sowie Vor- und Nachteile dieser zu diskutieren.

Die GST wurde am 1. Juli 2017 eingeführt und ist die bisher größte Reform der indirekten Besteuerung in Indien. Knapp fünf Monate sind seit der Einführung vergangen und die Ergebnisse der Reform werden sehr unterschiedlich bewertet. Auf der einen Seite sollte die GST die Möglichkeit eines einheitlichen gemeinsamen Marktes schaffen, der den Waren- und Dienstleistungsverkehr in ganz Indien reibungslos ermöglicht und Exporte erleichtert. Auf der anderen Seite sind bei der Umsetzung noch mehrere Hürden zu bewältigen, da vielfältige Probleme aufgetreten sind. Nach ungefähr fünf Monaten galt es nun bei der Veranstaltung ein erstes Fazit zu den Ergebnissen der Reform zu ziehen.

Kavitha D. Chitturi, Präsidentin der MMA, begrüßte die hochkarätigen Redner und Delegierten und erklärte, dass die Madras Management Association im Jahr 1989 mit Unterstützung der KAS das Entrepreneurship Development Project ins Leben gerufen habe, um Klein- und Mittelständische Unternehmen zu unterstützen. Sie betonte, dass in den vergangenen 28 Jahren der Umsetzung das Projekt sowohl qualitativ als auch quantitativ Fortschritte gemacht habe. Diese gemeinsamen Aktivitäten haben dazu geführt, dass die gesamte Branche davon profitieren konnte.

Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, hob in seiner einführenden Rede hervor, dass ähnlich wie Indien auch Deutschland eine lange Zeit, knapp 14 Jahre, gebraucht hätte, um die Mehrwertsteuer politisch vorzubereiten. Und auch bei der Implementierung des Gesetzes sei es in der Anfangszeit zu Problemen gekommen. Bezogen auf die derzeitigen Implementierungsprobleme der GST sei es wichtig, diese regelmäßig zu überprüfen und anzupassen.

S Gurumurthy, Herausgeber des Thuglak Magazins, bewertete die GST prinzipiell als eine sehr gute Maßnahme. Gleichzeitig kritisierte er aber die Umsetzung dieser. Demnach werde die aktuelle wirtschaftliche Lage Indiens nicht entsprechend berücksichtigt. Dennoch bringe es seiner Meinung nach keinen weiter, ob man für oder gegen die GST sei. Vielmehr sollte über Wege nachgedacht werden, wie die GST erfolgreich umgesetzt werden kann. Dazu müssten zunächst die Probleme Indiens verstanden werden. Es sei nicht möglich, alle Probleme an einem Tag im selben Modell anzugehen. Da rund 50 Prozent des indischen BIP aus dem informellen Sektor stammen, dieser Arbeitsplätze für 128 Millionen Menschen bietet und der informelle Sektor jährlich um 18 Prozent wächst, sollten einige Teile dieser Sektors für einen Zeitraum von mindestens 3 Jahren von der GST ausgenommen werden.

Neben Gurumurthy nahmen C P Rao, Chief Commissioner-GST & Central Excise, S Kannan, Commissioner-GST & Central Excise, der Sprecher des Indian National Congress (INC) Sanjay Jha an dem Seminar teil und diskutierten mit den Teilnehmern. An der Veranstaltung nahmen über 400 Personen aus dem Wirtschafts- und Industriesektor teil und das Seminar erhielt eine breite Medienberichterstattung in Indien.

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.

Bestellinformationen

erscheinungsort

Indien Indien