Juliane Liebers

Event Reports

European Data Summit 2020

A Vision for a More Competitive Europe

"The winner takes it all" was the motto of the third European Data Summit of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). In the framework of the German Presidency of the Council of the EU, the event dealt with the legal and political prerequisites for the digital single market.

With the European Strategy on Data published on February 19th, 2020, the European Commission formulated its vision for Europe’s data economy. Several so-called Inception Impact Assessments from the European Commission contain various regulatory options. The problems have been analyzed and options have been identified for regulating the platform and data economy. At the Summit, we addressed and critically examined almost all of them. In addition to the urgency of a more efficient reactive policy in dealing with powerful digital players, the message of the Summit was that Europe must increasingly focus on a proactive digital policy.

During the conference, the KAS presented two studies it commissioned: Philip Marsden and Rupprecht Podszun dealt with the restoring of digital competition in Europe. Carolina Dackö presented her preliminary findings on ensuring a "level playing field" between European companies and state-subsidized or controlled companies from third countries, such as China or the USA.

 

Here you can find an interview with Philip Marsden and Rupprecht Podszun about their study:

 

We also spoke with Carolina Dackö:

 

Both studies framed the topics of the summit: From platform regulation to data trust, from data altruism to open data - for three days, "leveling the playing-field" in digital Europe was discussed.

What is the role GAIA-X plays regarding digital sovereignty in Europe? How can a legal framework for data trustees be designed? What is meant by data donations? And what can we learn from Findata, the Finnish innovation fund Sitra, or the British Open Data Institute? How does the Robert Koch Institute's data donation app work, and why is data donation so important for science? Is it justifiable to exempt certain data from the list of high value data sets because of additional financial and organizational burdens on the side of public undertakings? Is the Facebook case of the German Federal Cartel Office also a guideline for other cartel authorities in Europe?

The Covid 19 crisis has made us all aware of the importance of data in crisis management. After the crisis, Europe must be more competitive. That's why the concrete design of the Digital Service Act is so important. We need more competition, not less! The way we handle data will make a decisive contribution to Europe's economic recovery after the crisis.

 

On our website, you will find all panels, keynotes, interviews, and photos. In the coming months, we will review the results of the third European Data Summit and formulate concrete recommendations for action.

 

What others have reported about the European Data Summit:

www.heise.de/news/Digitale-Knechtschaft-Brauchen-Durchbruch-bei-der-Plattform-Regulierung-4919199

www.d-kart.de/blog/2020/10/03/conference-debriefing-21-22-sustainability-platforms

 

About this series

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Juliane Liebers

Veranstaltungsberichte

Eine Vision für ein wettbewerbsfähigeres Europa

European Data Summit 2020

“The winner takes it all” war das Motto des nunmehr dritten European Data Summit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Die Schwerpunkte der deutschen Ratspräsidentschaft im Blick ging es um die rechtspolitischen Voraussetzungen für einen digitalen Binnenmarkt.

Mit der am 19. Februar 2020 veröffentlichten europäischen Strategie für Daten hat die Europäische Kommission ihre Vision für die Datenwirtschaft in Europa formuliert. Die sogenannten Inception Impact Assessments der Europäischen Kommission enthalten zahlreiche Folgenabschätzungen. Die Probleme werden analysiert, und es werden Möglichkeiten aufgezeigt, wie die Plattform- und Datenökonomie reguliert werden kann. Wir haben sie fast alle thematisiert und kritisch beleuchtet. Neben der Dringlichkeit einer effizienteren reaktiven Politik im Umgang mit den mächtigen digitalen Playern war die Botschaft des Summit, dass Europa verstärkt auf eine proaktive digitale Politik setzen muss.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hat auf dem Summit zwei von ihr beauftragte Studien vorgestellt: Philip Marsden und Rupprecht Podszun haben sich mit der Wiederherstellung des digitalen Wettbewerbs in Europa befasst. Und Carolina Dackö präsentierte ihre vorläufigen Ergebnisse zur Sicherstellung eines „level playing fields“ zwischen europäische Unternehmen und staatlich subventionierten oder kontrollierten Unternehmen aus Drittstaaten, etwa China oder die USA.

Beide Studien rahmten die Themen des Summits: Von der Plattformregulierung zur Datentreuhänderschaft, vom Datenaltruismus zu offenen Daten – drei Tage lang wurde das „leveling the playing-field“ im digitalen Europa diskutiert.

Was leistet GAIA-X auf dem Weg zur digitalen Souveränität Europas? Wie gestaltet man einen gesetzlichen Rahmen für Datentreuhänder? Was versteht man unter Datenspenden? Und was können wir von Findata, vom finnischen Innovationsfond Sitra oder vom britischen Open Data Institut lernen? Wie funktioniert die Datenspende-App des Robert- Koch-Instituts, und warum ist Datenspende für die Wissenschaft so wichtig? Ist es begründet, wenn öffentliche Unternehmen zusätzliche finanzielle und organisatorische Belastungen ins Feld führen, um bestimmte Datensätze nicht als high value datasets bereitzustellen? Ist der Facebook-Fall des Bundeskartellamts auch ein Leitfaden für die anderen Kartellbehörden in Europa?

Die Covid-19-Krise hat uns allen vor Augen geführt, welche Bedeutung Daten im Krisenmanagement zukommt. Nach der Krise muss Europa wettbewerbsfähiger sein. Deshalb ist die konkrete Ausgestaltung des Digital Service Act so wichtig. Wir brauchen mehr Wettbewerb und nicht weniger! UnserUmgang mit Daten wird entscheidend dazubeitragen,wie sich Europa nach der Krise wirtschaftlich erholt.

Auf unserer Website finden Sie alle Panels,Keynotes, Interviews und Fotos. In den kommenden Monaten werden wir die Ergebnisse des dritten European Data Summit aufarbeiten und konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen formulieren.

Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten gesucht - Visual für die Bewerbung der Anmeldefrist
Bewerbungsfrist 15. Juli 2022

Studieren und promovieren
mit Stipendium

Wir suchen motivierte, politisch denkende Studierende und Promovierende, die sich für eine tolerante, offene und gerechte Gesellschaft einsetzen.

Jetzt informieren

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.