Board of Trustees

On June 11, 1999 the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e. V. Board appointed a Board of Trustees. This body supports and accompanies the work of the KAS in a consultative capacity. One of its most important tasks is to analyse developments of relevance to society as a whole.

In times of great upheaval, constant transformation and ongoing processes of globalization, orientation is more important than ever. Revolutionary developments in science, technology, media and culture require us to respond in a timely far-sighted and trend-setting manner to the new political challenges the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung sets out to address.

The Board of Trustees comprises representatives from politics, society, science and culture. Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel is the chairman of this body.

In the composition of the Trustees Board, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung has given importance to involving different parts of society. Our goal is to assure even stronger ties with ideas and proposals from science and society.


Members of the Board of Trustees

Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel
Chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e. V. Board of Trustees
Federal Chancellor of the Republic of Austria (retired)
Further information in the biogram

Prof. Monika Grütters MP
Minister of State in the Federal Chancellery and Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (retired)
Further information in the biogram

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann
Chairman and Scientific Director of the German Cancer Research Center (Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum, DKFZ)

Cemile Giousouf
Head of Operative Division at the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, bpb)

Elke Hannack
Deputy President of the German Trade Union Confederation (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund, DGB)

Markus Hartmann
Senior Public Prosecutor at the Cologne General Public Prosecutor's Office, head of North Rhine-Westphalian Central Cybercrime Department (Zentral- und Ansprechstelle Cybercrime, ZAC NRW)

Jean-Claude Juncker
President of the European Commission (retired)
Prime Minister of Luxembourg (retired)
Further information in the biogram

Bernhard Kaster
Mayor (retired)
former Parliamentary Secretary of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group in the German Bundestag

Prof. Dr. Paul Kirchhof
Justice of the Federal Constitutional Court of Germany (Bundesverfassungsgericht) (retired)

Charlotte Knobloch
President of the Jewish Community of Munich and Upper Bavaria K.d.ö.R.

Anna Kreye
Head of the Minister’s Office at the Ministry of Interior and Sport of Saxony-Anhalt

Ronan Le Gleut
Member of the French Senate

Dr. Gisela Meister-Scheufelen
Secretary of State (retired)

Klaus Mertes SJ
Superior of the Jesuit Community in Berlin-Charlottenburg

Prof. Dr. Armin Nassehi
Chair of General Sociology and Theory of Society at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich, 2020-21 Fellow of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Prof. Dr. Sönke Neitzel
Professor at the Chair of War Studies, University of Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Ursula Nothelle-Wildfeuer
Professor of Practical Theology, Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg

Aygül Özkan
Minister (retired)
Managing Director of the German Property Federation (Zentraler Immobilien Ausschuss, ZIA)

Sarna Röser
Chairwoman of the association The Young Entrepreneurs (DIE JUNGEN UNTERNEHMER), Member of the Executive Board of Röser FAM GmbH & Co. KG

Dr. Stephan Schaede
Regional Protestant Bishop of Lüneburg

Stephan Schambach

Dr. Klaus Schüler
former Federal Managing Director of the CDU

Dr. Steven E. Sokol
President of the American Council on Germany

Jaromir Sokolowski
Undersecretary of State at the Office of the President of the Republic of Poland (retired)

Armin Staigis
Brigadier-General (retired)
former Vice President of the Federal Academy for Security Policy (Bundesakademie für Sicherheitspolitik, BAKS)
Chairman of the Circle of Friends of the BAKS e. V.

Kim Thy Tong
Deputy Chairwoman of the Young Christian Democratic Employees' Association (Junge Christlich-Demokratische Arbeitnehmerschaft, JCDA)

Sir Peter James Torry
British Ambassador (retired)

Annette Widmann-Mauz MP
Minister of State (retired)
Chairwoman of the Women's Union of the CDU

Christian Wulff
Federal President of the Federal Republic of Germany (retired)
Further information in the biogram


As of: February 2022


Michael Rimmel

Michael  Rimmel bild

Head of the Executive Board Office +49 30 26996-3769 +49 30 26996-3285