Open Data

Open Data

Harnessing the added value of open data

Data are the raw material of digitalisation. It is also necessary to use data collected by public administrations that are not subject to interests worthy of protection. No matter whether they refer to transport, environmental, health or geo data, processing or linking these data sets creates economic and social added value. It may also result in synergies when exchanging data between administrations.

 

These data are made available to the general public as Open Government Data, which comply with the open data principles in the broadest sense. In order to facilitate widespread use and easy processing, they should be provided free-of-charge, in a machine-readable format and subject to clear and consistent terms of use.

 

The basic idea behind open data is that public authorities’ collect these data on behalf of citizens and therefore they are free to access and use them. This can also be regarded as an increase in the transparency of government action.

 

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung supports this approach and examines the economic potential of Open Data, discusses the political and legal framework conditions in the European context and conveys examples of best practice.

Open Data

Open Data

Den Mehrwert offener Daten nutzen

Daten sind der Rohstoff der Digitalisierung. Daten, die von öffentlichen Verwaltungen erfasst werden und die nicht schutzwürdigen Belangen unterliegen, sollten ebenfalls genutzt werden. Egal ob es sich um Verkehrs-, Umwelt-, Gesundheits- oder Geodaten handelt, eine Weiterverarbeitung oder Verknüpfung dieser Datensätze schaffen einen wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Mehrwert. Zusätzlich könnten auch Synergien beim Datenaustausch zwischen den Verwaltungen entstehen.

Als Open Government Data, die im weitesten Sinne den Open Data Prinzipen entsprechen, werden diese Daten der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung gestellt. Um eine breite Nutzung und leichte Weiterverarbeitung zu ermöglichen, sollten sie kostenfrei bereitgestellt werden, in einem maschinenlesbaren Format vorliegen und klaren und einheitlichen Nutzungsbedingungen unterliegen.

Open Data liegt die Idee zugrunde, dass die Erhebung dieser Daten durch öffentliche Stellen im Auftrag der Bürger erfolgt und somit der Zugang und die Nutzung diesen frei stehen. Darin ist auch ein Gewinn an Transparenz von staatlichem Handeln zu sehen.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung unterstützt diesen Ansatz und untersucht die volkswirtschaftlichen Potentiale von Open Data, diskutiert die politischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen im europäischen Kontext und vermittelt Best Practice Beispiele.

Kontakt

Dr. Pencho Kuzev

Dr

Koordinator für Digitalisierung und Datenpolitik

Pencho.Kuzev@kas.de +49 30 26996-3247 +49 30 26996-3551